Short answer: The 2026 Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness is the better-documented choice for trails. Subaru specifies 9.3 inches of ground clearance, standard Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive, dual-function X-MODE, underbody protection, all-terrain tires, and gearing intended for low-speed climbing. The current MINI Countryman S ALL4 page confirms intelligent all-wheel drive, but does not publish comparable clearance, underbody protection, or trail-control specifications.
The MINI lists slightly more maximum cargo volume—56.1 cubic feet with the rear seats folded versus 54.9 cubic feet for the 2026 Crosstrek Wilderness with its rear seatbacks lowered. That comparison crosses a 2027 MINI page with a 2026 Subaru, and the manufacturers may measure cargo differently. Comfort also depends on equipment rather than an established ride-quality winner: MINI offers Vescin-and-cloth Sport Seats and an available massage driver’s seat, while Subaru lists StarTex upholstery and a heated steering wheel.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance
| Category | MINI Countryman S ALL4 | 2026 Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness |
|---|---|---|
| Model year in the cited page | 2027, according to the current MINI dealer page | 2026 |
| Powertrain output | 241 horsepower, according to MINI’s U.S. site | 180-hp SUBARU BOXER engine |
| All-wheel drive | Intelligent all-wheel drive; MINI says it can vary power between the front and rear wheels when traction is needed | Standard Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive |
| Ground clearance | Not stated in the cited MINI pages | 9.3 inches |
| Trail-control hardware | No comparable low-speed trail mode or underbody-protection specification stated in the cited pages | Dual-function X-MODE, underbody protection, revised gearing and all-terrain tires |
| Maximum cargo volume | 56.1 cu. ft. with rear seats folded; 24.9 cu. ft. listed with seats in place | 54.9 cu. ft. with rear seatbacks lowered |
| Front/rear legroom | Not stated in the cited MINI pages | 42.9 / 36.5 inches |
| Front/rear headroom | Not stated in the cited MINI pages | 39.8 / 38.0 inches |
| Towing | Comparable rating not stated in the cited MINI pages | 3,500 pounds |
| Seat and comfort equipment | Leather-free Vescin-and-cloth Sport Seats standard; massage driver’s seat available in Iconic Trim; panoramic moonroof standard on the cited page | Gray StarTex upholstery and heated steering wheel listed for Wilderness |
The Subaru figures come from Subaru’s 2026 Crosstrek Wilderness page and 2026 Crosstrek brochure. The MINI figures come from the MINI Countryman S ALL4 design page and MINI’s U.S. site.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
First, resolve the model-year mismatch
This is not a perfectly matched 2026-versus-2026 comparison. The MINI page that supplies the cargo and seat information identifies the Countryman S ALL4 as a 2027 model. Subaru’s specifications are for the 2026 Crosstrek Wilderness. Equipment, dimensions and ratings can change between model years, so do not treat every number as a laboratory comparison of two vehicles built to the same specification.
#1 Best Overall
- Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
- Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
- Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
- Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
- Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.
The practical way to use this article is to view the MINI data as current-page information for the 2027 Countryman S ALL4 and the Subaru data as 2026 Wilderness information. Before signing a purchase order, ask the dealer for the exact model-year specification sheet and VIN-specific equipment list. A future or different-year Countryman could have a different clearance, cargo configuration or towing rating.
Which is better off road?
On the published specifications, the Crosstrek Wilderness has the stronger trail case. Subaru gives the Wilderness a set of features aimed specifically at clearance, traction management and impact protection. MINI confirms all-wheel drive, but the cited MINI material does not establish the same trail hardware. That is a difference in documented equipment, not proof that the Countryman is incapable of driving on an unpaved road.
Crosstrek Wilderness: hardware Subaru identifies
- 9.3 inches of ground clearance: This is the vertical space Subaru lists for the 2026 Wilderness. More clearance can reduce the chance of contacting a rock, rut or mound, although actual clearance depends on tire pressure, load and the shape of the obstacle.
- Standard Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive: AWD is included rather than being an option on another package.
- Dual-function X-MODE: Subaru describes the system as a traction-control aid for low-grip surfaces. It is a manufacturer-described control feature, not an independently measured guarantee of climbing ability.
- Underbody protection and unique bumpers: Subaru says these are intended to improve approach and departure angles and protect vulnerable components. The cited materials do not provide a complete parts list or impact-test result.
- Yokohama GEOLANDAR all-terrain tires on 17-inch wheels: All-terrain tread is a more trail-oriented choice than a typical street tire, but grip still varies with mud, rock, snow, temperature and tire condition.
- Revised gearing: Subaru cites a shorter final-drive ratio to improve low-speed climbing. That is a gearing specification, not a published grade, speed or obstacle test.
Subaru also lists a 180-hp SUBARU BOXER engine. Horsepower alone does not determine trail performance; tire traction, gearing, clearance and driver inputs matter at low speed.
Countryman S ALL4: what is and is not established
MINI’s U.S. material lists 241 horsepower and “intelligent all-wheel drive.” MINI says the system can adjust power between the front and rear wheels when traction is needed. That confirms an AWD system, but the cited pages do not publish a directly comparable ground-clearance number, low-range gear, underbody-protection specification, all-terrain tire fitment or dedicated trail-control mode for the Countryman S ALL4.
Rank #2
- High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
- Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
- Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
- Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
- 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.
Because of that missing information, AWD should not be treated as an automatic equivalent to the Wilderness package. The Countryman may be suitable for gravel roads, maintained forest roads and other moderate surfaces, but the available specifications do not let you assign it the same obstacle margin as a vehicle with a published 9.3-inch clearance and trail-focused protection.
What “rough roads” means in practice
If your use is mostly pavement with occasional washboard, gravel or a dry access road, both vehicles’ AWD systems may be relevant to maintaining traction. The deciding factors will include tire choice, road condition, wheel damage risk and how much body clearance you actually need.
For ruts, ledges, deep mud, loose rock or repeated steep climbs, the Subaru’s published clearance, X-MODE, underbody protection, all-terrain tires and revised gearing give you more specific equipment to point to. They still do not replace line choice, momentum control, recovery gear or local trail rules. Subaru’s claims describe design intent; no independent head-to-head trail test is established here.
Cargo space: MINI has the larger published maximum, with an important qualification
Maximum volume
The current MINI page lists 24.9 cubic feet behind the rear seats and 56.1 cubic feet with those seats folded. Subaru’s 2026 brochure lists 54.9 cubic feet for the Crosstrek Wilderness with the rear seatbacks lowered. On those published maximums, the MINI is ahead by 1.2 cubic feet.
Rank #3
- ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
- ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
- ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
- ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
- ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient
| Configuration | MINI Countryman S ALL4 | 2026 Crosstrek Wilderness |
|---|---|---|
| Seats in normal position | 24.9 cu. ft. (MINI’s 2027 page) | Not stated as a Wilderness-specific seats-up figure in the cited brochure |
| Rear seats folded/lowered | 56.1 cu. ft. | 54.9 cu. ft. |
| Difference in published maximum | MINI lists 1.2 cu. ft. more, but the values are from different model years and may use different measurement procedures | |
Do not read the 1.2-cubic-foot gap as a guaranteed packing advantage. Manufacturers can measure to different roof, seatback and cargo-floor reference points. A real load may be limited by the hatch opening, wheel wells, floor length or the height of a bicycle, cooler or dog crate before the official volume is filled.
Seat-folding and loading practicality
Subaru describes the gas Crosstrek with 60/40-split flat-folding rear seatbacks and a wide rear gate. The split allows one rear passenger to remain seated while you carry longer gear on the other side. The 54.9-cubic-foot Wilderness figure applies with the rear seatbacks lowered.
The MINI page’s 56.1-cubic-foot figure applies with the rear seats folded. The cited page does not provide a matching description of split-fold operation, cargo-floor length or hatch-opening dimensions, so those details should be checked on the actual vehicle. If you regularly carry skis, a dog barrier, a stroller or long renovation materials, measure the item and the opening rather than relying on total cubic feet.
Recommended Free Tools
Roof carrying and accessories
Subaru says raised roof rails and Thule racking accessories are available for the 2026 Crosstrek. That can extend carrying capacity for kayaks, bikes or a roof box, but availability and compatibility vary by trim and configuration. Verify the rail type, model year, dynamic and static load limits, accessory fit and installation instructions before buying a rack or carrier. The cited information does not establish a specific rack model for every Wilderness vehicle.
Rank #4
- Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
- Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
- Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
- Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
- Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices
Passenger space and comfort equipment
Published passenger dimensions
Subaru’s 2026 brochure lists 42.9 inches of front legroom and 36.5 inches of rear legroom in the gas Crosstrek, with 39.8 inches of front headroom and 38.0 inches in the rear. Those numbers help explain why the Crosstrek can serve as a family or four-adult vehicle, but they do not predict how every body shape will fit.
Comparable front and rear passenger dimensions were not stated in the cited MINI pages. That means a numerical legroom or headroom winner cannot be declared responsibly. Sit in both rows with the driver’s seat adjusted for the person who will actually drive, and check knee clearance behind that position.
MINI seat and cabin equipment
MINI lists leather-free Sport Seats upholstered in Vescin and cloth as standard on the cited Countryman S ALL4 page. It lists a massage driver’s seat as available in Iconic Trim and describes a panoramic moonroof as standard. These are equipment facts; they do not establish superior cushioning, ride isolation or long-distance comfort.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesSubaru seat and steering-wheel equipment
Subaru describes durable Gray StarTex upholstery for the Wilderness and lists a heated steering wheel. StarTex is a practical material for muddy or wet use, but material durability and personal comfort are different judgments. A heated wheel may matter in cold climates, while the MINI’s available massage function may matter more to drivers who spend long periods on pavement.
Best Value
- 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
- 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
- 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
- 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
- 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.
How to evaluate comfort without overclaiming
- Set the driver’s seat, steering wheel and mirrors for your normal position, then check thigh support, pedal alignment and shoulder room.
- Place an adult in the rear seat behind that position and test knee, toe and head clearance.
- Drive the same route in both vehicles if possible, including coarse pavement and a low-speed turn. Note noise, seat pressure points and visibility rather than relying on equipment names.
- Open the hatch with the seats up and folded. Check whether your largest item fits through the opening, not just within the advertised volume.
- If you need a roof carrier, inspect the rails and request the exact load limits for the vehicle’s VIN and accessory.
Towing and everyday utility
Subaru lists a 3,500-pound towing capacity for the 2026 Crosstrek Wilderness. Use that figure only with the required hitch, trailer brakes, tongue-weight limits and loading rules in Subaru’s vehicle documentation. The sources reviewed do not provide a comparable Countryman S ALL4 tow rating, so no MINI towing conclusion can be drawn from this comparison.
For buyers who never tow, the Wilderness’s utility advantage is more about its published trail equipment and roof-carrying provisions than about the maximum trailer number. For buyers who do tow, verify the exact vehicle’s rating, the trailer’s loaded weight and local licensing requirements before selecting either model.
Which one should you choose?
Choose the Crosstrek Wilderness when trail specification is the priority
- You regularly encounter ruts, loose rock, muddy access roads or steep, slow climbs.
- You want a published 9.3-inch clearance figure, underbody protection, all-terrain tires and dual-function X-MODE.
- You need the manufacturer’s stated 3,500-pound towing capacity.
- You want Subaru’s documented 60/40-split folding seatbacks and available raised-rail roof-rack path.
Choose the Countryman S ALL4 when cabin equipment and listed maximum cargo matter more
- Your driving is primarily paved and you value the MINI’s 241-hp rating and intelligent AWD description.
- You prefer the listed Vescin-and-cloth Sport Seats, optional massage driver’s seat or standard panoramic moonroof on the cited 2027 page.
- You want the larger published maximum cargo figure, accepting that it is only 1.2 cubic feet above Subaru’s number and measured for a different model year.
- You are prepared to verify clearance, tires, towing and other equipment on the exact Countryman you are buying because those details are not established in the cited pages.
For mixed use, rank the compromises
A commuter who takes occasional maintained gravel roads may reasonably prioritize seating, hatch access and dealer support. An owner who plans named trails should give more weight to clearance, protection, tire construction and low-speed traction controls than to horsepower or a small maximum-volume difference. If two adults routinely sit in the back, Subaru’s published rear legroom and headroom provide a useful starting point, while the MINI requires an in-person fit check because comparable dimensions were not listed.
What to verify before buying
- Match the model year: Confirm whether the Countryman is the 2027 model represented by the current MINI page or a different year, and compare it with the 2026 Wilderness only when the years and trims are clear.
- Request the specification sheets: Ask for official ground clearance, tire size and type, approach and departure angles, underbody protection, towing rating and cargo measurements for the exact VIN.
- Inspect the tires: Confirm whether the vehicle has all-season or all-terrain tires and price replacement tires appropriate for your roads.
- Test the cargo task: Bring a tape measure or your actual cooler, stroller, bike wheel or crate. Test both the hatch opening and the folded-seat floor.
- Check passenger fit: Put the tallest regular passengers in both rows and test entry, exit, headroom and knee clearance.
- Confirm roof loads: For the Crosstrek, verify rail and rack compatibility, dynamic and static limits, and the loaded weight of the carrier. Do not assume that an accessory listed for one trim fits every trim.
- Ask about towing equipment: If towing is essential, obtain the written rating and required equipment for the exact vehicle. Do not infer a MINI rating from the Subaru’s 3,500-pound figure.
- Drive the route you actually use: A short test drive can reveal seat comfort, visibility, turning clearance and hatch usability, but it is not a substitute for an independent trail test.
Bottom line
The 2026 Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness is the clearer choice for off-road use because Subaru publishes the trail-specific ingredients—9.3 inches of clearance, standard AWD, dual-function X-MODE, underbody protection, all-terrain tires and revised low-speed gearing. The current 2027 MINI Countryman S ALL4 page documents intelligent AWD and a 241-hp output, but not equivalent clearance or protection data.
The MINI narrowly leads on the published maximum cargo number, 56.1 versus 54.9 cubic feet, while Subaru supplies more passenger-space measurements and a 3,500-pound tow rating. Because the comparison crosses model years and measurement methods, treat those numbers as manufacturer specifications to verify, not a universal test result. Pick the Wilderness for documented trail capability; pick the Countryman when its cabin features and mostly-road use fit your priorities, after confirming the exact vehicle’s missing specifications.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




