October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Toyota’s “40-Year” Solid-State EV Battery: What the Claim Really Means

Toyota is developing a solid-state EV battery with ambitious 2027–2028, 1,000-km and 10-minute charging targets. But the reported 40-year figure is a capacity-retention goal, not a verified warranty or production specification.
Entry448 Date Time15 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: Toyota is genuinely developing an all-solid-state battery for electric vehicles, but it has not demonstrated or warranted a battery that will retain 90% of its capacity for 40 years. The 40-year figure is a forward-looking target attributed to Toyota executive Keiji Kaita, while Toyota’s official roadmap targets commercialization in 2027–2028.

Toyota’s documented goals are ambitious: approximately 1,000 km of range for an initial solid-state battery and 10–80% charging in 10 minutes or less. Those figures are targets, not a U.S. EPA rating or a guaranteed customer experience. As of August 9, 2026, the clearest evidence of progress is pilot-scale supply-chain preparation rather than a battery available in an ordinary Toyota showroom.

The accurate version of Toyota’s 40-year battery claim

The most defensible description is this: Toyota is targeting an all-solid-state EV battery that could retain about 90% of its original capacity after 40 years under typical use.

That is very different from saying Toyota has already invented a production battery guaranteed to last 40 years. The figure is not a published consumer warranty, an independently verified field result, or a production specification with publicly disclosed test conditions.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The claim came from comments attributed to Keiji Kaita, president of Toyota’s Carbon Neutral Advanced Engineering Development Center. The comments were made in the context of the 2025 Japan Mobility Show and reported in November 2025 by CarExpert and InsideEVs. The reported wording was cautious: Toyota’s target might be 40 years with 90% capacity remaining under typical use.

Toyota’s own battery roadmap discusses a durability breakthrough, range, charging and production goals. It does not state that a retail battery will carry a 40-year capacity warranty.

What 90% capacity retention actually means

Battery headlines often use power, capacity, range and lifespan as though they were interchangeable. They are not.

Term What it means Why it matters here
Capacity The amount of energy the battery can store, normally expressed in kilowatt-hours (kWh). A 100-kWh battery retaining 90% capacity would theoretically store about 90 kWh under the defined test conditions.
Power How quickly the battery can deliver or accept energy, expressed in kilowatts (kW). A battery may retain much of its energy capacity while losing some peak acceleration, charging speed or thermal performance.
Range How far a particular vehicle travels under a particular test cycle and configuration. Range depends on the battery, but also on weight, aerodynamics, tires, temperature, speed and software.
Service life The period during which the battery remains useful for its intended application. A battery can remain usable after it has lost some capacity, and it may have a second life after leaving the vehicle.
Capacity retention The percentage of original usable energy still available. This is the metric behind the reported 90%-after-40-years target.
Warranty A manufacturer’s contractual promise to provide a remedy under stated time, mileage and operating conditions. A 40-year engineering target is not a 40-year warranty unless Toyota eventually writes one into its customer terms.

So the phrase 40 years of power is imprecise. The reported claim concerns capacity retention, not a promise that the battery will deliver its original power output, charge at its original speed, provide identical range or perform like new for four decades.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Even the 90% figure would need a defined test protocol. Toyota has not publicly specified, in the cited material, the battery’s mileage equivalent, cycle count, temperature profile, charging rate, calendar-aging assumptions, usable-capacity definition, sample size or whether the figure applies to individual cells, modules or a complete pack.

What Toyota officially says about the battery

Toyota’s public roadmap supports the following targets:

Roadmap item Toyota’s stated target or position How to read it
Commercialization 2027–2028 A development and commercialization window, not a guaranteed global launch date.
Initial solid-state range Approximately 1,000 km in Toyota’s current roadmap summary A target that includes vehicle-efficiency improvements and is not a published EPA rating.
Fast charging 10% to 80% in 10 minutes or less Not a zero-to-100% charging time.
Higher-spec future version A 50% range improvement over the performance-battery target A later, higher-performance target rather than a confirmed vehicle specification.
Production Mass-production methods are still under development The battery program has moved toward industrial preparation but is not yet a mass-market product.
Electrolyte A sulfide solid electrolyte Toyota is working with Idemitsu on material development and production technology.

Toyota’s global announcement also describes the durability issue as having been overcome and identifies the 2027–2028 period for BEV use. That is an important company claim, but it is not the same as releasing a full long-duration test dataset. See Toyota’s global battery technology announcement and European roadmap summary.

Why headlines mention 1,000 or 1,200 km

Toyota’s roadmap discusses several battery tiers and combines cell improvements with changes to the vehicle itself. Toyota has described a performance-battery baseline of approximately 1,000 km when paired with improvements such as better aerodynamics and lower weight, and has also described the first solid-state step in terms of roughly 20% improvement over a performance-battery tier. Its current roadmap summary presents approximately 1,000 km for the first solid-state battery, while a higher-spec version is targeted at 50% above the performance-battery target.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Those tiered descriptions help explain why coverage sometimes turns Toyota’s plans into 1,000-km or 1,200-km headlines. The safe conclusion is not that every future Toyota EV will have a universal 1,200-km range. Toyota has not announced a named production model, final battery capacity, curb weight, tire specification, U.S. EPA rating or final test-cycle result for the solid-state system.

What the 10-minute charging target means

Toyota’s charging target is specifically 10% to 80% state of charge in 10 minutes or less. It is not a claim that the battery will charge from empty to full in 10 minutes.

Actual results would depend on:

  • Whether the vehicle and charger can support the required charging power.
  • Battery temperature before and during the session.
  • The battery’s charging curve, especially after 80% state of charge.
  • Pack size and the condition of the cells.
  • Thermal-management performance.
  • Available electrical-grid capacity and the charging site’s hardware.

Toyota has not published a production charging curve showing that the 10-minute target can be achieved consistently across a complete automotive pack, in all climates and after years of use.

Why an all-solid-state battery could last longer

A conventional lithium-ion battery uses a liquid electrolyte to carry lithium ions between the cathode and anode. An all-solid-state battery replaces that liquid electrolyte with a solid material. Toyota says its program uses a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and that Idemitsu is helping develop the material and the production process. Idemitsu describes potential improvements in charging, power output, energy density and service life, but these remain expected benefits until they are demonstrated in production-intent cells and packs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Conventional lithium-ion cell: cathode → liquid electrolyte → anode

All-solid-state cell: cathode → solid electrolyte → anode

A solid electrolyte could enable a more compact cell with higher energy density. It may also support faster ion transport in a suitable design, tolerate higher voltage or temperature conditions, and reduce reliance on a flammable liquid electrolyte. Those are reasons the technology has attracted so much interest.

But solid-state does not mean automatically fireproof, indestructible or maintenance-free. Internal shorts, mechanical damage, manufacturing defects and thermal events can still be engineering concerns. The benefits depend on the electrolyte chemistry, electrodes, separators, pack design, cooling system and manufacturing quality.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why solid-state batteries have taken so long

Replacing liquid electrolyte with solid electrolyte solves only one part of the problem. In a practical cell, solid materials must remain in close, stable contact while the electrodes expand and contract during charging and discharging.

Research reviews identify several persistent problems:

  • Interface instability: the solid electrolyte can chemically react with the cathode or anode, creating resistive layers.
  • High solid-to-solid resistance: unlike a liquid, a solid cannot automatically fill every microscopic gap between active materials.
  • Lithium dendrites: metallic lithium can form needle-like structures that penetrate or damage the electrolyte and create internal shorts.
  • Voids and contact loss: repeated cycling can leave empty spaces at interfaces, increasing resistance and accelerating capacity loss.
  • Cracking and delamination: mechanical stress can fracture layers or separate them from one another.
  • Pressure requirements: some cell designs need carefully controlled mechanical pressure to maintain contact, complicating vehicle-pack design.
  • Manufacturing scale: automotive cells require thin, uniform electrolyte layers, high yields, reliable seals and consistent quality across large production volumes.
  • Fast charging after aging: a cell that charges rapidly when new must continue doing so after thousands of cycles and years of calendar aging.

These are not merely theoretical objections. Reviews of sulfide-based and anode-free solid-state cells identify interfacial instability, dendrites, void formation, mechanical effects and rapid capacity degradation as active research challenges. The technical literature includes discussions in this OSTI-indexed review, Nature Materials, Nature Reviews Materials and this review of solid-state interface stability.

What durability evidence Toyota has actually disclosed

Toyota has disclosed several signs of technical progress:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • A claimed breakthrough addressing the durability problem that has slowed solid-state development.
  • A target to use the technology in BEVs in 2027–2028.
  • Joint work with Sumitomo Metal Mining on a cathode material described as durable under repeated charging and discharging.
  • Continued development of an automotive mass-production process.
  • A cooperation agreement with Idemitsu for sulfide solid-electrolyte production.

In October 2025, Toyota and Sumitomo Metal Mining announced development of a durable cathode material using Sumitomo’s powder-synthesis technology. The companies said they would continue improving performance, quality, safety and cost. That is meaningful supply-chain and materials progress, but it does not independently verify a 40-year capacity-retention result. The announcement is available from Toyota.

The public materials cited for this article do not provide:

  • A capacity-retention curve over thousands of cycles.
  • Calendar-aging results at multiple temperatures.
  • Charge and discharge rates used in the tests.
  • The number and format of test cells.
  • Pack-level results from a vehicle-sized battery.
  • A mileage equivalent for the 40-year estimate.
  • The number of samples tested or the failure rate.
  • Independent third-party validation.
  • Production yield, defect-rate or cost data.
  • A customer warranty covering 90% capacity after 40 years.

Until those details are available, the 40-year number should be treated as an engineering aspiration rather than an established product capability.

Toyota’s path from research to production

Toyota has been working on solid-state batteries for years, but the remaining challenge is industrialization: making uniform, durable cells in large quantities at an acceptable cost.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. 2006: Toyota says it began solid-state battery research. Its long development history shows that the program is substantial, but time spent in research is not evidence that a retail product is ready.
  2. June 2023: Toyota announced a durability breakthrough and a goal of commercializing solid-state batteries for BEVs in 2027–2028. The announcement is documented in Toyota’s global battery roadmap material.
  3. October 2023: Toyota and Idemitsu announced cooperation covering solid-electrolyte development, pilot-scale production and later study of full-scale commercialization. The planned electrolyte chemistry is sulfide-based. See the Toyota–Idemitsu agreement.
  4. September 2024: Japan recognized Toyota’s next-generation and solid-state battery supply plan as part of the country’s battery-industry support framework. This supports the seriousness of the industrial plan, but government recognition is not proof of vehicle performance.
  5. October 2025: Toyota and Sumitomo Metal Mining announced cooperation on a durable cathode material intended to improve performance, quality, safety and cost.
  6. January 29, 2026: Idemitsu announced a final investment decision and began construction of a large pilot facility for solid electrolytes. Idemitsu says two smaller verification facilities are already operating, including one primarily developing electrolytes for Toyota.
  7. 2027: Idemitsu plans to complete the large pilot facility, with expected output of several hundred tonnes of solid electrolyte per year. A separate lithium-sulfide facility is progressing toward completion in June 2027. The project is supported through Japan’s Green Innovation Fund and related NEDO programs, according to Idemitsu’s January 2026 announcement.
  8. 2027–2028: Toyota’s stated target for solid-state BEV commercialization.

The Idemitsu project is the most concrete recent production milestone, but a pilot electrolyte facility is not a high-volume battery-cell plant. Toyota would still need to qualify the material, produce consistent cells, integrate them into modules and packs, validate them in vehicles, and establish a reliable mass-production process.

How the 40-year goal compares with today’s EV batteries

The usual comparison—current EV batteries last eight years, while Toyota’s will last 40—is misleading. Eight years is commonly a warranty term, not the predicted failure date.

Reference point What it actually says
Current Toyota U.S. EV warranty Toyota’s U.S. traction-battery warranty covers eight years or 100,000 miles, including capacity falling below 70% of original capacity under the applicable warranty terms. See Toyota’s current U.S. warranty information.
Toyota bZ4X design target Toyota said the bZ4X battery was designed to retain 90% capacity after 10 years. A design target is not the same as a 40-year guarantee. See Toyota’s bZ4X announcement.
U.S. Department of Energy estimate The DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center summarizes predictive estimates of roughly 12–15 years in moderate climates, with shorter estimates of roughly 8–12 years in extreme climates.
Battery replacement evidence The EPA cites an analysis of about 15,000 vehicles in which battery replacements caused by failure averaged 2.5%, excluding major recalls, and were below 0.5% for model years 2016 onward.
Recent degradation data Geotab’s January 2026 analysis of more than 22,700 EVs reported average degradation of 2.3% per year, with results varying by vehicle, climate, charging behavior and use.

The DOE data is an estimate of expected useful life, while the Geotab figure is fleet and telematics data, not a Toyota-specific test. Neither can predict exactly how Toyota’s future solid-state cells will age. They do show why it is wrong to describe existing EV batteries as disposable after eight years. Battery aging is gradual, varies by conditions and does not necessarily mean sudden failure.

Rank #4
4PCS 2S 2 Series Lithium Battery Level Indicator Capacity Module Ni-MH 8.4V 4 Sections Blue LED Display Electric Vehicle Battery Power Tester Li-po Li-ion
  • The 2S battery capacity indicator module can be used to display lithium battery, lead acid battery, and Ni-MH battery.
  • Clear and bright display, outline red, display block Blue. The different electricity quantity will illuminate corresponding blocks electricity quantity.
  • How to use it: Connect the positive and negative terminals of the display board to the positive and negative terminals of the battery under test. The digital tube displays the real-time battery power.Note : after connecting a few series of lithium batteries in series, it is necessary to connect t-i-n to the corresponding pads.For example if a 2S battery is measured (two 3.7V lithium batteries are connected in series), a short circuit on the pad corresponding to S2 of the board is required.
  • Widely applications: Can be widely applied to portable mobile equipment, electro mobile, balance car, cleaning machine, measuring equipment etc. battery capacity indicator.
  • Note: The electricity quantity parameter is a reference value, there will be about 2% error range; This model is not waterproof, the electronic components should be used in a dry environment; The number of corresponding battery strings and use them within the corresponding voltage range. Do not exceed a voltage of 4.3*N at most.(for example, if the t-i-n on the pad of S3 is selected, the maximum voltage detected by the module should not exceed 4.3*3=12.9 V).

Nor should the 2.3% average annual degradation figure be multiplied mechanically across 40 years. Battery degradation is not always linear: it can be faster early in life, slow during a middle period, and accelerate later. Different chemistries and operating conditions behave differently. The comparison is useful context, not a direct forecast.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Climate, thermal management, charging behavior and usage all influence battery life. The DOE discusses those factors in its EV battery information, while Geotab provides the large-fleet comparison in its battery-health analysis. The EPA’s replacement data appears in its electric-vehicle myths and facts page.

What could shorten the real-world service life?

Even if Toyota reaches its target in a defined test, actual service life would depend on how the battery is used. Potential stressors include:

  • Repeated high-power DC fast charging.
  • High ambient temperatures and prolonged heat exposure.
  • Extended storage at a very high or very low state of charge.
  • Frequent deep cycling.
  • Long periods without use.
  • Mechanical shock or crash damage.
  • Cell-to-cell variation and manufacturing defects.
  • Aging of seals, cooling components, sensors and battery-management electronics.
  • Changes in charging standards, software support or replacement-part availability.

A battery can also retain 90% of its energy capacity while no longer matching its original peak power, charging speed or thermal behavior. That is why a serious durability claim must report more than one end-of-life number.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Will the first battery be in a normal Toyota EV?

Toyota’s public material supports a goal of solid-state battery commercialization in next-generation BEVs, but it does not confirm a U.S. production model, trim, price, production volume or launch market.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Toyota has previously discussed possible applications beyond large BEVs, including hybrid use, while later reporting has focused on a compact, high-power, long-range application. No specific Lexus sports car, bZ model or other named vehicle should be treated as confirmed without a formal Toyota announcement. The reported application discussion is summarized by InsideEVs.

Does a 40-year battery mean a 40-year car?

No. A battery that remains healthy for four decades could outlast the vehicle in which it was first installed, but the rest of the car would still age. Body corrosion, crash structures, motors, suspension, seals, wiring, computers, sensors, software and charging hardware could all become limiting factors.

A long-lived pack might eventually be:

  • Reused in another vehicle.
  • Repurposed for stationary energy storage.
  • Rebuilt into a replacement pack.
  • Recycled after its automotive and stationary-storage service.

The reported rationale for a 40-year target includes the possibility of removing a battery from an older vehicle and installing it in another one. That would require compatible pack dimensions, voltage, cooling, software, crash integration, certification and manufacturer support. Toyota has not announced a consumer battery-swapping program for these future packs.

What would prove the 40-year claim?

The claim would become substantially more credible if Toyota published or enabled independent verification of the following:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. A clearly defined cell or pack test protocol.
  2. Capacity-retention data over thousands of charge cycles.
  3. Calendar-aging results at multiple temperatures and states of charge.
  4. Fast-charging performance after aging, not only when the battery is new.
  5. Pack-level results from vehicle-sized production-intent hardware.
  6. Results replicated across a large number of samples.
  7. Failure rates and manufacturing-quality data.
  8. Independent testing or regulatory documentation.
  9. A production warranty that defines capacity, mileage, time and operating conditions.
  10. Evidence that the cells can be made economically, repaired safely and supplied at automotive scale.

Those details matter because a laboratory cell can be carefully controlled in ways that are not practical in a road car. Automotive durability means surviving weather, vibration, rapid charging, years of storage and thousands of miles across many individually manufactured cells.

What EV shoppers should not assume

  • There is no confirmed 40-year warranty. The reported number is a target for capacity retention.
  • The battery is not already in mass production. Idemitsu’s pilot facility is production preparation, not proof of high-volume vehicle-cell manufacturing.
  • Ten minutes does not mean a full charge. Toyota’s target is 10–80% under conditions that have not been fully published.
  • One thousand or 1,200 km is not a universal EPA range. Toyota includes aerodynamic and weight improvements, and no named U.S. production configuration has been rated.
  • Current EVs do not necessarily fail after eight years. Eight years or 100,000 miles is a common warranty benchmark, while real-world failure and degradation data show a more complicated picture.
  • Solid-state does not mean immune to fire or damage. It may reduce reliance on flammable liquid electrolyte, but the full cell and pack still require safety engineering.
  • The first Toyota solid-state vehicle is not confirmed. No specific Lexus sports car, bZ model or other retail vehicle is official in the cited materials.
  • A longer-lived battery may cost more at first. Kaita’s reported comments acknowledged that initial costs could be higher, with lifetime value and later cost reductions still part of the development case.

Bottom line

Toyota’s 40-year battery story is based on a real solid-state development program, not an invented technology. Toyota is targeting roughly 90% capacity retention after 40 years, but that figure remains a forward-looking engineering goal attributed to Keiji Kaita rather than a verified production result or consumer warranty.

The company’s official roadmap is more concrete about a 2027–2028 commercialization target, approximately 1,000 km of range, and 10–80% charging in 10 minutes or less. Idemitsu’s pilot-facility construction and Toyota’s work with Sumitomo Metal Mining show that the program is advancing toward industrial scale.

The three-part verdict is: the technology program is real; the 40-year performance has not been publicly demonstrated; and the target is technically ambitious but still dependent on durability testing, manufacturing scale, cost control and a confirmed production vehicle.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Toyota’s 40-year solid-state battery available to buy now?

No. Toyota’s stated commercialization window is 2027–2028, and the cited public materials do not identify a confirmed U.S. retail model, price, production volume or customer warranty for the solid-state battery.

Does 90% capacity after 40 years mean 90% of the original driving range?

Not necessarily. It refers to retained energy-storage capacity under a defined but not publicly disclosed test method. Real-world range also depends on temperature, speed, tires, aerodynamics, vehicle weight, software and the battery’s power and charging performance.

Will Toyota’s solid-state battery charge fully in 10 minutes?

Toyota’s target is 10% to 80% state of charge in 10 minutes or less. That is not a zero-to-100% claim, and the result would depend on the charger, battery temperature, charging curve, pack condition and electrical infrastructure.

Do current EV batteries fail after their eight-year warranty?

No. Eight years or 100,000 miles is commonly a warranty period, not a predicted failure date. DOE estimates and real-world data indicate that many batteries remain useful longer, while outright replacement failures are relatively uncommon in newer EVs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Could Toyota’s battery outlast the car?

Possibly, if the 40-year capacity target is achieved. But reuse in another vehicle or stationary storage would require compatible dimensions, voltage, cooling, software, safety certification and manufacturer support. Toyota has not announced a battery-swapping program for these packs.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Toyota is pursuing a genuine all-solid-state EV battery and targeting commercialization in 2027–2028. The reported 40-year figure means a potential target of about 90% capacity retention under typical use—not 40 years of unchanged power, range or charging speed, and not a consumer warranty. Pilot-scale production work is underway, but the performance still needs public validation in production-intent cells, packs and vehicles.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date05 OCT 26Time4 minPickup Trucks That Can Tow 10,000 Pounds: 2026 Models and What to CheckSection: Blog
  2. Entry002Date05 OCT 26Time4 minCan Kia's EVs Become Swiss Army Knives for Family Adventure?Section: Blog
  3. Entry003Date05 OCT 26Time3 minHow to Check Tire Tread: 3 Simple MethodsSection: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.