Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Get listed

BMW i410 MIN

Mercedes-Benz C-Class EV vs. BMW i4: Which Electric Sedan Is Right for You?

The BMW i4 is the actionable U.S. choice today; the Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC Electric promises faster charging and strong long-distance potential but arrives in the first half of 2027 with U.S. range and price still pending.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: Choose the BMW i4 if you need an electric sedan you can shop in the United States now and want a published, preliminary EPA-procedure range estimate. Wait for the Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC Electric if rapid DC charging, a larger advertised battery, and the possibility of exceptional long-distance range matter more than immediate availability. The Mercedes is scheduled for U.S. dealerships in the first half of 2027, but its U.S. EPA range and price have not yet been published.

Those differences make this an evidence-and-timing decision rather than a simple winner. Mercedes quotes European WLTP figures, while BMW quotes preliminary U.S. EPA-procedure estimates; the test cycles are not interchangeable. The Mercedes charging specifications look stronger on paper, but a final U.S. price, certified range, local inventory, and a same-day road comparison still need to be confirmed before you sign an order.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is being compared

The Mercedes-Benz is the newly announced electric C-Class sedan, identified for the United States as the 2027 C 400 4MATIC Electric. Mercedes-Benz USA published its technical data on April 20, 2026, and says deliveries to U.S. dealerships are expected in the first half of 2027. European buyers have a more developed lineup: Mercedes-Benz Media announced the C 300 4MATIC electric and C 400 4MATIC electric for Germany on September 16, 2026, with rear-wheel-drive versions planned to follow.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The BMW rival is the i4 Gran Coupe. BMW USA’s model information identifies 2026 eDrive40 and xDrive40 versions, while BMW’s current range FAQ supplies preliminary U.S. EPA-procedure estimates and a charging claim tied specifically to the 2025 model year. Because the Mercedes and BMW information comes from different markets, model years, and certification stages, the figures below are a buying guide—not a controlled head-to-head test.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Key specifications at a glance

Specification Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC Electric (U.S.) Mercedes-Benz C 300/C 400 (Germany) BMW i4 eDrive40/xDrive40 (U.S.)
Availability Expected at U.S. dealers, first half of 2027 C 300 and C 400 available to order in Germany in September 2026 2026 models identified by BMW USA; confirm local inventory and ordering status
Drive system All-wheel drive Both listed as all-wheel drive; rear-wheel-drive versions are planned eDrive40 and xDrive40 versions; the reviewed material does not provide a full drivetrain specification table
Usable battery 94 kWh 85 kWh (C 300) or 94 kWh (C 400) Not stated in the reviewed BMW material
Range U.S. EPA range: TBA C 300: 549–690 km WLTP; C 400: 594–762 km WLTP eDrive40: 283–301 miles preliminary EPA-procedure estimate; xDrive40: 279–307 miles preliminary EPA-procedure estimate
Maximum DC charging Up to 330 kW 22 minutes from 10–80% for both versions Up to 200 kW in BMW’s FAQ for the 2025 i4
Published 10–80% DC time 22 minutes 22 minutes Around 30 minutes for the 2025 i4
AC charging 11.5 kW Not stated for the European versions in the cited table BMW says its Wallbox supports Level 2 charging up to 9.6 kW
Power and acceleration 483 hp; 590 lb-ft; estimated 0–60 mph in 3.9 seconds Not stated in the cited European announcement Comparable horsepower and acceleration figures were not established in the reviewed sources
Cargo 16.6 cu. ft. U.S. trunk volume 470-litre boot and 101-litre frunk No comparable i4 cargo measurement was established in the reviewed sources
German starting price including VAT U.S. price not published €62,951 for C 300; €67,711 for C 400 Not stated in the reviewed material

Every figure in this table is a manufacturer specification or estimate. The European prices and WLTP ranges describe Germany and cannot be used as a U.S. Mercedes price or EPA rating.

Range: do not treat WLTP and EPA as the same number

Mercedes’ European figures

Mercedes-Benz Media lists a WLTP range of 549–690 kilometers for the European C 300 4MATIC electric and 594–762 kilometers for the C 400. Those are test-cycle results for European vehicles and configurations. The headline 762-kilometer maximum is therefore useful for understanding the model’s intended efficiency and battery strategy, but it is not a promise of 762 kilometers in American driving and it is not an EPA rating.

Mercedes’ U.S. rating is still pending

The U.S. technical table for the 2027 C 400 marks EPA range as TBA. Until the Environmental Protection Agency certification and the final U.S. configuration are published, there is no defensible U.S. range number to substitute. Do not convert the European WLTP maximum into miles and present it as an American rating.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

BMW’s preliminary U.S. estimates

BMW’s range FAQ gives the i4 eDrive40 a preliminary EPA-procedure estimate of 283–301 miles and the xDrive40 279–307 miles. BMW says recently released model years may not yet be fully EPA-certified and that its estimates use preliminary tests following EPA procedure. Wheels, tires, temperature, weather, driving style, traffic, accessories, and other conditions can move actual results outside the estimate.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

The ranges are expressed as bands because configuration affects the result. A buyer comparing an i4 with a future C 400 should wait for the Mercedes EPA figure and then compare equivalent wheel, tire, and drivetrain configurations. Until then, the BMW has the more actionable U.S. range information, while the Mercedes has the more ambitious published European maximum.

Charging and road-trip stops

Mercedes’ published charging hardware

The U.S. C 400 specification lists a 94-kWh usable battery, up to 330 kW of DC charging, and 22 minutes for a 10–80% session. Mercedes also lists 11.5 kW AC charging. A 330-kW peak can shorten a compatible stop, but it is not the time by itself: the vehicle’s charging curve, battery temperature, starting state of charge, station output, and whether another vehicle is sharing the equipment all matter.

BMW’s stated i4 session

BMW’s charging FAQ says a 2025 i4 can go from 10% to 80% in around 30 minutes at a DC station with maximum charging power up to 200 kW. Keep the 2025 model-year label attached to that statement; the reviewed source does not establish an independently confirmed 2026 i4 charging time. It is still a useful planning reference, not a guarantee for every 2026 configuration or every station.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the numbers mean on a trip

A five- or eight-minute difference in a published 10–80% interval does not automatically translate into that difference at every stop. A cold battery, a charger that cannot deliver the vehicle’s maximum, or arriving with a higher state of charge can reduce the benefit of peak power. For a real itinerary, check the charging network on your route, identify stations that can supply the vehicle’s maximum where practical, and allow time for conditions rather than planning to the exact advertised minute.

Rank #3
Sale
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
  • ⚡ Fast, Flexible Charging You Control- Equipped with a NEMA 14-50 plug and adjustable current (10A to 40A), the EVDANCE EV Charger gives you total control over your charging speed. Whether you're topping off at work or doing an overnight charge at home, simply tap the control button to select your ideal amperage. It’s precision charging, made easy NOTE: It is necessary to use a J1772 to Tesla adapter(not including) when charging your Tesla vehicles
  • 8X Faster Charging: The EVDANCE ev charger level 2 comes with a NEMA 14-50 plug, charging at 240V and the maximum current can reach 40A, which can provide maximum 9.6kWh charging power. Experience unparalleled speed at approximately 8x faster than level 1 ev chargers
  • Adjustable Charging Current: EVDANCE Level 2 charger supports adjustable currents settings ranging from 10A to 40A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A/40A). Just touch the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs
  • Delayed Charging Function: With the delay start feature, you can set your charging time(delay 1-12 hrs), staggering the peak usage period and reducing your energy costs
  • Intelligent 2.4"" TFT Display & & LED Indicators: Our 40A electric car charger equipped with a large 2.4"" TFT screen, it provides clear and real-time charging information, including charging current/voltage/power kWh, charging time and work status, etc.The LED indicator on the control box provides real-time charging status

Performance and traction

Mercedes gives the U.S. C 400 4MATIC Electric 483 horsepower and 590 lb-ft of torque, with an estimated 0–60-mph time of 3.9 seconds. “Estimated” matters: that acceleration figure is a manufacturer estimate, not an independent test result. The vehicle is announced as all-wheel drive, which may appeal to drivers who regularly face wet, snowy, or low-grip roads.

BMW’s reviewed range and charging material distinguishes the rear-drive eDrive40 from the all-wheel-drive xDrive40, but it does not provide matching horsepower and acceleration data for those trims. A fair performance verdict therefore requires same-year, same-market BMW specifications or an independent comparison. The available evidence supports describing the Mercedes as quick on paper, not declaring it faster in real driving.

Cabin technology, comfort, and usable space

Mercedes equipment claims

Mercedes highlights an optional 39.1-inch MBUX Hyperscreen, a heat pump, optional AIRMATIC air suspension, and rear-axle steering. The C-Class electric also has a 116.6-inch wheelbase. These are equipment and packaging facts; they do not prove that the car rides better, turns more tightly, or has a more intuitive interface than the i4. Those judgments need an in-person drive and a direct cabin comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Cargo information

For the U.S. C 400, Mercedes lists 16.6 cubic feet of trunk volume. The European specification gives the C 300 and C 400 a 470-litre boot and a 101-litre frunk. Keep the market distinction in mind when comparing brochures, because equipment and measurement conventions can differ.

Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station | up to 50 mph, 25ft Cable, Enhanced WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

No comparable BMW i4 cargo measurement was established in the reviewed sources. If luggage capacity is decisive, take the items you actually carry—strollers, instrument cases, camera bags, or work equipment—to both vehicles. Measure the opening as well as the quoted volume: a deep trunk can still be inconvenient if the aperture is narrow or the rear seat does not fold in the way you need.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Home charging and daily ownership

What BMW includes

BMW says the i4 includes a Flexible Fast Charger and a NEMA 14-50 adapter. BMW also describes a Wallbox capable of Level 2 charging up to 9.6 kW. Fixed home charging equipment requires installation by a certified electrician; BMW identifies Qmerit as an optional premium installation service. The inclusion of portable equipment can reduce the number of items a new owner must source immediately, but it does not eliminate the need to check your electrical system.

What is established for the Mercedes

The Mercedes U.S. material establishes 11.5-kW AC charging for the C 400. It does not establish that a home charger is included in the vehicle purchase. Ask the dealer for the exact cable and adapter list for your market and trim rather than assuming the European or BMW equipment package applies.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before buying a Level 2 EV charger

If you are shopping for a Level 2 EV charger, verify the connector, amperage, electrical-service capacity, circuit length, indoor or outdoor rating, installation requirements, and vehicle compatibility. Have an electrician inspect the panel before you budget for equipment. Your utility’s time-of-use tariff, local permit rules, and any incentive can change the cost of home charging more than a small difference in the vehicle’s onboard AC rate.

Best Value
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Fast Portable & Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable, Adjustable Current/Delay Chargin for J1772 EVs
  • ✅【Fast & Adjustable Charging Power – Up to 7.68kWh, 16A–32A Output】This Level 2 portable EV charger delivers up to 32A and 7.68kWh for fast, efficient charging. Easily adjust current based on your home circuit: 32A for 40A, 24A for 30A, or 16A for 20A breakers. Simply long-press the “A” button to change amperage when pluged in,You can easily adjust the current (16A/24A/32A) to match your home circuit — no electrician required.
  • ✅【Wide Compatibility – J1772 Connector for All Non-Tesla EVs】Equipped with a standard SAE J1772 plug, this EV charger works with most North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including models from Ford, GM, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, and more. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter (not included).
  • ✅【Smart LED Screen】You Can View real-time charging data on the LED screen: amperage, voltage, speed, and delay settings. Stay fully informed with the built-in LED display that shows real-time charging data, including amperage, voltage, charging speed, and delay settings,Easily schedule your charging sessions during off-peak hours to save on electricity bills, set custom delays, It’s all about charging smarter, not just faster
  • ✅ 【Smart Charging for Long-Term EV Care】: EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger offers flexible amperage settings ranging from 10A to 32A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A). With a simple touch of the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs. Lower amperage charging can reduce heat and extend battery health over time. Choose the current that suits your car and charging scenario — fast when you need it, gentle when you don’t.
  • ✅【Built for Safety & Durability 】The EV charger is designed to handle tough environments with NEMA Type 4/IP66-grade protection against dust and water. While it’s not recommended for installation in direct sunlight or heavy rain, it performs reliably in garages, carports, and covered outdoor areas. The 25-foot military-grade charging cable features a drop-resistant plug tested to withstand over 10,000 insertions — built to last, wherever you charge.

Price, timing, and total purchase risk

Mercedes’ September 2026 German release lists VAT-inclusive private-customer starting prices of €62,951 for the C 300 and €67,711 for the C 400. Those are Germany prices, not U.S. MSRP, and they do not predict destination charges, options, taxes, incentives, or dealer pricing in America. Mercedes’ U.S. release does not list a price for the 2027 C 400.

That missing U.S. price is more important than a simple spreadsheet gap. It affects whether the Mercedes qualifies for a buyer’s budget, how it compares with an i4 lease or finance offer, and whether an option such as the Hyperscreen or AIRMATIC changes the value equation. Obtain a written, trim-specific quote when U.S. ordering opens.

Timing is equally concrete. If you need a car this year, the future C-Class cannot meet that requirement, regardless of its charging specifications. If you can wait until the first half of 2027, ask a Mercedes dealer when reservations, configuration, test drives, and final EPA data will be available. For the i4, confirm current inventory and the exact model year; the BMW FAQ’s charging statement is for 2025, while the model overview identifies 2026 cars.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which one fits your situation?

Choose the BMW i4 when immediate availability matters

  • You need to purchase or lease in the United States before the Mercedes launch window.
  • You want a preliminary U.S. EPA-procedure range estimate to use in route and ownership planning now.
  • You value the included Flexible Fast Charger and NEMA 14-50 adapter as part of the initial ownership package.
  • You can accept that the reviewed material does not establish a final, directly comparable 2026 charging result or cargo measurement.

Wait for the Mercedes when charging and potential range lead

  • You can wait for expected U.S. deliveries in the first half of 2027.
  • A 94-kWh usable battery, up to 330-kW DC input, and a published 22-minute 10–80% target are central to your road-trip priorities.
  • You want the announced C 400’s 483 hp, 590 lb-ft, standard all-wheel drive, and Mercedes comfort options.
  • You are prepared to wait for the U.S. EPA range, price, final equipment, and real dealer availability before making a financial commitment.

Do not decide from the range headline alone

  • Compare EPA with EPA and WLTP with WLTP; do not place the 762-kilometer WLTP figure beside BMW’s U.S. miles estimate as though they were one test.
  • Compare the same drivetrain, wheel, and tire configuration.
  • Use the charging curve and a realistic route, not only the maximum-kilowatt figure.
  • Check rear-seat fit, visibility, controls, trunk opening, and your own charging location in person.

A practical comparison checklist

  1. Set your deadline. Write down when you must have the car. A deadline before the Mercedes’ stated U.S. launch window makes the i4 the practical vehicle to investigate first.
  2. Specify the exact trims. Record i4 eDrive40 or xDrive40, model year, wheel and tire package, and every Mercedes option you would actually order.
  3. Request official numbers. Ask for the Mercedes EPA range and U.S. MSRP when released, and ask the BMW retailer which range estimate and charging specification apply to the vehicle in stock.
  4. Audit home power. Confirm panel capacity, outlet location, cable reach, permits, installation labor, utility rates, and whether a portable charger or wallbox is included.
  5. Plan your longest regular trip. Estimate highway distance, winter conditions, passenger load, luggage, and charging stops. Leave a buffer instead of treating the advertised maximum range as a trip minimum.
  6. Inspect the cars together. Sit in every seat, test the controls, load your normal cargo, examine the trunk opening, and drive the same route if both are available.
  7. Compare the complete transaction. Include destination charges, options, taxes, financing or lease terms, insurance, home-charging work, incentives, and expected delivery date.
  8. Keep the paperwork aligned. Make sure the quote, window sticker, charging equipment list, and promised delivery configuration all identify the same model year and trim.

What is still unknown

The Mercedes U.S. EPA range and U.S. price are not published in the cited launch material. BMW’s recently released-model range figures may await full EPA certification, and the reviewed BMW overview page does not establish a complete specification set for every 2026 trim. No independent side-by-side road test, real-world efficiency measurement, ride evaluation, or directly comparable BMW cargo test was established.

Those gaps do not make the comparison useless; they define what can responsibly be concluded today. Mercedes has the stronger published charging specification and a potentially significant long-distance case, while BMW offers the clearer near-term U.S. purchasing path. The final choice should wait for the Mercedes certification and price if those are decisive to your budget or route planning.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

BMW i4Electric Carselectric sedansEV chargingEV comparisonMercedes-Benz C-Class EV

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.