Recommended Free Tools
Yes—several automotive LiDAR suppliers have announced targets or expectations around $500 per sensor for high-volume vehicle programs. That does not mean a driver can buy one for $500: the figures were tied to automotive production scale, not verified retail transactions, and the announcements do not establish current consumer availability.
What does the $500 figure actually mean?
It is a production-volume target, not a published shelf price. Velodyne said in 2016 that its Solid-State Hybrid Ultra Puck Auto would be priced below $500 per unit in automotive mass-production quantities. In 2020, the company gave the same below-$500 target for its Velarray H800 at high-volume production. Cepton announced a below-$500 target for the Vista-X90 Plus in automotive volumes in 2023.
Those qualifications matter: an OEM program price depends on production scale and commercial terms, and a target is not evidence that units changed hands at that price. The announcements describe sensors intended for vehicle integration, sampling or planned production, rather than consumer products with a verified current transaction price.
Which announced sensors are closest to the target?
The figures below come from company or partner announcements made between 2016 and 2024. They describe announced specifications and plans, not a confirmation that each product is currently in production or available to purchase.
#1 Best Overall
- [Triangulation Technology] LD14P is based on traditional triangulation radar technology to achieve 360-degree environment detection,paired with LDROBOT first-class algorithm logic to achieve high-precision map construction and obstacle detection forthe robot.
- [Ultra Long Range] After algorithm optimization, the distance measurement can reach 8M, and the longer distance measurement range can sense the environmental information in a farther range, and can obtain more environmental contour information.
- [Easy to integrate] LD14P rangefinder ladar lightweight and compact, the design of the integrated dust cover, the improved design in terms of dust prevention and anti-winding, can completely solve the problem of debris winding.
- [Strong adaptability] LD14P sensor scanner can be perfectly adapted and compatible with the triangular laser radar LD14P, which makes the installation more convenient, adapts to more types of robots, and quickly realizes large-scale mass production.
- [Anti-glare] Effectively resist ambient light interference, first-class filter processing technology, meet the use in 80000Lux strong light environment, and can be used in various indoor and outdoor environments.
| Sensor and announcement | Announced range | Other stated specifications | Price statement | Production or availability statement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velodyne Solid-State Hybrid Ultra Puck Auto (2016) | 200 m; reflectivity condition not stated (Velodyne announcement) | Other specifications not stated (Velodyne announcement) | Below $500 per unit in automotive mass-production quantities (Velodyne announcement) | Automotive mass-production quantities referenced; current production status not stated (Velodyne announcement) |
| Velodyne Velarray H800 (2020) | Not stated (Velodyne announcement) | Compact solid-state sensor designed for ADAS and autonomous mobility; FoV, resolution and power not stated (Velodyne announcement) | Below $500 at high-volume production (Velodyne announcement) | Designed for high-volume automotive applications; current production status not stated (Velodyne announcement) |
| Cepton Vista-X90 Plus (2023) | 200 m at 10% reflectivity (Cepton announcement) | 90° horizontal FoV; power consumption below 13 W; resolution not stated (Cepton announcement) | Below $500 in automotive volumes (Cepton announcement) | Automotive-grade sensor; current production status not stated (Cepton announcement) |
| Ouster ES2 (2020) | Over 200 m; reflectivity condition not stated (Ouster announcement) | True solid-state digital architecture with no moving parts; other listed specifications not stated (Ouster announcement) | $600 expected price for automotive production programs; Ouster described a roadmap toward lower costs (Ouster announcement) | Volume production was planned for 2023; the announcement does not confirm whether that plan was achieved (Ouster announcement) |
| Cepton Ultra (January 2024) | 300 m maximum at 10% reflectivity (Cepton announcement) | 0.05° resolution; maximum FoV of 120° × 25°; typical power 12 W (Cepton announcement) | Not stated (Cepton announcement) | Current production status and purchase availability not stated (Cepton announcement) |
| Aeva Atlas (2024) | Up to 500 m maximum; reflectivity condition not stated (Aeva announcement) | 4D FMCW LiDAR using silicon-photonics and system-on-chip architecture; FoV, resolution and power not stated (Aeva announcement) | Not stated (Aeva announcement) | Production-vehicle release was expected from 2025; the announcement does not confirm whether that timing was met (Aeva announcement) |
| AEye/Continental HRL131 (2022) | Exceeding 500 m; reflectivity condition not stated (AEye and Continental announcement) | Solid-state long-range LiDAR for Level 2–Level 4 systems; FoV, resolution and power not stated (AEye and Continental announcement) | Not stated (AEye and Continental announcement) | Mass production was planned for 2024; the announcement does not confirm whether that plan was achieved (AEye and Continental announcement) |
How should buyers compare automotive LiDAR beyond price?
A range figure is not a complete measure of usefulness. For example, Cepton states the Vista-X90 Plus range at 10% reflectivity, and Cepton gives the same reflectivity condition for the Ultra. The other range figures in the table do not state a reflectivity condition, so they should not be treated as directly comparable test results.
- Detection conditions: Check the reflectivity and test conditions associated with a range claim. A maximum range alone does not show how reliably the sensor detects different objects or surfaces.
- Coverage and detail: Field of view and angular resolution indicate how much of the scene a sensor covers and how finely it samples it. The announcements provide these values for the Cepton Vista-X90 Plus and Ultra, but not for every model.
- Vehicle integration: Power draw, size, placement and architecture affect how a sensor fits into a vehicle. The specifications available here are incomplete across products; the word “solid-state” alone does not establish that two sensors have the same design.
- Program readiness: Distinguish an announced product, a production plan and confirmed production. Planned dates in older announcements are not proof that milestones were subsequently met.
- Qualification: Functional-safety and cybersecurity qualification are relevant to automotive integration, but the announcements summarized here do not establish comparable qualification details for these models.
- Price basis: Separate a high-volume target, an expected automotive-program price and a verified transaction price. The cited sub-$500 statements are targets, while Ouster’s ES2 figure was an expected $600 program price.
Can an individual buy one as an ADAS upgrade?
The announcements do not establish a consumer-ready replacement part, a verified retail listing or a current retail price for these named sensors. They describe components aimed at vehicle manufacturers and automotive programs. A stated target of below $500 should therefore not be read as a price for a retrofit kit or a sensor available to install in a personal vehicle.
Rank #2
- [High Accuracy] DTOF FHL-LD19 Kit, based on DTOF LD19, which has a sampling rate of 8000 times/s. In addition, The lidar ranging distance can reach up to 12 meters Based on white objects with 70% reflectivity,so it can collect environmental information at a rather high speed and accuracy, ensure a real-time performance.
- [360 Degree 2D Scanning] The ranging core of DTOF FHL-LD19 rotates clockwise, performs 360 degree 2D omnidirectional lidar range scan on the surrounding environment, and generates an outline map. configurable scan rate from 5~13Hz, Typical 10Hz.
- [Plug and Play] With the 3 feature: Build-in Serial Port and USB Interface, Open Source SDK and Tools and Integration with ROS, Just connecting the DTOF FHL-LD19 and a computer via a micro USB cable, users can use the DTOF FHL-LD19 without any coding job. DTOF technology, which repairs electrical connection errors due to physical wear and prolong the life-span.
- [Widely Application] It can be used for home service/cleaning robot navigation and localization, general robot navigation and localization, smart toy’s localization and obstacle avoidance, environment scanning and 3D re-modeling, General simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), etc.
- [Wiki] You can find more docs by wiki.youyeetoo.com/en/Lidar/LD19.Any technical issues after purchase please contact with our forum by forum.youyeetoo.com/ or click "WayPonDEV" Store and ask a question. Or send message to monica @ youyeetoo.com
For an OEM or engineering team, the useful next step is to request current program pricing, availability, qualification documentation and integration requirements directly from the supplier. None of those terms can be inferred from an announced target price alone.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




