Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Get listed

luggage capacity8 MIN

What Tesla’s Cybercab Design Means for Passenger Access and Luggage

Tesla describes Cybercab as a two-seat robotaxi with butterfly doors, multiple door controls and a 20.2-cu-ft rear trunk. Learn how the published luggage examples, 220-lb load limit, step-in-height discrepancy and accessibility features affect real trip planning.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Tesla’s published Cybercab design is aimed at trips for no more than two riders, with butterfly doors, app and in-car door controls, and a single rear trunk for cargo. Tesla also publishes a concrete luggage example and a trunk weight limit, but those figures are manufacturer specifications—not independent testing of every suitcase, parking space, passenger, or mobility aid. The practical question is therefore not simply whether luggage fits, but whether your party, bags, entry conditions, and accessibility needs match the limits Tesla describes.

Cybercab’s published access and luggage specifications

The most useful starting point is Tesla’s own specification set. The figures below come from Tesla’s Cybercab Rider Guide dimensions page, the trunk instructions, the Cybercab FAQ, and Tesla’s North America guide, dated September 22, 2026.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Item Tesla’s published description What it means for planning
Passenger capacity Two seats; Tesla’s Robotaxi FAQ says Cybercab accommodates up to two riders. A group needing a third seat needs another vehicle.
Driving controls No steering wheel, accelerator pedal, or brake pedal, according to Tesla’s overview. Passengers enter a purpose-built autonomous cabin rather than a conventional front-seat driving position.
Door type and controls Butterfly doors. Tesla says they can open and close automatically and can also be operated through the Robotaxi app, the touchscreen, or an exterior side button. There are several control methods, but Tesla does not establish that the door movement is convenient in every parking space.
Rear trunk volume 20.2 cubic feet (572 L). This is the principal published cargo volume because Tesla says Cybercab has no front trunk.
Tesla’s luggage example Two checked luggage pieces and two carry-ons. The example is illustrative; Tesla does not provide the bags’ dimensions or independent fit testing.
Trunk load limit 220 lb (100 kg). Weight is a separate constraint from available cubic volume.
Other listed cargo examples Two carry-ons plus two golf-club travel bags; one large folded stroller; and one small folded wheelchair. Tesla presents these as examples of items that can fit, not as a guarantee for every model or simultaneous combination.
Step-in height The North America Rider Guide lists 16.3 inches (414 mm); Tesla’s FAQ lists 16.5 inches. The official pages disagree slightly, and Tesla does not explain why.

Because the two step-in figures come from different Tesla pages, quote the source when using either one. Neither page turns the measurement into a promise that every passenger will find entry easy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How passengers get in and out

Butterfly doors change the entry question

Tesla describes Cybercab as having butterfly doors rather than conventional side-hinged doors. That design can alter the space needed above and beside the vehicle, so a pickup location matters. A narrow parking bay, a low overhead obstruction, a curb, or a neighboring vehicle could affect how practical the opening is even if the door can technically operate. Tesla’s published material does not provide a universal clearance diagram or a usability test for different parking conditions.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Amazon Basics 21" Hardside Carry-On Luggage with Spinner Wheels, Expandable for Up to 25% More Space, Scratch-Resistant Hard Shell, Telescoping Handle, Black
  • CARRY-ON DESIGN: Best for 1-5 day trips without the hassle of checking luggage; measures 14.8 x 10 x 21.7 inches, including wheels
  • DURABLE AND RELIABLE: Extra-thick hard shell with scratch-resistant finish guards against impact and rough handling
  • EXPANDABLE: Increase packing space up to 25% for added flexibility and organization
  • ORGANIZED INTERIOR: Keep essentials organized with an interior divider and three zippered pockets
  • EFFORTLESS TRAVEL: Navigate with ease thanks to four multi-directional wheels, telescoping handle, and short lift handle

Several ways to command the doors

Tesla says the doors can open and close automatically. The company also identifies control through the Robotaxi mobile app, the cabin touchscreen, and an exterior side button; the Rider Guide overview additionally identifies a door button and touchscreen door controls. These options mean a rider does not have to rely on one interior switch, but the availability and timing of a command can still depend on the vehicle’s state and the ride handoff.

Step-in height is a published measurement, not an accessibility verdict

Tesla’s North America Rider Guide, published September 22, 2026, lists a 16.3-inch (414-mm) step-in height, while the FAQ lists 16.5 inches. The cited pages do not reconcile the discrepancy. Treat either figure as a Tesla measurement for planning, not as a finding that the step is suitable for every person, transfer technique, or mobility device. Riders who need a precise transfer height should verify the vehicle and service arrangements before travel.

Rank #2
Amazon Basics 21" Hardside Carry-On Luggage with Expandable Space, Scratch-Resistant Surface, Telescoping Handle, Four Multi-directional Wheels, Light Blue
  • CARRY-ON DESIGN: Best for 1-5 day trips without the hassle of checking luggage; measures 14.8 x 10 x 21.7 inches, including wheels
  • DURABLE AND RELIABLE: Extra-thick hard shell with scratch-resistant finish guards against impact and rough handling
  • EXPANDABLE: Increase packing space up to 25% for added flexibility and organization
  • ORGANIZED INTERIOR: Keep essentials organized with an interior divider and three zippered pockets
  • EFFORTLESS TRAVEL: Navigate with ease thanks to four multi-directional wheels, telescoping handle, and short lift handle

How to use the doors and trunk

Door operation

  1. Use the Robotaxi app when Tesla’s service interface presents the door control.
  2. Use the cabin touchscreen after entering if touchscreen control is available.
  3. Use the exterior side button when boarding or leaving outside the vehicle.
  4. If automatic operation is enabled, allow the vehicle to complete its opening or closing cycle and keep people and objects clear of the moving door.

The list reflects Tesla’s stated control methods. It does not specify a universal response time, a manual override procedure for every failure state, or the clearance needed for the doors in a particular curbside location.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Opening the rear trunk

Tesla’s Rider Guide says the rear trunk can be opened from the touchscreen, the Robotaxi mobile app, or an exterior switch when the vehicle is in Park for pickup or drop-off. The same guide identifies the rear trunk as the relevant cargo area because Cybercab has no front trunk. In practice, place bags where they can be loaded without blocking the passenger path, and confirm that the vehicle is in the required state before trying to open the lid.

Rank #3
Amazon Basics 21" Hardside Carry-On Luggage with Spinner Wheels, Expandable for Up to 25% More Space, Scratch-Resistant Hardshell Suitcase, Telescoping Handle, Orange
  • CARRY-ON DESIGN: Best for 1-5 day trips without the hassle of checking luggage; measures 14.8 x 10 x 21.7 inches, including wheels
  • DURABLE AND RELIABLE: Extra-thick hard shell with scratch-resistant finish guards against impact and rough handling
  • EXPANDABLE: Increase packing space up to 25% for added flexibility and organization
  • ORGANIZED INTERIOR: Keep essentials organized with an interior divider and three zippered pockets
  • EFFORTLESS TRAVEL: Navigate with ease thanks to four multi-directional wheels, telescoping handle, and short lift handle

What the two-seat cabin means for a ride

Capacity is a hard vehicle limit

Tesla’s overview describes a cabin with two seats, and its FAQ says the robotaxi accommodates up to two riders. That is a vehicle-capacity constraint, not a statement about how often a particular group travels. A couple, a solo traveler, or two colleagues can use the available seats; a family or group of three cannot solve the problem by rearranging luggage because there is no third passenger position in Tesla’s published layout.

No driver controls means a different front-cabin layout

With no steering wheel, accelerator pedal, or brake pedal, the front area is not arranged around a human driver. Tesla’s pages describe the resulting cabin and controls but do not publish a separate passenger legroom measurement, seat-adjustment range, or a guarantee that every body type will find the seating comfortable. Do not infer those unlisted dimensions from the absence of driving hardware.

Rank #4
UKEIN Luggage Sets 3Piece, Carry On Luggage 20in Suitcase Set With Backpack | Carry On Suitcase with Spinner Wheels,PC Durable Hardside with TSA Lock,YKK Zippers,22x14x9 Airline Approved For Travel
  • Luggage Set with Backpack : UKEIN luggage set includes 20 inch carry on luggage, a 18 inch travel backpack and a toiletry bag. The Carry On Suitcase with wheels is sized to fit in overhead bins or underseat. The travel backpack is designed with a back sleeve that attaches to a retractable luggage handle. Large capacity and fully equipped to meet your different travel needs.
  • Easy to Maneuver : Silent Dual Spinner wheels rotate 360°, providing superior maneuverability and a smooth glide in every direction. Thanks to the smooth-rolling wheels of suitcase, even when fully loaded, it's a breeze to maneuver through crowded airports and busy streets without feeling fatigued or strained.
  • TSA Lock and Alloy Zipper :The Built-in TSA lock does not have to be forced open and damaged during inspection. It ensures the safety of your valuables and facilitates your passage through security. The alloy zippers allow travelers to effortlessly open and close their luggage, which adds a safety and convenience to the entire trip.
  • Magic Large Space : Interior zippered divider panels keep contents separated and secure. One compartment of this carry on luggage with cross straps to keep your things in place and one fully enclosed with a zippered panel, mesh bags and dry&wet separation bag for easy organization,and the travel bag has multiple functional pockets to meet different travel needs.
  • Hardshell Suitcase : This Carry on luggage set is crafted from Polycarbonate (PC) exterior offers extreme durability with a texture that reduces the visibility of scratches. Details such as the ergonomic 3-level retractable easy-grip top handle, and the double soft rubber carry handles bring maximum comfort and an easy carrying experience.

How much luggage can fit?

Use both the volume and weight limits

Tesla lists 20.2 cubic feet (572 L) of rear-trunk volume and a 220-pound (100-kg) trunk load limit. These govern different failure modes: a set of light but bulky bags can run out of space, while dense equipment can exceed the weight limit before the available volume is filled. Tesla’s pages do not state how the load limit is distributed across the trunk floor or whether a particular luggage arrangement changes it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Tesla’s suitcase example does—and does not—prove

Tesla gives two checked pieces and two carry-ons as a tangible example of the trunk’s capacity. The company does not state the dimensions, shapes, wheel arrangements, or weights of those bags, and no cited Tesla page reports independent fit testing. Therefore, the example should be read as a manufacturer illustration rather than a promise that any two checked bags and two carry-ons will fit, close the trunk, and remain below the load limit.

Best Value
Sweetcrispy 20 Inch Carry On Luggage, Suitcase with Spinner Wheels
  • Effortless Mobility with Dual-Wheel Design: Travel with ease using Sweetcrispy carry-on luggage, featuring a dual-wheel system for smooth and seamless movement. Glide through airports, train stations, and busy streets with minimal effort, ensuring a stress-free travel experience from start to finish
  • Spacious & Organized Storage: Designed with travel convenience in mind, this suitcase offers ample storage with dedicated wet and dry mesh compartments, X securing straps, and expandable capacity. The premium zipper closure ensures your belongings stay secure, while the thoughtful layout keeps your items organized and accessible
  • Lightweight Yet Durable Construction: Made with a sturdy ABS exterior, this luggage is lightweight for easy handling while offering exceptional durability to withstand the demands of travel. Enjoy peace of mind knowing your belongings are well-protected on your journey
  • Built-in TSA Lock for Enhanced Security: Travel confidently with the integrated TSA-approved lock, providing an added layer of security for both domestic and international trips. Keep your valuables safe and avoid the hassle of unauthorized access while traveling
  • Adjustable & Resilient Telescopic Handle: Customize your travel experience with the durable, flexible telescopic handle, which adjusts smoothly to your preferred height. Whether you’re navigating through crowded spaces or taking a quick turn, the handle ensures comfort and stability

Other items Tesla names

The Rider Guide also lists two carry-ons plus two golf-club travel bags, one large folded stroller, and one small folded wheelchair as examples of items that can fit. Those descriptions are useful when your equipment resembles the named categories, but they are not a substitute for measuring a specific stroller, wheelchair, golf bag, or case. A rigid frame, unusual wheels, or extra-long handles can consume space differently from a generic category.

There is no front-trunk fallback

Because Tesla’s overview says Cybercab has no front trunk, passengers should plan around the rear compartment alone. Keep the two-seat passenger requirement and the rear-trunk volume in the same calculation: filling the cargo area does not create another seat, and choosing smaller bags does not create a third passenger position.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common trip scenarios

Trip What Tesla’s published design supports What to verify yourself
Two people with ordinary travel bags The company’s own example is two checked pieces and two carry-ons. Actual bag dimensions, total weight, and whether the particular bags can be arranged without forcing the trunk lid or passenger area.
Two golfers Tesla lists two carry-ons plus two golf-club travel bags as an example. Travel-bag length, hard-shell width, and the combined weight of clubs and suitcases.
One traveler with a stroller Tesla lists one large folded stroller as an example. Folded dimensions, protruding wheels or handles, and whether the folded item can be lifted safely into the trunk.
One wheelchair user Tesla lists one small folded wheelchair as an example and says the trunk has space for wheelchairs and assistive devices. The chair’s folded dimensions, weight, loading assistance, and the rider’s transfer requirements.
More than two riders Not supported by the published two-seat, up-to-two-rider layout. Book a vehicle with the required passenger capacity instead of relying on cargo rearrangement.

Accessibility features Tesla identifies

Tesla’s FAQ names several design features relevant to riders with disabilities: bench-style seating at wheelchair height for transfer and movement, trunk space for wheelchairs and assistive devices, cabin space for service animals, and Braille on the doors and overhead buttons. These are Tesla’s stated features, not independent certification or proof of universal accessibility.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The distinction matters because access involves more than a single height measurement. A rider may need a particular transfer angle, room for a caregiver, a loading method, a service-animal position, or controls reachable from a seated position. Tesla’s cited pages do not establish that every combination of passenger, chair, aid, curb, or station will work. Confirm the operating service’s assistance policy and the specific vehicle configuration if those details determine whether you can travel.

What Tesla’s specifications leave unanswered

  • Tesla does not publish the dimensions of the checked bags, carry-ons, golf bags, stroller, or wheelchair used in its examples.
  • The cited pages do not report independent luggage-fit tests, a maximum number of bags beyond the examples, or a diagram showing how each item is arranged.
  • The door descriptions do not establish that butterfly-door operation is convenient under every overhead or side-clearance condition.
  • The two official step-in-height figures are slightly different, and Tesla provides no explanation for the difference.
  • The accessibility FAQ describes features but does not establish universal access, independent certification, or suitability for every mobility device.
  • Tesla does not publish passenger legroom, seat-width, transfer-clearance, or seat-adjustment specifications on the cited pages.

A practical pre-booking checklist

  1. Count riders first. If you need more than two seats, Cybercab’s published layout is not the right capacity.
  2. Measure every bag, including wheels, handles, protective covers, and rigid frames.
  3. Add the packed weights and keep the total within Tesla’s stated trunk limit.
  4. For a wheelchair, stroller, golf bag, or assistive device, compare folded or packed dimensions with the actual item rather than the category name.
  5. Check the pickup location for overhead and side clearance around a butterfly door.
  6. If entry height or transfer space is critical, verify the service’s available vehicle and assistance arrangements; the two Tesla pages do not give the same step-in figure.
  7. Keep service-animal, Braille-control, and caregiver needs in the booking conversation instead of assuming that a listed feature guarantees a workable trip.

Practical takeaway

Tesla’s published Cybercab design is most straightforward for one or two riders whose luggage resembles the company’s examples and stays within both the rear-trunk space and weight limit. Multiple door controls and the stated accessibility features may help with boarding, but they do not remove the need to check parking clearance, bag dimensions, transfer requirements, and the exact service configuration. Treat Tesla’s numbers as planning specifications, not independent guarantees of fit or universal usability.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

luggage capacitypassenger accessRobotaxiTesla Cybercabvehicle accessibility

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.