For a like-for-like 2026 comparison, the Toyota Grand Highlander has the slightly larger published maximum cargo capacity, while the Volkswagen Atlas is substantially cheaper to start. Toyota lists 97.5 cubic feet with the rear seats folded flat, versus 96.6 cubic feet for the Atlas. The 2026 Atlas starts at $39,310, compared with $42,260 for the 2026 Grand Highlander—a $2,950 MSRP advantage for Volkswagen. Toyota also publishes 20.6 cubic feet behind its raised second and third rows; the reviewed 2026 Atlas page does not publish a matching behind-third-row figure. Those numbers make the Grand Highlander the better-documented choice for maximum and occupied-row cargo, but they do not by themselves establish which vehicle feels roomier or costs less to own.
2026 verdict at a glance
The answer depends on how you use the third row. If you regularly carry six or seven people and luggage, start with the cargo area available while all seats are occupied. Toyota gives that use case a concrete figure: 20.6 cubic feet behind the raised second and third rows. Volkswagen does not provide a comparable 2026 figure on the official Atlas page reviewed here, so a fair data-based winner cannot be declared for that specific measurement.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
For maximum folded-seat capacity, the Grand Highlander leads by 0.9 cubic foot (97.5 versus 96.6). That is a narrow published difference, not proof that every suitcase, stroller or cooler will fit better in Toyota’s cabin. For price, the Atlas leads clearly at the entry point, with a $2,950 lower 2026 starting MSRP before destination, options, taxes, incentives or dealer pricing.
| Published 2026 specification | Volkswagen Atlas | Toyota Grand Highlander | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $39,310 | $42,260 (gas LE) | Atlas is $2,950 lower before destination and equipment differences. |
| Maximum cargo, rear seats folded | 96.6 cu. ft. | 97.5 cu. ft. | Grand Highlander leads by 0.9 cu. ft.; the difference is small. |
| Cargo behind raised second and third rows | Not stated on the reviewed 2026 official page | 20.6 cu. ft. | Do not infer an Atlas advantage or disadvantage from the missing figure. |
| Third-row legroom | 33.7 in. | 33.5 in. | Atlas has a nominal 0.2-inch published advantage. |
| Third-row headroom | Not stated in the cited Atlas material | 37.2 in. | Only Toyota’s figure is available here. |
| Powertrain choices | 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder, 269 hp, 273 lb-ft | Gas, hybrid and Hybrid MAX configurations | Toyota offers more drivetrain types; Atlas has one listed engine in the cited 2026 material. |
| Towing capacity | 5,000 lb | Configuration-dependent; not stated in the cited Toyota passages | Verify the exact Grand Highlander grade and hitch configuration for a towing decision. |
Sources: Volkswagen’s 2026 Atlas model page and Toyota’s 2026 Grand Highlander specifications.
#1 Best Overall
- STURDY SPACE SAVING STORAGE: unlike other brands, our organizer is constructed with thick corrugated plastic panels instead of cardboard; these are stronger and more rigid; protecting against spills and water damage for long lasting use; third party tested to hold up to 60 pounds
- STAYS IN PLACE: nonskid feet on base help to reduce sliding while additional hook and loop strips grip to most carpeting; hook and loop strips include optional covers if not in use; organizer also includes 2 adjustable cargo straps for additional security while driving
- DURABLE WATER AND TEAR RESISTANT: constructed for ultra durability, corrugated panels and woven fabric are water and tear resistant; no need to worry about refrigerated groceries, damp equipment or even light rain
- LARGE COLLAPSIBLE DESIGN: easy to install and adjust; organizer can be folded flat for storage, opened to 1 large compartment or fully extended to 2 large compartments; durable buckles secure compartments; includes 1 extra divider to create smaller compartments
- GROCERIES, SPORTING GOODS, TOOLS, SUPPLIES: large capacity 2.08 cubic feet organizer when fully extended measures 24 inches by 15 inches by 10 inches; multiple interior compartments and mesh exterior pockets for easy organization while saving valuable trunk space; a perfect choice for storing groceries, sporting equipment, tools, work supplies and more
How much room do the Atlas and Grand Highlander really have?
Maximum cargo capacity
With both rear rows folded flat, Toyota advertises up to 97.5 cubic feet and Volkswagen lists 96.6 cubic feet. The 0.9-cubic-foot difference is roughly the volume of a small carry-on compartment, not a decisive family-packing advantage. Published maximum capacity is measured with seats folded, so it describes a different trip from a school run with all three rows in use.
Do not use the maximum figure to predict whether a particular stroller, dog crate or flat-pack box will fit. Width between the wheel wells, liftgate opening height, floor length, seat-folding angles and the shape of the item can matter more than less than one cubic foot of headline volume. Measure your largest objects and test-load them at a dealer.
Cargo with every row occupied
Toyota reports 20.6 cubic feet behind the raised second and third rows for the 2026 Grand Highlander. Toyota’s July 31, 2025 model-year release describes the space in family terms: “With spacious three row seating that’s ready for adults or kids, enough room for seven small roller bags with the rear seats up, and up to 97.5 cubic feet of rear cargo room with the rear seats folded flat, it’s an incredible package that’s made in the U.S. for the whole family.” This is Toyota’s own description, not an independent cargo test.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The reviewed 2026 Atlas page gives the 96.6-cubic-foot maximum but not a matching behind-third-row measurement. Because the two manufacturers have not supplied equivalent figures in the cited material, the responsible conclusion is that Toyota documents this use case more fully—not that Toyota necessarily has a larger usable trunk in every loading situation.
Second-row and third-row passenger space
Volkswagen lists 41.7 inches of first-row legroom, 37.6 inches in the second row and 33.7 inches in the third row for the 2026 Atlas. Toyota’s 2026 release lists 33.5 inches of third-row legroom and 37.2 inches of third-row headroom for the Grand Highlander. On paper, the Atlas has 0.2 inch more third-row legroom. That difference is smaller than normal seating-position adjustments and cannot replace a test fit.
Rank #2
- Sturdy Box Design – FORTEM premium trunk storage organizer for car is reinforced with rigid base plates to support every side panel. Among car organizers and storage, ours will leave less mess to worry about with multiple side pockets and up to 3 compartments.
- Stays in Place – Our car trunk storage organizer has non-slip strips to prevent sliding and adjustable straps to secure to your trunk. Store small items in the tight mesh siding or pockets with lids. You can even connect 2 or more car organizers with interlocking buckles.
- Multifunctional – FORTEM Trunk organizers and storage make car organization easy and simple. Organize a variety of products from groceries to office supplies, accessories (handbags, shoes,) or toys for kids. Consolidate the mess in your trunk and make room for your cooler or camp gear.
- Collapsible with Removable Lid – You can move trunk storage to the backseat, front seat, or center of your vehicle since it is collapsible to 1 compartment. The detachable lid keeps your goods out of sight for added security.
- Perfect Gift for All - Ideal Christmas gifts for men & women. Father's day & mother's day, a general selection among the best gifts for dad and highly-rated men gifts for Christmas.
- Bring the adults who will use the third row most often, rather than judging from the driver’s seat alone.
- Install the actual forward-facing or rear-facing child seats you use; their recline angle can reduce second-row slide travel.
- Check whether a child can reach the buckle and whether an adult can enter without twisting around a fixed child seat.
- Try the third-row headroom with the seat adjusted for a realistic posture, not pushed unusually low to create legroom.
- Open and close the liftgate with your everyday cargo staged behind the third row.
Manufacturer dimensions are useful screening tools, but they are not standardized comfort scores. Body proportions, seat-cushion shape and access path can make two cabins with nearly identical numbers feel different.
Which is the better 2026 value?
Starting price
Volkswagen lists a 2026 Atlas starting MSRP of $39,310. Toyota lists the 2026 Grand Highlander gas LE at $42,260, making the Atlas $2,950 less expensive at the advertised entry point. These are manufacturer suggested retail prices, not transaction prices. The comparison excludes destination charges, dealer-installed accessories, taxes, registration, financing costs, regional inventory and negotiated discounts.
Toyota’s published 2026 model information also lists $45,610 for a Hybrid LE and $60,175 for a Hybrid MAX Platinum. Those figures show why a base-gas-versus-top-hybrid comparison would be misleading: the powertrain and equipment content change at the same time as the price. Compare the Atlas trim you would actually buy with a Grand Highlander grade carrying similar safety, comfort, drivetrain and towing equipment.
Available 2026 Atlas incentive
Volkswagen’s 2026 page describes a Costco Auto Program incentive for eligible members purchasing a new Atlas: $1,250 for Executive members or $1,000 for Gold Star or Business members. The page describes the offer as stackable with qualifying Volkswagen discounts. Eligibility, participating dealers, inventory, dates and stacking rules can change, so verify the live terms before treating the incentive as part of your budget. It applies to eligible 2026 purchases described on that page; do not carry it forward to the 2027 Atlas without a current offer.
What MSRP leaves out
- Destination charge: Ask whether the displayed number includes destination and compare both vehicles on the same basis.
- Trim equipment: A lower sticker can disappear if you add driver-assistance, all-wheel-drive, premium audio or seating features that are standard on the competing trim.
- Drivetrain: Toyota’s hybrid and Hybrid MAX versions carry different prices and operating characteristics from the gas LE.
- Local market: Dealer discounts, markups, financing promotions and vehicle availability vary by region and date.
- Ownership costs: The supplied figures do not establish insurance, maintenance, repair, resale or long-term reliability differences.
Use the advertised prices as a starting point for a written, out-the-door comparison rather than as a final value verdict.
Rank #3
- SPACIOUS STORAGE: With 2 large compartments and 6 extra mesh pockets, this car trunk organizer provides ample space to neatly store groceries, tools, sports equipment, and more. Keep your car trunk clutter-free and organized on every trip.
- DURABLE MATERIALS: Made of sturdy Oxford cloth with reinforced stitching on high-wear areas, this car organizer for trunk is built to last through heavy use. The thickened base panel and handles enable this product to bear over 60lb capacity.
- FLEXIBLE CONFIGURATION: Adjustable side Velcro strips allow you to fold the car storgae organizer fully or halfway to fit your storage needs. Just put it in the trunk, backseat, front seat, or wherever you want in the car.
- CONVENIENT ACCESS: HOTOR car trunk organizer for SUV is equipped with 2 compartments and 6 stretchy mesh pockets to make items easy to see and grab when needed. No more digging around a messy trunk to find what you need. Just grab and go.
- PORTABLE & SPACE-SAVING: When not in use, simply fold the SUV trunk organizer flat with the Velcro strips. The collapsible design is perfect for freeing up trunk space or storing the organizer neatly at home. An essential item for tidy travels.
Powertrains, fuel use and towing
Volkswagen Atlas
The cited 2026 Atlas material describes a turbocharged 2.0-liter engine rated at 269 horsepower and 273 lb-ft of torque, with a 5,000-pound towing capacity. The source does not present a second 2026 Atlas powertrain in the material used for this comparison. If you tow, confirm the exact vehicle’s tow package, hitch rating, trailer-brake requirements and payload label; a model-level maximum does not tell you the safe capacity of every optioned vehicle.
Recommended Free Tools
Toyota Grand Highlander
Toyota offers gas, hybrid and Hybrid MAX versions. Toyota’s 2026 newsroom release gives a manufacturer-estimated 34 combined mpg for a hybrid configuration and describes the Hybrid MAX at 362 horsepower. Toyota’s specifications page presents estimates by configuration, so identify the exact trim and drivetrain before using a fuel-economy number in your budget.
The powertrain decision is therefore different from the price decision. A buyer who values the lowest advertised entry cost may favor the Atlas. A buyer who drives enough annual miles for hybrid efficiency to matter may accept the Grand Highlander’s higher purchase price, but should calculate fuel savings using their mileage, local fuel price and the specific hybrid grade’s rating. Neither the supplied figures nor the manufacturers’ pages establish a total-cost-of-ownership winner.
How to choose based on your normal trips
If six or seven people travel with luggage
- Place the third row upright in both vehicles.
- Measure the cargo floor behind it and load the bags, sports gear or stroller you actually carry.
- Check third-row entry with the second-row seat configured as you would use it, including any child seat.
- Have the tallest regular passenger sit in the third row for at least several minutes.
- Compare the written dealer quotes only after confirming destination charges and equivalent equipment.
For this use, Toyota’s 20.6-cubic-foot published figure is directly useful. The Atlas requires an in-person test because the comparable official number is not supplied in the cited 2026 material.
If the third row is usually folded
Compare the shape and access of the expanded cargo floor, not only the 97.5-versus-96.6-cubic-foot maximum. Bring a tape measure for floor length and opening width, and test the loading height. Toyota’s 0.9-cubic-foot maximum advantage is real as a published number but small enough that a different seat-folding layout could matter more for your objects.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #4
- [ORGANIZE YOUR CAR TRUNK]: When you open the trunk after grocery shopping, you definitely don't want to have a mess of groceries splattered around the trunk. Our trunk organizer is secured with Velcro. It does a great job of helping you organize groceries
- [LARGE TRUNK ORGANIZER]: The dimensions of the suv trunk organizer is 23.6''L x 14.6' 'W x 12.2''H. There are 2 main compartments in the car trunk organizer for sedan with 8 side cloth pockets and 3 large mesh pockets, which can bring more storage space
- [HIGH QUALITY MATERIAL]: The car grocery organizer trunk is made of 600D Oxford polyester material, which has good abrasion resistance and durability.It can pass the test of time. If you want to clean it, any spray cleaner and damp cloth will do the trick
- [MULTI-PURPOSE FOLDABLE]: Our collapsible trunk organizer is easy to fold. You can place it not only in the trunk, but also in the front or rear seats of the vehicle. When you don't need to use it, you can fold it up for easy carrying and storage
- [SATISFACTION PROMISE]: Ensuring customer satisfaction is our goal. If you have any questions, please contact us. We are committed to serving you with dedication
If fuel economy is a priority
Start with the Grand Highlander’s available hybrid versions and obtain the exact configuration’s official combined estimate. Then compare the estimated annual fuel bill with the Atlas’s purchase price and your expected mileage. Do not apply Toyota’s 34-mpg estimate to every Grand Highlander; it is identified as a manufacturer estimate for a hybrid configuration.
If towing is a priority
The 2026 Atlas source lists 5,000 pounds. Toyota’s cited passages do not state a single comparable Grand Highlander towing number, so obtain the rating for the exact engine, drivetrain, hitch and package. Include passengers and cargo in the vehicle’s payload calculation, and verify trailer-brake and weight-distribution requirements before purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.2027 update: do not mix the new Atlas with 2026 figures
2027 Volkswagen Atlas
Volkswagen’s current U.S. Atlas page describes a redesigned 2027 model. It lists a $41,610 starting MSRP, 282 horsepower, 95.4 cubic feet of cargo with the second and third rows down, 34.1 inches of third-row legroom and comparison-table estimates of 22 city/29 highway mpg. These are 2027 figures and should not be substituted into the matched 2026 comparison. The 2027 maximum-cargo number is also lower than the 2026 Atlas figure in the cited pages, but different model years and measurement disclosures prevent a simple year-over-year conclusion about usable space.
2027 Toyota Grand Highlander
Toyota announced the 2027 Grand Highlander on October 1, 2026. The announcement confirms up to 97.5 cubic feet of rear cargo room with the rear seats folded flat and continues to identify gas, hybrid and Hybrid MAX powertrains. The cited announcement does not provide a 2027 starting price or a complete cargo comparison by seat position. It is therefore not possible to name a defensible 2027 value winner from these facts alone.
When shopping a 2027 vehicle, request a current window sticker and verify model year on the vehicle identification paperwork. Do not assume a 2026 incentive, trim structure, fuel rating or destination charge carries over.
Best Value
- 1 case of 30 Packs, 30 Count Total
- EXTRA LARGE CAPACITY: This trunk organizer offers 95 liters of storage space, providing ample room to organize groceries, gear, and more.
- COLLAPSIBLE DESIGN: Folds flat for easy storage when not in use, making it a convenient and space-saving solution for your vehicle.
- WATERPROOF CONSTRUCTION: Built with waterproof materials to protect your cargo from spills and moisture, keeping your trunk clean and dry.
- NON-SLIP BOTTOM & RETRACTABLE STRAPS: Features a non-slip base to keep the organizer securely in place, plus retractable straps for added stability.
A practical dealer-comparison worksheet
Take this checklist to both dealerships or online inventory pages:
- Model year, trim and drivetrain written at the top of each quote.
- MSRP, destination charge, dealer-installed accessories and documentation fees shown separately.
- Second- and third-row positions used for each cargo measurement.
- Third-row legroom and headroom figures identified as manufacturer measurements, not independent tests.
- Fuel-economy estimate tied to the exact engine, hybrid system and wheel/tire configuration.
- Towing rating, hitch equipment and payload label for the specific vehicle.
- Current incentives with eligibility dates and stacking conditions.
- Out-the-door total including taxes, registration and financing assumptions.
Save the window sticker and the written quote. Manufacturer specifications and regional availability can change, and Toyota notes that its information applies to mainland U.S. vehicles and may vary by region.
What the published evidence can—and cannot—answer
The 2026 figures establish a small Grand Highlander advantage in maximum folded-seat cargo and a clear Atlas advantage in starting MSRP. They establish Toyota’s published 20.6-cubic-foot behind-third-row figure, but not a matched Atlas number. They show nearly identical published third-row legroom, with a 0.2-inch Atlas lead. They also show Toyota’s broader powertrain menu and the Atlas’s listed 5,000-pound tow capacity.
They do not establish which third row is more comfortable for every body type, which vehicle has lower insurance or repair costs, which will retain more value, or which dealer will offer the better transaction price in your area. Those questions require a test fit, an exact-vehicle quote and information beyond the cited manufacturer specifications.
Quick Recap
Sources and model-year references
- Volkswagen of America: 2026 VW Atlas
- Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A.: 2026 Grand Highlander specifications
- Toyota USA Newsroom: 2026 Toyota Grand Highlander, July 31, 2025
- Volkswagen of America: 2027 VW Atlas
- Toyota USA Newsroom: 2027 Toyota Grand Highlander, October 1, 2026
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




