Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Get listed

2026 SUVs7 MIN

Midsize SUVs Over 25 MPG Highway: 2026 EPA Ratings and What Counts

The 2026 EPA data supports eight configurations above 25 highway mpg across four nameplates. Compare exact hybrid, gas, turbo and AWD ratings—and see why Crown Signia and Outback are classified as station wagons.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If “over 25 mpg” means a strict highway rating above 25, the available 2026 EPA data supports eight qualifying configurations across five nameplates—not ten fully verified, standard-category midsize SUVs. The strongest results come from hybrids: the Toyota Crown Signia is rated at 37 highway mpg, the Toyota Highlander Hybrid at 35, and the Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid at 32 in its 2.5-liter configuration. Subaru Outback entries also clear the threshold, but the EPA places them—and the Crown Signia—in its midsize-station-wagon section rather than the standard SUV section.

That classification matters. This guide lists every qualifying configuration established by the cited 2026 ratings, identifies which entries are crossovers or wagons under EPA categorization, and shows how to verify the exact trim and drivetrain before you buy. A vehicle rated at exactly 25 highway mpg does not qualify.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What qualifies as “over 25 mpg”

The cutoff is mathematical: a vehicle must have an EPA highway rating greater than 25 mpg. A 25-mpg rating is not enough. EPA fuel-economy figures are assigned to specific model-year, engine, transmission, trim and drivetrain combinations, so a model’s best result cannot automatically be applied to every version.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This article uses 2026 model-year ratings from the U.S. Department of Energy and Environmental Protection Agency 2026 Fuel Economy Guide. The guide is the controlling source for the city, highway and combined figures in the table. EPA explains how ratings are established and displayed on vehicle window stickers on its Fuel Economy page.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Mid-Size SUV Car Cover Waterproof All Weather, 6 Layer Heavy Duty Material Universal Fit for Mazda CX50, Jeep Cherokee, Rogue, VW Tiguan, Mitsubishi Outlander, BMW X3, Chevrolet Equinox
  • 【Durable 6-Layer Heavy-Duty Material】Built with a 6-layer heavy-duty construction, featuring PEVA fabric, an aluminum reflective layer, waterproof coating, and a soft cotton liner. This multi-layer design delivers exceptional durability, tear resistance, and long-lasting protection while remaining gentle on your vehicle’s paint
  • 【All-Season, All-Weather Protection】Designed to handle year-round conditions, this full car cover protects your vehicle from rain, snow, harsh sunlight, dust, fallen leaves, bird droppings, and animal-related debris. Suitable for both indoor and outdoor use, it also provides added protection during unexpected hail
  • 【Thoughtful Functional Design】Equipped with driver door zipper for easy access, reflective strips for nighttime visibility, elastic hems for a snug fit, windproof straps to prevent lifting, soft cotton liner for paint protection, and a storage bag for convenient organization—every detail is designed for daily practicality and reliability
  • 【Easy Installation & Secure Fit】Step 1: Ensure the car surface is clean and dry to avoid paint damage;Step 2: Unfold the car cover and align it properly using the logo and “FRONT” tag;Step 3: Fasten the front, middle, and rear buckles to keep the cover securely in place, even in windy conditions
  • 【A9 Size Common Fits for】Acura RDX SLX ADX, Audi Q5/SQ5, Benz GLB GLC, BMW X3 X4, Buick Envision, Cadillac XT5, Chevy Equinox, Ford Edge, Genesis GV70, GMC Terrain, Honda CRV Passport, Hyundai Tucson Santa Fe, Infiniti QX50 QX55, Jeep Cherokee, Jaguar F-PACE I-PACE, Kia Sporage Sorento, Lexus NX, RX(99-15), GX(03-09), RZ, Lincoln MKX, Nautilus(19-23), Mazda CX-50, Mitsubi-shi Outlander Montero, Rogue, Murano(03-14), Oldsmobile Bravada, Subru Outback(-19),Solterra,Tribeca, Toyota Venza FJ Cruiser, VW Tiguan, Volvo XC60 XC70

“Midsize SUV” also needs a definition. The EPA guide places the Toyota Crown Signia and Subaru Outback in its midsize-station-wagon section. They have SUV-like ride height and utility, and many shoppers cross-shop them with midsize SUVs, but they are not listed in the guide’s standard SUV category. The table labels that distinction instead of silently mixing categories.

Every 2026 configuration in the supplied ratings that clears 25 highway mpg

Model and configuration EPA category City / highway / combined mpg Powertrain and drivetrain Why it qualifies
Toyota Highlander Hybrid AWD Midsize SUV 35 / 35 / not stated in the cited entry Hybrid, all-wheel drive 35 highway mpg is 10 mpg above the cutoff.
Toyota Highlander AWD (gas) Midsize SUV 21 / 28 / not stated in the cited entry Gasoline, all-wheel drive 28 highway mpg clears the threshold.
Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid AWD, 2.5L Midsize SUV 36 / 32 / not stated in the cited entry Hybrid, all-wheel drive, 2.5-liter engine 32 highway mpg qualifies.
Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid AWD, 2.4L turbo Midsize SUV 26 / 27 / not stated in the cited entry Turbo hybrid, all-wheel drive, 2.4-liter engine 27 highway mpg qualifies, but it is less efficient than the 2.5L hybrid.
Toyota Crown Signia AWD hybrid Midsize station wagon 39 / 37 / not stated in the cited entry Hybrid, all-wheel drive 37 highway mpg qualifies; category is wagon rather than standard SUV.
Subaru Outback AWD, 2.5L Midsize station wagon 25 / 31 / not stated in the cited entry 2.5-liter engine, all-wheel drive 31 highway mpg qualifies despite a 25-mpg city rating.
Subaru Outback AWD, 2.4L turbo Midsize station wagon 21 / 29 / not stated in the cited entry 2.4-liter turbo, all-wheel drive 29 highway mpg qualifies.
Subaru Outback Wilderness AWD Midsize station wagon 21 / 27 / not stated in the cited entry All-wheel drive; Wilderness configuration 27 highway mpg qualifies.

These are eight qualifying configurations, not ten distinct nameplates. Counting each engine or trim combination as a separate “SUV” would be misleading because shoppers buy vehicles, not duplicate entries created by powertrain changes. The available evidence therefore cannot substantiate a definitive ten-model list without adding vehicles or ratings not established here.

How the qualifying models differ

Toyota Highlander Hybrid AWD

The Highlander Hybrid AWD’s 35 highway mpg rating is tied to that hybrid, all-wheel-drive configuration in the 2026 EPA guide. Its city and highway ratings are both 35 mpg, an unusual balance that makes the configuration especially relevant to drivers whose use includes more than steady-speed road travel.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not transfer the hybrid figure to a gas Highlander. The gas AWD entry is rated at 28 highway mpg, seven mpg lower. Toyota’s 2026 announcement describes the lineup as offering gas or hybrid powertrains with standard AWD, and gives manufacturer-estimated combined figures of 24 mpg for gas models and 35 mpg for hybrids; those combined estimates provide context, but the EPA guide remains the source for the highway numbers used here. See Toyota’s 2026 Highlander announcement and Toyota’s Highlander specifications page.

Toyota Highlander AWD gas

The non-hybrid AWD Highlander still clears the rule with a 28-mpg highway rating. Its 21-mpg city figure shows why highway and combined economy should not be treated as interchangeable: a vehicle can meet this article’s highway test while using considerably more fuel in urban driving.

Rank #2
SUV Cargo Liner for Dogs - Trunk Cover for SUV with Bumper Flap Protector
  • Universal Fit (Verify Dimensions): Measuring 55"W × 91"L for full cargo area coverage, this trunk liner designed for midsize and standard-wheelbase full-size 3-row SUVs with the third-row seats folded down. Flexible foldable design fits most vehicles securely, working as a heavy-duty trunk protector and cargo area cover against pet hair, muddy paws, grocery spills and soiled outdoor gear. Be sure to measure your vehicle’s cargo compartment before ordering
  • Extra Large Non-Slip Net: Textured 53"W × 55"L anti-slip rubber backing, this SUV trunk cover for dogs is twice as much as the average product for more stability, no worries about quick turns and speed bumps; No Color Bleeding on leather seats (Safe for Pets)
  • Water Resistant Cargo & Trunk Protector: Built with 4 quilted water-resistant layers and tough scratch-proof 600D Oxford fabric, it safeguards your cargo floor, folded seat backs and trunk space against pet dander, fur, spills, odors and muddy wet paws. This liner is water-resistant, NOT fully waterproof; heavy standing or deep pooled water may seep through the fabric. Effortless cleanup via wiping or vacuuming (hand wash recommended)
  • Thoughtful Bumper Flap: Includes a protective bumper flap to shield your car's paint from dog claw marks during entry and exit. Quick-release buckles on straps and seat anchors ensure easy installation and stability Slits design allows for easily leveling the cargo liner for dogs (Prevents Sliding)
  • Easy to Install and Clean: Equipped with quick-release buckles on adjustable straps. Simply vacuum loose fur or wipe off grime for effortless cleaning to keep your trunk dog cover looking brand new. Use it as a dog cargo cover, car trunk mat, or pet seat cover perfect for daily errands, moving days, road trips, and hauling messy outdoor gear

Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid AWD

The Grand Highlander has two qualifying hybrid configurations in the cited guide. The 2.5-liter hybrid is rated 36 city and 32 highway mpg. The 2.4-liter turbo hybrid is rated 26 city and 27 highway mpg. Both pass, but the six-mpg highway gap is large enough that engine choice should be checked on the window sticker rather than inferred from the model name.

Because the ratings are configuration-specific, a dealer listing that says only “Grand Highlander Hybrid AWD” is incomplete for an efficiency comparison. Confirm whether the vehicle has the 2.5-liter or 2.4-liter turbo powertrain and use the corresponding EPA entry.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Toyota Crown Signia AWD hybrid

The Crown Signia AWD hybrid posts the highest highway result in this set at 37 mpg, with a 39-mpg city rating. The EPA classifies it as a midsize station wagon, not a standard midsize SUV. Include it when your shopping definition covers SUV-shaped crossovers and wagons; exclude it when you require the EPA’s standard SUV category.

Subaru Outback configurations

All three cited Outback configurations clear 25 highway mpg. The 2.5-liter AWD version is rated 31 highway mpg, the 2.4-liter turbo AWD version 29, and the Wilderness AWD version 27. The 2.5-liter has a 25-mpg city rating, which does not disqualify it because the test here concerns highway mpg. The Wilderness entry has the lowest highway result of the three but remains above the threshold.

The EPA guide groups these entries under midsize station wagons. That is a classification fact, not a judgment about capability or body design. If your shortlist is based on how a vehicle is marketed and used, they are reasonable crossover alternatives; if it is based strictly on EPA body category, keep them in a separate group.

Rank #3
ALLANSING SUV Cargo Liner for Dogs - Heavy-Duty 900D Oxford Waterproof Pet Cargo Protector with 3-Sided Zippered All-Round Protection & TPU Suction Cups, Fits Midsize & Large SUVs and Minivans
  • TAILORED FIT & EASY CARE | Large Size (Most Popular) — Perfect for midsize/large SUVs & Mini Vans. Measure your cargo area first for best fit. Clean easily by wiping, vacuuming, rinsing, or machine washing. Works seamlessly for pup park visits, weekend getaways, and beach days alike. Perfect fit, easy cleanup, ready for any trip.
  • ZIPPERED FULL ENCLOSURE | 3-Sided Full Protection — One-piece liner covers rear seat back, cargo floor, and bumper, with zippered side flaps for 3-sided full protection. Zip up to seal pet hair, mud, spills, and debris; unzip to fold seats flat while retaining coverage. Ideal for dog outings, ski gear, surfboards, fishing tackle, gardening tools, and strollers—keep your cargo area spotless. No more messy post-adventure cleanups.
  • ALL-ZONE NON-SLIP SAFETY | Secure Dog Stability — Anti-slip material extends to seat back and bumper areas, preventing pets from slipping while jumping in/out and keeping them stable on folded seats for safer rides. This full-coverage grip delivers reliable, secure hold during every trip. Keeps your pup safe, you worry-free.
  • HEAVY-DUTY 900D OXFORD FABRIC | Waterproof & Durable — Rugged 900D Oxford fabric is waterproof, odor-free, and built to last. Its 3-layer, pinhole-free design blocks leaks completely, while a soft cotton middle layer boosts pet comfort. The heavy-duty non-slip base locks the cargo liner in place through every adventure. Protects your car, comforts your pup.
  • STURDY TPU SUCTION CUPS | No-Fall, Residue-Free — Thick, durable TPU suction cups lock tight to side windows with a simple press—no falling off, no sticky residue. They keep side flaps sealed and secure at all times. Secure, reliable, residue-free.

Why the 2026 Honda Passport is not on the list

The 2026 Honda Passport illustrates the difference between “25 mpg or more” and “over 25 mpg.” Honda lists the RTL at 19 city, 25 highway and 21 combined mpg. The TrailSport is rated 18 city, 23 highway and 20 combined mpg. Neither configuration exceeds 25 highway mpg, so neither qualifies under the stated rule. Honda’s figures are published in its 2026 Passport specifications.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to verify the exact vehicle before buying

  1. Identify the model year. Fuel-economy ratings can change between model years. A 2025 vehicle on a dealer lot is not covered by a 2026 rating merely because the nameplate is unchanged.
  2. Record the powertrain. Note whether the vehicle is gas, hybrid or turbo hybrid, and write down the engine displacement when the model offers more than one.
  3. Confirm drivetrain. AWD and front-wheel-drive versions can receive different EPA ratings. Every qualifying entry above is tied to the drivetrain shown in the table.
  4. Read the window sticker. EPA says fuel-economy information appears on new-vehicle stickers. Match the highway number and configuration description to the EPA guide, rather than relying on a generic model-page headline.
  5. Check the category assumption. Decide whether midsize station wagons such as Crown Signia and Outback belong in your comparison. Record them separately if you want a strict SUV-only list.
  6. Save the source and trim details. Keep a photo or PDF of the sticker and the exact trim name. This prevents a high-efficiency hybrid rating from being mistakenly applied to a gas or turbo version.

What EPA highway mpg can—and cannot—tell you

An EPA rating is a standardized comparison figure, not a promise that every driver will achieve it. Weather, speed, payload, tire pressure, roof accessories, traffic, terrain, towing and driving style all affect actual consumption. The rating is most useful for comparing similarly equipped vehicles tested under the same federal procedure.

Highway mpg also does not describe the whole ownership picture. A model that wins on the highway may use more fuel in city traffic, while a hybrid’s advantage can be strongest in stop-and-go driving. Look at city, highway and combined figures together, then consider the type of driving you actually do.

To estimate fuel use for a trip, divide the planned miles by the vehicle’s highway mpg. For example, a 600-mile trip in a vehicle rated at 30 highway mpg would be estimated at 20 gallons under test-rating conditions (600 ÷ 30). Multiply that result by your local fuel price for a rough trip-cost estimate. The calculation is a planning tool, not a guarantee of real-world consumption.

How to choose among the qualifying configurations

If maximum highway efficiency is the priority

Start with the Crown Signia AWD hybrid at 37 highway mpg if you accept the EPA’s station-wagon classification. Among entries categorized as midsize SUVs, the Highlander Hybrid AWD leads at 35 highway mpg.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
AltoCover SUV Car Cove Waterproof All Weather Protection for Mid-Size SUVs
  • Sporty Design: This stylish full exterior car cover features bold dual red racing stripes on the front, making your vehicle stand out from the crowd
  • Premium Material: Made from upgraded 210D Oxford cloth with a PU waterproof inner coating, this lightweight and tear-resistant cover is built to handle all weather conditions
  • User-Friendly Features: Elastic hems at the front and rear provide a secure fit, while a driver-side zipper allows quick access without removing the cover. Four windproof straps fasten to the wheels, and a compact storage bag is included for easy portability
  • All-Weather Protection: Shields your vehicle from snow, rain, frost, sun, dust, leaves, sap, bird droppings, and accidental scratches—keeping your car clean and protected in any environment
  • Broad Compatibility for S3: Full exterior covers universal for Tesla model Y,Toyota RAV4,Honda CRV,NISSAN Rogue,Subaru Outback,Kia Sorento,Hyundai Sante Fe,Porsche Macan,Audi Q5,Mazda CX-5,BMW X3etc.(SEE FIGURE 7 FOR MORE MODELS)

If you want a gas powertrain

The gas Highlander AWD is the only gasoline configuration in the cited standard-SUV entries that clears the cutoff, at 28 highway mpg. Its rating should not be confused with the hybrid Highlander’s result.

If engine choice matters

The Grand Highlander comparison is especially configuration-sensitive: its 2.5-liter hybrid is rated at 32 highway mpg, while the 2.4-liter turbo hybrid is rated at 27. Outback shoppers face a similar spread between the 2.5-liter, 2.4-liter turbo and Wilderness versions.

If you require a strict EPA SUV category

Use the Highlander and Grand Highlander entries in the table and leave Crown Signia and Outback in a separate wagon/crossover list. Under that strict approach, the supplied 2026 evidence supports four qualifying configurations across two nameplates, not ten SUVs.

Bottom line on the “10 SUVs” claim

The 2026 ratings clearly identify efficient choices above 25 highway mpg, but they do not establish ten distinct midsize SUVs from the evidence available here. Eight qualifying configurations are documented across the Highlander, Grand Highlander, Crown Signia and Outback nameplates, with Crown Signia and Outback classified as midsize station wagons by the EPA. Treat the number in the original headline as a shopping-search phrase, not as a verified count, and use the exact model-year, engine and drivetrain rating when comparing vehicles.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

2026 SUVsEPA ratingsFuel Economyhighway MPGhybrid SUVsmidsize SUVs

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.