The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Choose the 2026 Mercedes-Benz CLA 250+ if long range, a lower entry price and maximum DC-charging capability are your priorities. Choose the 2026 BMW i4 eDrive40 if you want substantially stronger acceleration, more power and the familiar rear-drive Gran Coupe format. The Mercedes has the clearer efficiency-and-road-trip advantage on paper; the BMW makes the stronger case for drivers who value performance above purchase price.
This comparison uses U.S. manufacturer specifications available for the 2026 model year. Prices are before destination, options, incentives and dealer adjustments, while range and charging results depend on configuration and conditions.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance: CLA 250+ or BMW i4 eDrive40?
These are both battery-electric, rear-wheel-drive luxury sedans, but they are aimed at different priorities. Mercedes-Benz positions the CLA 250+ around exceptional rated range and very high peak charging power. BMW gives the i4 eDrive40 a more powerful motor and a published acceleration figure that will matter to drivers who enjoy brisk passing and back-road performance.
| Specification | 2026 Mercedes-Benz CLA 250+ | 2026 BMW i4 eDrive40 |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. starting price | $47,250, Mercedes-Benz USA announcement (2025) | $57,900 MSRP, BMW USA 2026 model-year listing |
| Published range | Up to 374 miles EPA electric range | 307–333 miles estimated range; BMW describes these figures as preliminary and configuration-dependent |
| Power | 268 hp from a 200 kW motor | 335 hp |
| Torque | 247 lb-ft | 317 lb-ft |
| Drivetrain | Rear-wheel drive | Rear-wheel drive |
| 0–60 mph | Not stated by Mercedes-Benz USA in the cited specifications | 5.5 seconds |
| Maximum DC fast-charging rate | 320 kW | 205 kW |
| Published DC charging claim | Mercedes says 100 miles can be added in five minutes and up to 202 miles in 10 minutes under the stated charging conditions | BMW lists 34 minutes for a 10–80% charge |
| Maximum AC charging rate | 9.6 kW | 11.5 kW |
| Illustrative AC charge time | Not stated in the cited Mercedes specifications | 8.5 hours from 0–100% for BMW’s shown configuration |
The headline figures are not perfectly symmetrical: Mercedes quotes an EPA rating and charging added-range claims, while BMW presents an estimated range band and a 10–80% time. Treat the table as a starting point, not a promise that either car will deliver the same result on every trip.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Price and value: what the extra BMW money buys
CLA 250+ has the lower published entry price
Mercedes-Benz USA announced a $47,250 starting price for the 2026 electric CLA. BMW USA lists the 2026 i4 eDrive40 at a $57,900 starting MSRP. The difference is $10,650 before destination charges, options, taxes, registration, incentives or dealer adjustments.
That gap is large enough to change how you should shop. A buyer who wants an electric luxury sedan below the mid-$50,000 range has a straightforward reason to start with the CLA. The lower base price can also leave room for a home-charging installation, winter tires or a larger equipment package without immediately reaching the BMW’s published starting point.
The BMW price is tied to output, not a higher range rating
The i4 eDrive40’s premium is easiest to justify if you will use its additional power regularly. BMW publishes 335 hp, 317 lb-ft of torque and a 5.5-second 0–60 mph time. Those are meaningful performance advantages over the CLA’s published 268 hp and 247 lb-ft. You are paying for a more forceful powertrain and the driving character associated with BMW’s Gran Coupe layout, not for a longer official range rating.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWhat neither starting price includes
- Destination and delivery charges.
- Optional wheels, paint, interior equipment and technology packages.
- State or local taxes, registration and documentation fees.
- Home electrical work, a wall-mounted charger and permit costs.
- Insurance, tires, electricity and maintenance over the period you own the car.
- Any federal, state, utility or manufacturer incentive, whose eligibility and amount can change.
Ask the dealer for a buyer’s order that separates the vehicle price, destination, options and every fee. That is the only reliable way to determine whether the apparent price advantage survives the configuration you actually want.
Range: the CLA’s strongest paper advantage
Mercedes claims up to 374 EPA miles
Mercedes-Benz USA lists up to 374 miles of EPA electric range for the 2026 CLA 250+. “Up to” matters: the maximum can depend on the exact configuration, and the EPA figure is a standardized estimate rather than a guaranteed distance at highway speed.
Even with that qualification, the number gives the CLA a substantial cushion for long commutes, airport runs and interstate travel. More rated miles can mean fewer charging stops, more flexibility when a station is occupied and less need to charge to a high state of charge before leaving home.
Rank #2
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
BMW publishes a 307–333-mile estimate
BMW USA lists an estimated 307–333 miles for the 2026 i4 eDrive40. BMW says the new-model estimates may be preliminary and that actual range varies with wheels, tires, weather, driving style and other conditions. A car configured near the lower end of the band will not have the same trip margin as one near the upper end.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The comparison is therefore directionally clear but not exact in every showroom. The Mercedes maximum exceeds BMW’s upper estimate by 41 miles, and the difference is greater against the lower BMW figure. Confirm the range label on the window sticker for the specific wheel and tire combination before signing a purchase order.
How to translate range into your routine
- Daily driving: If your weekday travel is modest and you can charge at home, either car should provide ample buffer. The CLA’s extra range matters less when the vehicle starts every morning near your preferred charge level.
- Frequent highway travel: The CLA’s higher rating can reduce the number of planned stops, but highway speed, temperature and wind can erase part of any EPA advantage.
- Cold climates: Heating the cabin and battery, snow tires and dense winter air reduce efficiency. Plan from your own worst-season consumption rather than the headline rating.
- Apartment or street parking: If you cannot reliably charge overnight, station availability and charging speed may matter more than maximum range.
Performance and driving character
BMW i4 eDrive40: the clear output leader
The i4 eDrive40 uses a rear-wheel-drive setup rated at 335 hp and 317 lb-ft. BMW publishes 5.5 seconds from 0 to 60 mph. That combination should appeal to drivers who want immediate acceleration for merging, passing or enthusiastic driving, even though no independent road-test result is part of the manufacturer data cited here.
Because the BMW’s advantage is published in both power and acceleration, it is not merely a paper horsepower comparison. The stated 0–60 figure gives you a more concrete expectation of straight-line performance. It still does not describe steering feel, ride quality, braking calibration or handling balance; those require a drive in the exact car you plan to buy.
CLA 250+: adequate output paired with efficiency goals
Mercedes describes the CLA 250+ as using a 200 kW motor that produces up to 268 hp and 247 lb-ft, driving the rear wheels. Mercedes-Benz USA does not provide a 0–60-mph time in the cited specifications, so it would be misleading to assign the CLA a precise acceleration ranking.
The sensible interpretation is that the CLA prioritizes usable performance while putting more emphasis on range and charging. If you value relaxed cruising, smooth urban acceleration and fewer charging stops, its output may be entirely sufficient. If you routinely seek the quickest launch, the BMW has the stronger documented case.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
What a test drive should answer
- Drive both cars from a complete stop onto a highway ramp, but obey local speed limits and drive safely.
- Try several levels of regenerative braking, if available, to see whether one-pedal behavior feels natural.
- Make a low-speed turn and a rough-road pass to evaluate steering effort, ride motions and tire noise.
- Check pedal modulation in traffic; an EV can feel very different from one model to another despite similar specifications.
- Repeat the route with a passenger and the climate system operating, since comfort and visibility are part of daily performance.
Charging: peak power versus a complete charging picture
CLA 250+ advertises the higher DC ceiling
The electric CLA lineup supports DC fast charging up to 320 kW. Mercedes-Benz USA states that, under its quoted conditions, the CLA can add 100 miles in five minutes and up to 202 miles in as little as 10 minutes. Those are added-range claims, not a guarantee of a 0–100% session, and they depend on a compatible high-power charger, battery temperature, state of charge and site performance.
A 320 kW maximum is useful only when the station and the vehicle can sustain the necessary power. Charging power normally tapers as the battery fills, so the fastest part of a session is usually early. For road trips, the important question is how many miles you can recover during the stop you actually plan to make, not the nameplate peak alone.
i4 eDrive40 combines 205 kW DC with a stated 10–80% time
BMW’s technical page lists a 205 kW maximum DC rate and 34 minutes for a 10–80% charge for the shown configuration. The lower peak does not automatically make every trip slower: station power, battery temperature, arrival state of charge, queueing and the length of your stop all affect the result.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsBMW’s 10–80% figure is useful because it defines a recognizable operating window. Most drivers do not need to fast-charge from empty to full on a highway trip; they stop long enough to reach the next reliable station, then continue. Compare the two cars using your normal stop pattern rather than maximum kW in isolation.
AC charging at home
Mercedes lists 9.6 kW maximum AC charging for the CLA 250+. BMW lists 11.5 kW maximum AC charging for the i4 eDrive40 and an 8.5-hour 0–100% AC time for the configuration shown on its technical page. Mercedes does not state a comparable complete AC time in the cited specifications.
For overnight charging, the difference may be less important than whether your home circuit can supply the required amperage and whether the car is plugged in for enough hours. A lower-power circuit used consistently can be more practical than a higher-rated charger that requires expensive electrical upgrades.
Rank #4
- Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed: The Emporia electric vehicle charger provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA plug (40 amp).
- Versatile Installation Options: Preconfigured for NEMA Type 14-50P compliant with 2017 NEC Section 625.17 for up to 40A or convert to Hardwired for up to 48A. Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance.
- Safety, Certification, and Peace of Mind: UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, meeting stringent standards (NEC 625, SAE J1772, UL 817, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, and UL 2594).
- Get the Benefits of Smart Charging: Connect via 2.4 GHz WiFi to access real-time energy data and manage charging from your mobile device. Schedule charging sessions to optimize utility rates and performance.
- Universal Compatibility: Equipped with a secure SAE J1772 connector, compatible with all EVs in North America, including Tesla, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5/6, BMW i3, i4, iX, Audi, and Jeep Wrangler 4xe.
Choosing a home J1772 Level 2 charger
A J1772 Level 2 EV charger is a natural starting point for home charging, but verify compatibility before buying. Both vehicles have published AC-charging capability; the exact connector arrangement, amperage, circuit rating and installation requirements must match the vehicle and charger you select.
- Confirm the vehicle’s included cable and inlet arrangement for your exact model and market.
- Have a qualified electrician assess the panel capacity, wire run, breaker size, outdoor exposure and local permit requirements.
- Choose a charger whose continuous current does not exceed the circuit’s safe rating.
- Decide whether you need hardwiring, a plug-in installation, load management, Wi-Fi scheduling or an outdoor-rated enclosure.
- Set a charging schedule that takes advantage of your utility’s lower-cost hours if your plan offers time-based rates.
- After installation, verify that the car reaches the expected charging rate without repeated interruptions or overheating warnings.
Do not assume a charger’s advertised output becomes the car’s actual AC rate. The vehicle’s onboard charger, the circuit and installation settings can each limit power.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Road-trip planning: which sedan is easier to live with away from home?
When the CLA’s range and charging claims help
The CLA is the better paper choice for a driver who wants the largest possible buffer between stops. A longer rated range can simplify routes through regions with fewer stations, reduce the need to charge above the battery’s efficient middle range and provide more flexibility when weather or traffic causes a detour.
Its 320 kW ceiling may also shorten a properly timed stop at a high-output charger. To realize that benefit, the route must include a station capable of delivering the power, and the car must arrive with a battery temperature and state of charge that permit a high rate.
When the BMW’s charging window is enough
The i4 eDrive40 can still be a strong road-trip tool if your routes follow dependable charging corridors. A 34-minute 10–80% estimate gives a practical planning anchor, and its estimated maximum range remains above 300 miles in BMW’s published band. Drivers who already stop for meals or breaks may find the BMW’s charging rhythm acceptable.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Use the lower end of BMW’s estimate when planning unfamiliar routes. Build in a reserve for weather, speed, elevation and a busy or malfunctioning station; arriving with only a few miles remaining can turn a manageable trip into a wait for roadside assistance.
Best Value
- ✅【Fast & Adjustable Charging Power – Up to 7.68kWh, 16A–32A Output】This Level 2 portable EV charger delivers up to 32A and 7.68kWh for fast, efficient charging. Easily adjust current based on your home circuit: 32A for 40A, 24A for 30A, or 16A for 20A breakers. Simply long-press the “A” button to change amperage when pluged in,You can easily adjust the current (16A/24A/32A) to match your home circuit — no electrician required.
- ✅【Wide Compatibility – J1772 Connector for All Non-Tesla EVs】Equipped with a standard SAE J1772 plug, this EV charger works with most North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including models from Ford, GM, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, and more. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter (not included).
- ✅【Smart LED Screen】You Can View real-time charging data on the LED screen: amperage, voltage, speed, and delay settings. Stay fully informed with the built-in LED display that shows real-time charging data, including amperage, voltage, charging speed, and delay settings,Easily schedule your charging sessions during off-peak hours to save on electricity bills, set custom delays, It’s all about charging smarter, not just faster
- ✅ 【Smart Charging for Long-Term EV Care】: EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger offers flexible amperage settings ranging from 10A to 32A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A). With a simple touch of the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs. Lower amperage charging can reduce heat and extend battery health over time. Choose the current that suits your car and charging scenario — fast when you need it, gentle when you don’t.
- ✅【Built for Safety & Durability 】The EV charger is designed to handle tough environments with NEMA Type 4/IP66-grade protection against dust and water. While it’s not recommended for installation in direct sunlight or heavy rain, it performs reliably in garages, carports, and covered outdoor areas. The 25-foot military-grade charging cable features a drop-resistant plug tested to withstand over 10,000 insertions — built to last, wherever you charge.
A repeatable trip-planning method
- Start with the window-sticker range for your exact wheel and tire configuration, not a generic model headline.
- Reduce the planning number for cold weather, sustained high speeds, heavy rain, strong headwinds or roof-mounted equipment.
- Identify a primary fast charger and at least one backup at each major leg.
- Plan to arrive with a reserve rather than targeting the battery’s absolute minimum.
- Use a short, early fast-charge stop when practical; charging generally slows as the battery approaches full.
- Check the station’s connector, operating hours, payment method and maximum power immediately before departure.
Which buyer should choose each car?
Choose the Mercedes CLA 250+ when these priorities dominate
- You want the lower published starting price and prefer to keep more of your budget for equipment or charging installation.
- You regularly drive long distances and place a high value on maximum rated range.
- You have access to high-power DC stations and want the possibility of very rapid added-range stops.
- You are comfortable with a 268-hp rear-drive sedan and do not need a published 0–60 figure to make your decision.
- You expect most charging to happen at home and the 9.6 kW AC limit fits your overnight schedule.
Choose the BMW i4 eDrive40 when these priorities dominate
- You want 335 hp, 317 lb-ft and a manufacturer-published 5.5-second 0–60-mph time.
- You prefer BMW’s established Gran Coupe format and the way its rear-drive performance is presented.
- You accept the higher starting MSRP in exchange for stronger documented acceleration.
- Your routes have reliable fast-charging coverage, making the 307–333-mile estimated range practical for your use.
- You can benefit from the i4’s 11.5 kW AC capability and the shown 8.5-hour full-charge estimate.
Do not decide from the badge alone
The two cars solve different problems. The CLA’s advantage is measurable in purchase price, rated range and maximum DC power. The i4’s advantage is measurable in output and acceleration. Neither set of figures establishes which car has the better seat comfort, cabin quietness, cargo usability, reliability or long-term ownership cost; those areas require an inspection, a test drive and separate evidence.
Important qualifications behind the numbers
Range is configuration-specific
BMW explicitly says its 2026 range estimates can vary with wheels, tires, weather, driving style and other conditions. Mercedes’ “up to” EPA figure also represents a maximum rating rather than a universal result for every configuration. Ask for the exact certification and window-sticker data on the vehicle in front of you.
Charging power is not charging speed in every situation
Maximum kW is a ceiling. The battery may accept less power because it is cold, nearly full, sharing site capacity or protecting itself. A station labeled 350 kW may not deliver that output to one vehicle, and a vehicle rated for more than the station can provide will be limited by the station.
Prices are snapshots, not out-the-door quotes
The published U.S. prices identify the starting points for the 2026 model year. They do not establish the transaction price in your state or the final price of a configured car. Confirm incentives separately and do not count a tax credit until you have verified current eligibility for your purchase, income, location and vehicle configuration.
A buyer’s checklist before ordering
- Record the exact model, drivetrain, wheel and tire package.
- Photograph or save the window sticker showing the vehicle-specific range.
- Request a written price breakdown including destination and every option.
- Confirm the included charging cable, connector type and warranty terms.
- Test your planned home-charging location for cable reach, weather exposure and parking access.
- Ask the dealer to demonstrate the navigation, battery preconditioning and charging controls you will use on trips.
- Drive both cars on the same route and at the same time of day when possible.
- Check the availability of the fast-charging connectors used on your regular routes.
- Obtain insurance quotes and estimate tire replacement costs before committing to a monthly budget.
- Keep a reserve for destination, registration, installation and unexpected dealer fees.
Verdict
The Mercedes CLA 250+ is the better fit for most shoppers whose first questions are “How far can it go?” and “How quickly can I recover range?” It starts lower, carries the higher maximum EPA range claim and advertises a higher DC charging ceiling. Those advantages are especially valuable for long-distance drivers and buyers who want the most electric-car capability for the least published money.
The BMW i4 eDrive40 is the better answer for a driver who will notice the accelerator every day. Its 335 hp, 317 lb-ft and 5.5-second 0–60-mph figure provide a clear performance step over the CLA, while the rear-drive Gran Coupe format preserves the character many BMW buyers seek. You pay more and accept a lower, preliminary range estimate, but you get the stronger documented powertrain.
Make the final decision with the exact configuration, a real out-the-door quote and a test drive. On the evidence available for 2026 U.S. models, buy the CLA for range, price and charging leverage; buy the i4 for performance and BMW driving character.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




