Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

Audi e-tron GT9 MIN

Luxury electric cars in India compared: range, charging, price and features (2026)

A careful 2026 comparison of the BMW i7, Mercedes-Benz EQS, Porsche Taycan and Audi e-tron GT quattro in India, covering price basis, WLTP range, charging capability, body style and what buyers must verify locally.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you want a premium electric car in India, the shortlist separates into two very different types. The BMW i7 and Mercedes-Benz EQS are large, rear-seat-focused luxury saloons, while the Porsche Taycan and Audi e-tron GT quattro prioritise a lower, performance-oriented driving experience. The most defensible comparison uses each car’s exact India-market price basis, named range test cycle and charging window rather than treating every headline number as interchangeable.

On the evidence available in October 2026, the BMW i7 has the clearest India-specific combination of price, WLTP range and charging data. The Mercedes-Benz EQS has the lowest listed saloon starting price, but its India source does not publish a directly comparable local range figure. The Taycan has the strongest published range claim in this group, although its price evidence mixes ex-showroom and Delhi on-road figures. Audi publishes the most aggressive charging capability, while its current India price and availability still require confirmation.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Luxury electric cars in India: the comparison at a glance

Model India price evidence Published range Charging evidence What the figure means
BMW i7 xDrive60 ₹2.10 crore starting price (BMW India, checked 2026) 515–624 km WLTP on the model page; 560 km WLTP in the cited technical-data listing 10–80% DC in 34 minutes; up to 200 kW DC and 22 kW AC in the cited specification Most complete India-specific data set, but the model-page band and technical-data value refer to different published presentations.
Mercedes-Benz EQS saloon ₹1.30 crore starting price (Mercedes-Benz India, checked 2026) Not stated in the returned India sources India overview points readers to the brochure or a franchise partner for detailed local specifications. Mercedes describes a Mode 3 Type 2 cable for AC charging up to 22 kW. Lowest listed saloon entry price here, but confirm the exact local variant, equipment and range before ordering.
Mercedes-Benz EQS SUV ₹1.335 crore starting price (Mercedes-Benz India, checked 2026) Not stated in the returned India sources Detailed India charging specification not established in the cited material It is a separate body style and should not be compared with the saloons as though it were the same vehicle.
Porsche Taycan ₹2.01 crore ex-showroom starting price; Delhi on-road range reported at ₹2.14–2.92 crore (Autocar India, updated 28 September 2026) 630–668 km claimed range (Autocar India, 2026) Local charging window and variant charging specification not established in the cited source Price and range are secondary-source figures; the two price bases must not be combined.
Audi e-tron GT quattro Current India price not established in the returned source Up to 500 km WLTP (Audi India, checked 2026) 5–80% in 22.5 minutes at up to 270 kW DC; 11 kW AC standard; 800-volt system Fastest stated charging window in the supplied material, subject to a suitable high-power station and conditions.

These figures are not a laboratory shoot-out. WLTP is a standardised test-cycle claim, and the Taycan number is a reported claim rather than a directly cited manufacturer India figure. Everyday distance changes with speed, route elevation, traffic, temperature, heating or air conditioning, wheel and tyre configuration, passenger load and driving style.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to read price, range and charging claims fairly

Keep price bases separate

A manufacturer starting price, a configurator price and an on-road estimate answer different questions. Ex-showroom pricing normally excludes registration, insurance, taxes or local charges that appear in an on-road figure. A starting price can also represent a lower trim than the car shown in a brochure or showroom. Ask for a written quotation for the exact variant, city, colour, options, delivery charges and registration treatment.

Do not mix test cycles or source types

Retain the label “WLTP” whenever it is supplied. It makes a range figure more useful than an unqualified kilometre number, but it still is not a guarantee of trip distance. The BMW pages themselves show why precision matters: one page presents a 515–624 km band, while the technical-data listing gives 560 km for its listed specification. Neither should silently replace the other.

The Taycan’s 630–668 km figure is attributed to Autocar India’s 2026 listing. It should be treated as a published claim for the listed car, not as a promise that every India-market Taycan variant will achieve that distance.

Compare charging windows with the window attached

A 5–80% time covers a different amount of battery than a 10–80% time. Maximum power is also a capability, not a constant: the car and charger negotiate power, and the battery management system reduces it as the pack fills or when temperature is outside the ideal range. A 270 kW station cannot make a car charge at 270 kW if the vehicle, cable, site or battery condition limits the session.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

BMW i7 xDrive60: the most fully documented luxury-saloon choice

The i7 is the conventional chauffeur-style option in this group: a large luxury saloon whose appeal is quiet, spacious rear-seat travel rather than a low sports-car posture. BMW’s India material gives both a starting price and two forms of range information, making it easier to plan a purchase without importing figures from another market.

What the published specification tells you

The model-page range band is 515–624 km WLTP, while the technical-data page lists 560 km WLTP for the cited specification. BMW also states a 10–80% DC charging time of 34 minutes, with up to 200 kW DC and 22 kW AC capability in that technical data. The starting price is ₹2.10 crore on BMW India’s checked 2026 page.

What to verify before signing

  • Ask which exact xDrive60 equipment level and wheel-and-tyre combination the quotation uses; configuration can affect certified range.
  • Confirm whether the quoted home-charging equipment, installation survey and electrical upgrades are included or billed separately.
  • Check the location and opening hours of authorised service facilities on your regular routes, especially if the car will travel between cities.
  • Request the expected delivery date in writing; a displayed starting price does not establish stock or allocation.

Mercedes-Benz EQS: saloon comfort with a local-data gap

The EQS saloon’s India starting price is ₹1.30 crore, and the EQS SUV is listed separately from ₹1.335 crore. Those are useful entry points, but they are not evidence that the two body styles have identical equipment, battery size, ride tuning or range. The India overview directs buyers to the brochure or a franchise partner for detailed local specifications.

Charging equipment and compatibility

Mercedes-Benz India describes a Mode 3 Type 2 cable for AC charging through a wallbox or public charging station up to 22 kW. That description helps you identify the connector and charging mode to discuss with an installer. It does not establish that the cable is included with every sale, that every EQS variant accepts the full rate, or that a domestic electrical connection can deliver it. Confirm the vehicle’s onboard charger, cable supply and installation requirements on the order sheet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Questions the dealer must answer

  • What is the certified India-market range for the exact saloon or SUV variant?
  • Which driver-assistance, rear-seat comfort and audio features are standard, and which are options?
  • What AC and DC charging powers apply to that variant, and what cable comes with it?
  • What warranty coverage applies to the battery, high-voltage components and roadside assistance?

Until those answers are documented for the chosen car, do not use a foreign-market EQS range or equipment list to fill the gap.

Porsche Taycan: performance-first, with price evidence that needs care

The Taycan is the outlier in body shape and intent. Its low seating position, performance-oriented design and Porsche driving focus make it a different proposition from a rear-seat executive saloon, even when the purchase budget overlaps. The practical question is whether you value acceleration, steering and fast-road involvement more than maximum rear-seat accommodation.

Price and range context

Autocar India’s 2026 listing reports a ₹2.01 crore ex-showroom starting price and a Delhi on-road range of ₹2.14–2.92 crore. The same listing reports a claimed range of 630–668 km. Ex-showroom and on-road numbers should be kept in separate columns in any purchase calculation: the latter varies with city charges, insurance and registration, while the former does not include them.

Charging information still to confirm

The cited India material does not establish a charging window or local variant charging power for the Taycan. Ask the retailer for the exact battery and charger specification, supported DC sites on your routes, AC charging rate, cable types and the expected time for a normal travel stop. Do not infer those values from another country’s configurator.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Audi e-tron GT quattro: the strongest stated charging capability

Audi positions the e-tron GT quattro as a performance-oriented electric grand tourer rather than a traditional high-roof luxury car. Audi India’s published technical information gives an “up to 500 km” WLTP range and unusually specific charging details, but the current India price is not established in the cited source.

Charging figures and their conditions

The car is listed with an 800-volt electrical system, up to 270 kW DC charging and a 5–80% charging time of 22.5 minutes. Audi also lists 11 kW AC charging as standard. Reaching the headline DC time requires a compatible high-power charger, an appropriate battery temperature and a site that can deliver the negotiated power; a lower-powered public unit will take longer.

Confirm availability and equipment locally

Before comparing the e-tron GT with a priced rival, obtain the current ex-showroom figure, variant name, included wheels and tyres, charging cables, warranty terms and delivery status from Audi’s India channel. “Up to 500 km WLTP” is useful for cycle-to-cycle comparison, but it cannot answer whether a particular stock car is available or what it costs in your city.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Charging an expensive EV in India: a practical plan

Home charging first

Most daily charging is easier when the car is parked overnight. Have an electrician assess sanctioned load, cable route, earthing, protection devices, parking access and whether the apartment or villa association permits a dedicated point. Match the wallbox and cable to the vehicle’s onboard AC limit; buying a higher-rated unit does not make the car accept more power.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use DC charging for travel, not every top-up

High-power DC charging is valuable on intercity journeys because it can add useful energy during a meal or rest stop. Plan around the connector, charger uptime, payment method, opening hours and a backup location. The stated BMW and Audi times cover different battery windows, so they are not a direct stopwatch comparison.

Carry the right cable

A Type 2 Mode 3 AC cable is relevant when using compatible wallboxes and public AC points. Check the vehicle inlet, cable rating, phase configuration and charger socket before buying or relying on one. A cable description alone does not prove that it is supplied with a particular car.

Which luxury electric car suits which buyer?

Choose the BMW i7 when documentation and rear-seat luxury lead

The i7 is the easiest of the four to evaluate from India-specific published material. It suits an owner who wants a full-size saloon, chauffeur-friendly comfort and a clearly stated DC charging window, while accepting that certified range is presented in more than one way.

Choose the Mercedes-Benz EQS when the saloon’s cabin is the priority

The EQS saloon has the lowest listed starting price among the two flagship saloons in the supplied India pricing, but the missing local range figure makes dealer verification especially important. It is a sensible shortlist candidate for buyers who prefer its cabin and brand ecosystem and are prepared to obtain a detailed variant quotation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the Porsche Taycan for a performance-led driving position

The Taycan fits drivers who see an electric car as a sports sedan or grand tourer first. Budget using the on-road figure for your city, then verify the exact battery and charging specification rather than relying on the published range claim alone.

Choose the Audi e-tron GT quattro for high-rate charging potential

The Audi’s stated 800-volt architecture and high-power DC capability appeal to owners who make frequent highway trips and can access suitable chargers. Its unresolved India price and availability mean it should remain a conditional choice until the local quotation is in hand.

Buying checklist for a luxury EV in India

  1. Write down the exact model, variant, body style and model year on the quotation.
  2. Separate ex-showroom, insurance, registration, accessories and on-road totals.
  3. Record the range test cycle and the source date next to every range number.
  4. Ask for AC and DC power, charging windows, connector type and included cables.
  5. Test the intended charging route, including at least one backup DC site.
  6. Inspect rear-seat space, boot capacity, ride comfort and visibility with the people who will actually use the car.
  7. Confirm battery and high-voltage warranty wording, service intervals, roadside assistance and software support.
  8. Get written confirmation of standard versus optional equipment; do not assume a brochure image represents the base car.
  9. Check delivery timing and cancellation or deposit terms before making a payment.

Bottom line

There is no single winner across price, range, charging and luxury. The BMW i7 is the most straightforwardly documented India-market option; the Mercedes-Benz EQS offers a compelling saloon entry price but requires more specification work; the Porsche Taycan is the performance choice with mixed price bases; and the Audi e-tron GT quattro has the most ambitious stated charging hardware while its local price remains to be confirmed. Compare like with like, insist on the exact India variant in writing and treat every test-cycle range as a planning reference rather than a guaranteed journey distance.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Audi e-tron GTBMW i7Electric cars in IndiaEV chargingEV rangeluxury electric carsMercedes-Benz EQSPorsche Taycan

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.