The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →There is no defensible overall winner from the published figures alone. Mercedes-Benz quotes the forthcoming C 400 4MATIC electric at up to 762 km on the WLTP cycle, while Tesla quotes U.S. EPA estimates for four Model 3 versions. Those test cycles are not interchangeable, so the Mercedes headline number cannot be treated as an EPA result or as proof that it will travel farther in American driving.
The charging claims are also measured differently. Mercedes describes kilometres added in 10 minutes; Tesla describes miles added in 15 minutes and says its estimate uses constant-speed data. Tesla publishes a detailed cargo breakdown, whereas Mercedes has announced a 101-litre frunk but not a comparable U.S. total. For a buyer, the right choice depends on the exact trim, route, charging access, arrival date and the shape of the luggage you carry.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The comparison in one view
The Mercedes-Benz figure available for the United States concerns the all-new C 400 4MATIC electric, which Mercedes-Benz Media USA said should reach dealerships in the first half of 2027. Tesla’s figures are current U.S. specifications for several Model 3 configurations. This is therefore a comparison between a future U.S. Mercedes configuration and a currently listed Tesla range, not a same-day test of two cars on the same road.
- Range: Mercedes publishes a WLTP maximum; Tesla publishes EPA estimates. Use the values within their own test systems, not as a direct ranking.
- Charging: Mercedes’ 10-minute claim and Tesla’s 15-minute claims use different intervals, units and disclosed assumptions. They do not establish a controlled winner.
- Practicality: Tesla supplies total and split cargo figures. Mercedes supplies a frunk figure and describes a variable boot, but the cited U.S. announcement does not give total cargo volume.
- Timing: Model 3 availability is current in the United States; Mercedes’ cited U.S. arrival is planned for the first half of 2027.
All figures below are manufacturer-published specifications, not independent road-test results.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
What versions and markets are actually being compared?
Trim and market labels matter more here than the badges. The Mercedes range figure comes from the April 20, 2026 Mercedes-Benz Media USA announcement for the C 400 4MATIC electric. It specifies a 94 kWh usable battery and quotes a maximum WLTP range. It is not a U.S. EPA rating, and Mercedes has not yet published the final U.S. pricing, connector details or EPA range in the cited material.
Tesla’s U.S. Model 3 page lists four versions: Standard, Premium AWD, Premium RWD and Performance. Each has its own EPA estimate and charging figures. A Model 3 buyer therefore needs to identify the exact version before comparing it with the Mercedes headline specification.
Mercedes also announced a C 300 4MATIC electric for Europe on September 16, 2026. That announcement quotes an 85 kWh usable battery, up to 690 km WLTP and up to 290 km recharged in 10 minutes. Those are European variant figures and should not be substituted for the announced U.S. C 400 specifications.
Range: WLTP and EPA answer different questions
WLTP and EPA testing are different procedures with different assumptions. A larger WLTP number is not evidence of a larger EPA number, and neither laboratory estimate guarantees a particular result on a cold, windy motorway or a high-speed route. The most useful comparison is to keep each vehicle’s number attached to its cycle, market and trim.
| Vehicle/version | Published range | Test cycle and market | Battery information |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC electric | Up to 762 km | WLTP; U.S. launch announcement for the forthcoming model | 94 kWh usable |
| Tesla Model 3 Standard | 321 miles | EPA estimate; United States | Not stated on the cited specification |
| Tesla Model 3 Premium AWD | 346 miles | EPA estimate; United States | Not stated on the cited specification |
| Tesla Model 3 Premium RWD | 363 miles | EPA estimate; United States | Not stated on the cited specification |
| Tesla Model 3 Performance | 309 miles | EPA estimate; United States | Not stated on the cited specification |
| Mercedes-Benz C 300 4MATIC electric | Up to 690 km | WLTP; Europe, announced September 16, 2026 | 85 kWh usable |
The Tesla page warns that actual range and charging performance vary with configuration, state of charge, battery temperature, speed, weather and elevation change, among other factors. That warning is important when converting a published estimate into a travel plan: sustained high speed, cold weather, headwinds, steep climbs and a high battery state of charge can all reduce the distance or charging rate you see.
How to read the Mercedes number
The 762 km figure is a manufacturer maximum for the C 400 4MATIC electric under WLTP. It should be quoted as “up to” and kept in kilometres with the WLTP label. It does not establish how the U.S. version will be rated by the EPA, what wheel-and-tire combination will be standard, or how far the car will travel on an American highway at a chosen speed.
Rank #2
- Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
- Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
- Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
- Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
- Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.
How to choose between Model 3 versions
Within Tesla’s own EPA results, the Premium RWD has the highest listed estimate, followed by Premium AWD, Standard and Performance. That ordering applies only to the listed U.S. configurations and EPA estimates. Performance, weather, wheel selection and route conditions can change real-world energy use, so the highest laboratory number is not automatically the best choice for every trip.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Use one route, not one headline
For a meaningful shopping exercise, select a representative journey and record its distance, motorway share, temperature range, elevation and normal cruising speed. Then apply a conservative buffer to each vehicle’s market-specific estimate. This is more useful than converting 762 km WLTP into miles and placing it beside an EPA number as if both came from the same test.
Charging: the claims are not a head-to-head test
Mercedes says the C 400’s 800-volt system and 94 kWh usable battery can add up to 325 km of range in 10 minutes. The statement is a manufacturer claim and does not mean every charger, battery temperature or state of charge will produce that result.
Tesla publishes a maximum Supercharging power for each Model 3 version and a range-added figure for a 15-minute session. Tesla says the range-added estimate is based on constant-speed data. That qualification means the number is not simply a universal promise of miles delivered during every real charging stop.
| Vehicle/version | Published maximum charging power | Published range added | Interval and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC electric | 800-volt system; peak power not stated in the cited announcement | Up to 325 km | 10 minutes; Mercedes manufacturer claim |
| Tesla Model 3 Standard | 225 kW Supercharging | Up to 170 miles | 15 minutes; Tesla constant-speed data basis |
| Tesla Model 3 Premium AWD | 250 kW Supercharging | Up to 185 miles | 15 minutes; Tesla constant-speed data basis |
| Tesla Model 3 Premium RWD | 250 kW Supercharging | Up to 195 miles | 15 minutes; Tesla constant-speed data basis |
| Tesla Model 3 Performance | 250 kW Supercharging | Up to 162 miles | 15 minutes; Tesla constant-speed data basis |
Because one claim covers 10 minutes and the others cover 15, one uses kilometres and the others miles, and the vehicles and assumptions differ, the table cannot identify a source-backed charging-speed winner. Peak kilowatts are only one part of a stop: the charging curve, battery temperature, starting state of charge, station sharing, the car’s connector and the network on your route determine how much energy you actually receive.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What to check before buying the Mercedes
The cited U.S. announcement does not establish the final U.S. connector, a public-network agreement, or a complete charging curve. Those details should be confirmed in the U.S. order guide or owner’s documentation before you rely on the 10-minute statement for a regular trip. Ask specifically about the connector used at American dealerships, supported DC charging sites, maximum AC home-charging rate and the conditions behind the published range-added claim.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
What to check with a Model 3
Match the Tesla version to the charging figure you are using. A Standard’s 225 kW maximum is not the same specification as a Premium or Performance car’s 250 kW maximum. Plan around the Supercharger locations on your actual route and allow for the fact that a battery near full, a cold pack or a busy site may reduce the rate below the published maximum.
Home charging changes the decision
If most charging happens overnight, a dependable home installation can matter more than a short public-session headline. The supplied specifications do not name a particular charger or establish U.S. electrical requirements for the Mercedes. Have an electrician verify the service, circuit capacity, connector and local permitting for the exact vehicle and charger you intend to use.
Practicality: Tesla publishes a full cargo breakdown; Mercedes does not yet
The available luggage data are asymmetric. Tesla states 24 cubic feet of cargo space on its U.S. Model 3 page. The U.S. owner’s manual gives an approximate split: 3.1 cubic feet (88 litres) in the front trunk and 21 cubic feet (594 litres) behind the second row. It also lists 24.1 cubic feet (682 litres) as the maximum total cargo volume with five passengers. Tesla cautions that these dimensions are approximate and can vary.
Mercedes describes the electric C-Class as having a variable boot and gives the C 400 a 101-litre frunk. The cited U.S. launch announcement does not provide a total cargo figure or a directly comparable rear-boot measurement. It would be inaccurate to infer a winner from the frunk numbers alone.
| Practicality item | Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC electric | Tesla Model 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Front storage | 101 litres | Approximately 3.1 cu ft (88 L) |
| Rear cargo behind second row | Not stated in the cited U.S. announcement | Approximately 21 cu ft (594 L) |
| Total cargo | Not stated in the cited U.S. announcement | 24 cu ft on the product page; approximately 24.1 cu ft (682 L) maximum in the owner’s manual |
| Measurement caveat | No comparable total measurement supplied | Tesla says manual dimensions are approximate and may vary |
Volume is not the same as usable space
A stroller, tall suitcase, folded wheelchair, musical instrument or sports equipment can be limited by opening height, hinge intrusion, floor length and the shape of the sidewalls. A nominally larger compartment may be less useful for a particular object. The Mercedes’ “variable boot” description is not enough to determine how a specific item will fit, and Tesla’s cubic-foot figures do not describe every opening dimension.
A practical dealership test
- Bring the largest item you regularly carry, rather than relying on a brochure measurement.
- Load it into the rear compartment with the seats in your normal passenger configuration.
- Check whether the opening accepts it without tilting, and whether the lid or hatch clears the object.
- Use the frunk for charging cables or smaller equipment and note how easily it can be reached when the rear is full.
- For mobility aids, child seats or pet crates, verify the floor height, tie-down points and second-row access in the exact car.
This process answers the practical question the published cubic-foot figures cannot: whether your own luggage fits without rearranging the cabin.
Rank #4
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Availability and buying timing
Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC electric
Mercedes-Benz Media USA said U.S. dealerships should receive the C 400 4MATIC electric in the first half of 2027. Until cars are available with final U.S. specifications, shoppers cannot confirm the local EPA range, transaction price, connector, option-dependent wheel sizes or total cargo measurement from the cited announcement. A reservation or early expression of interest should not be treated as a finalized specification sheet.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteTesla Model 3
Tesla’s U.S. product page lists the four Model 3 configurations used in this comparison. The page supplies variant-specific EPA range, Supercharging power and 15-minute range-added estimates, allowing a buyer to compare a currently listed configuration with an actual route today.
European C 300 is a separate specification
The September 16, 2026 European announcement is useful evidence that Mercedes is expanding the electric C-Class range, but its C 300 figures are not U.S. order information. Do not use the European battery, range or charging numbers to estimate what an American C 300—or any other future U.S. trim—will deliver.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to make a fair personal comparison
Use this sequence when the Mercedes reaches your market or when you are deciding whether to wait.
- Fix the versions. Write down “C 400 4MATIC electric” or the confirmed U.S. Mercedes trim and one specific Model 3 version. Do not compare a Mercedes maximum with a Tesla range chosen from a different trim.
- Keep the test cycles visible. Record the Mercedes value as WLTP and the Tesla value as EPA. Do not present a converted WLTP number as an EPA-equivalent result.
- Describe your route. Include one-way distance, return distance, speed, temperature, elevation and likely traffic. A route with no reliable fast charger may favor a car with more convenient stops even if its laboratory range is lower.
- Map charging stops. Identify the networks, connector types, opening hours and payment method available where you drive. Count the time to leave the motorway, park, start the session and rejoin traffic, not just the advertised plug-in interval.
- Use a safety buffer. Keep additional charge for weather, detours, congestion and a closed or occupied station. The manufacturers’ maximum range-added claims are not a substitute for a route plan.
- Measure your cargo. Take your stroller, suitcase, mobility aid or sports kit to both cars. Record the loading opening and the number of passengers you carry when the item is installed.
- Confirm U.S. details for the Mercedes. Before placing an order, obtain the final EPA label, price, connector, charging curve, wheel options and official cargo dimensions for the exact vehicle.
Which car fits which buyer?
Choose the Model 3 now when availability and known U.S. data dominate
The Model 3 is the straightforward choice for someone who needs a car in the current U.S. market and wants a published EPA figure for a selected version. Tesla also provides a quantified cargo breakdown and variant-specific Supercharging claims. Those facts make route and luggage planning possible without waiting for a future Mercedes specification.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Wait for the Mercedes when the electric C-Class format is the priority
Waiting makes sense for a buyer specifically interested in the C-Class design and the announced C 400’s 800-volt architecture, provided the first-half-2027 timing works. The Mercedes headline WLTP range and 10-minute charging claim are promising manufacturer targets, but the U.S. EPA label, final connector and complete cargo data still need to be confirmed.
Best Value
- [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
- [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
- [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
- [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
- [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.
Do not choose from the badge alone
“Mercedes versus Tesla” is too broad a question to answer with one number. Model 3 range changes by Standard, Premium AWD, Premium RWD and Performance. Mercedes’ U.S. launch figure concerns the C 400, while the separately announced European C 300 is a different market and specification. Your trim, wheels, climate, route and charging access can matter more than the brand name.
Important unanswered specifications
The cited official material leaves several items open for a U.S. buyer:
- Mercedes’ final U.S. EPA range and energy-consumption label.
- Mercedes’ U.S. purchase price, option pricing and standard wheel-and-tire combinations.
- The C 400’s U.S. charging connector and access arrangements for public fast charging.
- A complete Mercedes charging curve showing how power changes across the battery’s state of charge.
- Mercedes’ total U.S. cargo volume and standardized rear-boot measurement.
- Independent same-route testing of both cars under matching weather, speed, battery temperature and starting charge.
Until those details appear, treat the Mercedes figures as the manufacturer’s launch specifications and the Tesla figures as U.S. product-page estimates, not as the result of a controlled comparison.
Bottom line
The Tesla Model 3 is the better-documented choice for a U.S. buyer who needs an electric sedan now: its four versions have EPA range estimates, stated Supercharging figures and a published cargo breakdown. The Mercedes-Benz C 400 4MATIC electric may appeal to someone willing to wait for its announced first-half-2027 arrival and interested in its 800-volt system, 94 kWh usable battery and high WLTP headline range.
Neither source set proves that one car travels farther, charges faster or carries more useful luggage in real life. Make the decision with the exact trim, the correct test cycle, your normal route, your local charging network and the items you actually load.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




