Rivian R2 is the better-defined vehicle today: it is a five-seat, two-row midsize SUV with published US prices, trim specifications, range claims, dimensions and towing capacity. Rivian R3 is a smaller-form-factor midsize crossover, with R3X as its performance version, but Rivian has not yet published final R3 pricing, EPA range, dimensions, towing capacity or a full production trim sheet in the official material reviewed.
That makes this an intentionally asymmetric comparison. You can make a reasonably concrete R2 buying decision now; an R3 decision still depends on future specifications and timing. Here is what is established, what remains unknown and which vehicle profile fits different needs.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Rivian R2 vs. R3 at a glance
| Question | Rivian R2 | Rivian R3 and R3X |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle type | Five-seat, two-row midsize SUV | Midsize crossover; R3X is the performance variant |
| US price | Current US page lists Standard at $44,990, Premium at $53,990 and Performance at $57,990. Prices may exclude taxes and fees. | Rivian says R3 will cost less than R2, but no final US price is published in the reviewed official sources. |
| Range information | Current page lists 275 miles estimated for Standard and 330 miles EPA-estimated for Premium and Performance. A March 2026 recap separately describes Standard Long Range at up to 345 miles as a Rivian estimate. | An early platform announcement said the larger battery would achieve more than 300 miles. That is not a final R3 EPA rating. |
| Power and acceleration | 350 hp and 5.9 seconds from 0–60 mph for Standard; 450 hp and 4.6 seconds for Premium; 656 hp and 3.6 seconds for Performance. | Rivian has discussed single-, dual- and tri-motor configurations for the platform, but has not published final R3 or R3X outputs. |
| Size and seating | 185.9 inches long, 115.6-inch wheelbase, five seats and two rows. | Rivian describes R3 as tidy in its dimensions, but official dimensions and passenger count are not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| Towing | Up to 4,400 pounds with the Tow Package. | No official R3 towing figure is stated. |
| Delivery order | R2 launches first. The current page describes Performance as available now, Premium for late 2026 and Standard for 2027. | Rivian says R3 and R3X deliveries begin after R2; no calendar date is provided. |
The table separates confirmed R2 figures from R3 positioning statements. It is not a prediction of R3 specifications.
What is the fundamental difference between R2 and R3?
R2 is the larger, conventional SUV choice
Rivian classifies R2 as a midsize SUV with two rows and five seats. Its published 185.9-inch overall length and 115.6-inch wheelbase put a measurable footprint behind the vehicle’s “midsize” label. The format is intended to combine everyday passenger space with useful cargo and outdoor capability.
#1 Best Overall
- Custom fit 3 piece set for Rivian R2
- Complete coverage for your floor
- Easy to install, remove and clean
- Anti-skid ridges to keep mats in place
- R2 All-Weather Floor Mats are for use in Rivian R2 vehicles only; Do no use floor mats from any other vehicle in an R2; Never stack floor mats on top of each other; Improper fitment may interfere with pedal operation and vehicle controls.
R3 is a more compact crossover concept
Rivian calls R3 a midsize crossover and positions it as a smaller-form-factor companion to R2. The company has described a tidy exterior with attention to passenger comfort and storage, but the reviewed official materials do not provide R3’s length, wheelbase, height, ground clearance, cargo volume or seating count. Until those figures are released, calling R3 simply “smaller” is a body-style and positioning description, not a quantified size comparison.
R3X is not a separate family from R3
R3X is the performance variant of R3. Treat it as a higher-performance version within the R3 line rather than a third unrelated Rivian platform. Rivian has not published a final R3X motor layout, horsepower, acceleration time, range, price or production equipment list in the reviewed sources.
How much do Rivian R2 and R3 cost?
R2 has three currently displayed US trim prices
Rivian’s current US R2 product page lists a Standard trim at $44,990, Premium at $53,990 and Performance at $57,990. These are US-market figures and may not include taxes, registration, delivery charges or other fees. Availability is tied to the timing shown on Rivian’s current page, so a price is not the same as immediate delivery.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| R2 trim | Listed US price | Drive and output | Published acceleration | Published range label |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $44,990 | Single-motor rear-wheel drive, 350 hp | 0–60 mph in 5.9 seconds | 275 miles estimated |
| Premium | $53,990 | Dual-motor all-wheel drive, 450 hp | 0–60 mph in 4.6 seconds | 330 miles EPA-estimated |
| Performance | $57,990 | Dual-motor all-wheel drive, 656 hp | 0–60 mph in 3.6 seconds | 330 miles EPA-estimated |
R3 should be less expensive, but its price is not known
Rivian’s March 7, 2024 announcement said R3 would be priced below R2. That establishes a direction, not a number. The announcement did not give a starting price, trim-by-trim pricing, destination charge, reservation amount or option pricing. Do not treat online estimates or a simple percentage discount from R2 as an official R3 price.
Why another R2 price appears in Rivian’s 2026 recap
Rivian’s March 2026 “Say Hello to R2” recap describes an R2 Standard Long Range at $48,490, with up to 345 miles of Rivian-estimated range. It also mentions an additional Standard variant around $45,000 expected later in 2027. Those descriptions do not replace the current product page’s displayed three-trim lineup. They represent a different timing and trim presentation, and the figures should not be merged into one Standard configuration.
For a purchase decision, use the current R2 product page to identify the displayed lineup, then verify the exact configuration, delivery window and final transaction price in the order flow. Keep the 2026 recap’s Standard Long Range figures separate because Rivian labels them differently.
Rank #2
- 【Compatible with Rivian Headrest】: This headrest mount is designed specifically for Rivian R1T & R1S (2022–2026 Models), attaching securely to compatible Rivian headrests. It remains firmly in place—without wobbling or slipping—even during sharp turns or while driving on rough terrain. The mount features non-slip rubber pads on both sides, which serve to protect your tablet from scratches while ensuring it remains firmly stable
- 【360° Rotatable View】: This rear-seat tablet mount features a flexible ball joint that supports full 360° rotation, keeping your tablet at a comfortable eye-level viewing angle during long car rides. It is ideal for both children. Installation and removal are quick and intuitive, taking just seconds with no tools required
- 【Broad Device Compatibility】: This universal car headrest tablet mount is compatible with tablets ranging in size from 4.5 to 12.9 inches—covering for iPad Mini, Air, and Pro series, as well as for Galaxy Tab models. It can even accommodate most protective cases with a thickness of up to 0.78 inches. Designed to fit a wide range of popular devices, this mount ensures that your device remains securely held in place throughout your entire journey
- 【Robust Stability】: Crafted from strong CNC aluminum and equipped with an adjustable tension knob, this mount ensures rock-solid stability—remaining stays stable during driving even when driving over rough terrain or during sudden emergency braking. It is an essential companion for your family adventures in your car
- 【Travel Essentials】: Enjoy a fun and stress-free travel experience with RIVIAN seat back tablet holder. Helps reduce backseat distractions—kids stay entertained and happy, whether watching movies, playing games, or using educational apps. Designed to keep the whole family engaged, it makes every journey enjoyable, lively, and full of fun
What is the range of R2 compared with R3?
R2 range figures carry different levels of certainty
Rivian’s current page lists 275 miles as an estimate for the R2 Standard and 330 miles as EPA-estimated for both Premium and Performance. “Estimated” and “EPA-estimated” are not interchangeable labels: the latter identifies a formal EPA rating, while the former is Rivian’s stated estimate on that page.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The March 2026 recap gives the R2 Standard Long Range up to 345 miles as a Rivian estimate and explains that some figures are preliminary rather than official EPA values. Rivian also notes that tires, drive modes, HVAC use and accessories can change real-world range. A buyer comparing trims should therefore record the exact battery and trim name, the label attached to the number and the date of the page showing it.
R3 has an early platform-level claim, not a final rating
Rivian’s 2024 midsize-platform announcement said the larger battery would achieve over 300 miles. The statement applied to the platform discussion and was made before final R3 production specifications were published. It is not an EPA-certified R3 range figure, and it does not establish range for every R3 or R3X configuration.
The official material reviewed does not state R3 battery capacity, usable energy, EPA range, charging curve or range by motor configuration. Any article or listing that supplies those numbers without a later Rivian or EPA source is going beyond the established information.
How to compare the numbers responsibly
- Write down the exact vehicle name, such as R2 Standard, R2 Premium or R2 Standard Long Range.
- Mark whether the number is described as an estimate, a Rivian estimate or an EPA estimate.
- Check whether the figure belongs to a current product page or an earlier announcement.
- Allow for weather, speed, wheel and tire choice, climate control, accessories and driving mode when translating a laboratory or company estimate into trip planning.
- Wait for a final R3 EPA label before comparing R3 directly with the R2 figures in a purchase spreadsheet.
Which one is faster, and what powertrains are planned?
R2 performance is already specified by trim
The R2 Standard uses a single motor driving the rear wheels and produces 350 horsepower. Rivian lists a 5.9-second 0–60-mph time. Premium moves to dual-motor all-wheel drive with 450 horsepower and a listed 4.6-second time. Performance also uses dual-motor all-wheel drive, raises output to 656 horsepower and cuts the listed 0–60-mph time to 3.6 seconds.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThese are Rivian’s published figures, not results from an independent comparison test. Acceleration can vary with surface, temperature, state of charge, tires and test method, so the numbers are best used to distinguish the trims rather than to promise an identical result in every drive.
Rank #3
- This windshield sun shade is tailored to fit all Rivian models perfectly. It attaches tightly to the entire front windshield without gaps or sliding, being a great dedicated accessory for your Rivian vehicle.
- Adopting premium reflective fabric, this car front window sun visor blocks harsh UV rays and blazing heat effectively. It keeps the car interior cool and comfortable even in hot sunny weather.
- Designed with a user-friendly foldable style, this windshield sun shade can be folded into a compact shape quickly. It won’t occupy much space and is easy to store in the glove box, door pocket or trunk.
- As a practical interior protector, it shields your dashboard, seats and steering wheel from direct sunlight. It resists fading, cracking and aging, and keeps the interior of your Rivian in great condition.
- No tools are needed for installation, you can mount this reflective sun visor on the windshield in just seconds. The durable material supports frequent use, ideal for daily outdoor driving.
R3 and R3X outputs remain open
Rivian has discussed single-, dual- and tri-motor configurations for the shared midsize platform. It has not assigned final horsepower, torque, motor count, drive layout or acceleration figures to production R3 trims in the reviewed sources. R3X is identified as the performance model, but its output and equipment are not published.
That means there is no defensible answer yet to “Is R3 faster than R2?” The eventual answer could differ by trim: a standard R3 might prioritize efficiency and price, while R3X could target performance. Until Rivian releases production specifications, compare the known R2 numbers only with the fact that R3 has a planned performance derivative.
Which vehicle offers more utility for people and cargo?
R2’s published seating and cargo features
R2 has two rows and seats five. Rivian describes fold-flat first- and second-row seats, allowing the cabin to switch between passenger duty and larger cargo. The rear glass lowers into the liftgate, a feature intended to make it easier to carry long or bulky items and to access the rear storage area in outdoor settings.
Recommended Free Tools
Those features matter more than a headline cargo-volume number when you regularly carry bikes, camping equipment, flat-pack furniture or wet gear. The fold-flat arrangement can create a long loading surface, while the lowering rear glass offers a separate opening strategy. Rivian’s current material does not establish every folded-seat measurement, so confirm usable length and height with the exact vehicle before buying equipment.
R3’s storage promise is qualitative so far
Rivian says R3 was designed around passenger comfort and storage in a tidy package. The reviewed official information does not provide cargo volume, opening dimensions, seat-folding measurements, frunk capacity or a confirmed passenger count. A smaller exterior may make urban parking easier, but the extent of the trade-off in rear-seat room and cargo space cannot yet be calculated from official figures.
Practical choice
- Choose the known R2 format if five seats, two-row flexibility and published cargo features are requirements today.
- Consider waiting for R3 measurements if a shorter or tidier crossover footprint matters more than confirmed cargo capacity.
- Do not order a roof box, mattress, bike rack or other fitted accessory for R3 based on R2 dimensions; compatibility must be checked after R3 production measurements are released.
Which is better for towing and outdoor use?
R2 has a stated towing ceiling
Rivian lists up to 4,400 pounds of towing capacity for R2 when equipped with the Tow Package. The number applies to the properly equipped vehicle, not automatically to every trim or every R2 sold. Trailer weight, tongue weight, passengers, cargo, terrain and temperature still affect how comfortably and efficiently an electric SUV can tow.
Rank #4
- Plastic Model Kit-Assembly Required
- Glue and Paint sold separately
Before selecting the Tow Package, verify the hitch hardware, electrical connection, trailer-brake requirements and the final rating for the exact configuration. Towing also reduces driving range, so a route that is comfortable unladen may require more charging stops with a trailer.
R3 towing is not established
No official R3 or R3X towing figure appears in the reviewed sources. Do not infer one from R2’s 4,400-pound rating or from the fact that both vehicles use a related midsize platform. If towing is a purchase requirement, R2 is the only model in this comparison with a published capacity, while R3 remains a wait-for-specifications decision.
How do R2 and R3 handle charging?
Rivian’s platform announcement says R2 and R3 use the North American Charging Standard (NACS) connector natively for fast charging and can support CCS charging with an adapter. A driver who already has reliable NACS charging access does not need an adapter for that purpose. A driver planning to use CCS1 stations should verify the adapter’s connector direction, vehicle compatibility, charger compatibility and safety certifications before purchase.
Because the announcement does not provide final R3 charging speed, charging-curve details or a complete station-compatibility list, it cannot support a precise R2-versus-R3 road-trip comparison. Confirm those details in the final owner documentation and charging guidance for the production vehicle.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.When will Rivian R3 come out?
Rivian has given an order, not a calendar date
Rivian said R3 and R3X deliveries would begin after R2. That is a relative sequence: R2 comes first, followed by the R3 family. The reviewed announcement does not give a year, quarter, reservation conversion date or first-delivery market for R3.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →R2’s displayed timing is trim-specific
The current R2 page describes Performance as available now, Premium for late 2026 and Standard for 2027. The exact page should be checked when placing an order because availability can change by trim and market. The March 2026 recap separately describes an additional Standard variant around $45,000 expected later in 2027, reinforcing why the trim name and source date matter.
Best Value
- 🚗【Applicable Models】:Dog Seat Cover for Back Seat for Rivian R2 SUV Standard Range.Please check your vehicle and the product dimensions before purchasing to confirm compatibility
- ✨【Premium Material】:The dog car seat uses a multi-layer composite design with a soft outer surface, thick inner padding, and a textured non-slip bottom. This creates a steadier riding area for pets and helps maintain reliable support during everyday use
- 🌈【All-Around Protection】:The car cover extends over the rear seat, seatbacks, and portions of the door area to create more complete coverage. It helps reduce everyday dirt, pet hair, scuffs, and outdoor debris from reaching the interior
- 🎄【Mesh window】:The dog car seat cover includes a clear mesh window that lets pets see the owner from the back seat, helping ease anxiety. The mesh also improves airflow, making longer trips more comfortable
- ✅【Easy to Clean】:The car seat cover features a surface material that’s simple to maintain—pet hair, dust, and dirt can be shaken off or wiped away with a damp cloth. When not in use, it can be removed quickly for washing, helping keep the interior cleaner with less effort. If you have any questions about your received dog seat cover for back seat, please contact us immediately
What a prospective R3 buyer should watch for
- A production announcement naming the first delivery region and a calendar window.
- Final R3 and R3X trim names, battery choices and motor layouts.
- EPA range labels for each battery and drivetrain combination.
- Published dimensions, seating, cargo measurements and towing ratings.
- Order terms that distinguish a reservation, an estimated delivery and a firm vehicle allocation.
Which Rivian should you choose?
Choose R2 when your decision depends on known numbers
R2 is the practical choice if you need a five-seat SUV, want to compare a published $44,990 Standard with higher trims, require a stated towing figure or are shopping on a near-term schedule. Its three listed powertrains and acceleration figures also make it possible to decide whether rear-wheel-drive simplicity, all-wheel-drive balance or maximum straight-line performance fits your budget and use.
Wait for R3 when footprint and future price are the priority
R3 is worth waiting for if a tidier crossover shape is more important than having final specifications today, or if Rivian’s promise of a price below R2 could change your purchase plan. Waiting is the only way to learn whether R3’s rear-seat space, cargo area, range and towing ability meet your requirements; none of those can be filled in reliably from R2 data.
Do not use R3X as a substitute for a confirmed R2 Performance comparison
R3X is intended to be the performance R3, but there are no final output or acceleration figures to place beside R2 Performance’s 656 horsepower and 3.6-second claim. If rapid acceleration is the deciding factor, R2 Performance is the only model here with a published specification. If compact dimensions are the deciding factor, R3X remains an unpriced, unsized future option.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesR2 and R3 buyer checklist
- Define the non-negotiable: five seats, towing, cargo length, parking footprint, acceleration or delivery date.
- For R2, identify the exact trim: Standard, Premium, Performance or the separately described Standard Long Range.
- Record the range label: estimated, Rivian-estimated or EPA-estimated.
- Price the complete vehicle: include the Tow Package or other required equipment, taxes, fees and charging hardware.
- For R3, treat missing data as unknown: do not substitute forum dimensions, guessed pricing or an assumed EPA number.
- Check timing at order: R2 availability is trim-specific, while R3’s official timing is only stated as after R2.
- Verify charging needs: NACS is native; CCS access requires a compatible adapter and a charger that supports it.
Bottom line: R2 is the confirmed product, R3 is the smaller future alternative
R2 and R3 share a midsize-platform strategy but target different choices. R2 is a measurable five-seat SUV with current prices, published performance, stated dimensions, flexible cargo features and up to 4,400 pounds of towing with the Tow Package. R3 is a more compact crossover that Rivian says will cost less and arrive after R2, with R3X as its performance version. Its final price, EPA range, dimensions, seating, towing capacity, trim structure and delivery date remain unpublished in the official information reviewed.
Buy R2 on the specification you can verify. Consider R3 only as a future option until Rivian releases the production details needed for a direct, number-for-number comparison.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




