Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Qwello announced up to €55 million in growth equity on 26 October 2026 to expand its public electric-vehicle charging network in European cities and pursue selective acquisitions. ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund may provide up to €25 million, while Tiger Infrastructure Partners and other existing shareholders are expected to provide a similar amount. Because the announcement uses “up to,” it describes a maximum commitment rather than confirming that the entire sum has already been drawn.
What does Qwello’s €55 million funding mean?
The financing gives Qwello additional equity for two related priorities: building more urban and residential charging infrastructure organically, and buying complementary charging businesses that can be integrated into its operating platform. The company’s model covers development, financing, installation, ownership, operation and maintenance for cities, rather than selling only charging software or equipment.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Qwello’s announcement came from Munich and Amsterdam on 26 October 2026. It identifies ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund (SIF) as a new participating investor alongside existing shareholders. The release does not state a final drawn amount, closing schedule or whether all commitments are unconditional.
Who invested in Qwello?
ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund can invest up to €25 million. Tiger Infrastructure Partners and other existing shareholders are described as contributing a similar amount, bringing the potential growth-equity package to as much as €55 million.
Popular on Amazon
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
ABN AMRO SIF describes itself as a €500 million fund backed by ABN AMRO Bank. Its mandate covers energy transition, the built environment and sustainable consumption, which places urban EV charging within its stated investment themes.
Qwello CEO Dr. Henrik Thiele said the investment reflects the confidence of long-standing financial partners in the company’s business model and operational performance. Gaetano Giuffré, a senior investment manager at ABN AMRO SIF, said Qwello had demonstrated the operational and commercial discipline the fund seeks in infrastructure businesses.
How will Qwello use the money?
Organic city-network growth
Qwello plans to add charge points in densely populated urban and residential areas. Its end-to-end approach lets municipalities contract for a service that includes project development, capital, construction, ownership and ongoing maintenance.
Selective acquisitions
The company says it will pursue acquisitions that fit its operating model and can be integrated into the group. Recent transactions show the intended pattern: acquire operating assets or complementary providers, then fold them into national operations instead of treating each purchase as a separate network.
How large is Qwello’s charging network?
Qwello reported more than 19,500 charge points in over 800 municipalities across Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Spain and the United Kingdom.
| Business or milestone | Reported scale | Timing or context |
|---|---|---|
| Qwello network | More than 19,500 charge points in over 800 municipalities | Company figure announced in 2026 across eight European countries |
| Groen-Eco majority stake | More than 1,400 charge points across 230 sites | Dutch B2B and destination charging, recently added to Qwello |
| Park & Charge integration | Up to 1,000 charge points | Province of North Holland MRA-E tender for municipal parking garages; business fully integrated as Qwello Netherlands in 2026 |
| Park & Charge platform at acquisition | More than 12,000 charge points across nearly 300 municipalities in seven countries | Qwello’s May 2024 acquisition announcement |
Which countries does Qwello serve?
The reported footprint covers eight European markets:
Also popular on Amazon
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
- Denmark
- France
- Germany
- The Netherlands
- Poland
- Sweden
- Spain
- The United Kingdom
The geographic emphasis is urban and residential deployment. That distinguishes Qwello’s municipal-concession approach from operators focused mainly on long-distance motorway sites or providers that remain asset-light software platforms.
What acquisitions and contracts support the expansion strategy?
Groen-Eco in the Netherlands
Qwello recently took a majority stake in Dutch charging company Groen-Eco. The transaction adds more than 1,400 charge points at 230 sites serving business and destination locations, broadening Qwello’s municipal and residential presence into privately operated destinations.
Park & Charge and the MRA-E tender
After integrating Park & Charge in 2024, Qwello won the Province of North Holland’s MRA-E tender for up to 1,000 charge points in municipal parking garages. Qwello says the business was fully integrated as Qwello Netherlands in 2026.
Poland and Sweden
The company also reports asset acquisitions in Poland and Sweden, without disclosing transaction values in the funding announcement.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →How does the new equity fit Qwello’s earlier financing?
In September 2024, Qwello announced a separate financing facility of up to €65 million from ABN AMRO and Investec. That package followed the Park & Charge acquisition and combined refinancing, a capital-expenditure facility and a revolving loan to support European expansion.
The 2026 transaction is growth equity, while the 2024 facility was debt financing. They therefore serve different purposes: equity can fund expansion and acquisitions without adding the same contractual repayment obligations as a loan, whereas debt facilities provide committed borrowing capacity subject to their terms.
Also popular on Amazon
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
What sustainability claims has Qwello made?
Qwello says its network operates on 100% renewable energy and that it avoided more than 28,000 tonnes of CO2 in the previous year. The announcement does not publish the calculation method or comparison baseline, so the figure is a company-reported metric rather than an independently audited result in the available statement.
What should drivers and cities watch next?
For cities, the relevant question is whether Qwello can convert the new capital into reliable, well-maintained sites under municipal contracts while integrating acquired networks without disrupting service. For drivers, the announced funding signals a larger potential footprint, but it does not specify where new chargers will open, their power ratings, pricing or delivery dates. Those details will depend on local tenders, permits, grid connections and the timing of each investment draw.
Frequently asked questions
Has Qwello received the full €55 million?
Not necessarily. “Up to €55 million” is a maximum commitment in the company’s wording, and the announcement does not confirm that the full amount has been drawn.
Is the €55 million a loan?
No. It is described as growth equity from ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund, Tiger Infrastructure Partners and other shareholders. Qwello separately announced up to €65 million of debt facilities from ABN AMRO and Investec in 2024.
Will the funding build motorway charging stations?
The stated priority is public charging in densely populated urban and residential areas. The announcement does not commit the new money specifically to motorway corridors.
What is Qwello’s largest national market?
Qwello provides a combined European total but does not break the 19,500-plus charge points down by country, so the announcement cannot establish which market is largest.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Also popular on Amazon
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Are Qwello’s emissions savings independently verified?
The company reports more than 28,000 tonnes of CO2 avoided and 100% renewable-energy operation. Its announcement does not provide an audit, methodology or baseline for independently checking that figure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Has Qwello received the full €55 million?
Not necessarily. “Up to €55 million” is a maximum commitment in the company’s wording, and the announcement does not confirm that the full amount has been drawn.
Is the €55 million a loan?
No. It is growth equity from ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund, Tiger Infrastructure Partners and other shareholders. Qwello separately announced up to €65 million of debt facilities in 2024.
Will the funding build motorway charging stations?
Qwello says the priority is public charging in densely populated urban and residential areas. The announcement does not allocate the new money specifically to motorway corridors.
Recommended Free Tools
What is Qwello’s largest national market?
The company gives a combined European total but no country-by-country breakdown, so the announcement does not identify a largest market.
Are Qwello’s emissions savings independently verified?
Qwello reports more than 28,000 tonnes of CO2 avoided and 100% renewable-energy operation, but provides no audit, methodology or baseline in the announcement.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




