For the lowest advertised entry price with a published long-range figure, Chevrolet’s 2027 Bolt is the clearest starting point: Chevrolet lists a $28,995 starting MSRP and 262 EPA-estimated miles. The 2026 Nissan LEAF is advertised at the same starting MSRP and a claimed 25-minute 10%-to-80% public DC fast-charge time, but its final trim-specific range should be verified before you compare it directly with the Bolt. The right choice depends on whether you need a hatchback or small SUV shape, how much you drive, and whether you can charge at home.
What is the most affordable small electric car?
Based on the current manufacturer comparison available in the United States, the 2027 Chevrolet Bolt and 2026 Nissan LEAF both show a $28,995 advertised starting MSRP. Chevrolet’s page presents that figure for both vehicles. It also lists the Bolt at 262 EPA-estimated miles and advertises a 25-minute public DC fast-charge time from 10% to 80% for both vehicles.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Those are manufacturer-published figures, not an independent road test or a guaranteed transaction price. Chevrolet says the displayed MSRP excludes taxes, title, license, dealer fees, and optional equipment, and the Bolt images on the comparison page are identified as preproduction. Verify the final production vehicle, EPA listing, equipment and local inventory before signing a purchase order.
The 2026 LEAF should not be assigned the 2025 LEAF’s range numbers. The U.S. Department of Energy’s model-year 2025 data lists LEAF versions at 149 or 212 miles, while Nissan describes the 2026 vehicle as a subcompact electric SUV. Those are different model years and potentially different vehicle configurations.
#1 Best Overall
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Quick comparison: the small-EV choices with official figures
| Model and model year | Advertised or listed price | Published range | Charging information | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chevrolet Bolt, 2027 | $28,995 starting MSRP, Chevrolet comparison page | 262 EPA-estimated miles | 25 minutes from 10% to 80% on public DC fast charging, Chevrolet claim | Most complete low-price/range combination in the current comparison; verify final production and EPA details. |
| Nissan LEAF, 2026 | $28,995 starting MSRP, Chevrolet comparison page | Trim-specific 2026 number not exposed in the cited material | 25 minutes from 10% to 80% on public DC fast charging, Chevrolet claim | Nissan calls it a subcompact electric SUV; do not substitute 2025 range data. |
| Nissan LEAF, 2025 | $28,140 base MSRP in the DOE model-year 2025 table | 149 or 212 miles, depending on version | Not stated in the DOE table cited here | Useful for used or leftover model-year inventory, not a specification for the 2026 redesign. |
| Hyundai KONA Electric, 2025 | Not stated in the cited listing | 200 miles (SE); 230–261 miles (N Line, SEL and Limited) | Not stated in the cited listing | A small-crossover alternative when body style matters; price and 2026 specifications require a separate check. |
| Hyundai IONIQ 5, 2025–2026 | Not established in the cited material | 245–318 miles, depending on model year and trim | Actual time varies with charge level, charger output, vehicle and battery settings, battery temperature and outside temperature | Broader EV context, but it is a larger vehicle and not an equivalent budget-small-EV comparison. |
| Nissan ARIYA, 2025 | $43,770 starting MSRP for ENGAGE Dual Motor e-4ORCE AWD | Not stated in the cited material | Not stated in the cited material | Higher-priced electric crossover context rather than a direct low-price match. |
“Starting MSRP” is not the same as the amount you will pay at the dealership. Add destination charges, taxes, registration, dealer charges and selected options, then subtract only incentives for which you actually qualify. Local inventory and dealer pricing can change the delivered price.
Choose by the way you drive
If your priority is the lowest advertised price plus usable range
Start with the 2027 Bolt. The $28,995 advertised starting MSRP and 262 EPA-estimated miles give it the strongest documented price-to-range story in this comparison. That does not prove it will be the least expensive purchase in your ZIP code: a 2025 vehicle, an incentive-eligible LEAF or a dealer discount could change the transaction price. Treat the Bolt figures as Chevrolet’s advertised specifications until the final production and EPA information is confirmed.
If you want a small SUV seating position
Consider the 2026 LEAF’s shape. Nissan calls it a subcompact electric SUV, which may suit drivers who prefer a taller entry, a more upright view or a crossover-style cargo area. The available evidence does not provide a final, trim-by-trim 2026 range table, so body style is the defensible reason to shortlist it—not an assumed range advantage.
The 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric is another small-crossover reference point. Hyundai lists 200 miles for the SE and 230–261 miles for the N Line, SEL and Limited. Its contemporaneous price is not established here, so compare a written local quote rather than inferring affordability from the range figure.
Rank #2
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
If you are considering a discounted or used car
The 2025 LEAF remains relevant when shopping previous-year stock or a used EV. DOE’s model-year 2025 table lists a $28,140 base MSRP and two range figures: 149 miles and 212 miles, associated with different battery capacities of 40.3 kWh and 60.6 kWh. Confirm the exact version, battery condition, remaining warranty and charging equipment on the individual car. Do not describe those numbers as 2026 LEAF specifications.
If you regularly carry more people or cargo
Do not select by range alone. The cited material does not establish comparable cargo-volume measurements or exterior dimensions for these vehicles. Sit in every seating position, bring the child seats or mobility equipment you use, measure the garage and test the hatch or liftgate with your usual cargo. A car that costs less but cannot carry your passengers or fit your parking space is not an affordable solution.
Home charging determines whether a cheap EV stays convenient
The U.S. Department of Energy explains: “To safely deliver energy from the electric grid to a vehicle’s battery, an EV charging station, sometimes referred to as electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), is needed.” In practical terms, buying an EV is also a decision about where its electricity will come from.
When you have a driveway or garage
- Ask an electrician to check the service panel, circuit capacity, outlet location and local permitting requirements before choosing equipment.
- Confirm that the vehicle, connector and charging equipment are compatible.
- Decide whether a basic household outlet meets your overnight needs or whether a dedicated Level 2 installation is worthwhile.
- Price the installation separately from the vehicle; neither the advertised Bolt nor LEAF MSRP includes it.
Nissan identifies Level 1 charging from a 120-volt household outlet as an option for overnight or emergency charging on the 2026 LEAF. A household outlet can be useful when daily mileage is modest, but the practical result depends on how many miles you need to replace each night and the condition of the circuit.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
When you cannot install home charging
Check public charging before you buy, not after. Map chargers near home, work, regular errands and weekend destinations. Compare connector availability, operating hours, payment method, reliability and price per kilowatt-hour or session. A low-MSRP EV can become inconvenient if every charge requires a detour or a long wait.
Ask the dealer to demonstrate the vehicle’s charge-port location and navigation or app process for finding compatible stations. If you rent or use street parking, confirm that you are allowed to run a cable and that the local station is available overnight.
What the fast-charge numbers really mean
Chevrolet’s comparison page advertises 25 minutes for a 10%-to-80% public DC fast-charge session for both the 2027 Bolt and 2026 LEAF. That is a defined window, not a promise that every stop will take 25 minutes. The charger must deliver sufficient output, the vehicle must accept it, and the battery must be in an appropriate temperature and state-of-charge range.
Recommended Free Tools
Hyundai explicitly says charging time varies with current charge level, charger output, vehicle and battery settings, battery temperature and outside temperature. Those same variables are why a manufacturer’s timed estimate should be used for trip planning only under comparable conditions. Cold weather, a busy or reduced-output station, a battery that is nearly full, or a vehicle setting that limits charging can extend the stop.
Rank #4
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
For a fair comparison, record four details for every quoted charging claim:
- Whether it is AC home charging or public DC fast charging.
- The starting and ending battery percentages.
- The charger’s rated output and any vehicle limit.
- The model year, trim and drivetrain.
Do not compare a 10%-to-80% claim with an unspecified “fast charging” statement as if they were the same measurement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How much range do you actually need?
Calculate your normal weekday
- Add the miles for your commute, school runs, shopping and other predictable trips.
- Allow for detours, weather and days when you cannot charge on schedule.
- Compare that requirement with the exact trim’s EPA-estimated range, not a model family’s best number.
- Check winter performance and highway use in your region before deciding that the smallest battery is sufficient.
A driver with a short commute and reliable overnight charging may have no practical need to pay for maximum range. Someone who drives long highway distances or lacks home charging should give more weight to verified range, public DC access and charging cost than to a small difference in purchase price.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Keep model years separate
Official figures in this comparison span 2025, 2026 and 2027 vehicles. The 149- and 212-mile LEAF figures come from the DOE’s 2025 dataset. The 2026 LEAF’s advertised price and fast-charge claim come from a manufacturer comparison that does not expose the same trim-specific range number in the cited material. Mixing those rows would create a specification that no single vehicle actually has.
Best Value
- WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Price, incentives and availability checks
Before comparing offers, request an itemized buyer’s order showing vehicle price, destination, taxes, title, registration, dealer fees, accessories and any financing products. Then check current federal, state, local and utility incentives independently. The figures here do not establish your eligibility, the value of an incentive in your jurisdiction or whether an incentive is applied at purchase.
Search several nearby dealers for the exact trim and battery configuration. Advertised starting prices often correspond to a base version that is not on the lot. Ask whether the quoted car includes optional equipment, a market adjustment or a required package. Inventory for a future model year can be limited even when a manufacturer’s comparison page is live.
A practical decision path
- Set a delivered-price ceiling. Use the advertised MSRP only as the starting point, then add unavoidable charges and subtract incentives you can document.
- Choose the body style. Decide whether a compact-car format or the 2026 LEAF’s subcompact-SUV shape better fits passengers, cargo and parking.
- Match the exact range. Record model year, trim, drivetrain and EPA status; reject comparisons that leave any of those blank.
- Audit charging. Confirm home electrical capacity or map dependable public stations and their prices.
- Test the real use case. Load your normal cargo, check rear-seat space and drive the routes that matter to you.
- Verify the final vehicle. Compare the window sticker, VIN-specific equipment, final EPA listing and written dealer quote with the figures you used to shortlist it.
Which small EV fits your needs?
Choose the 2027 Bolt first if the documented combination of a $28,995 advertised starting MSRP and 262 EPA-estimated miles matches your budget and a compact-car format works for you. Shortlist the 2026 LEAF if a subcompact electric SUV layout is more useful, but require final trim-specific range and equipment information before ranking it against the Bolt. Look at a 2025 LEAF when a used or previous-year bargain is your priority, keeping its 149- or 212-mile figures separate from the 2026 vehicle. Consider the KONA Electric when a small crossover is essential and its local price is competitive; Hyundai’s cited 200–261-mile range span is trim-dependent.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallFor every option, the decisive ownership question is charging access. A car that fits your daily miles and can be charged where you live or work is usually a better value than one with a stronger brochure number but no convenient, affordable place to replenish it.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




