Kelley Blue Book’s U.S. list named the Nissan LEAF its best electric car of 2016, with the Ford Focus Electric and Volkswagen e-Golf tied for second. That is an editorial ranking, not a universal verdict: the right choice depended on range, price, space, features and the specific battery and trim. Model-year specifications also show a broader range spread than KBB’s five picks alone.
How Kelley Blue Book ranked the 2016 electric cars
Kelley Blue Book (KBB) ranked its five best electric cars of 2016 using considerations including features, safety, range, driving performance, cargo room and value. KBB says its editors review and test-drive vehicles. The order below is KBB’s assessment for that period, not an objective consensus across all reviewers.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| KBB rank | Model |
|---|---|
| #1 | Nissan LEAF |
| #2 (tie) | Ford Focus Electric |
| #2 (tie) | Volkswagen e-Golf |
| #4 | Chevrolet Spark EV |
| #5 | FIAT 500e |
The ranking is useful for identifying KBB’s preferred all-around choices, but it does not mean every car suited every driver. A buyer prioritizing longer rated range or cargo space could weigh the same cars differently from someone looking for a compact vehicle or a lower launch price.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2016 model-year range and efficiency by version
The U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) model-year table, updated October 21, 2015, reports standardized all-electric range and MPGe values for specific configurations. Its entries show that the lineup extended beyond KBB’s five picks, and that exact battery and version matter.
#1 Best Overall
- [COMPATIBILITY] - Compatible with Tesla X 2016-2024
- [REFERENCE PART NUMBER] - JFBAJCWWR00007, 1028818-00-F
- [NOTE] - This part comes with Motor, with 6 Pins.
- [PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS] - Quantity: 1; Electric/Manual: Electric; Installation Position: Front Left; Motor Included: Yes
- [ABOUT JC WHITNEY] - JC Whitney began in Chicago in 1915 on a simple belief that drivers should have access to reliable parts and the freedom to work on their own vehicles. Empowering millions of customers to maintain, restore, and upgrade their vehicles with confidence—from garage divers to seasoned enthusiasts. We continues to deliver quality products and parts designed for precise fit and long-lasting reliability.
| Model-year 2016 vehicle/version in AFDC | All-electric range | MPGe |
|---|---|---|
| Tesla Model S, 70 kWh | 265 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| Tesla Model S, 90 kWh | 270 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| Nissan LEAF, 24 kWh | 84 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| BMW i3 | 81 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| Ford Focus Electric | 76 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| Volkswagen e-Golf | 83 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| Chevrolet Spark | 82 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
| FIAT 500e | 87 miles | not stated (AFDC table) |
These are AFDC’s model-year estimates, not real-world driving results. The AFDC table’s named entries do not provide the MPGe figures in the material available here, so no efficiency values are supplied. The range entries also do not cover exactly the same models as KBB’s ranked list.
The 2016 Nissan LEAF illustrates why trim matters
A LEAF badge alone does not identify one range figure. In its September 10, 2015 announcement, Nissan said the 2016 LEAF SV and SL came standard with a 30 kWh battery and an EPA-estimated 107-mile range, while the S retained a 24 kWh battery and an 84-mile estimate. Nissan called the 30 kWh battery’s increase over the previous 24 kWh battery a “27 percent increase.” That percentage is the manufacturer’s description, not an independent measurement.
Rank #2
- 【OE Part Number】This fuel pump Replace 105043401, 105282901. Please confirm the model number before you buy, and through the display pictures for comparison, to make sure that you get.
- 【Vehicle Fitment】105043401 fuel pump fits for Club Car Golf Cart 2016-2023, precedent models with the EFI Fuel System,Club car onward’s & Tempo with EFI Fuel Systems.
- 【Higher Quality】105043401 fuel pump is made of Higher quality materials combined with meticulous manufacturing and stringent testing, ensure reliable quality and durability.
- 【Easy to install】105282901 fuel pump is easy to install, direct replacement, ready to use . Make sure the picture is the same as what you want!
- 【Service】At Farpida, we provide 7/24 response service. Low risk purchase is for every customer's smile. If you have any quality problems with your product, please contact us and we will replace your parts with new ones for fr-ee .
Nissan also quoted launch prices after assuming a federal tax credit: $21,510 for the S, $26,700 for the SV and $29,290 for the SL. These are launch-era figures from Nissan’s announcement, not current used-car prices or a statement of incentives available today. Nissan director of EV Sales & Marketing Andrew Speaker said, “We know that to maintain that leadership, we must continue developing battery technology that strikes that ideal balance between capacity, packaging, durability and affordability.” This was manufacturer commentary in the same announcement.
How to use the ranking when comparing cars today
- Match the exact version. Confirm model year, battery size and trim before comparing range; the LEAF’s 2016 S and SV/SL estimates differ substantially.
- Keep rated range distinct from lived range. AFDC’s figures are model-year estimates, not a promise of distance under every route, weather or driving condition.
- Choose criteria before choosing a winner. KBB considered safety, performance, cargo room, features and value as well as range. A range-only comparison leaves out much of the reason its order may differ from yours.
- Separate historical prices from current shopping. Nissan’s prices used an assumed federal credit in 2015; KBB’s current page can display changing used-market information rather than original 2016 MSRP.
For market context, Oak Ridge National Laboratory reported nearly 87,000 all-electric vehicles sold in the United States in 2016, up from 71,000 in 2015. Its report says the Tesla Model S led sales in 2015–2016 after the LEAF led from 2011–2014. Those sales figures describe market activity, not vehicle quality or a rebuttal to KBB’s editorial ranking.
Rank #3
- [Directly Fit]: OE Replacement Power Window Regulator without Motor, Directly Fit
- [Vehicle Fitment]: Compatible with Tesla Model X 2016-2023 --- It comes without Motor
- [Location]: Front Left Driver Side
- [Reference Number]: The A-Premium Window Regulator's reference number: 1028818-00-F,102881800F. Before placing an order, verify that the part is compatible with your vehicle using the compatibility system.
- [Buy with Confidence]: A-Premium offers a one-year unlimited-mileage guarantee on our meticulously crafted window regulator. We offer a wide variety of automotive accessory categories, ensuring that you can hit the road with peace of mind.
What this comparison cannot establish
The cited period ranking and model-year specifications do not establish charging speed, reliability, battery degradation, long-term ownership cost or current charging-network access. Nor do they tell a present-day buyer what a particular used 2016 car is worth or how healthy its battery is. Those questions require vehicle-specific information beyond a model-year ranking.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Precision Custom Fit for Honda Accord - Specifically designed for 2013-2017 Honda Accord. Measured to follow the original floor contours for a snug, edge-to-edge fit. Designed to integrate with factory retention systems to help keep mats securely in place.
- Multi-Color Design - Available in multiple vibrant color options to match your vehicle’s personality. The color design adds a sporty and energetic touch to your cabin. A perfect way to enhance your vehicle’s personality while maintaining practical floor coverage. A great choice for drivers who want both function and style.
- No Trimming Required & Quick Installation - Unlike universal mats, these are vehicle-specific and ready to install right out of the box. No cutting, no measuring, no adjustments needed — just place them into position and enjoy a finished look. Installation takes only minutes and removal is just as simple for cleaning or seasonal changes.
- Waterproof Protection for Daily Driving - Helps protect your carpet from rain, mud, snow, spills, and everyday mess. Ideal for commuting, outdoor activities, and active lifestyles.
- Responsive Customer Support - We stand behind our products. If you have questions about fitment or need assistance after purchase, our support team is ready to help provide a smooth and satisfying solution.
Rank #4
- 【Compatible with Tesla Model 3 2016-2020】 EVFRONTIERX Electric Frunk Kit is meticulously designed to fit perfectly with Tesla Model 3 vehicles from the years 2016 to 2020, Ensure a seamless integration with your vehicle for enhanced functionality and convenience.
- 【Multiple Control Options】Enjoy ultimate convenience with multiple control methods. Open and close your frunk using the original car key, central control screen button, mobile app, or front trunk button. Experience the flexibility and ease of access at your fingertips.
- 【Advanced Safety Features】EVFRONTIERX Power Frunk Kit is equipped with an anti-pinch function. When an obstacle is detected, the frunk automatically stops closing to prevent any damage or injury, ensuring the safety of you and your vehicle.
- 【Robust and Waterproof Design】 Built to withstand various weather conditions, our ECU boasts a waterproof rating of IP67, ensuring reliable performance even in extreme conditions. Trust in the durability and longevity of your electric frunk system.
- 【Professional Installation Recommended】 While the installation process is straightforward with our detailed manual, we highly recommend professional installation to ensure optimal performance and safety.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




