October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Segway E110A: 30-Mph Seated Electric Moped Announced in the 2022 Lineup

The Segway E110A is a seated, two-person electric moped—not a foldable kick scooter. Here are its claimed speed and range, source-specific battery figures, features, price signals and legal considerations.
Entry577 Date Time6 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Segway-Ninebot announced the E110A on March 2, 2022, as a seated, two-person electric moped for urban travel. Although Segway’s launch release called it an “e-Scooter,” this is not a foldable standing kick scooter: it has a near-30-mph claimed top speed, motorcycle-style seating, 27 liters of under-seat storage and equipment that may place it in a moped category under local law. Specifications, pricing and availability vary by market.

What Segway announced in 2022

The E110A debuted as part of Segway-Ninebot’s 2022 product announcement, alongside the GT1 and GT2 high-performance kick scooters, P65 and P100S premium kick scooters, a Shredder Kit for selected self-balancing products, and other announced products such as the E300P and Transformers editions. Segway’s official announcement is dated March 2, 2022, while its Press Day page records the broader 2022 unveiling on March 8 (launch announcement; Press Day page).

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The E110A is the outlier in that group. The GT and P models are standing kick scooters; the E110A is a heavier, seated road vehicle designed for one rider or two occupants.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is the E110A a scooter, moped or motorcycle?

Terminology depends on the market. Segway’s launch material uses “e-Scooter,” while the Segway Los Angeles sales page calls the vehicle an “eMoped.” Its approximately 30-mph speed, 204-pound listed weight and two-person seat make it substantially different from a rental-style or foldable e-kick scooter. A jurisdiction may classify it as a moped or another low-speed electric vehicle, with separate rules for licensing, registration, insurance, equipment and road access.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Segway Ninebot E3 Pro Electric Scooter, 34-Mile Range, 20 mph, 800W Motor, Dual Elastomer Suspension, Traction Control, UL2272 2271 Certified
  • Extended Battery Life: with SegRange: Up to 34 miles per charge, boosted 20% by Segway’s SegRange technology. An optional external 184Wh battery (sold separately) can further boost your range to 49 miles.
  • Powerful 800W Motor & Speed Modes: Reach speeds up to 20 mph with smooth acceleration, featuring Eco mode for 34 miles at 9 mph and Sport mode for 17.5 miles at 20 mph to suit your riding style.
  • Rugged Durability: Crafted with a durable alloy frame and IPX5 water resistance for long-term reliability in diverse conditions.
  • Superior Wheel Quality: Large tubeless tires provide enhanced traction, shock absorption, and vibration reduction, ensuring a stable and comfortable ride on city streets.
  • Dual Elastomer Suspension & Stability Enhancement: Ride comfortably over bumps and rough terrain with front and rear suspension, plus the Stability Enhancement System that improves control during aggressive turns and slippery conditions.

Do not assume that permission to ride a stand-up e-scooter also covers the E110A. Check the rules where you will register and ride it before ordering.

Core specifications, with source and market differences

Published figures are not identical. Launch-era coverage reported one configuration, while the later U.S. Segway Los Angeles page lists another. The table keeps those claims separate rather than presenting them as one universal specification.

Specification Launch-era reported figure Segway Los Angeles page
Top speed About 30 mph 29.8–30 mph
Typical range About 35.5 miles 35.4 miles
Battery 1.8 kWh 48 V, 30 Ah, 1,440 Wh
Charging time Up to six hours About four to five hours with a 420-W charger
Motor 1.1 kW rated, 1.5 kW peak 1.0 kW rated, 1.5 kW peak
Torque Not stated 88 Nm at the drive wheel
Storage 27 liters 27 liters
Seating Up to two people Up to two people
Weight About 90 kg (approximately 198 lb) 204 lb with battery
Water resistance IPX5 IPX5 vehicle rating; battery listed as IPX7
Tires Tubeless Front 80/90-12 and rear 90/80-12 tubeless
Brakes Front and rear disc brakes Hydraulic discs; 220-mm front and 180-mm rear rotors
Maximum incline Not stated 11 degrees/19 percent

The launch figures come from contemporary coverage of Segway’s announcement (Gizmochina report). The later U.S. specifications, dimensions of 73.4 × 26.6 × 46.3 inches and 60-inch wheelbase are listed on the Segway Los Angeles product page. The roughly 198-pound launch weight and 204-pound U.S. figure may reflect market equipment, configuration or rounding; they should not be treated as exactly identical.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Features that matter for daily use

Storage and passenger capacity

The 27-liter compartment under the seat is intended for everyday belongings and is reported as large enough for up to two medium half-size helmets. The long seat accommodates two people, but passenger use can reduce acceleration, range, hill-climbing ability and braking margin. Whether a passenger is legal, and what helmets or age limits apply, depends on local law.

Rank #2
Sale
Segway Ninebot E2 Pro Electric Scooter, 15.5 MPH Top Speed, UL Certified
  • High-Speed Commuting: Reach up to 15.5 mph with a range of up to 25 miles in Eco mode at 9.3 mph, perfect for efficient urban commuting and extended trips.
  • Traction Control System: Enhanced stability ensures confident navigation across various terrains for a smoother and safer ride experience.
  • Dual Braking: Efficient front drum brake and rear electric brake ensure quick and responsive stops, enhancing safety and control on the road.
  • Large Dashboard: Monitor your ride effortlessly with a spacious 2.8" display, providing clear visibility of crucial ride data for added convenience.
  • Powerful 350W Motor: Enjoy seamless rides powered by power 350W rear-wheel drive system, offering exceptional acceleration and control.

Balanced chassis and braking

Segway places the battery beneath the floorboard, keeping mass low. That may make the vehicle feel more stable than its weight suggests, but it does not make the E110A portable: at about 200 pounds, it is not a practical carry-up-the-stairs scooter. The U.S. listing specifies hydraulic front and rear discs, regenerative/electric braking support and tubeless tires.

Dashboard and connected controls

A color dashboard displays speed, battery state, turn signals, riding mode and Bluetooth status. Segway’s RideyGo intelligent system adds automatic locking and unlocking, parking-stand sensing and seat detection. The Segway-Ninebot app provides real-time location tracking, while remote-key and password-unlock functions add access control. These are anti-theft-related features, not a guarantee that the vehicle cannot be stolen or recovered.

Lighting and battery protection

High-visibility LED lighting is part of the design. Segway also says the battery-management system includes more than 30 safety safeguards. Those are manufacturer claims; the available sources do not provide independent testing of theft resistance, crash protection or long-term battery reliability.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Range and charging: what the numbers mean

“About 35 miles” is a claimed typical or rated range, not a guaranteed distance. Speed, rider and passenger weight, hills, headwinds, temperature, tire pressure, traffic, cargo, battery age, riding mode and accessories can all change the result. A 30-mph ride with two occupants should not be expected to reproduce a laboratory-style typical-range figure.

Rank #3
Sale
Segway Ninebot S2 Electric Self-Balancing Scooter, UL Certified
  • Speed & Range: Experience exhilarating rides with the Ninebot S2's impressive top speed of 11.2 mph and range of 21.7 miles.
  • Beginner-Friendly: Perfect for riders aged 16-50, the Segway S2 features a user-friendly learning mode, providing a smooth and gradual introduction.
  • Adjustable & Supportive: Enjoy a customized fit tailored to your needs, as the Segway S2 accommodates heights ranging from 4'3" to 6'6" and supports weights of up to 220 lbs, ensuring comfort and stability for every rider.
  • Hill Conqueror: Conquer inclines with confidence as the Segway S2 effortlessly navigates 15° slopes.
  • Efficient Charging: Featuring a Smart Battery Management System (BMS) and a high-capacity 335 Wh battery that fully charges in just 4.5 hours.

Charging information also differs by source. Launch coverage said a full charge could take up to six hours; the later U.S. page says approximately four to five hours. Different batteries, chargers, regional configurations or updated product information could explain the difference. Confirm the charger and battery specification supplied with the exact vehicle before planning a commute.

Price and availability

Segway’s March 2022 announcement did not establish a retail price or a broad delivery schedule. A later Segway Los Angeles listing showed a $1,999.99 sale price, reduced from $3,999.99, but marked the vehicle sold out. That page described local pickup/delivery and freight options rather than nationwide inventory. Treat the figure as a location- and time-specific listing, not a current universal U.S. price (Segway Los Angeles listing).

Before paying, confirm inventory, delivery area, warranty coverage, assembly, registration assistance and a service contact. Segway’s store lists some E110A parts, including a front panel and USB charger, but those pages do not establish complete parts availability or nationwide repair coverage (front panel; USB charger).

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

California example and the wider legal checklist

The Los Angeles product page says that, in California, the E110A must be registered with the DMV as a moped and requires an M2 driver-license endorsement. It lists an approximate $23 registration fee and says annual renewal is not required. Those statements apply to the stated California context and cannot be generalized to every state or city.

Rank #4
Sale
Segway Ninebot MAX G2 Electric KickScooter, Power by 1000W Motor, Up to 43 Miles Range and 22MPH, w/t 10-inch Tires , Dual Brakes & Suspension, Electric Scooter for Adults, UL-2272 Certified
  • Powerful 1000W Motor – Reach speeds up to 22 MPH with strong acceleration for city commutes and weekend adventures.
  • Extended Range up to 43 Miles – 551 Wh battery and RideyLONG technology optimize motor, tire, and controller performance for longer rides.
  • Advanced Dual Suspension – Front hydraulic + rear spring suspension for a smooth ride on rough roads.
  • Dual Braking System – Front drum and rear electronic brakes for reliable stopping.
  • TCS Traction Control – Industry-first traction control technology improves grip on wet, slippery, or loose surfaces.

Ask the relevant motor-vehicle agency or a qualified local dealer about:

  • Vehicle class, title and registration.
  • Required license or endorsement.
  • Liability or other insurance.
  • Helmet, passenger and minimum-age rules.
  • Whether bicycle lanes or specific roads are permitted.
  • Lighting, mirrors, plates and other equipment.
  • Local speed limits and high-speed-road restrictions.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Weather, hills and ownership limitations

Water exposure

IPX5 indicates resistance to water jets, not universal waterproofing. Avoid immersion, flooding, pressure-washing and storing the vehicle while wet. The battery’s separate IPX7 listing does not make the entire E110A submersible.

Hill performance

The listed maximum incline is 11 degrees, or 19 percent. That is a specification under stated conditions, not a promise of strong performance at maximum load, in cold weather or with a passenger.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Service and storage

The E110A needs secure parking and a charging location with a suitable electrical outlet. Its weight rules out the portability of a folding kick scooter, and regional dealer support may affect repairs, parts, registration help and warranty handling.

Best Value
Segway Ninebot MAX G3 Electric Scooter, Up to 28 MPH, 50-Mile Range
  • Extended Battery Life: Enjoy up to 50 miles of riding with the 597 Wh battery, thanks to SegRange technology, ensuring long, uninterrupted rides.
  • Effortless Maneuvering: Effortless controls and intuitive design make it easy for beginners to maneuver, while SegRide ensures superior stability, even on sharp turns and slippery roads.
  • Built for Durability: With a high-strength aluminum alloy frame and rigorous durability testing, the MAX G3 is designed for long-term use, lasting through 12,427 miles of simulated random vibrations and over 500,000 suspension durability tests.
  • Superior Wheel Quality: The upgraded 11-inch self-sealing tubeless tires absorb shocks and reduce vibrations, offering a stable, comfortable ride across various terrains, and can automatically seal punctures up to 4mm.
  • Quick Charging: Charge your scooter in just 3.5 hours with the built-in fast charger, or reduce charging time to 2.5 hours with the optional DC charger (sold separately).

Optional battery and the claimed 60-mile configuration

Segway’s accessory document describes an additional battery installed in the floorboard. It says the batteries can operate in parallel and charge or discharge together, with claimed range increasing from approximately 35 to 60 miles. The listed MSRP is $999.99 (E110A Accessories PDF).

The extra battery is not included automatically with the base vehicle. Verify compatibility with the exact regional E110A and confirm installation requirements. The 60-mile figure remains a manufacturer claim, and the accessory adds cost, weight and system complexity.

Who the E110A suits—and who should skip it

Good fit

  • Urban commuters wanting a seated, moped-like riding position.
  • Riders who need enclosed storage for errands or work items.
  • Owners who occasionally carry a passenger where legal.
  • People seeking near-30-mph city performance without gasoline.
  • Buyers who value app tracking, electronic access controls and a low-mounted battery.

Reasons to hesitate

  • You need a foldable or easily transportable scooter.
  • Your commute exceeds the claimed range without dependable charging.
  • You regularly ride steep routes or at maximum load.
  • You need broad, nationwide dealer and repair coverage.
  • Your local rules make registration, licensing or insurance impractical.
  • You expect independently verified range, braking, acceleration or durability data; the cited sources do not provide it.

Bottom line

The E110A was a notable 2022 Segway launch because it brought a two-seat, storage-equipped electric moped into a lineup otherwise dominated by standing scooters. Its useful features and claimed near-30-mph performance make sense for short urban trips, but the purchase decision depends on local classification, actual inventory, charging access, service support and the gap between manufacturer claims and real-world results. Treat the Los Angeles price and California registration information as local examples, not universal ownership terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.