Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

AVATR 0710 MIN

AVATR 07 vs Tesla Model Y: Which Electric SUV Is Better for Everyday Use?

The AVATR 07 and Tesla Model Y are not a simple winner-takes-all comparison. Separate the AVATR’s EV and range-extender versions, match the market and test cycle, then compare charging access, space, warranty and total ownership costs.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no defensible all-market winner between the AVATR 07 and Tesla Model Y. The answer changes with the country where you will register the vehicle, the model year and trim available there, your access to charging, and whether you want a battery-only SUV or the AVATR 07’s range-extended configuration. In the China-market figures available for this comparison, the AVATR 07 starts below the listed Tesla Model Y RWD price and offers either a range extender or a substantially longer quoted battery-electric range. Tesla’s advantages can be more relevant to buyers who already have dependable Supercharging access or who are shopping a different Model Y trim.

Use the figures below as configuration references, not promises of personal range, charging speed, cargo capacity or ownership cost. Before ordering, compare the local configurators for the same model year, warranty, connector standard, test cycle and equipment.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick answer: which is better for everyday use?

Choose the AVATR 07 REEV if your daily driving is mostly within its quoted electric-only range but you occasionally make long trips where charging access is uncertain. Its range-extender system gives it a different use case from a battery-electric Model Y, although the total-range figure includes fuel-assisted operation and must not be treated as battery range.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the AVATR 07 EV if you can charge reliably and want a battery-only SUV with a 650-kilometre CLTC claim in the cited China configuration. Choose a Tesla Model Y if the exact local trim, Tesla’s charging network and its software or service ecosystem fit your routes better. The Model Y is battery-electric in every configuration discussed here.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Those are usage-based choices, not a universal ranking. The AVATR specifications and prices cited here are from China-market material, while Tesla information also comes from a separate United States page and China sources. A buyer in another country should not combine the numbers as though they describe one market.

First, make sure you are comparing equivalent vehicles

AVATR 07 has two fundamentally different powertrains

The China-market AVATR 07 configurations in the official table are both five-seat, rear-wheel-drive vehicles, but one is a battery-electric vehicle and the other is a range-extended electric vehicle (REEV). The EV uses its battery as the sole energy source. The REEV drives electrically over its specified battery range and carries a range-extender system for additional travel. That distinction affects refuelling, emissions, luggage planning, maintenance questions and how you should read the range figures.

Model Y figures vary by market and version

Tesla’s China configurator lists several Model Y versions, while the United States page presents a separate 2026 range of trims. The China RWD figure used here is not automatically equivalent to a US Standard RWD or to a China long-range or performance model. Tesla’s China owner manual also separates the five-seat Model Y Premium from the six-seat Model Y L. Confirm the exact body, seating layout, battery, wheels and software equipment on the local order page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the market caveat matters

Prices, consumer warranties, charging connectors, incentives, registration taxes and available service locations are all market-specific. Even the range test can differ: the China figures below use CLTC, whereas the US Tesla page uses EPA estimates. A comparison that mixes those values can make one vehicle look better simply because the test method is different.

China-market specification snapshot

The following table puts the cited manufacturer configuration figures next to one another. AVATR values come from its China-market configuration table; the Tesla value is the China Model Y RWD shown in Tesla’s configurator. These are listed or advertised specifications, not independent test results or final transaction prices.

Vehicle and configuration Listed price Quoted range Battery Advertised charging figure 0–100 km/h
AVATR 07 REEV, five-seat RWD ¥219,900 245 km CLTC electric; 1,115 km CLTC overall including the range extender 39.05 kWh 30–80% in 15 minutes 6.6 seconds
AVATR 07 EV, five-seat RWD ¥229,900 650 km CLTC 82.16 kWh 30–80% in 10 minutes 6.3 seconds
Tesla Model Y RWD, China configurator ¥263,500 593 km CLTC Not stated in the cited configurator entry Not stated in the cited China entry 5.9 seconds

The AVATR prices are ¥43,600 below the cited Model Y RWD for the REEV and ¥33,600 below it for the EV. They are suggested or listed prices from separate manufacturer configurators; incentives, options, delivery charges, taxes and negotiated prices can change the amount you actually pay.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Range: compare the use case, not just the headline number

AVATR 07 REEV

The REEV’s 245-kilometre CLTC figure is the relevant number for driving without using its range-extender system. Its 1,115-kilometre CLTC overall figure combines electric driving with the extender, so it belongs in a different column from a battery-electric vehicle’s battery-only range. If your regular commute is short and you can charge at home, the REEV may cover most routine trips electrically while retaining a backup energy source for longer journeys. If you cannot charge where you park, its everyday energy use will depend more heavily on how and when the extender operates.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AVATR 07 EV and Model Y RWD

The cited AVATR 07 EV is rated at 650 km CLTC and the China Model Y RWD at 593 km CLTC. Both numbers use the same named Chinese test cycle in this comparison, but neither guarantees that distance in winter, at motorway speed, with a full load, in heavy rain or with climate control running. Wheel choice, temperature, traffic and driving style can materially alter consumption.

Do not convert CLTC into a promised real-world distance

CLTC and EPA are different test standards. Tesla’s United States page lists EPA-estimated figures of 321 miles for Standard RWD, 294 miles for Standard AWD, 327 miles for Premium AWD and 306 miles for Performance AWD at the time captured. Those EPA estimates cannot be ranked numerically against the AVATR’s CLTC values as if they were measured on one test. No matched independent road test is established here, so a precise “real-world winner” would be an unsupported claim.

Plan for your own lowest-comfort range

For an everyday decision, record your longest routine day, the coldest weather you regularly encounter, motorway distance and the minimum battery percentage at which you feel comfortable arriving. Then check whether local charging exists before the return trip. A vehicle that has a larger laboratory number but no convenient charger on your regular route may be less useful than one with a smaller quoted range and reliable charging access.

Charging: which SUV is easier to live with?

Home charging is usually the most important factor

Neither vehicle should be assumed to include a home charging station. Compatibility depends on the car’s local connector, the electrical service at your property, permits, cable length and the charger’s output. Ask an installer to verify the circuit and protection requirements before buying equipment. Apartment residents should confirm that a dedicated parking-space connection is allowed and metered correctly.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to read the AVATR charging claims

AVATR lists a 30–80% supercharge time of 15 minutes for the REEV and 10 minutes for the EV in the cited configurations. Those are manufacturer claims for a particular battery, temperature and charger condition. They do not describe the entire 0–100% session, the time spent locating or queuing for a charger, or the speed after the battery reaches a high state of charge.

Rank #3
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

Tesla’s published US charging figures

The US Model Y page lists maximum Supercharging power of 225 kW for Standard RWD and Standard AWD, and 250 kW for Premium AWD and Performance AWD. These are version-specific peak figures, not a route average. Battery temperature, starting state of charge, charger sharing, weather and the vehicle’s charge curve determine how many kilometres you add during a stop. The US values also do not establish what a China-market Model Y will achieve on a different charging network.

Check the complete route

  1. List the chargers on your most frequent long-distance routes, including their connector type, operating hours and payment method.
  2. Check whether your preferred AVATR or Model Y trim can use those connectors without an adapter that is unavailable in your market.
  3. Look for alternative sites at the midpoint and destination rather than relying on one station.
  4. Ask the dealer for the vehicle’s charge curve and maximum accepted power for the exact battery and model year; a peak number alone is insufficient.
  5. Price home installation, electricity tariffs and any required building work before comparing running costs.

A Tesla China page also lists a separately purchased AC external-power adapter. That is an accessory for supplying power to external equipment; it is not a home EV charging station.

Space, seating and daily practicality

Exterior dimensions

AVATR’s model page gives the AVATR 07 a length of 4,825 mm, width of 1,980 mm and wheelbase of 2,940 mm. The cited China Model Y Premium manual lists 4,797 mm of length and a 2,890 mm wheelbase. The AVATR is therefore longer on those published dimensions, but exterior measurements do not prove that it has more usable passenger or luggage space. Seat travel, roof shape, storage compartments and the shape of the load floor matter just as much.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Cargo figures

Tesla’s China owner manual reports up to 2,138 litres of cargo capacity for the five-seat Model Y Premium with the driver and front passenger included in the stated measurement. The manual reports separate dimensions and cargo information for the six-seat Model Y L. The AVATR sources cited here do not provide a directly comparable cargo-volume figure, so it would be misleading to declare a luggage-capacity winner from the exterior dimensions alone.

Passenger and cargo checks before ordering

  • Take the child seats, booster seats, stroller or mobility equipment you actually use to a showroom.
  • Measure the height and width of your garage, including mirrors and charging-cable clearance.
  • Check whether the rear seats fold in the configuration you want and whether the resulting floor is level.
  • Confirm the number of seats: the AVATR configurations cited here are five-seat, while Tesla separately lists a six-seat Model Y L.
  • Inspect under-floor storage and the front trunk if you carry charging cables or wet gear.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Performance and driving expectations

The cited AVATR 07 REEV reaches 100 km/h in 6.6 seconds, the AVATR 07 EV in 6.3 seconds and the China Model Y RWD in 5.9 seconds. These acceleration claims suggest that all three are quick enough for normal merging and overtaking, but they do not describe ride comfort, steering weight, braking feel, visibility, tyre noise or handling on poor roads. No independent matched drive evaluation is established for these vehicles here.

Do not infer reliability, software quality or maintenance cost from acceleration. The REEV also introduces an additional range-extender system compared with a battery-only EV, which may matter to buyers prioritising mechanical simplicity, but no comparative reliability dataset is available to quantify that trade-off.

Rank #4
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

Price, warranty and ownership budget

What the cited prices do—and do not—tell you

The China list prices make the AVATR 07 appear less expensive at entry than the cited Model Y RWD. That is useful for a first screen, not a total-cost conclusion. Add insurance, registration or purchase taxes, financing, electricity, fuel for the REEV, tyres, scheduled service, home-charger installation and likely resale value. None of those costs can be transferred reliably from one country to another.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Warranty context

For the displayed China-market Model Y context, Tesla lists a new-vehicle limited warranty of four years or 80,000 kilometres and a battery and drive-unit warranty of eight years or 160,000 kilometres. Verify the exact terms, exclusions, transfer rules and mileage limits for the local trim. The cited AVATR material does not provide a matching warranty schedule, so it should be obtained from the local seller before comparing coverage.

Service access matters more than a brochure promise

Map the nearest authorised service locations for both vehicles, ask about mobile service and parts lead times, and obtain an insurance quote using the exact trim and postcode. A lower list price can be offset by expensive coverage or limited repair support; a familiar service network can be worth more than a small difference in battery range.

Which one fits common everyday-use profiles?

You have home charging and drive mostly locally

The AVATR 07 EV is the most straightforward match among the cited configurations: it is battery-only and carries the higher 650-kilometre CLTC claim. A Model Y RWD remains reasonable if its local software, service and charging access are better for you. Compare the installed price and your real route rather than selecting solely by the laboratory range.

You cannot depend on public charging for long trips

The AVATR 07 REEV deserves consideration because its 245-kilometre quoted electric range and range-extender system address different constraints from a pure EV. Confirm local fuel availability, refuelling rules, emissions restrictions and how the vehicle behaves when the battery is low. Do not use the 1,115-kilometre overall CLTC figure as an estimate of battery-only travel.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

You rely on public fast charging

Choose the vehicle whose connector, network coverage and route planning work on your actual journeys. Tesla’s published US peak-power figures cannot establish a China-market advantage, and AVATR’s 10- or 15-minute 30–80% claims do not prove shorter real-world stops. Visit the charging sites you would use at busy times if possible.

You regularly carry bulky luggage or six passengers

Check the exact seat configuration and measure your equipment. The cited AVATR versions are five-seat. Tesla’s China manual distinguishes a six-seat Model Y L from the five-seat Model Y Premium, so a six-passenger requirement changes which Model Y you are comparing. Because no matching AVATR cargo figure is supplied, insist on a physical loading test.

A buyer’s checklist before placing a deposit

  1. Define the sales country, model year and exact trim for both vehicles.
  2. Record each vehicle’s range test cycle and whether the number is electric-only or total range.
  3. Confirm connector type, adapter availability, maximum charging power and local fast-charger coverage.
  4. Obtain written price, taxes, delivery charges, incentives and warranty terms from the local configurator or dealer.
  5. Get insurance and home-charger installation quotes before comparing monthly budgets.
  6. Test-fit passengers, child seats, luggage and garage space.
  7. Ask about service locations, parts availability, software support and roadside assistance.
  8. Drive both vehicles on the roads you use, including a rough surface and a motorway, if a local test drive is available.

Bottom line

The AVATR 07 and Tesla Model Y answer different everyday-use priorities. In the cited China-market data, AVATR offers the lower listed entry price and a choice between a range-extended EV and a 650-kilometre-CLTC battery EV. Tesla offers a battery-electric Model Y with several market-specific trims and a published charging ecosystem whose usefulness depends on where you live. Select the configuration that matches your charging access, passenger needs, route pattern and written local ownership terms; the available evidence does not support naming one SUV the universal winner.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AVATR 07China EV marketelectric SUVsEV chargingEV comparisonTesla Model Y

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.