Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Get listed

car seats10 MIN

Which 2026 Honda SUV Is Best for Towing, Commuting, or Car Seats?

The Passport and Pilot AWD lead Honda’s 2026 SUVs with 5,000 lb of listed towing, HR-V leads the cited commuter economy figures, and CR-V and HR-V offer documented rear-seat anchor information that still requires a hands-on car-seat test.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: Choose a 2026 Honda Passport or all-wheel-drive Pilot when the published 5,000-pound tow rating is the priority. Choose the HR-V for the smallest, most fuel-efficient commute in this comparison. Choose the CR-V when you want a compact five-seat family SUV with more rear legroom and cargo space. For car seats, Honda’s anchor information is useful, but only a hands-on installation with your exact restraint can establish fit.

This comparison covers U.S.-market 2026 model-year specifications published by Honda and accessed October 13, 2026. Ratings can change with trim, drivetrain, equipment and model year. Use the label on the specific vehicle, its owner’s manual and the child-restraint manual before towing or installing a seat.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

At a glance: match the SUV to the job

Primary need Best starting point Why Important limitation
Maximum published towing Passport or Pilot AWD Honda lists up to 5,000 lb for both. The exact vehicle’s payload, tongue-weight and trailer limits still control what you may safely tow.
Three rows plus towing Pilot AWD It combines three-row seating with a listed 5,000-lb capacity. Pilot 2WD is rated at 3,500 lb, not 5,000 lb.
Smaller, efficient commuting HR-V 2WD Its listed EPA rating is 26/32 mpg city/highway. AWD is listed at 25/30 mpg, and the source specifications do not establish a towing rating for the HR-V.
Compact family utility CR-V Five seats, 41.0 inches of rear legroom and 36.3 or 39.3 cu. ft. behind the second row, depending on configuration. Towing is only 1,000 or 1,500 lb depending on trim and powertrain.
Car-seat decision CR-V or HR-V as a starting point; verify Pilot or Passport individually Honda publishes second-row anchor locations for CR-V and HR-V. Anchor presence does not prove that a particular infant, convertible or booster seat fits comfortably and installs correctly.

Which Honda SUV can tow 5,000 pounds?

For the 2026 model year, the Passport and the all-wheel-drive Pilot are the Honda SUVs in this comparison with a published maximum of 5,000 lb. Honda lists 5,000 lb for all displayed Passport trims and lists a Tow drive mode. Honda lists 5,000 lb for Pilot AWD trims.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

2026 Honda Passport: the straightforward 5,000-lb choice

Honda’s displayed Passport specifications show a 5,000-lb towing capacity across the listed trims. The EPA figures shown are either 19/25/21 mpg city/highway/combined or 18/23/20 mpg, depending on trim. The presence of a Tow mode is useful when the vehicle and trailer are within their specified limits, but it does not increase the certified rating.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
LISEN Retractable Car Charger, 84W Car Charger USB C Fast Charge, 4 in 1 | Cigarette Lighter Adapter, Car Accessories, for Christmas Day Gifts for Men Women Dad Mom, for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15 14
  • Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
  • Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
  • Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
  • Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
  • Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.

Passport is therefore the simplest shortlist entry if your deciding question is, “Which Honda SUV has the highest tow rating?” That answer is conditional on the particular Passport’s certification label and equipment. A 5,000-lb maximum is not a promise that every 5,000-lb trailer is appropriate in every loading situation. Passengers, luggage, trailer tongue weight and optional equipment all consume the vehicle’s available payload.

2026 Honda Pilot: 5,000 lb only with AWD

The Pilot’s drivetrain changes the answer. Honda lists 3,500 lb for Pilot 2WD and 5,000 lb for Pilot AWD. If you need the higher rating, confirm that the vehicle is AWD rather than assuming every Pilot has the same capacity.

Pilot is Honda’s three-row family SUV in this comparison. That makes it the logical candidate when the tow vehicle must also carry a larger family. Published fuel-economy figures are 19/27/22 mpg for 2WD and either 19/25/21 or 18/23/20 mpg for AWD configurations, all city/highway/combined. The larger body and three-row mission come with lower listed economy than the HR-V figures below.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
SINGARO Car Cup Holder Coaster, Silicone Cup Holder Insert, Universal Non-Slip Cup Holders, Car Accessories Interior for Women and Man Interior Sets 4 Pack Black
  • High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
  • Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
  • Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
  • Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
  • 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.

2026 Honda CR-V: useful for light trailers, not a substitute for the 5,000-lb models

Honda lists CR-V towing capacity as 1,500 lb for some gasoline trims and 1,000 lb for some hybrid trims or configurations. You must check the exact powertrain and trim before planning a trailer. A CR-V is not in the same towing class as a Passport or Pilot AWD; a trailer that exceeds the CR-V’s specific rating is not made acceptable by using a hitch designed for the vehicle.

What the tow rating does not tell you

  • Payload: The people, luggage, accessories and trailer tongue weight must remain within the vehicle’s payload limit.
  • Tongue weight: The allowable downward load on the hitch is a separate limit from maximum trailer weight.
  • Trailer equipment: Hitch, wiring, brakes and any required cooling or stability equipment must match the vehicle and trailer.
  • Loading: A trailer’s actual loaded weight—not its empty brochure weight—determines whether you are within limits.
  • Documentation: Use the specific vehicle label and owner’s manual rather than a model-level number alone.

Passport or Pilot: which is better for towing?

Question Passport Pilot
Maximum listed capacity 5,000 lb on displayed trims 5,000 lb with AWD; 3,500 lb with 2WD
Rows Not established in the cited specifications for this comparison Three rows
Published EPA range shown 19/25/21 or 18/23/20 mpg city/highway/combined, by trim 2WD: 19/27/22; AWD: 19/25/21 or 18/23/20, by configuration
Distinct towing feature noted by Honda Tow drive mode AWD configuration provides the 5,000-lb rating

Pick the Passport when you want the clearest path to the 5,000-lb rating without choosing among Pilot drivetrains. Pick the Pilot AWD when three rows are essential. Pick Pilot 2WD only when its 3,500-lb rating covers the loaded trailer and you do not need the AWD-specific capacity.

Which Honda SUV gets the best gas mileage for commuting?

Among the specific 2026 figures supplied here, the HR-V 2WD has the highest listed highway and combined numbers: 26/32 mpg city/highway. HR-V AWD is listed at 25/30 mpg. These are EPA ratings, not a guarantee for an individual commute; speed, traffic, temperature, terrain, tires, passengers and cargo affect actual consumption.

Rank #3
Kaistyle for Magsafe Car Mount【Strong Magnet】 Magnetic Phone Holder for Car Phone Holder Mount Dash Mounted Holders Phone Holders for Your Car Accessories for Women Men for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15
  • ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
  • ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
  • ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
  • ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
  • ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient

HR-V: the efficiency-first option

The 2026 HR-V seats five, provides 37.7 inches of rear legroom and lists 24.4 cu. ft. of cargo volume with the rear seats up. Its 2WD rating is 26/32 mpg, while AWD is 25/30 mpg. That combination makes it the most compact, commute-oriented starting point in this comparison when you do not need a large trailer or three rows.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose AWD only when its traction benefits matter enough to justify the lower listed economy. Honda’s cited specifications do not establish the HR-V as a towing choice, so do not infer a trailer rating from its size or from the availability of a hitch accessory.

CR-V: more room, but compare the exact powertrain

The CR-V is also a five-seat SUV, with 41.0 inches of rear legroom. Honda lists 36.3 or 39.3 cu. ft. of cargo volume behind the second row, depending on configuration. Its fuel-economy and towing figures vary by powertrain and trim; the supplied specifications do not support one single CR-V mpg number that applies to the entire lineup.

Rank #4
YGDMD 2PCS Car Seat Gap Filler Organizer,2 in 1 Car Gap Filler (Black) | Multifunctional Design,Fill and Storage Function for Storing Phones Keys Cards,No Drop Seat Guard for Cars Suvs Trucks
  • Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
  • Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
  • Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
  • Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
  • Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices

For a commute, compare the exact CR-V window sticker with the exact HR-V drivetrain. The CR-V may make more sense when rear-seat space, cargo volume or a 1,000- to 1,500-lb trailer requirement outweighs the HR-V’s smaller footprint. If your priority is simply the highest listed economy in this set, HR-V 2WD is the clearer answer.

Why Passport and Pilot are usually the wrong commute-only answer

The Passport and Pilot figures shown here range from 18/23/20 to 19/27/22 mpg city/highway/combined, depending on model, drivetrain and trim. They provide capabilities the smaller SUVs do not, especially towing and, for Pilot, three rows. If your daily use rarely needs those capabilities, their larger size and lower listed economy may not be an efficient trade.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which Honda SUV is best for car seats?

There is no defensible model-wide “easiest car-seat fit” winner from anchor specifications alone. LATCH tells you where lower anchors and tether anchors are located; it does not certify a particular child restraint, three-across arrangement, rear-facing clearance or front-seat comfort.

Best Value
Stacool Upgraded Car Center Console Cover,Microfiber Leather Car Armrest Cover Cushion with 2 Storage Bags,Universal Car Armrest Storage Box (Black)
  • 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
  • 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
  • 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
  • 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
  • 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.

What Honda documents for the CR-V

Honda’s 2026 CR-V specifications document second-row lower anchors and tether anchors across the second row. The CR-V also lists 41.0 inches of rear legroom. Those facts can make it a sensible vehicle to investigate for a rear-facing seat or multiple occupants, but they do not establish how a specific seat shell, recline angle or installation will fit.

What Honda documents for the HR-V

Honda states that HR-V models have LATCH in the outboard rear seating positions. Honda’s specifications also state that tether anchors are available at all second-row positions. The HR-V provides 37.7 inches of rear legroom. A seat installed in an outboard position may have a different result from one placed in the center, and the published anchor locations do not establish three-across compatibility.

Pilot and Passport: do not infer fit from rows or towing hardware

Pilot is described by Honda as a three-row family SUV, but a third row does not automatically provide a suitable location for every child seat. The cited material does not establish a model-specific Pilot anchor layout or a tested restraint fit. The cited material likewise does not establish a Passport anchor layout or a tested Passport fit. Verify both vehicles directly if either is on your list.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to perform a real car-seat check

  1. Bring the exact restraint. Take the infant carrier, convertible seat or booster you will actually use, including its base and inserts.
  2. Choose the intended seating position. Test the position you expect to use; do not assume an outboard installation will work in the center.
  3. Read both manuals. Follow the vehicle manual for lower anchors, top tether use, seat-belt routing and allowed seating positions. Follow the restraint manual for belt paths, recline settings, harness height and child-size limits.
  4. Check front-seat clearance. For a rear-facing restraint, place the front seat where the driver or passenger can use it safely and comfortably, then confirm that the restraint maintains its required angle.
  5. Test neighboring seats. If two or three children will ride together, install every restraint at once. A seat that fits alone may block a neighboring buckle or anchor.
  6. Check movement and contact. After tightening, the restraint should meet the movement and routing requirements in its manual; do not rely on visual appearance alone.
  7. Get expert help when uncertain. A certified child passenger safety technician can inspect the installation and help resolve anchor, belt-routing or clearance problems.

A dealership demonstration or a returnable purchase period is safer than assuming compatibility from a specification table. The exact child’s size, the restraint’s shell depth and the chosen seating position can change the result.

How passenger and cargo needs change the choice

Model Seats or rows stated in the cited specifications Rear legroom Cargo figure stated Best fit in this comparison
HR-V Five seats 37.7 in. 24.4 cu. ft. with seats up Small commute and modest family cargo
CR-V Five seats 41.0 in. 36.3 or 39.3 cu. ft. behind row two, by configuration More rear-seat and cargo room without moving to a three-row SUV
Pilot Three rows Not stated here Not stated here Families needing additional passenger capacity and, with AWD, up to 5,000 lb of towing
Passport Not stated here Not stated here Not stated here Higher published towing capacity without relying on Pilot’s 2WD/AWD distinction

The cargo figures are not necessarily measured under identical conditions, so use them as each model’s published guide rather than a laboratory comparison. Load a stroller, cooler, sports equipment or luggage in the actual vehicle before deciding.

Decision guide: choose by your non-negotiable requirement

Choose the Passport if…

  • Your shortlist starts with a published 5,000-lb rating.
  • You value the availability of a Tow drive mode.
  • You can accept listed economy in the 18/23/20 to 19/25/21 mpg range, depending on trim.

Choose the Pilot AWD if…

  • You need three rows and the 5,000-lb rating.
  • You are prepared to verify that the vehicle is AWD.
  • The listed AWD economy of 19/25/21 or 18/23/20 mpg fits your priorities.

Choose the Pilot 2WD if…

  • You need three rows but your loaded trailer is within 3,500 lb.
  • You do not need the AWD-specific tow capacity.
  • The listed 19/27/22 mpg rating is attractive for your use.

Choose the CR-V if…

  • You want a five-seat compact SUV with 41.0 inches of rear legroom.
  • You need more published cargo space than the HR-V provides.
  • Your trailer requirement is within the exact CR-V trim’s 1,000- or 1,500-lb rating.
  • You want documented second-row lower and tether anchors, while still planning a physical seat-fit check.

Choose the HR-V if…

  • Your priority is a smaller commuter SUV and the highest listed economy here.
  • 26/32 mpg with 2WD or 25/30 mpg with AWD meets your needs.
  • Five seats, 37.7 inches of rear legroom and 24.4 cu. ft. of cargo with seats up are sufficient.
  • You will test the exact child restraint in an appropriate outboard or tethered position rather than relying on the LATCH description alone.

What to verify before signing or towing

  • Confirm model year, trim, drivetrain and the vehicle’s certification label.
  • Read the owner’s manual for maximum trailer weight, tongue weight, payload, passenger limits and any required equipment.
  • Use the loaded trailer weight, including cargo, when checking compliance.
  • Compare the exact EPA rating for the vehicle you are considering; the model name alone is not enough.
  • For a child restraint, bring the exact seat, install it in the intended position and check both manuals.
  • Ask a certified child passenger safety technician to inspect an installation you cannot verify confidently.

Bottom line

The 2026 Passport and Pilot AWD tie for the highest published towing capacity in this comparison at 5,000 lb; Pilot 2WD is limited to 3,500 lb. HR-V 2WD is the economy-first commuter at a listed 26/32 mpg, while CR-V offers more rear legroom and cargo space with trim-dependent fuel economy and 1,000- to 1,500-lb towing. For car seats, CR-V and HR-V provide useful published anchor information, but the only reliable fit decision comes from installing your exact restraint in the exact vehicle and following both manuals.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

car seatsFuel EconomyHonda CR-VHonda HR-VHonda PassportHonda PilotHonda SUVstowing

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.