Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Get listed

Battery Technology8 MIN

EV charging curves explained: why a 9-minute claim may not mean 9 minutes for every battery

A nine-minute EV charging claim usually applies to a specific SoC window and ideal conditions. Learn how charging curves, tapering, temperature and chargers determine real-world time.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A nine-minute EV charging claim is never a universal promise that every battery can go from empty to full in nine minutes. It usually describes a specific state-of-charge window, a particular battery temperature, preconditioning, and a charger capable of delivering the vehicle’s maximum power. Because charging power tapers as the battery fills, the complete session follows a curve rather than holding its peak rate.

To judge any claim fairly, compare the same state-of-charge range, battery conditions, charger capability, model-year battery and average power—not peak kilowatts alone.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What an EV charging curve actually shows

A charging curve plots the power entering the battery, measured in kilowatts, against battery state of charge (SoC). At a low SoC, the battery can often accept high power. As SoC rises, the battery-management system progressively reduces input to protect the cells. The result is a changing line: an initial ramp-up, a period of high power, then a taper that becomes more pronounced as the pack approaches full.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Porsche describes the principle plainly: “Hence, the ideal charging session is a curve, not a bar.” Its owner information likewise says, “For physical and chemical reasons, the charging speed decreases as the battery approaches its maximum energy content.” A charger rated at 250, 300 or 320 kW therefore cannot deliver that figure throughout a session.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s May 2024 DC-fast-charging presentation illustrates the point with a Volkswagen ID.4 Pro AWD curve and a 170 kW peak charge rate. The peak is one point on the graph, not the session’s average. The EPA also notes that every EV has a nominal curve and that real-world curves vary.

Why a nine-minute result is conditional

A very short charging number can describe several different things:

  • A narrow SoC window, such as 10% to 50%, rather than a full charge.
  • A specified amount of range added under ideal conditions.
  • A laboratory or manufacturer test with a preconditioned battery and a charger whose output exceeds the vehicle’s limit.

Porsche’s published best-case DC guidance for a 10% to 80% session requires a CCS station with output above the vehicle’s maximum charging power, more than 850 volts, and a preconditioned battery. Its Cayenne Electric example reports approximately 16 minutes from 10% to 80% only with stated conditions that include a 73 °C battery, a 9% starting SoC and a suitable high-power station. A nine-minute headline has to be read with the same level of detail; without the test window and conditions, it cannot predict your stop.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No independent evidence establishes a universal nine-minute full-charge result for all EVs. The defensible interpretation is that such a figure is vehicle-specific and conditional.

Peak kW is not average charging speed

Peak power is the highest instantaneous value the vehicle accepts. Average power is the total energy added divided by the time spent charging. Average power is what determines how quickly a road-trip stop adds usable energy.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

For example, a vehicle might briefly reach 300 kW, then spend most of its session between 180 and 100 kW before tapering further. Another vehicle with a 250 kW peak could hold a high rate for longer and finish the same 10% to 80% window sooner. P3’s 2024 Charging Index makes this distinction explicit: maximum power is reached only for part of a session, and vehicle-specific average power can differ substantially from peak power.

When comparing vehicles, calculate or obtain the average for the same SoC window. A simple calculation is:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Average power (kW) = energy added (kWh) ÷ charging time (hours)

Use the battery energy actually added, not the charger’s advertised rating. Charging losses, thermal management and the vehicle’s usable-capacity definition can make the energy delivered by the station different from the increase shown by the battery gauge.

What changes the shape of the curve

Starting state of charge

DC charging is generally fastest at a low SoC. As the pack fills, the control system limits power, and charging beyond about 80% can take a disproportionate amount of time. Arriving at a station with 10% remaining can therefore produce a much better average than arriving at 55% and attempting to charge to 100%.

Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station | up to 50 mph, 25ft Cable, Enhanced WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Battery temperature

Cold cells cannot safely accept maximum current, while an overheated pack also needs protection. The battery-management system reduces power until the cells reach an acceptable operating range. Ambient temperature, repeated high-power stops and a battery that has just been driven hard can all change the curve.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Preconditioning

Route planners in many EVs can heat or cool the battery before arrival at a known fast charger. That preparation is often part of a manufacturer’s test procedure. If navigation is not directing you to the charger, the vehicle may not begin preconditioning, so the first minutes of the stop can be slower than the published result.

Charger voltage, current and connector

The station must provide the voltage and current the vehicle can use. Porsche’s 10% to 80% guidance calls for more than 850 volts and station output above the vehicle’s maximum charging power. A lower-voltage or lower-current installation can become the bottleneck even when the vehicle is capable of more.

Power sharing at the site

Some fast-charging cabinets divide their available output between two connected vehicles. If another vehicle is using the same power electronics, your delivered rate may be lower than the stall’s headline rating. The station’s connector standard, cabinet design and local installation also matter.

Battery design and software

Chemistry, internal resistance, cooling plates, busbars and control calibration determine how long a battery can sustain high power. Two packs with the same peak rating can have very different curves. Porsche reported the Taycan’s 10% to 80% time improving from 21.5 to 18 minutes even as capacity increased, demonstrating that pack and control-system design affect the usable charging window.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
EMPORIA Level 2 EV Charger w/ J1772 Connector — 48 Amp, 240V WiFi Enabled Electric Vehicle Charging Station, 25ft Cable, NEMA 14-50, White
  • Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed: The Emporia electric vehicle charger provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA plug (40 amp).
  • Versatile Installation Options: Preconfigured for NEMA Type 14-50P compliant with 2017 NEC Section 625.17 for up to 40A or convert to Hardwired for up to 48A. Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance.
  • Safety, Certification, and Peace of Mind: UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, meeting stringent standards (NEC 625, SAE J1772, UL 817, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, and UL 2594).
  • Get the Benefits of Smart Charging: Connect via 2.4 GHz WiFi to access real-time energy data and manage charging from your mobile device. Schedule charging sessions to optimize utility rates and performance.
  • Universal Compatibility: Equipped with a secure SAE J1772 connector, compatible with all EVs in North America, including Tesla, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5/6, BMW i3, i4, iX, Audi, and Jeep Wrangler 4xe.

Age and accumulated use

Capacity loss with age is expected, and Porsche says charging time increases as a battery ages. Porsche USA owner information says most vehicles are expected to retain 70% capacity through eight years or 100,000 miles under its stated warranty conditions. That is a capacity expectation, not a guarantee of a particular charging curve; reduced available capacity, temperature history and software limits can all affect a later session.

Published examples, normalized by test window

Vehicle or result SoC window Reported time Battery and conditioning Charger conditions Peak or average power
Porsche Cayenne Electric example 10%–80% Approximately 16 minutes 9% starting SoC; battery at 73 °C; preconditioned Suitable high-power station; more than 850 V; output exceeds vehicle maximum Not stated by Porsche
Porsche Taycan Performance Battery Plus, P3 Charging Index 2024 10%–80% 18 minutes Not stated by P3 Group Not stated by P3 Group Not stated by P3 Group
Porsche Taycan comparison, Porsche 2025 report 10%–80% 18 minutes versus 21.5 minutes Capacity increased; other test conditions not stated Not stated by Porsche Not stated by Porsche

These figures are not interchangeable with a claim such as “adds 100 miles in nine minutes.” A time for a fixed SoC window measures a different thing from a range-added claim, because range depends on battery capacity, vehicle efficiency, speed, weather and the amount of energy the driver actually needs.

How to compare two charging claims fairly

  1. Identify the exact SoC window. Record both the starting and ending percentages. “10% to 80%” and “add 200 km” are different tests.
  2. Check whether the number is time, energy or range. A range claim must state the test vehicle and consumption basis. A charger’s kW rating alone is not a time result.
  3. Match battery temperature and preconditioning. Note whether the pack was warmed or cooled en route and whether the test began at a defined temperature.
  4. Verify charger capability. Compare station voltage and current with the vehicle’s maximum acceptance. Check whether the cabinet shares power with another connector.
  5. Match model year and battery version. A revised pack can have a different capacity and curve even when the vehicle name is unchanged.
  6. Use average power or energy added. If only a peak is published, treat it as a ceiling, not a prediction of the entire stop.

Why stopping around 80% is often faster on a trip

The taper near the top of the pack means the last 20% can consume a large share of the total stop. For many trips, leaving at about 80% and using a second short stop later is quicker than waiting for 100%. This is a planning choice, not a battery rule: charge higher when the next charger is sparse, weather is severe, towing increases consumption or the destination has no reliable charging.

Set the departure SoC target from the route, not from the charger’s peak number. A navigation system that selects a charger and preconditions the battery can make the published window more attainable than arriving manually with a cold pack.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to check when your EV is slower than advertised

  • Starting SoC: If you arrived above the test’s starting percentage, the vehicle may already be in a lower-power portion of its curve.
  • Battery temperature: In cold or very hot weather, drive long enough for conditioning or use the vehicle’s charger preconditioning route feature when available.
  • Station output: Confirm that the stall can supply the required voltage and current and is not sharing a cabinet.
  • Vehicle settings: Check that a reduced-charge or battery-protection mode has not lowered the target or power.
  • Battery age: A high-mileage pack may have lower capacity and longer charging times than the original specification.
  • End percentage: If the session is above 80%, expect a taper that is normal rather than a charger fault.

If the car remains far below its normal curve after these checks, try another compatible stall and record the SoC, battery temperature, station rating and power over time. That information distinguishes a vehicle limit from a site problem.

Best Value
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Fast Portable & Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable, Adjustable Current/Delay Chargin for J1772 EVs
  • ✅【Fast & Adjustable Charging Power – Up to 7.68kWh, 16A–32A Output】This Level 2 portable EV charger delivers up to 32A and 7.68kWh for fast, efficient charging. Easily adjust current based on your home circuit: 32A for 40A, 24A for 30A, or 16A for 20A breakers. Simply long-press the “A” button to change amperage when pluged in,You can easily adjust the current (16A/24A/32A) to match your home circuit — no electrician required.
  • ✅【Wide Compatibility – J1772 Connector for All Non-Tesla EVs】Equipped with a standard SAE J1772 plug, this EV charger works with most North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including models from Ford, GM, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, and more. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter (not included).
  • ✅【Smart LED Screen】You Can View real-time charging data on the LED screen: amperage, voltage, speed, and delay settings. Stay fully informed with the built-in LED display that shows real-time charging data, including amperage, voltage, charging speed, and delay settings,Easily schedule your charging sessions during off-peak hours to save on electricity bills, set custom delays, It’s all about charging smarter, not just faster
  • ✅ 【Smart Charging for Long-Term EV Care】: EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger offers flexible amperage settings ranging from 10A to 32A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A). With a simple touch of the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs. Lower amperage charging can reduce heat and extend battery health over time. Choose the current that suits your car and charging scenario — fast when you need it, gentle when you don’t.
  • ✅【Built for Safety & Durability 】The EV charger is designed to handle tough environments with NEMA Type 4/IP66-grade protection against dust and water. While it’s not recommended for installation in direct sunlight or heavy rain, it performs reliably in garages, carports, and covered outdoor areas. The 25-foot military-grade charging cable features a drop-resistant plug tested to withstand over 10,000 insertions — built to last, wherever you charge.

Home charging: why Level 2 feels different

Home charging normally uses AC equipment rather than DC fast charging. The EPA consumer guide identifies Level 2 as 240-volt equipment and explains that the electric-vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) determines charging speed. Because home sessions are usually much longer and lower-powered, the dramatic DC taper is less visible in everyday use, but the same limits still apply: the vehicle’s onboard charger, circuit amperage and battery controls set the actual rate.

For a J1772 Level 2 installation, match the EVSE connector to the vehicle, verify the amperage available from the circuit, and use an electrician who can meet local electrical requirements. A higher-rated EVSE cannot make a vehicle accept more AC power than its onboard charger allows. Charging overnight also lets you choose a departure time and SoC target rather than waiting for the final tapered percentage at a public station.

The practical meaning of a “nine-minute” headline

Treat the number as a best-case result for a defined test, not a universal refill time. The useful questions are: nine minutes from what SoC to what SoC, with what battery temperature, after what preconditioning, on which charger, and for which battery version? Once those conditions are disclosed, the claim can be compared with another vehicle’s average power or time over the same window.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For road-trip planning, the charging curve—not the single highest kW figure—determines how long you will wait. Starting low, arriving with a conditioned battery, choosing a station that can meet the vehicle’s voltage and current needs, and leaving near the point where taper becomes severe usually matter more than chasing the largest peak number.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Battery Technologycharging curvesDC fast chargingelectric vehiclesEV charging

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.