Chevrolet ended production of the original Bolt in December 2023. GM has since said the nameplate returns as a 2027 model, assembled at Fairfax Assembly in Kansas City, Kansas, with a native NACS charge port and a 262-mile EPA-estimated range. GM’s official statements do not name one exclusive reason the first generation ended, so this article separates what the company has said on the record from what remains unconfirmed.
Why the original Bolt stopped production
The one production fact GM confirms is the end date. In its July 29, 2025 preview of the new Bolt, GM gives December 2023 as the end of original production. The company does not attach a single cause to that date in the material reviewed for this article.
GM’s July 25, 2023 announcement is the most detailed statement about the Bolt’s future from that period. It was made before production ended. GM Chair and CEO Mary Barra said:
“We will keep the momentum going by delivering a new Bolt…and we will execute it more quickly compared to an all-new program with significantly lower engineering expense and capital investment by updating the vehicle with Ultium and Ultifi technologies and by applying our ‘winning with simplicity’ discipline.”
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Made to Measure: For 2017-2023 Chevrolet Bolt EV models. Compatible with your vehicle’s factory floor anchors.
- Maximum Coverage: Get peace of mind with TuxMat’s maximum tailored coverage for your vehicle’s interior.
- All-Weather Protection: Best summer and winter car mats that shield your vehicle’s interior against rain, snow, salt, mud and spills.
- Easy Installation and Cleaning: We made sure TuxMat floor liners are not only quick to install, but dirt and debris can be easily removed, so you can spend more time driving and less time cleaning.
- Warranty and Service: Backed by TuxMat’s Lifetime Limited Warranty. Please let us know if you run into any issues, we will do our best to make it right.
That statement explains how GM planned to bring the nameplate back. It does not explain why the first generation was ending. The same release said Bolt EV and Bolt EUV sales in the first half of 2023 were the strongest to date. GM also reported two company-held figures from that period: 80% of Bolt owners were staying loyal to Chevrolet, and nearly 70% of buyers trading in a vehicle for a Bolt were trading in a non-GM product. These figures come from GM’s own release and cover the first half of 2023. They are not an independent market study.
Online speculation about the outgoing car often points to battery-related recalls, platform economics, or the arrival of a successor. GM’s announcements do not confirm any of these as the reason for the production end, so treat them as unverified context rather than settled explanation.
Timeline from discontinuation to return
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| July 25, 2023 | GM announces a next-generation Bolt updated with Ultium and Ultifi technologies, faster and with lower engineering expense and capital investment than an all-new program | Chevrolet, July 25, 2023 |
| December 2023 | Original Bolt production ends | GM, July 29, 2025 preview |
| July 29, 2025 | GM says the Bolt will return for model year 2027 | GM, July 29, 2025 |
| October 9, 2025 | GM introduces the 2027 Bolt as a limited-run model assembled at Fairfax Assembly | GM, October 9, 2025; final specifications updated January 12, 2026 |
| April 22, 2026 | Chevrolet reports the 2027 Bolt is shipping from Fairfax and available at dealerships nationwide | Chevrolet, April 22, 2026 |
| August 13, 2026 | GM’s NACS guide confirms the 2027 Bolt’s native NACS port and 262-mile EPA-estimated range | GM, August 13, 2026 |
The gap between the two production dates is the period that matters most for owners of earlier cars: the original Bolt was no longer being built for roughly 19 months before the 2027 model was announced.
The 2027 Bolt: what GM has confirmed
The 2027 model continues the Bolt name, but it is described as an updated vehicle rather than a carryover of the earlier car. Do not assume that component-level details from the older generation apply to it. Exact comparisons require a model-year specification sheet.
Rank #2
- Revell Model Kit #85-2098, Skill Level 5, Contains 141-Parts, Recommended for ages 13 and up
- Detailed stock small block 350 engine or optional drag race version.
- Two hoods stock or racing, plus roll bar and traction bars.
- Factory rally wheels or drag race wheels with rear slicks. Colorful racing graphics or stock markings.
- Molded in white and clear with chrome plated parts and soft black tires. Requires paint and glue. (not included)
Limited run and where it is built
GM’s October 2025 launch described the 2027 Bolt as a limited-run model. Assembly takes place at Fairfax Assembly in Kansas City, Kansas. GM’s January 29, 2026 workforce investment announcement describes the plant’s role in launching three new vehicles, which is useful context for the Fairfax production base but does not set a production volume for the Bolt.
Range and charging port
The 2027 Bolt has an EPA-estimated range of 262 miles, according to GM and Chevrolet’s 2026 material. GM’s October 2025 launch carried earlier estimates, so use the 262-mile figure from the 2026 updates and state that it is an EPA estimate. The car has a native NACS charge port, confirmed in GM’s August 13, 2026 guide.
Price and availability
Chevrolet’s April 22, 2026 article lists the Bolt LT at a starting MSRP of $28,995. That figure applies to the LT trim as published in April 2026; it is not a current price, and it does not reflect destination charges, options, or dealer pricing. Dealer inventory was reported as nationwide in April 2026, but stock and pricing change, so check a dealer’s current listing before relying on either.
What Chevrolet says about the return
Scott Bell, vice president, Global Chevrolet, said in GM’s October 9, 2025 announcement: “After production ended, we heard our customer’s feedback and their love for this product.” This is GM’s stated reason for bringing the car back. It is a statement about the return, not an explanation of why the first generation ended.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- 【Custom-Fit Design】This chevy bolt ev accessories chevy bolt euv screen protector specially designed for 2022 2023 2024 2025 bolt euv lt/premier/launch edition 10.2-inch infotainment touch-screen, precise fit complements the design of your 2022 2023 2024 2025 chevrolet bolt ev 1lt/2lt 10.2-inch touch screen
- 【Ease of Installation】We provide installation tools kit, detailed instructions and video tutorials of installation. You can easily install your bolt euv 2023 screen protector well with no air bubbles by our specific installation way. Pro tip- You must thoroughly clean the screen of sand or dust before using the chevy bolt screen protector
- 【Excellent Quality】You never know when something could come flying into the dashboard, 2022 2023 2024 2025 chevy euv screen protector tempered glass 9h screen hardness, the chevy bolt euv screen protector keeps the dash screen from breaking then it was money well spent
- 【Touch Sensitivity】The screen’s sensitivity is usually not affected by the chevy bolt ev accessories 2023 bolt screen protector. It's crafted to provide a smooth, responsive surface that mirrors the feel of the original screen, ensuring an intuitive and satisfying have a nice touch experience when using the chevy bolt euv screen
- 【High Clarity】The chevy euv screen protector for 2022 2023 2024 2025 chevy bolt euv infotainment touch-screen with 99.9% transparency preserves the original viewing quality of your navigation screen, it is committed to preserving the original image quality of your chevy bolt euv 2022 2023 2024 2025 screen, car screen protector does not slow down the picture quality
Charging: native NACS and older Bolts
The distinction that matters most for owners is the charge port. The 2027 Bolt uses NACS natively, so an adapter is not required for it to use compatible NACS fast chargers. GM’s August 2026 guide says EVs that have not moved to a native NACS port can use compatible NACS fast chargers with an appropriate adapter, and it treats adapters as accessories.
- 2027 Bolt: native NACS port, no adapter needed for NACS fast chargers.
- Earlier CCS-equipped Bolts: the car does not have a native NACS port. An adapter may allow access to NACS fast chargers.
- Adapter selection: confirm the adapter is compatible with your exact model year and that the specific product is listed for your vehicle. GM’s guidance supports the adapter category; it does not establish that every adapter on the market fits every Bolt.
Original Bolt compared with the returning 2027 model
The table below compares only what the sources reviewed here support. Where a value is not published in those sources, the cell says so.
| Attribute | Original Bolt (ended December 2023) | 2027 Bolt (returned) |
|---|---|---|
| Production status | Ended December 2023 (GM, July 29, 2025) | Shipping from Fairfax and available at dealers as of April 22, 2026 (Chevrolet, April 22, 2026) |
| Charge port | Not NACS-native; CCS-equipped per GM’s charging guidance (GM, August 13, 2026) | Native NACS (GM, August 13, 2026) |
| EPA-estimated range | Not stated in the sources reviewed | 262 miles (Chevrolet, April 22, 2026) |
| Starting MSRP | Not stated in the sources reviewed | LT at $28,995 (Chevrolet, April 22, 2026) |
| Assembly | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Fairfax Assembly, Kansas City, Kansas (GM, October 9, 2025) |
Before you buy, sell, or plan around a Bolt
- If you own an earlier Bolt, confirm its model year and charge port before buying a NACS adapter.
- If you are shopping for a 2027 Bolt, check the current LT or other trim price with a dealer, since the $28,995 figure is from April 2026.
- If you are considering a 2027 model, ask a dealer about limited-run allocation, since GM described the model that way at launch.
- Treat the 80% loyalty and nearly 70% non-GM trade-in figures as GM’s own first-half 2023 data, not as market-wide measurements.
Chevrolet’s reporting covers the Bolt’s return and price at launch. For the outgoing generation, GM has not published a single reason for the production end, and the record supports only the December 2023 date.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →




