Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Get listed

car buying10 MIN

Toyota Urban Cruiser EV vs Hyundai Kona Electric: price, range and practicality compared

The Urban Cruiser EV starts at £29,995 in the UK, while the Kona Electric offers up to 514 km WLTP. Compare batteries, charging and usable family space.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Verdict: The Hyundai Kona Electric is the stronger choice if maximum driving range, a larger measured luggage area and faster DC charging matter most. The Toyota Urban Cruiser EV is the cheaper published UK entry point, starting at £29,995 on the road for the Icon 49 kWh, and its sliding rear bench gives families useful control over legroom versus luggage space.

This is not a like-for-like trim comparison. Toyota prices below are UK 2026 on-the-road figures, while the cited Toyota range and charging data come from a German 49 kWh specification. Hyundai’s range figures are European WLTP results and its prices are country-specific. Use your local configurator before treating either car as a final deal.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

At a glance: which electric SUV wins each category?

Category Toyota Urban Cruiser EV Hyundai Kona Electric Practical takeaway
Lowest published entry price £29,995 on the road in the UK (2026 Icon, 49 kWh FWD) Not stated as one Europe-wide price; varies by country and trim Toyota has the clear published UK starting-price advantage.
Battery choices in the cited data 49 kWh and 61 kWh 48.4 kWh and 65.4 kWh Both offer a smaller and a larger battery, but specifications and equipment differ by market.
Maximum cited WLTP/combined range 344 km combined for the German 49 kWh Active; 482 km urban 377 km WLTP (48.4 kWh) or 514 km WLTP (65.4 kWh) Kona has the higher maximum published range.
DC charging 45 minutes from 10–80% for the cited German 49 kWh Active 41 minutes from 10–80% on a 101 kW charger for the long-range model Kona is slightly quicker in the specified test.
Boot and frunk figures Toyota’s cited pages do not give a directly comparable litre figure 466 litres with seats up, 1,300 litres folded, plus a 27-litre frunk Kona is easier to quantify and offers substantial declared cargo capacity.
Rear-seat flexibility Split rear bench slides in ten positions 40:20:40 split-folding rear backrests Toyota prioritises adjustable fore-and-aft space; Kona offers a useful central seat-back split.

UK prices: is the Urban Cruiser EV cheaper?

On the published UK figures, yes. Toyota lists the Urban Cruiser Icon 49 kWh FWD at £29,995 on the road for 2026. That is the car’s entry price in the supplied UK pricing information, not a Europe-wide price and not a statement about temporary finance or government incentives.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Toyota Urban Cruiser EV trim and battery UK on-the-road price (2026) What the figure represents
Icon, 49 kWh FWD £29,995 Published UK on-the-road price
Design, 61 kWh FWD £33,495 Published UK on-the-road price
Excel, 61 kWh FWD £35,745 Published UK on-the-road price

That gives the Toyota a £3,500 step from Icon 49 kWh to Design 61 kWh, and a further £2,250 to Excel 61 kWh. The larger battery is therefore tied to higher trim levels in the cited UK line-up. The figures do not establish how much of the difference is battery capacity, equipment or styling, so compare the standard specification as well as the headline price.

#1 Best Overall
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable 6M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • Adjustable Current & Fast Charging: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is CEE Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW
  • Two Operating Modes: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger
  • Delay Charging 15 Hours: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs
  • 2.8 Inches LED Large Screen : The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night
  • Safety Protection: Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc

The cited Hyundai Europe page presents country-specific trims and pricing rather than one pan-European amount. A Kona Electric buyer should select the country, battery and trim in the local Hyundai configurator, then compare the resulting on-the-road price with the Toyota version available in the same market. Comparing a UK Toyota list price with an unspecified European Kona price would produce a misleading result because taxes, registration charges, equipment and incentives differ.

What to check before accepting a price comparison

  • Confirm that both vehicles are front-wheel drive and use the same battery-size class.
  • Check wheel size: it can change the certified range and may be bundled with a trim.
  • Include delivery, registration, metallic paint, charging cables and any mandatory local fees.
  • Separate a recurring list price from a limited-time finance contribution or dealer discount.
  • Use the same country and purchase date for both configurators.

Range: Kona has the stronger long-distance case

The Hyundai’s long-range 65.4 kWh version is rated at 514 km WLTP, while the 48.4 kWh version is rated at 377 km WLTP. Those are Hyundai Motor Europe figures for the KONA Electric and are not promises of a fixed motorway distance. The 514 km result belongs specifically to the 65.4 kWh front-wheel-drive configuration.

Toyota’s cited German specification for the 49 kWh Urban Cruiser Active lists 344 km combined and 482 km urban. The urban number is a separate test result, not the range a driver should expect on a mixed or motorway journey. It also comes from Germany, whereas the Toyota prices above are UK figures, so the range and price rows should not be read as one country-specific trim deal.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Version in the cited data Battery Published range Test basis and geography
Urban Cruiser Active 49 kWh 344 km combined; 482 km urban Toyota Germany specification; current page
KONA Electric standard-range 48.4 kWh 377 km WLTP Hyundai Motor Europe; current page
KONA Electric long-range 65.4 kWh 514 km WLTP Hyundai Motor Europe; front-wheel drive

How much range will you actually have?

WLTP and combined figures are controlled comparison tests. They help you compare versions tested under a common method, but temperature, speed, wind, traffic, wheel choice, payload and heating or air-conditioning can all change real consumption. Cold-weather motorway driving normally creates a larger gap from the laboratory result than mild, slower urban driving.

Rank #2
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A Adjustable Current, Charging Cable Type 2, Charging Cable Electric car Type 2, Charging Cable Type 2, EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • ✅【Adjustable Current & Fast Charging】: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is NEMA 14-50 Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW.
  • ✅【Two Operating Modes】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi🛜). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger.
  • ✅【Delay Charging 15 Hours】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs.
  • ✅【2.8 Inches LED Large Screen】: The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night.
  • ✅【Safety Protection】: 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. 👍The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

For family planning, treat the published figure as a starting point for route calculations rather than as the distance between charging stops. Leave a buffer for detours, congestion and a charger that is occupied or unavailable. The larger Kona battery gives the widest official margin between stops; the Toyota’s 61 kWh versions may improve on the cited 49 kWh result, but the supplied material does not state a directly comparable range for those UK trims.

Charging: a small Kona advantage, with important conditions

The cited long-range Kona specification takes 41 minutes from 10% to 80% on a 101 kW DC charger. Hyundai also says that this version can add up to 162 km in 15 minutes under the stated charging conditions. The 15-minute addition is an energy gain, not a guarantee that every 15-minute stop will deliver 162 km in every season or at every charger.

Toyota’s German specification for the 49 kWh Active quotes 45 minutes from 10% to 80% on DC. That is four minutes longer in the cited figures. Charging power, battery temperature, charger output and the car’s state of charge influence the result; a public unit rated above the vehicle’s acceptance limit will not make the car charge faster than the car allows.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Charging measure Urban Cruiser EV Kona Electric
10–80% DC time 45 minutes for the cited German 49 kWh Active 41 minutes for the long-range model on a 101 kW charger
Short-stop energy claim Not stated in the cited Toyota material Up to 162 km added in 15 minutes, long-range model and stated conditions
Connector information Not stated in the supplied Toyota material Type 2 AC and Combo Type 2 DC connectors are specified

Choosing a home or road-trip cable

Because the Kona technical data specifies Type 2 for AC and Combo Type 2 for DC, a Type 2 charging cable is the relevant accessory for compatible AC charge points. Confirm the cable’s current rating, vehicle inlet and the connector fitted to your home wallbox before buying; a cable cannot increase the car’s maximum AC or DC charging rate. Public rapid chargers normally provide their own tethered DC cable.

Rank #3
AFYEEV 7.2kW Charging Cable Type 2 5M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 【Type 2 Electric Vehicle Charger】The maximum current of this Type 2 electric vehicle charger can reach 32A, and the voltage is 200-240V. This Charging Cable Type 2 is designed with adjustable current 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A function, which can be adjusted according to your needs
  • 【2 in 1 Charging Mode】This Type 2 Charging Cable can not only be set by long pressing the button in the control box. You can adjust the current and set the delayed charging time (1-15 hours delayed charging) to stagger the charging peak period and reduce charging costs
  • 【Portable and extra-long cable】This ev charger type 2 cable is up to 5M, allowing you to flexibly shuttle between charging stations. You can charge even if you are far away from the charging station without worrying about charging location restrictions. The electric vehicle charger is very convenient to carry when traveling, and this charger comes with a portable handbag with a large internal capacity, which is a must-have for long-distance travel
  • 【Safety Guarantee】This Type 2 charger provides multiple layers of protection, overheating protection, leakage, overcurrent, undervoltage/overvoltage, etc. This electric car charger can withstand high and low temperatures. And with IP66 waterproof function, it can also ensure safe charging in rainy, snowy and hot weather
  • Ground Fault : If you find the type 2 ev charger is a Ground Fault error at 220V. and ground is good, there is a work around. You can try going into the settings and turning off ground fault detection, and the unit works fine.

Practicality: measured Kona capacity versus Toyota’s adjustable bench

The KONA Electric is 4,355 mm long, 1,825 mm wide and has a 2,660 mm wheelbase. Hyundai quotes 466 litres of luggage space with the rear seats in place, 1,300 litres with them folded, and a 27-litre frunk. The rear backrests split 40:20:40, so a long item can pass through the centre while two rear passengers remain seated.

Toyota highlights a different solution: a split rear bench that slides in ten positions. Moving it rearward gives passengers more legroom; sliding it forward releases additional luggage space. This is useful when the load changes from a weekly shop to a full family holiday, but Toyota’s cited pages do not publish a directly comparable boot-volume figure. It would be inaccurate to declare a litre-for-litre winner.

What the figures mean in a family car

  • Pushchairs and bulky cases: the Kona’s stated 466-litre seats-up volume provides a concrete planning reference. Measure your own pushchair because usable shape, hatch opening and floor height matter as much as litres.
  • Long loads: Kona’s 40:20:40 layout preserves two outer seating positions when the centre section is folded. Toyota’s sliding bench lets you trade rear legroom for depth before folding the backrests.
  • Small charging items: the Kona’s 27-litre frunk can keep a cable or compact equipment separate from groceries. Toyota’s supplied specifications do not state a frunk capacity.
  • Passenger comfort: Toyota’s ten-position travel is potentially valuable for tall rear passengers, but the published material does not provide rear legroom measurements. Sit in the exact trim with child seats installed.

Which is easier to live with every day?

Urban driving and short commutes

Either battery choice can cover routine local driving without daily rapid charging, provided you can charge at home or at a dependable destination point. The Urban Cruiser’s lower UK entry price makes it attractive when the car will mostly be used for school runs, shopping and commuting. The Kona’s smaller 48.4 kWh version offers a higher cited WLTP range than the Toyota 49 kWh German result, although pricing and standard equipment must be checked locally.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequent motorway trips

The Kona long-range version is the most convincing option on the published evidence: 514 km WLTP, a 41-minute 10–80% DC claim and a 162 km maximum addition in 15 minutes under Hyundai’s stated conditions. The larger battery can reduce the number of charging stops, but motorway speed and winter weather can materially reduce the distance between stops.

Rank #4
JecoEV Type 2 Male to Type 2 Female EV Charging Cable, Mode 3 Portable EV Charger, Single Phase 32A 7kW, 5m
  • √ Charging Standard: Type 2 IEC 62196-2
  • √ Charging Power: 7kW, Single phase
  • √ Input/Output Voltage: 230~250V AC
  • √ Rated Current: 32A
  • √ Cable Length: 5m

Mixed family loads

Choose the Kona when a known 466-litre boot, 1,300-litre folded capacity and 27-litre frunk simplify your packing decisions. Choose the Toyota when the ability to slide the rear bench in ten positions is more valuable than a published litre figure—for example, when rear passengers vary in height from day to day. Inspect both loading apertures with your normal luggage rather than relying on capacity alone.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Equipment, warranty and trim checks

The supplied figures do not establish a complete, country-neutral equipment or warranty comparison. Those items can vary with market, battery, wheel size and trim. Before signing, request the exact specification sheet for the vehicle identification or order code you are buying.

  • Verify whether a heat pump, battery pre-conditioning and a three-phase AC charger are standard, optional or unavailable in your market.
  • Check the maximum AC charging rate and whether the quoted DC time applies to the battery you selected.
  • Confirm driver-assistance functions, their operating conditions and whether they can be adjusted for your roads.
  • Read the battery and vehicle warranty terms for mileage, time limits, transferability and minimum retained capacity.
  • Check wheel and tyre sizes, because replacements and efficiency can affect running costs and range.

A sensible buying process

  1. Set your country first. Open the Toyota and Hyundai configurators for the same market and currency. Do not use the UK Toyota price as a substitute for a local Kona price.
  2. Match the battery purpose. Compare Toyota 49 kWh with Kona 48.4 kWh for an entry-battery decision, then compare Toyota 61 kWh with Kona 65.4 kWh for long-distance use.
  3. Price equivalent equipment. Add only the options you would actually choose, including paint, cable, delivery and registration charges.
  4. Plan a representative route. Test your longest regular journey with a winter buffer and identify at least one backup rapid charger.
  5. Load your real equipment. Bring a child seat, pushchair, suitcase or sports kit to the dealer. Check hatch height, floor width, rear-seat clearance and charging-cable storage.
  6. Confirm charging compatibility. At home, verify wallbox power, electrical supply and cable length. On trips, check that the networks on your routes support the car’s connector and payment method.
  7. Read the final order sheet. Ensure battery, drive layout, wheels, charging hardware, warranty and delivery price match the comparison you made.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Mixing countries and trims

A UK Toyota on-the-road price beside a German Toyota range and a Europe-wide Hyundai range is useful for orientation, not a final quotation. Label every number by country and version, then repeat the comparison in one local configurator.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Treating WLTP as motorway range

Use WLTP to compare models tested under the same method. For a trip, budget for weather, speed, passengers, luggage and heating. Plan a charging stop before the battery reaches the absolute minimum you would tolerate.

Best Value
AFYEEV 7.2kW 5M Type 2 Charging Cable with CEE Plug, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 8 Current Adjustable Secondary Chargers: This AFYEEV level 2 ev charger has multiple current options, 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A, and the maximum current can reach 32A. Choose the appropriate current according to your own environment. Compared with the Charging Cable Type 2, this type 2 ev charger will charge faster and have greater power, up to 7.2kW, which can meet your needs to a certain extent.
  • Delayed Charging For 1-15 Hours: This AFYEEV Type 2 Charging Cable can not only select the current, but also the delayed charging time. You can choose to charge the type 2 charger after 1 hour, or after 15 hours, with 1-15 hours for you to choose. Choosing delayed charging allows you to charge at a convenient time or avoid peak hours, which can reduce charging Cable Electric Car Type 2 charging costs and reduce unnecessary consumption.
  • Two Operation Modes : The ev charger type 2 can enter the function interface by long pressing the button, and short pressing can select the charger function. The ev charger level 2 can also be remotely operated by connecting to the smart life APP (Bluetooth & WIFI) of the mobile phone. The APP of electric vehicle charger can be downloaded from the APP Store or Google Chrome. You can remotely set the current and charging time through the APP and monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere.
  • Wall-mounted portable ev charger: The electric vehicle charger with CEE plug can be wall-mounted, just as convenient as a wall-mounted charger. You can mount the gun bracket on the wall to hang the cable and gun head on the wall to free up space. The cable length of the ev car charger level 2 can reach 5M, which allows flexible charging in garages and parking lots. The portable ev charger can be used as a wallbox ev charger level 2 for 110V voltage environment.
  • Safety Protection : 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home level 2. 👍The portable ev charger level 2 has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

Comparing battery sizes without acknowledging the price step

The Urban Cruiser’s cited UK pricing moves from £29,995 for the 49 kWh Icon to £33,495 for the 61 kWh Design. A bigger battery may solve a range concern, but the decision also changes trim and equipment. Compare the complete cars, not just kilowatt-hours.

Assuming boot litres tell the whole story

The Kona has published capacities, while Toyota’s cited pages emphasise ten-position bench travel instead. Measure the opening and floor in person, especially if you use a pram, dog crate or tall boxes.

Who should buy which car?

Choose the Toyota Urban Cruiser EV if:

  • You are buying in the UK and want the lowest published entry price in this comparison: £29,995 on the road for the 49 kWh Icon.
  • Your driving is mainly local and the entry battery meets your normal route with a sensible reserve.
  • You value a rear bench that can slide through ten positions to balance passenger legroom and luggage.
  • You are prepared to check the exact range, equipment and warranty of the UK trim rather than infer them from the German 49 kWh specification.

Choose the Hyundai Kona Electric if:

  • You regularly travel long distances and want the highest cited range: 514 km WLTP with the 65.4 kWh front-wheel-drive battery.
  • You want a declared 466-litre boot, 1,300 litres with seats folded and a 27-litre frunk.
  • A 40:20:40 rear backrest is more useful to you than a sliding whole bench.
  • You value the cited 41-minute 10–80% DC time and up to 162 km added in 15 minutes under the specified conditions.

Final verdict

The Urban Cruiser EV wins the published UK entry-price contest, while the Kona Electric wins on maximum official range, measured cargo volume and the cited rapid-charging time. For a family that prioritises a predictable boot and long motorway legs, the long-range Kona is the more complete practical package. For a buyer focused on upfront UK cost and adaptable rear-seat space, the Urban Cruiser is compelling—provided its locally configured range and equipment suit the journeys you actually make.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

car buyingelectric SUVsEV comparisonfamily carsHyundai Kona ElectricToyota Urban Cruiser EV

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.