Short answer: The Deepal S07 is a single rear-wheel-drive electric SUV whose claimed range sits between the two Australian BYD Sealion 7 grades. The Sealion 7 Premium is the closest like-for-like comparison for range and layout, while the Performance is a substantially quicker all-wheel-drive alternative with a lower published range. There is no defensible current price winner from the published information, so value depends on same-date drive-away quotes, equipment, warranty support and your priorities for range, traction or acceleration.
What is being compared in Australia?
This comparison uses the Australian-market Deepal S07 model page and BYD Automotive Australia’s 2026 Sealion 7 specification material. Model-year and grade matter: the S07 page describes one rear-wheel-drive configuration, while the Sealion 7 is sold in Premium rear-wheel-drive and Performance all-wheel-drive forms. Comparing the S07 with an unspecified “Sealion 7” can therefore produce a misleading result.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The figures below are manufacturer-published specifications unless an ANCAP record is identified. WLTP range is a standardised test-cycle result, not a promise of the distance a particular driver will cover in traffic, cold weather, high winds, at highway speeds or with a full load. No independent back-to-back road or range test is cited for these vehicles.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
At a glance: the specification differences
| Item | Deepal S07 | BYD Sealion 7 Premium | BYD Sealion 7 Performance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Australian configuration | Rear-wheel-drive midsize electric SUV | Rear-wheel drive, five-seat electric SUV | All-wheel drive, five-seat electric SUV |
| Battery | 79.97 kWh | 82.56 kWh BYD Blade Battery | 82.56 kWh BYD Blade Battery |
| Published WLTP range | Up to 475 km | 482 km | 456 km |
| Power | 160 kW | 230 kW | 390 kW |
| Torque | 320 Nm | 380 Nm | 690 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | Not stated on the official S07 page | 6.7 seconds | 4.5 seconds |
| Charging figures published | 30–80% DC in 35 minutes (manufacturer claim) | 150 kW DC; 11 kW Type 2 AC | 150 kW DC; 11 kW Type 2 AC |
| Storage figures published | Not stated in the official S07 material | 500-litre rear trunk and 58-litre front trunk | 500-litre rear trunk and 58-litre front trunk |
The table shows why the correct Sealion 7 comparator depends on your use. Premium is the closest match for a rear-drive, range-focused buyer. Performance adds all-wheel drive and dramatically higher outputs, but its published WLTP range is lower.
#1 Best Overall
- Right Drive Fit Fit For BYD Sealion 7 EV Model 2024 2025 TPE 3D Car Floor Mats Cargo Liner Pad Waterproof All- Weather Accessories
- - Premium Materials: Made from elastic TPE/rubber, tear-resistant, temperature-stable, and built to last.
- - Precise Fit: Molded based on original vehicle data, designed specifically for your car. The raised edges provide full coverage without interfering with the pedals or seats, ensuring a secure fit.
- - Comprehensive Protection: The fully enclosed, high-sided design effectively blocks water, mud, and dust. Waterproof and stain-resistant, it protects the original car carpet.
- - Easy to Clean: The slip-resistant textured surface repels water and dries quickly. Debris can be easily swept away and rinsed off, making daily maintenance quick and effortless.
Range and battery: which one goes farther?
Deepal S07
DEEPAL Australia lists a 79.97 kWh battery, energy consumption of 18.6 kWh/100 km and “up to” 475 km of WLTP range. “Up to” is important: it identifies the manufacturer’s maximum declared result rather than a guaranteed distance for every trip. The 18.6 kWh/100 km figure is also a published test-cycle consumption value, not an independent real-world measurement.
Sealion 7 Premium and Performance
BYD Australia’s 2026 specification brochure lists an 82.56 kWh battery for both grades. It gives the Premium 482 km WLTP and the Performance 456 km WLTP. The Premium therefore has the highest published range in this comparison, only slightly above the S07’s maximum claim. The Performance’s lower figure reflects the trade-off associated with its higher-output, all-wheel-drive system; it should not be treated as a defect or as evidence of poorer battery quality.
How to interpret the small range gap
On the test cycle, the difference between S07 and Sealion 7 Premium is small enough that route, temperature, speed, tyre pressure, cabin heating or cooling and payload can matter more on a particular day. The 26 km difference between Sealion 7 Premium and Performance is more noticeable on paper, but still does not predict an exact charging stop for your commute. Use WLTP to compare the grades consistently, then plan around your own weekly distance and charging access.
Rank #2
- Right Drive Fit Fit For BYD Sealion 7 EV Model 2024 2025 TPE 3D Car Floor Mats Cargo Liner Pad Waterproof All- Weather Accessories
- - Premium Materials: Made from elastic TPE/rubber, tear-resistant, temperature-stable, and built to last.
- - Precise Fit: Molded based on original vehicle data, designed specifically for your car. The raised edges provide full coverage without interfering with the pedals or seats, ensuring a secure fit.
- - Comprehensive Protection: The fully enclosed, high-sided design effectively blocks water, mud, and dust. Waterproof and stain-resistant, it protects the original car carpet.
- - Easy to Clean: The slip-resistant textured surface repels water and dries quickly. Debris can be easily swept away and rinsed off, making daily maintenance quick and effortless.
- Choose the S07 or Sealion 7 Premium if maximising the published range figure is more important than extreme acceleration.
- Choose the Sealion 7 Performance only if its all-wheel drive and acceleration justify accepting the lower declared range.
- Ask the dealer which wheels, tyres and software version apply to the exact vehicle, because equipment changes can affect consumption and the specification sheet may be revised.
Power, traction and acceleration
S07: one rear-drive output
The Australian S07 page specifies 160 kW and 320 Nm for its rear-wheel-drive configuration. The official page does not publish a 0–100 km/h time, so it would be misleading to estimate one from another market or from a secondary listing. Its specification is best understood as a single, simpler powertrain choice rather than a range of trims with different outputs.
Sealion 7 Premium: stronger rear-drive alternative
The Premium is also rear-wheel drive, but BYD lists 230 kW, 380 Nm and 0–100 km/h in 6.7 seconds. Those figures give it a substantial published output advantage over the S07. They are specification claims, not the result of a comparative test on the same road, tyres or battery state of charge.
Sealion 7 Performance: AWD and 4.5 seconds
The Performance uses all-wheel drive and is listed at 390 kW and 690 Nm, with a claimed 0–100 km/h time of 4.5 seconds. That is the clear choice for a buyer who values rapid acceleration or the extra traction available from two driven axles. All-wheel drive does not automatically mean better handling in every circumstance; suspension tuning, tyres, weather and driver inputs still matter, and no independent handling comparison is established here.
Rank #3
- Right Drive Fit Fit For BYD Sealion 7 EV Model 2024 2025 TPE 3D Car Floor Mats Cargo Liner Pad Waterproof All- Weather Accessories
- - Premium Materials: Made from elastic TPE/rubber, tear-resistant, temperature-stable, and built to last.
- - Precise Fit: Molded based on original vehicle data, designed specifically for your car. The raised edges provide full coverage without interfering with the pedals or seats, ensuring a secure fit.
- - Comprehensive Protection: The fully enclosed, high-sided design effectively blocks water, mud, and dust. Waterproof and stain-resistant, it protects the original car carpet.
- - Easy to Clean: The slip-resistant textured surface repels water and dries quickly. Debris can be easily swept away and rinsed off, making daily maintenance quick and effortless.
| Priority | Most logical grade | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Rear-drive layout with a modest, single specification | Deepal S07 | It is offered in one rear-wheel-drive configuration in the Australian material. |
| More power while retaining rear-wheel drive | Sealion 7 Premium | 230 kW and 380 Nm, with a 6.7-second claimed 0–100 km/h time. |
| Maximum acceleration and all-wheel drive | Sealion 7 Performance | 390 kW, 690 Nm, AWD and a 4.5-second claimed 0–100 km/h time. |
Charging: the figures are not a matched test
What Deepal publishes
DEEPAL states that the S07 can charge from 30% to 80% on DC in 35 minutes. This is a manufacturer claim for a defined charging window. It does not say that every public charger will deliver that result: battery temperature, starting state of charge, charger sharing, ambient conditions and the vehicle’s charging curve all affect the session.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What BYD publishes
The 2026 BYD brochure lists 150 kW DC capability and 11 kW Type 2 AC charging for both Sealion 7 grades. It also lists a portable charging cable. A maximum DC figure is not the same as a 10–80% time, and the brochure figures cannot be converted into an equivalent S07 charging time without a common test procedure. Before buying, confirm the cable supplied with the exact vehicle and check that your home electrical installation can support the intended AC charging rate.
Planning home and road charging
- Estimate your normal weekly kilometres rather than relying only on the headline WLTP number.
- Check whether your home supply, switchboard and parking arrangement can accommodate an 11 kW AC installation if you are considering the Sealion 7’s full listed AC capability.
- Ask the dealer for the vehicle’s supplied cable, charging connector details and any included portable equipment; do not buy a duplicate cable until this is confirmed.
- For highway travel, compare the locations and reliability of compatible DC sites on your actual routes, not just the vehicles’ peak-power figures.
- Request a demonstration charge, where practical, and record the battery state of charge, charger rating and time. That gives you a useful local reference without presenting it as a laboratory comparison.
Cabin technology, practicality and equipment
S07 equipment highlighted by DEEPAL
DEEPAL’s Australian page lists a 15.6-inch centre display and 14 Sony speakers. It also identifies a 360-degree camera, front and rear parking sensors, adaptive cruise control, collision warning, blind-spot detection, lane-keep and lane-change assistance, seven airbags, electronic stability control and traction control. These are equipment descriptions; availability and operation should be checked on the exact demonstrator, because software functions can vary by market and update.
Rank #4
- For BYD Sealion 7 2024-2026 Car Window Center Pillar Stickers Black Decoration Film Exterior Modification Products Accessories
- Designed to fit a wide range of vehicles, this B-pillar decorative strip works with most standard door frame sizes.
- Made ABS or PVC material, featuring a sleek carbon fiber texture or piano black finish. Adds a sporty and premium look to your vehicle while protecting the original pillar from scratches, sun damage, and minor impacts.
- Comes with strong automotive-grade double-sided tape (VHB style). Simply clean the surface, peel, align, and stick. No drilling, cutting, or special tools needed. Works perfectly on clean, dry, and smooth surfaces.
- Features smooth, rounded edges that will not scratch your car's paint or interfere with door opening and closing. When removal is desired, simply apply gentle heat (hair dryer) and peel off slowly — leaves no sticky residue or damage to the original surface.
Sealion 7 equipment and storage
BYD’s Australian material describes a rotating 15.6-inch screen, vehicle-to-load (V2L) capability and driver-assistance systems. The published storage figures are a 500-litre rear trunk and a 58-litre front trunk. V2L can be useful for powering suitable appliances or equipment away from a household outlet, but confirm the supplied adapter, maximum load and operating instructions before planning a specific use.
What to inspect in person
- Measure the rear cargo area with the seats in the positions your household uses; a nominal litre figure does not show shape, loading height or under-floor storage.
- Check whether a child seat, pram, bicycle or work equipment fits without obstructing the tailgate or rear visibility.
- Try the screen from the driver’s seat and verify that commonly used functions are accessible without excessive menu navigation.
- Test camera views, parking sensors and driver-assistance alerts in the dealer’s permitted area.
- Confirm whether the listed features are standard on the grade quoted rather than optional, market-dependent or restricted by a software setting.
Safety evidence: use ANCAP records, not equipment counts
DEEPAL’s page states a five-star ANCAP rating for the S07. ANCAP’s record identifies it as a battery-electric medium SUV tested in 2024, on sale in Australia from January 2025, with the rating applying to all variants and expiring in December 2031.
Recommended Free Tools
ANCAP records the Sealion 7 as introduced in Australia and New Zealand in February 2025 and says its safety rating applies across variants. The cited material does not establish the star count and detailed scores needed for a fair numerical comparison, so check the current ANCAP rating badge and full report before relying on a star or category result.
Best Value
- [CUSTOM FIT FOR BYD Sealion 7 2025-2026] 3D laser-scanned floor mats shaped to vehicle interior contours; verify model year, body style, powertrain, and vehicle configuration before ordering
- [ALL-WEATHER WATERPROOF PROTECTION] Waterproof, stain-resistant TPE floor liners help shield the original carpet from rain, snow, mud, sand, dust, road salt, and everyday spills
- [ODORLESS FLEXIBLE TPE] Made from odorless TPE that remains flexible from -50°C to +80°C (-58°F to 176°F), helping the liners retain their shape through seasonal temperature changes
- [SECURE ANTI-SLIP INSTALLATION] Textured surfaces and compatible factory retention points, where applicable, help reduce shifting during everyday driving; installs without cutting or trimming
- [EASY TO CLEAN AND INSTALL] Remove the floor mats, wipe with a damp cloth, or wash with soap and water; allow them to dry completely before reinstalling
A long list of airbags or assistance features is not a substitute for crash-test performance. When comparing the cars, verify that the ANCAP rating applies to the exact Australian grade and model-year vehicle you are ordering, and ask whether any equipment change has triggered an updated report.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Warranty and ownership considerations
S07 coverage stated on the Australian page
DEEPAL states a seven-year or 160,000 km new-vehicle warranty and an eight-year or 240,000 km battery warranty, whichever comes first. It also says buyers can receive 12 months of complimentary roadside assistance if they opt in at delivery. Confirm the exclusions, servicing requirements, transfer rules and the meaning of “whichever comes first” in the written warranty terms.
Sealion 7 terms require a current check
The BYD sources do not provide a complete warranty schedule suitable for comparison. Obtain the current Australian warranty document for the precise Sealion 7 grade and ask about battery capacity coverage, roadside assistance, servicing intervals, software support and transfer to a subsequent owner.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Dealer and insurance checks
Ownership value includes more than the sticker price. Before signing, check the distance to an authorised service outlet, parts and repair arrangements, insurance premiums, tyre sizes and replacement costs, scheduled servicing and the availability of a loan vehicle. These can vary by postcode and driver profile, so a dealer quote and an insurance quote for your circumstances are more useful than a generic online estimate.
Value: why there is no reliable price winner here
No current, same-date drive-away price pair for an equivalent S07 and Sealion 7 grade was published. Advertising or search-result prices can omit delivery, registration, stamp duty, dealer charges, accessories, finance conditions or temporary offers. Presenting one as the current national price would overstate what the evidence supports.
How to make a fair Australian comparison
- Request written drive-away quotes for the Deepal S07 and the exact Sealion 7 grade: Premium or Performance.
- Ask each dealer to itemise vehicle price, delivery, registration, stamp duty, statutory charges, accessories, demonstrator status and any discount or finance condition.
- Use the same quote date and postcode, and record whether the offer is a limited promotion or a recurring list price.
- Compare included charging cables, floor mats, roadside assistance, servicing packages and warranty coverage rather than subtracting only the headline discount.
- Calculate the cost of the equipment you would otherwise need to add, such as a home charger or a V2L adapter, while confirming what is already included.
- Keep the quotes and specification sheets together; manufacturers can revise equipment, prices and delivery timing after an order is placed.
A practical value framework
| If your priority is… | Start with… | Check before deciding |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest purchase and running cost | Whichever exact grade has the lower comparable drive-away quote | Insurance, servicing, tyres, charging access and included equipment. |
| Maximum published range | Sealion 7 Premium, then S07 | Your real route, weather, speed and home-charging routine. |
| Acceleration and all-wheel traction | Sealion 7 Performance | Its lower WLTP range, tyre costs and whether AWD is useful in your conditions. |
| Long written vehicle and battery coverage | S07, based on the stated DEEPAL terms | The complete BYD warranty document before declaring a winner. |
| Useful external power | Sealion 7 grades with listed V2L equipment | Adapter inclusion, load limits and your intended appliance. |
Which one should you buy?
Choose the Deepal S07 when…
- You want a rear-wheel-drive electric SUV with one clearly defined Australian powertrain.
- The S07’s claimed range, 18.6 kWh/100 km published consumption figure and stated 30–80% DC charging claim fit your routine.
- The listed 15.6-inch display, 14-speaker audio system, 360-degree camera and parking assistance match your equipment priorities.
- The published seven-year/160,000 km vehicle and eight-year/240,000 km battery terms are important, subject to the written conditions.
Choose the Sealion 7 Premium when…
- You want the highest published WLTP range of the three configurations compared here while keeping rear-wheel drive.
- Its 230 kW output and 6.7-second claimed acceleration are preferable to the S07’s lower published outputs.
- You value the listed 500-litre rear trunk, 58-litre front trunk, rotating screen and V2L capability.
- A same-date quote makes it better value after accounting for included equipment and ownership costs.
Choose the Sealion 7 Performance when…
- All-wheel drive and a 4.5-second claimed 0–100 km/h time matter more than maximum range.
- You accept the 456 km WLTP figure and can charge conveniently for your regular routes.
- The additional output and traction justify any price, insurance or tyre-cost premium in the quote you receive.
Questions to settle during the test drive
- Which exact grade, model year and build specification is on the quote?
- What is included in the drive-away figure, and which items are conditional on finance or a limited-time offer?
- What cable and adapters are supplied, and what charging hardware must be purchased separately?
- Can the dealer demonstrate the driver-assistance settings, camera views, V2L operation and screen controls?
- What are the servicing intervals, battery-warranty conditions and roadside-assistance terms in writing?
- Does the current ANCAP record apply to the vehicle identification and grade you will receive?
The most defensible conclusion is therefore grade-specific: the S07 and Sealion 7 Premium are close on published range, while the Sealion 7 Performance is a faster AWD proposition with less declared range. Treat “better value” as an outcome of your documented local quote and usage priorities, not as a universal ranking.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




