Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Get listed

Autonomous Vehicles7 MIN

Musk declares Tesla robotaxi win over Waymo, but Waymo still leads; 7× claim unverified

Tesla is pitching speed and scale after its 2026 Cybercab launch. Waymo still leads reported robotaxi operations, while the exact seven-times advantage remains unverified because the companies cite different metrics.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Waymo remains ahead on reported robotaxi operations, even as Elon Musk presents Tesla’s Cybercab rollout as a faster path to mass deployment. Tesla said in July 2026 that customers had traveled 2.5 million robotaxi miles, including 380,000 miles without an in-vehicle safety monitor. Waymo was reported at more than 220 million autonomous miles through March 2026 and 500,000 paid rides per week.

Those figures show a substantial Waymo lead, but they are not identical measurements. Tesla’s cumulative miles, Tesla’s unsupervised miles, Waymo’s cumulative autonomous miles and Waymo’s weekly paid rides cannot be divided into a defensible “seven times” result without matching definitions and dates.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is Tesla really ahead of Waymo in robotaxis?

No. The available operating figures put Waymo well ahead in accumulated autonomous driving, paid-ride volume and city coverage. Tesla has created a credible momentum story with its September 2026 Cybercab launch and a Nevada permit, but those developments do not outweigh Waymo’s longer commercial record.

On September 3, 2026, Tesla placed steering-wheel-free, pedal-free Cybercabs on Austin streets in an invitation-led launch. The Associated Press described Tesla as trailing Waymo in deployed vehicles and completed trips. Tesla’s service initially used modified Model Y vehicles and was concentrated in a small number of Texas and Florida cities.

Popular on Amazon
HotSunTesTec 9.6" Heads Up Display for Tesla Model Y & Model 3 - Wireless CarPlay & Android Auto, Ultra-Thin Screen with Front Camera, No AC Blockage, OTA Updates, Sync Info, Low Power Use
  • 【OEM Fit & Plug-and-Play for Tesla Model Y (2020-2024) and Model 3 (2016-2023)】 Specifically designed for Tesla Model Y and Model 3, this HotSunTesTec CarPlay HUD installs quickly in just 50 minutes without modifying your car. The 9.6-inch HD 2.5D screen with a 1920x480 resolution features an ultra-thin bezel for a sleek look and superior visibility, perfectly blending with your Tesla’s interior.
  • 【Seamless 60 FPS Wireless CarPlay and Android Auto】 Enjoy smoother, faster CarPlay and Android Auto integration with 60 FPS performance. Use your favorite navigation, music, and apps on split or full screen. Supports Siri and Google Assistant for voice commands, enabling hands-free convenience.
  • 【Automotive-Grade Linux System with High-Performance CPU】 Powered by a Linux system and vehicle-grade CPU, this HUD offers 4x faster performance than the previous model with ultra-low power usage, ensuring a stable, long-lasting experience in all driving conditions.
  • 【No AC Vent Obstruction and Customizable Interface】 Unlike other models, this HUD is uniquely optimized for the Tesla Model Y and Model 3 to avoid blocking air conditioning vents. Choose from five unique, high-quality UI designs to personalize your HUD interface for a fun and functional driving experience.
  • 【Immersive Driving Features & Real-Time Sync】Available in five colors (white, red, black, blue, grey) to match your Tesla’s exterior, this HUD supports steering wheel control, day/night modes, and OTA updates for easy, worry-free software upgrades. Displays real-time vehicle info like turn signals, brake status, speed, and temperature. Additional safety features include Auto-Pilot alerts, Blind Spot Monitoring, Front Collision Warning, Battery Warming, Passenger Seat Adjustment
Measure Tesla Waymo How to interpret it
Cumulative autonomous or robotaxi miles 2.5 million customer robotaxi miles, according to Tesla’s July 2026 update More than 220 million autonomous miles through the end of March 2026, according to 2026 reporting The definitions and reporting periods are not identical, but the gap is large.
Unsupervised miles 380,000 miles without an in-vehicle safety monitor, according to Tesla Not stated in the cited reporting as a directly comparable figure Unsupervised miles are a subset of Tesla’s 2.5 million-mile total, not a separate fleet total.
Paid rides Not stated in the cited Tesla update 500,000 paid rides per week in 2026 reporting A weekly ride count cannot be converted directly into cumulative miles.
Reported city coverage A handful of Texas and Florida cities in the cited launch coverage 14 cities in the CNN report City counts depend on whether a service is available to the general public or limited to an invitation program.
Regulatory position Nevada permits for up to 5,000 vehicles in Clark County over the following year Nevada permits for up to 1,000 vehicles in Clark County over the following year Both figures are legal ceilings, not proof that the fleets will be deployed.

Can the “seven times more” claim be verified?

Not from the published figures cited here. A ratio depends on comparing the same unit, time period and operating definition. Tesla’s 2.5 million cumulative miles and 380,000 unsupervised miles are mileage totals; Waymo’s 220 million miles is another cumulative mileage figure with a different reporting cutoff; and 500,000 paid rides is a weekly trip count.

Using one Tesla mileage figure against Waymo’s miles produces one ratio. Using Tesla’s unsupervised miles produces another. Comparing either mileage total with Waymo’s weekly rides mixes distance and trips. The evidence supports saying that Waymo has a large lead in reported operating volume, not that the lead is exactly seven to one.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What did Tesla actually launch with the Cybercab?

An invitation-led Austin service

The September 3 launch put vehicles without steering wheels or pedals on Austin roads for invited riders. The launch was a public demonstration of the Cybercab concept and an early service phase, not evidence that Tesla had reached nationwide driverless availability.

Modified Model Y vehicles before dedicated Cybercabs

Tesla’s initial robotaxi operation used modified Model Y vehicles. The cited reporting placed service in only a handful of Texas and Florida locations, so the launch should be judged as a limited deployment rather than a mature network.

A speed-and-scale argument

Tesla’s strategic case is that a camera-only, artificial-intelligence system integrated into vehicles it manufactures could be cheaper and faster to reproduce than a sensor-heavy platform. Musk previously predicted that the network would expand at a “hyper-exponential rate” and reach half the U.S. population. Reuters reporting said the rollout did not meet those earlier targets.

Also popular on Amazon
Matchbox Tesla Model X, Gray 90/100
  • Brand: Matchbox
  • Batteries required: False
  • Batteries included: False

How do Tesla’s and Waymo’s self-driving systems differ?

Tesla: camera-only architecture

Tesla’s approach relies on cameras and AI rather than lidar. If it performs safely at scale, using hardware already integrated into mass-produced vehicles could reduce the cost and complexity of adding cars to a robotaxi fleet. That is a potential economic advantage, not a demonstrated profitability result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Waymo: multiple sensors and detailed maps

Waymo combines cameras with lidar, radar and high-definition maps. It has expanded more deliberately while building a longer record of paid autonomous rides. Waymo’s public position, quoted by Axios in 2026, is that “there’s no AI shortcut to self-driving.” The statement captures the companies’ central disagreement: Tesla emphasizes rapid software-led scaling, while Waymo emphasizes a broader sensing and operational stack.

Is the Tesla Cybercab fully driverless?

The vehicles are designed without conventional driving controls, but the service evidence does not justify treating every Tesla robotaxi mile as fully autonomous and unsupported. Tesla reported 380,000 miles without an in-vehicle safety monitor, compared with 2.5 million total customer robotaxi miles. That distinction means most of the reported mileage was not identified as unsupervised in the cited update.

Readers should also separate a vehicle having no in-cabin monitor from a service having no human assistance at all. Remote assistance, dispatch support and other operational safeguards can exist outside the vehicle; the cited figures do not quantify how often those systems were used.

What do California and Nevada permits reveal?

California remains a significant barrier

Reuters, citing California Department of Motor Vehicles records for 2025, reported that Tesla logged zero autonomous test-driving miles in the state and had not completed the permit sequence required for a driverless ride-hailing service there. California therefore provides a reality check against claims of imminent broad U.S. coverage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon

Nevada authorizes capacity, not deployment

In 2026, the Nevada Transportation Authority approved permits covering up to 5,000 Tesla robotaxis and 1,000 Waymo autonomous vehicles in Clark County over the following year. Those are maximum legal authorizations. They do not establish how many vehicles will be purchased, activated, available to ordinary riders or profitable.

Tesla Cybercab chief engineer Eric Early told TechCrunch, “The 5,000 has always been a ceiling for us.” That wording reinforces the distinction between a permitted upper limit and an operating fleet.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which company is closer to making money?

Neither company has established robotaxi profitability in the cited reporting. CNN reported that Tesla and Waymo had not disclosed robotaxi financial results, so ride volume alone cannot identify a winner on economics.

A viable business must cover more than the vehicle. The relevant cost and utilization questions include:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Vehicle purchase or conversion and the sensor package.
  • Remote assistance, fleet operations and customer support.
  • Charging, cleaning, maintenance and downtime.
  • Insurance, permits and other regulatory compliance.
  • Average rides per vehicle, trip length and idle time.
  • Fare revenue after discounts, refunds and operating costs.

Waymo’s 500,000 paid rides per week is meaningful evidence of demand and utilization, but it is not a profit statement. Tesla’s camera-only design could eventually lower hardware costs, but its business case still depends on safe deployment, high utilization and regulatory approval.

How should readers compare Tesla and Waymo?

Use a consistent scorecard instead of relying on a single headline number.

  1. Match the unit. Compare paid rides with paid rides, autonomous miles with autonomous miles, and unsupervised miles with unsupervised miles.
  2. Match the date. A March 2026 Waymo figure and a July 2026 Tesla figure describe different points in time.
  3. Check public access. An invitation-only launch is not equivalent to ordinary public availability.
  4. Identify human support. Ask whether a safety monitor is in the vehicle and what remote assistance remains in the loop.
  5. Separate permits from cars on the road. A regulatory ceiling is not a fleet count.
  6. Examine geography. Count cities with active service, not announced targets.
  7. Demand financial evidence. Look for revenue, cost per mile, utilization and operating margins rather than forecasts alone.

What evidence would settle the robotaxi race?

The clearest future comparison would publish the same metrics for both operators: paid rides per week, cumulative autonomous miles, unsupervised miles, active vehicles, publicly accessible cities, intervention or remote-assistance rates and revenue and cost per trip. Until those figures are reported on matching terms, declarations of a numerical victory are marketing claims rather than a measured result.

For broader context on the technology and business model, Anthony Townsend’s book Ghost Road: Beyond the Driverless Car was identified by CNN as relevant further reading. Availability and editions can change, so readers should check current listings before buying.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does 500,000 paid rides per week prove Waymo is profitable?

No. It demonstrates reported ride volume, but profitability also depends on fares, vehicle utilization, remote support, maintenance, insurance, charging and regulatory costs. The cited reporting says neither company had disclosed robotaxi financial results.

When will Tesla offer a driverless robotaxi service in California?

No launch date is established in the cited material. Reuters reported that Tesla had logged zero autonomous test-driving miles in California in 2025 and had not completed the permit sequence for driverless ride-hailing there.

What does a Nevada robotaxi permit allow a company to do?

It sets a legal maximum for vehicles that may operate under the authorization. It does not require the company to deploy that many cars or guarantee that riders will find them available.

Why do autonomous-mile totals matter to robotaxi investors?

Mileage indicates how much operating experience a system has accumulated, but it does not reveal revenue or margins by itself. Investors also need comparable ride counts, utilization, safety-support requirements and cost data.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Autonomous VehiclesCybercabrobotaxisSelf-Driving CarsTeslaWaymo

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.