Short answer: The 2026 Nissan LEAF offers the highest advertised range in this group in its S+ trim, the Kia Niro EV provides the most published rear legroom and folded cargo capacity, and the Volvo EX30 has the quickest stated DC fast-charge window. Those advantages change by trim, wheel choice, charging conditions and how each manufacturer measures space.
This is a US-market comparison of manufacturer-published 2026 model-year specifications for three representative compact or subcompact electric cars. They are not all in one formal size class, and the figures are not an independent test. Confirm the exact trim, equipment, model year and local availability before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick comparison: range, charging and space
| Vehicle and version | Advertised or EPA-estimated range | Published charging figure | Published rear legroom | Published cargo figure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nissan LEAF S+, SV+, Platinum+ | 303, 288 or 259 miles, respectively | 35 minutes peak DC fast charging; 6.5 hours at 240V. Nissan’s press kit specifies an estimated 10–80% DC window. | 31.8 in | 20 cu. ft. interior cargo volume |
| Kia Niro EV | 253 miles, EPA-estimated | 10–80% in 43 minutes under Kia’s stated Wave-trim test conditions | 36.9 in | 63.7 cu. ft. with rear seats folded flat |
| Volvo EX30 Single Motor, Twin Motor Performance, Cross Country Twin Motor Performance | Up to 261, 253 or 227 miles, respectively | 10–80% in as little as 26.5 minutes; typical 10–90% Level 2 charging in 8 hours with an 11 kW charger | 32.3 in | 11.2 cu. ft. behind the second row; 27.8 cu. ft. with rows folded |
These numbers come from the manufacturers. Charge time depends on the starting state of charge, battery and ambient temperature, charger output and vehicle condition. Cargo measurements use different standards and seat configurations, so the table is a guide rather than a laboratory ranking.
What the comparison means for a buyer
- Longest stated range: The LEAF S+ leads this set, but the same nameplate drops materially in the SV+ and Platinum+ trims. Volvo’s EX30 range also changes with motor and body version, while Kia publishes one EPA-estimated Niro EV figure.
- Fastest stated public charging: The EX30’s best-case 10–80% figure is shortest, followed by the LEAF estimate and then the Niro EV’s stated test result. None predicts every real-world stop.
- Most rear-seat room: Kia publishes the largest rear-legroom measurement. Families should still test a child seat because measurement methods and seat shapes differ.
- Most usable published cargo volume: Kia’s figure is measured with the rear bench folded flat. Volvo supplies both seats-up and seats-folded numbers; Nissan supplies an interior cargo-volume figure without the same folded-seat context.
Range: compare the exact version, not just the badge
Nissan LEAF
Nissan lists a 75 kWh usable/net battery and three front-wheel-drive trims. The S+ is rated at the top of the LEAF range spread, while the SV+ and Platinum+ are lower. Wheel and equipment choices can influence the final certified figure, so use the number attached to the vehicle’s window sticker rather than a model-family headline.
#1 Best Overall
- TOY CAR FOR KIDS – Young electric car enthusiasts can race into the future with the LEGO City EV Supercar (60486) building toy for kids ages 5 years old and up
- WHAT'S IN THE BOX – Includes everything kids need to build a sleek red and black electric sports car with low-profile rubber tires, a taillight bar and aerodynamic design
- PRETEND PLAY POSSIBILITIES – Kids can lift the rear hatch to access the toy battery pack and place the driver minifigure behind the wheel for fast-paced racing adventures
- LEGO DRIVER MINIFIGURE – Includes a driver minifigure with a smartphone that fits perfectly in the cockpit for exciting pretend play action
- GIFT FOR BOYS & GIRLS – This toy electric vehicle makes a great birthday gift or anytime treat for kids who love cool cars, building toys and creative pretend play
The 2026 LEAF specifications page also lists a length of 173.4 inches, width of 71.3 inches and height of 61.3 inches. Its front legroom is 42.4 inches, with less space in the rear. Nissan’s press material identifies both a J1772 charging port and a North American Charging Standard (NACS) port. Read the complete Nissan 2026 LEAF specifications and the press kit issued June 17, 2025 for trim-specific details.
Kia Niro EV
Kia lists one EPA-estimated range for the 2026 Niro EV. The estimate is subject to options, driving speed, weather, temperature, maintenance, battery age and charging practice. A test drive on your normal route is more useful than assuming the laboratory estimate will be identical in winter or on a motorway.
The Niro EV can use compatible Tesla Superchargers with a separately sold NACS adapter. Kia says the adapter is intended for Kia EVs and may not work with other makes, and availability depends on supply. Verify compatibility and the current network requirements before purchasing an adapter. Kia’s 2026 Niro EV page contains the current qualification language.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #2
- 1:32 scale modern electric police suv die‑cast toy car. Product size:5.9*2.51*2.04 inches. Material:Zinc alloy and ABS.
- Cool police livery with police badge graphic, realistic wheel details. This ev police toy vehicle works great for role‑play games, vehicle collection and desktop display.
- Pull‑back power design, no battery required for driving fun. Press the front wheels to trigger realistic police siren sound and bright warning light effects for immersive play experience.
- 3‑speed toggle switch at bottom offers 3 interactive modes: silent mode, steady light silent mode, sound & light mode. Realistic crossover suv styling with openable doors restores classic police vehicle details.
- Ideal gift choice for die‑cast collectors and boys age 3 and up. Perfect for birthday, Christmas, holiday gifts for vehicle toy lovers.
Volvo EX30
Volvo lists three powertrain/body combinations. The Single Motor has the highest published EX30 estimate, the Twin Motor Performance is lower, and the Cross Country Twin Motor Performance is lowest. Volvo’s figures are for vehicles on 19-inch wheels under ideal conditions; actual range varies with driving and vehicle factors. The Volvo EX30 specifications page identifies the applicable version and wheel assumptions.
Charging: what the headline minutes do and do not tell you
| Model | DC fast-charge statement | Important conditions | AC or home-charge information |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nissan LEAF | 35-minute peak estimate; Nissan’s press kit describes 10–80% | Power source, ambient and battery temperature, battery condition and age, and accessories used while charging can change the result. | Nissan lists 6.5 hours at 240V on its specifications page. |
| Kia Niro EV | 10–80% in 43 minutes | Kia says this is based on Wave-trim testing with an 800V DC fast charger and a battery near 72°F. | Home time depends on the installed circuit, charger and vehicle’s onboard AC capability. |
| Volvo EX30 | 10–80% in as little as 26.5 minutes | Volvo says ambient and battery temperature and equipment affect charging time. | Typical 10–90% Level 2 time is 8 hours with an 11 kW charger. |
A 10–80% comparison is useful because DC charging generally slows near a high state of charge. It is not the same as charging from empty to full, and a car arriving at a station with a warm, low battery may charge differently from one arriving nearly full in cold weather. Peak power is also not a constant rate: the vehicle and station negotiate power throughout the session.
How to plan home charging
Most owners do their routine charging at home, where a predictable overnight session matters more than the fastest public-DC number. Residential AC charging can use a permanently installed Level 2 unit or, where supported, a portable dual-voltage unit. Hyundai Motor America’s 2026 owner manual explains the general distinction: “Electric vehicles can be charged via an AC charger or DC charger installed at public charging stations or residences,” and says a portable dual-voltage charger can operate at 120V or 240V when a vehicle cannot be moved to a station. Its guidance is general; follow the instructions for the specific car. See the 2026 owner-manual charging guidance.
Rank #3
- Officially licensed Lucid Air - modern luxury electric vehicle as a detailed Hot Wheels model
- Elegant dark red metallic finish with black roof for a high-quality, futuristic look
- Streamlined sedan silhouette with clean lines and aerodynamic design
- Stylish silver black aero rims to match the vehicle's EV character
- Part of the HW Green Speed Series 2026 - 6/10 - Focus on modern, environmentally oriented performance vehicles. 2026 Hot Wheels Mainline Number 59/250 - Fixed Serial Number with Collector Value
- Confirm the vehicle inlet and onboard charger. Check whether the car uses J1772 for AC, NACS, or an adapter, and identify the maximum AC rate the car can accept.
- Check the electrical service. An electrician should verify panel capacity, circuit rating, grounding, cable routing and outdoor-weather requirements before installing a Level 2 unit.
- Match the charger to the circuit. A high-output charger cannot make the vehicle charge faster than its onboard hardware permits, and an unsuitable circuit can create a safety hazard.
- Use the manufacturer’s schedule and limits. Timed charging can take advantage of lower utility rates where available. Keep the cable, connector and inlet clean and dry, and stop if the equipment reports a fault.
Cabin and cargo: the practical differences
| Measure | Nissan LEAF | Kia Niro EV | Volvo EX30 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rear legroom | 31.8 in | 36.9 in | 32.3 in |
| Cargo with rear seats up | 20 cu. ft. interior cargo volume (Nissan’s published figure) | Not stated in the cited Kia material | 11.2 cu. ft. |
| Cargo with seats folded | Not stated in the cited Nissan material | 63.7 cu. ft., seats folded flat | 27.8 cu. ft., rows folded |
| Overall length | 173.4 in | Not stated in the cited Kia material | 166.7 in |
| Overall width | 71.3 in | Not stated in the cited Kia material | 72.4 in excluding mirrors; 80.0 in including mirrors |
The Niro EV is the clear choice on the published rear-legroom number, which can make a meaningful difference for adults or rear-facing child seats. The LEAF’s stated interior cargo volume is larger than the EX30’s seats-up figure, but the manufacturers do not present identical measurement descriptions. Volvo’s two figures make the change between everyday seating and maximum load easier to understand. Kia’s large maximum is specifically a folded-seat measurement, not the space available with five occupants.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What to check during a showroom visit
- Place the driver’s seat where you actually sit, then sit behind it rather than judging the rear bench from the doorway.
- Bring the child seat, booster, stroller or mobility equipment you use. Check door opening, tether points, floor angle and whether the front seat must move forward.
- Measure the cargo opening, not only the floor volume. A tall box may fit one vehicle despite a lower published cubic-foot total.
- Fold and raise every seat configuration. Look for a level load floor, exposed hinges, a high lift-over lip and space beneath the floor for cables.
- Check visibility, rear-window shape and parking-camera coverage. Short exterior length does not guarantee an easy fit in every garage.
Which car fits which priority?
Choose the LEAF when maximum advertised range matters most
The LEAF S+ has the highest range claim in this comparison, and Nissan publishes both a 240-volt charging estimate and a DC quick-charge estimate. It is worth shortlisting if your regular trips are long and you want a compact hatchback footprint. Compare the exact trim carefully: moving up the LEAF range changes the certified miles.
Choose the Niro EV for rear-seat and folded-cargo utility
The Niro EV’s published rear-legroom and seats-folded cargo figures favor family duty, equipment carrying and frequent use of the second row. Its stated DC result is tied to a specific trim, charger voltage and battery temperature, so treat it as a controlled reference rather than a guarantee at every station.
Rank #4
- The electric jack for tesla is designed specifically for Tesla vehicles and perfectly matches most Tesla models (Model Y/3/S/X), saving you the trouble of modifying other jacks
- The tesla electric jack is made of high-strength alloy steel, sturdy and durable, with a maximum lifting weight of 3 tons (6614 lbs) and a lifting range of 5.2 inches to 12.6 inches
- The electric car jack kit for tesla is equipped with a full copper motor, which provides strong power, stable output, and enables one click lifting, making it convenient and effortless
- The tesla jack kit matches your car's 25mm holes perfectly to protect your car's battery without modification, and two compatible non-slip jack pads protect your car from steel beam scratches when lifting and lowering
- The car jack kit for tesla comes with a wrench, socket, gloves, storage bag, and more to help you quickly and easily replace tires in any emergency situation
Choose the EX30 for a small exterior and quick stated DC window
The EX30 is the shortest vehicle in the cited dimensional data and has the quickest published 10–80% time. Its cargo area is more limited with the second row in use, and range depends strongly on motor and Cross Country configuration. The 19-inch-wheel assumption also matters when comparing listings.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Common mistakes and how to avoid them
Comparing different charge windows
Do not compare a peak-time figure with a full-charge time. Put the starting and ending percentages beside every claim, then check the battery-temperature and charger assumptions.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Assuming the largest cargo number is everyday capacity
Folded-seat volume is useful for moving large objects but says little about luggage space with passengers aboard. Use the seats-up number where available and inspect the opening in person.
Best Value
- Compatibility: Before purchasing, please check if the controller model number on the electric vehicle starts with JR. Our remote control is compatible with JR1810, JR-RX, JR1858, JR1705, JR1738, JR1958-2S, JR1930, JR1932, JR1935, JR1922, JR1888, JR1922RX, HY2012, HY2005, HY2025, and other control boxes starting with "JR" or "HY"
- Easy to Match: Step 1: Please install two batteries(Not Included) in the remote control. Step 2:Turn off the power of the children's electric toy car. Step 3: Then, press and hold the "▲" and "▼" keys for about 3 seconds to start the matching process. When you see the first LED light start to flash, immediately turn on the vehicle power switch. Once the red indicator light stops flashing, it means that the matching is successful.
- With Memory Function: This remote control has a memory function. Once you complete the initial pairing, it will automatically store the pairing information. Even if it has not been used for a long time, you don’t have to worry about the trouble of pairing again. This ensures that you can control the children's electric toy car instantly and conveniently, and enjoy a more relaxed parent child play time.
- Three Speed Options: The remote control provides three different speed modes. You can choose the appropriate speed according to the child's age and driving skills, allowing your child to gradually adapt and master; different speed modes provide children with a diverse playing experience
- Improve Security: Parents can control the speed and direction of the car through the remote control, which improves the safety of children and effectively avoids accidents caused by driving. Simple buttons allow you to easily start, stop, accelerate and decelerate, and interact with your children through the remote control, allowing you to enjoy a safer and happier parent child time.
Using a generic NACS adapter
Connector shape alone does not establish compatibility. For the Niro EV, use an adapter identified for Kia and confirm that the desired network permits that vehicle and adapter combination.
Installing a charger before checking the circuit
Have the home’s electrical capacity evaluated first. The correct charger is a system decision involving the vehicle inlet, onboard charger, branch circuit and installation location.
Treating EPA or advertised range as a winter promise
Cold weather, heat, speed, payload, tire choice and battery age all affect usable miles. Build a margin into regular trips and identify reliable charging stops before a long journey.
Quick Recap
A simple decision checklist
- Write down your normal daily miles, longest monthly trip and whether you carry adults or child seats in the back.
- Choose the exact trim and wheel size, then record its certified range rather than the model’s best headline.
- Measure your garage, parking space and the doorway through which cargo must pass.
- Confirm AC connector, onboard charging rate, DC connector and access to the networks you use.
- Get an installation quote for home charging before finalizing the vehicle.
- Test the rear seat with real occupants or restraints and load your largest regular item.
- Retain a charging and range buffer for weather, traffic and battery temperature instead of planning to arrive at zero percent.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




