The new Mercedes-Benz C-Class EV looks superior to its larger, more expensive siblings when “superior” means the best balance of size, modern electric hardware, performance and cabin technology. The U.S.-bound 2027 C 400 4MATIC Electric is announced with 482 horsepower, a 94-kWh battery, 800-volt charging and up to 330 kW of DC input. Mercedes also claims up to 762 km of WLTP range and 325 km of WLTP range added in 10 minutes.
That is not a universal victory. The updated EQS remains Mercedes’ range leader at up to 925 km WLTP, while the current U.S. EQE has published EPA-style mileage, charging and power figures that cannot be compared directly with the C-Class’s WLTP claims. The C-Class’s advantage is fit: it promises flagship-grade technology in a more manageable midsize sedan, without requiring buyers to choose the largest body or the longest-range model.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the electric C-Class is—and when it arrives
Mercedes-Benz unveiled the all-new electric C-Class on April 20, 2026. In the United States, the model is called the 2027 C 400 4MATIC Electric and is expected at dealerships during the first half of 2027. Mercedes has not published U.S. pricing, final order-opening dates or a complete market-specific equipment list, so any claim that it is cheaper than an EQE or EQS would be premature.
This is a battery-electric sedan, not a plug-in hybrid replacement. Its announced specification combines a 94-kWh battery with an 800-volt electrical architecture, a two-speed transmission designed for efficiency and up to 330 kW of DC fast-charging power. Mercedes quotes 482 hp for the U.S. C 400 4MATIC. Those are manufacturer figures; independent acceleration, range and charging tests are not yet available.
#1 Best Overall
The body uses a coupe-like profile, and Mercedes describes it as the most spacious C-Class yet. That does not make it an EQS substitute for every family or chauffeur use. It does mean buyers who find a full-size luxury sedan unnecessarily large can access the company’s newest electric platform in a midsize footprint.
Announced specifications compared
The table separates the C-Class announcement from the currently published sibling figures. Test cycles, model years and markets differ, so the numbers should not be treated as a controlled comparison.
| Model | Market and status | Power | Battery | Peak DC charging | Range claim | 10-minute claim or 10–80% time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2027 C 400 4MATIC Electric | U.S. announcement; expected first half of 2027 | 482 hp | 94 kWh | Up to 330 kW | Up to 762 km WLTP (Mercedes estimate) | Up to 325 km WLTP added in 10 minutes (Mercedes estimate) |
| Updated EQS | Mercedes 2026 announcement; flagship sedan | Mercedes has not stated | Not stated | Up to 350 kW | Up to 925 km WLTP (Mercedes estimate) | Up to 320 km WLTP added in 10 minutes (Mercedes estimate) |
| 2026 EQE 320 4MATIC Sedan | Current U.S. listing | 315 combined hp | 90.5 kWh | 170 kW | 267 miles listed electric range | 10–80% in 32 minutes |
WLTP is generally more generous than the U.S. EPA test cycle, and real-world results vary with speed, temperature, tires, terrain and climate-control use. The C-Class’s 762-km headline therefore cannot be converted into a guaranteed U.S. mileage figure or declared superior to the EQE’s 267-mile listing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Why the C-Class can be the better fit
More useful scale for daily driving
A midsize sedan is easier to place in narrow garages, older parking structures and crowded city streets than a flagship sedan. It also avoids making every trip in a very large car simply to obtain advanced electric hardware. Mercedes has not released final exterior dimensions or cargo-volume comparisons, so buyers who regularly carry bulky equipment should wait for the production specification.
The C-Class also preserves the sedan format rather than forcing a crossover choice. For drivers who value a low seating position, stable highway manners and a formal three-box profile, that matters more than an abstract size hierarchy.
High output without moving to the flagship
The announced 482 hp places the C 400 4MATIC above the 315 combined hp listed for the U.S.-market EQE 320 4MATIC. That is a specification advantage on paper, not proof of quicker acceleration: curb weight, tire selection, software and launch control can change the result. Mercedes has not published a final 0–60-mph time for the U.S. car.
All-wheel drive is part of the C 400 4MATIC designation. Buyers in climates with snow or frequent rain may value the additional traction, but all-wheel drive does not remove the need for appropriate tires or shorten braking distances on ice.
Fast-charging hardware that is current at launch
The 800-volt system and 330-kW peak are among the C-Class’s strongest announced advantages over the current EQE listing, which specifies 170 kW. Peak power is only one part of a charging stop: the vehicle’s charging curve, battery temperature, state of charge and the station’s capability determine how long the car actually holds a high rate.
Mercedes says the C-Class can add up to 325 km of WLTP range in 10 minutes. The EQS announcement quotes up to 320 km WLTP in the same period despite its higher 350-kW peak. Those figures are manufacturer estimates under stated test conditions, not guarantees for every public charger. A 350-kW station cannot make an EQS or C-Class charge faster than the car’s software and battery permit.
Rank #2
- 532902BL
- Maisto Mercedes EQS 22 bu | 532902BL
- PC
- Maisto
Range: where the EQS still wins
If maximum distance between charging stops is the priority, the EQS retains the clear announced advantage. Mercedes quotes up to 925 km WLTP for the updated EQS, compared with up to 762 km WLTP for the electric C-Class. The 163-km difference is large enough to matter on long motorway journeys, particularly where reliable fast chargers are sparse.
The EQS advantage comes with trade-offs that the available specifications do not quantify. A larger flagship body can be harder to park, and buyers may not want to pay for its additional space and status. Mercedes has not released U.S. transaction prices for either model, so the financial value of the extra range cannot yet be calculated.
Do not compare the C-Class’s WLTP number with the EQE’s 267-mile U.S. listing as if both were EPA results. Until Mercedes publishes an EPA rating for the C-Class, the only defensible conclusion is that its announced WLTP range is substantial, while its U.S. real-world range remains unknown.
Cabin technology and comfort
Displays and software
The C-Class can be specified with a 39.1-inch MBUX Hyperscreen. Mercedes Germany describes an MBUX Superscreen layout with a 14-inch central display, a 14-inch passenger display and a 10.3-inch driver display; exact availability varies by market and trim. Treat the large screen as an option unless the U.S. order guide says otherwise.
The car runs Mercedes’ MB.OS operating system and introduces a generative-AI MBUX Virtual Assistant. These features could make navigation, climate and vehicle settings more conversational, but Mercedes has not stated subscription terms, supported languages, update frequency or how the assistant behaves without data connectivity.
Heating efficiency in cold weather
A multi-source heat pump is listed as standard in Mercedes’ announcement. It can draw waste heat from the drive unit and battery as well as ambient air. Mercedes’ example says that after a 20-minute trip in 19°F weather, the cabin heated twice as fast as combustion-powered models while using about half the energy. This is a company comparison, not an independent winter test, and actual results will depend on preconditioning, passenger count and driving conditions.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRide and maneuverability options
Optional AIRMATIC air suspension is intended to separate ride comfort from body control, while optional rear-axle steering turns the rear wheels by up to 4.5 degrees. These systems can reduce the car’s turning circle and improve stability, but Mercedes has not supplied independent ride evaluations or a U.S. option price. A buyer should confirm whether a desired suspension and steering package is available together on the selected trim.
How it compares with the EQS
The EQS case
The EQS remains the electric luxury sedan for buyers who want the greatest announced WLTP range, the largest flagship presence and a higher 350-kW charging ceiling. Its 925-km WLTP claim also leaves more buffer for cold weather, high-speed travel or routes with limited charging opportunities.
The C-Class case
The C-Class counters with a smaller format, 482 hp, a newer 800-volt system rated at up to 330 kW, and the same broad technology direction: large MBUX displays, MB.OS, a heat pump and available air suspension. It may be the more sensible choice for an owner who spends most time commuting, parking in tight spaces and carrying a normal household load.
Rank #3
- High-Quality Materials:The Mercedes Benz GTS die-cast car is made of zinc alloy,plastic parts and rubber tires,making it safe for children to play with.It features detailed interior and exterior trim, and is very sturdy.
- Function:No batteries are required, but the vehicle has a powerful pull back feature. Simply pull it back, then release your hand, and the car will go for a long distance. The doors may be opened to view the whole inside of the vehicle. So appealing to children and collectors alike.
- Size:1/36 scale vehicle model with beautiful English packaging,ideal for toddlers to play with and carry. Car collectors will appreciate the perfect small size, which allows them to collect a complete set of cars without taking up too much space.
- Grow From Play:Help children learn more about car ,expand their knowledge ,increase the hand-eye coordination and the reaction speed of the children in the play.
- Ideal Christmas Festival Gift:All of TOKAXI die-cast model cars are attractively packaged in English, making them the perfect Christmas, Birthday, Children's Day, New Year gift for kids, party favors, home decorations, or travel toys for boys and girls.gifts for boys girls.
There is no evidence yet that the C-Class delivers a quieter cabin, a better ride or a lower ownership cost than the EQS. Those are open questions requiring production specifications and independent testing. The rational distinction today is use case, not a blanket ranking.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How it compares with the EQE
Hardware advantage on paper
The U.S.-listed EQE 320 4MATIC has 315 combined horsepower, a 90.5-kWh battery, 170-kW DC charging and a 32-minute 10–80% charging time. The C-Class announcement points to more power, a slightly larger battery and nearly double the EQE’s stated peak charging rate. That makes the C-Class look like the more technically current product, assuming its production specification matches the announcement.
Why the range comparison remains unresolved
The EQE figure is 267 miles on a U.S. listing, while the C-Class figure is 762 km WLTP. Different test cycles prevent a fair declaration of longer U.S. range. Even a future EPA rating would not predict every owner’s result: winter temperatures and sustained highway speeds can reduce both cars’ usable distance.
Buyers choosing between them should compare the exact model year, wheel size, software version, standard equipment, warranty and delivered price. Mercedes has not published cargo volume, warranty differences or U.S. pricing for the new C-Class.
Charging and home ownership planning
Public DC charging is the headline feature, but most owners recover daily driving energy at home. Mercedes has confirmed the C-Class is battery-electric and has described its high-voltage DC system; it has not confirmed the U.S.-specific AC connector, onboard-charger rating or home-charging time. Verify those details with a dealer before purchasing or installing equipment.
Recommended Free Tools
A suitable home EV charging station may be useful, but compatibility depends on the final regional connector, electrical service, installation code and the car’s AC limit. Do not order a specific charger from the announcement alone. Ask for the final owner’s manual or U.S. technical sheet, then have an electrician check panel capacity and cable routing.
What is still unknown before you order
- U.S. MSRP, destination charge, lease terms and real transaction prices.
- Final EPA range and efficiency ratings.
- Independent acceleration, road-noise, ride and winter tests.
- Exact dimensions, rear-seat space and cargo volume.
- Trim-by-trim availability of the Hyperscreen, AIRMATIC suspension, rear-axle steering and illuminated grille.
- U.S. AC charging connector, onboard-charger output and home-charging times.
- Final warranty terms and battery coverage.
These gaps matter because a specification advantage can disappear if an option is restricted to a high trim, if charging power is difficult to access, or if the delivered price approaches a larger model.
Who should choose which Mercedes EV?
| Your priority | Most logical starting point | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Manageable midsize dimensions with strong announced output | Electric C-Class | 482 hp, 800-volt architecture and a midsize format are its central proposition. |
| Maximum advertised long-distance range | EQS | Up to 925 km WLTP remains the highest announced figure. |
| A currently documented U.S. model with published EPA-style range | EQE 320 4MATIC | The U.S. listing states 267 miles, 315 hp and a 32-minute 10–80% time. |
| Largest cabin and flagship presentation | EQS | It is positioned as Mercedes’ flagship luxury sedan. |
| Buying before specifications are finalized | Wait for C-Class pricing and EPA data | The new car’s U.S. price, order timing and independent results remain unconfirmed. |
Bottom line for prospective buyers
The electric C-Class is not demonstrably superior to every EQS or EQE measure. It is superior as a proposition for a specific buyer: someone who wants a midsize Mercedes sedan, contemporary electric architecture, high announced power and an advanced cabin without automatically choosing the flagship’s size.
Choose the EQS if range margin and flagship scale outweigh maneuverability and unknown pricing. Consider the current EQE if you need a model with published U.S. range and charging data today. Put the C-Class on the shortlist if its announced 482-hp, 94-kWh, 800-volt package matches your priorities, then wait for EPA certification, U.S. pricing, final equipment and independent tests before placing an order.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




