Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Get listed

Car Buying Guide11 MIN

Kia Syros EV vs Tata Nexon EV: Which Electric SUV Suits Your Needs?

A practical Kia Syros EV versus Tata Nexon.ev comparison covering certified range, charger ratings, variant pricing, space, equipment and first-user battery-warranty terms.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: choose the Kia Syros EV if its advertised 526 km ARAI MIDC-Full range, available 51.4 kWh battery, larger claimed boot and higher-trim technology match your long-distance and equipment priorities. Choose the Tata Nexon.ev 45 if its 45 kWh configuration, 489 km ARAI-certified claim, Mumbai-listed price and first-user battery-warranty terms fit your budget and ownership plan better. Neither manufacturer figure proves a real-world range or reliability winner, and the prices shown are not a same-city, same-trim comparison.

Kia Syros EV vs Tata Nexon EV at a glance

Both are compact electric SUVs aimed at buyers who want an everyday family vehicle with an elevated driving position. The useful choice is not simply “526 km versus 489 km.” The numbers use different test-cycle descriptions, the Tata figure comes from a different source date, and neither is a controlled road test. Your decision should start with the exact variant price, access to home charging, the length of your regular trips, rear-seat and luggage requirements, and the warranty conditions you can meet.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Item Kia Syros EV Tata Nexon.ev 45
Published certified range 526 km ARAI MIDC-Full; Kia India showroom-page claim with a test-cycle footnote 489 km ARAI MIDC Part 1 + Part 2; Tata.ev current specification-page claim
Additional range indication Not stated 350–375 km C75 estimate in Tata’s 2024 Nexon.ev 45 & MR brochure; an estimate, not an independent test
Battery options shown 42 kWh and 51.4 kWh, depending on trim 45 kWh configuration shown on the current specification page
Maximum stated power 171 PS, manufacturer claim 106 kW motor and 215 Nm, as stated by Tata for the 45 kWh car
DC charging claim Approximately 39 minutes from 10–80% on a 100 kW charger; Kia says battery condition, charger specification and ambient temperature affect time 40 minutes from 10–80% on a 60 kW charger in Tata’s 2024 brochure
Dimensions (length × width × height) 3,995 mm × 1,805 mm; height not stated on the cited Syros EV specification material 3,995 mm × 1,802 mm × 1,625 mm
Boot capacity Up to 465 litres on specified configurations; the specification page also lists 390 litres on some configurations 350 litres
Prices shown by manufacturer ₹13,49,900–₹19,99,900 ex-showroom across seven listed trims; verify current city availability and quote ₹14,34,000 and ₹16,34,000 ex-showroom for shown Mumbai configurations; not universal India prices
Battery-warranty wording First user: 15 years with unlimited kilometres, subject to conditions; second user: 8 years/160,000 km; commercial use excluded First registration: 15 years with unlimited distance under fair-use and personal-use conditions; second user: 8 years/160,000 km

Price, trims and the cost you will actually pay

Syros EV pricing

Kia India’s current variant comparison lists seven Syros EV trims from ₹13,49,900 to ₹19,99,900 ex-showroom. Those are manufacturer-listed ex-showroom amounts, not on-road prices. Registration, insurance, taxes, accessories, a home charger and installation can materially change the amount on your quotation. Trim availability and local pricing can also change, so treat the range as a guide to the current list rather than a guaranteed booking price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Kia has also used battery-as-a-service and introductory buy-back language in its Syros EV material. Such arrangements are governed by their own terms and may be time-limited. Ask the dealer to show the current written terms, the battery payment structure, eligibility, mileage assumptions and exit conditions before comparing them with a conventional purchase.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Nexon.ev pricing

Tata.ev’s current Nexon.ev specification page shows ₹16,34,000 ex-showroom in Mumbai for one displayed configuration and ₹14,34,000 for another. The page does not make either figure a universal all-India price. They may represent different equipment or battery configurations, and they should not be treated as a direct same-city comparison with every Syros EV trim.

How to make a fair quote comparison

  1. Write down the exact battery and trim name for each car, not only “Syros EV” or “Nexon EV.”
  2. Request an itemised ex-showroom, registration, insurance, fast-charging equipment, home-wall-box and installation quote in your city.
  3. Ask whether a quoted discount, buy-back promise or BaaS offer is introductory, tied to finance, or limited to a particular stock period.
  4. Compare the final on-road totals and the included equipment. A cheaper base car can lose its advantage once a charger, desired safety feature or upgraded battery is added.

Range: what the certified figures do and do not tell you

Syros EV’s 526 km claim

Kia India advertises a 526 km ARAI MIDC-Full certified range for the Syros EV. Kia’s current specifications show 42 kWh and 51.4 kWh battery choices across the range. The 526 km number is a laboratory certification-cycle result, not a promise that every driver will travel that distance between charges. Speed, air-conditioning use, traffic, temperature, payload, tyre pressure and battery state all affect consumption.

Kia describes the product on its showroom page as: “The Kia Syros EV pairs a best-in-segment 526 km* certified range with bold SUV design, advanced safety, and intuitive connectivity – built to remove every doubt that comes with going electric.” The asterisk is important: the figure is tied to Kia’s stated ARAI MIDC-Full qualification.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Nexon.ev’s 489 km claim and C75 estimate

Tata.ev’s current specification page lists 489 km ARAI-certified range using MIDC Part 1 + Part 2 for the 45 kWh Nexon.ev. Tata’s 2024 Nexon.ev 45 & MR brochure separately gives a 350–375 km C75 estimate for the 45 kWh model. C75 is Tata’s estimate, not an independently measured result, so it should not be presented as a universal real-world range.

Why the two numbers cannot declare a winner

The Kia number is labelled ARAI MIDC-Full, while Tata labels its current-page result ARAI MIDC Part 1 + Part 2. The source dates and test descriptions differ. There is no matched independent road test establishing how far either vehicle travels in identical traffic, weather and speed conditions. Use the certified figures to understand each manufacturer’s claimed position, then size your purchase around your own routine.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
  • If your weekday driving is 40–60 km and you can charge overnight, either published range is likely to provide a large buffer for normal use.
  • If you regularly travel between cities, map reliable DC stations on the actual route and plan a charging stop rather than relying on the headline number.
  • If the car will carry five people and luggage in hot weather, expect a larger consumption penalty than a lightly loaded laboratory cycle.

Charging speed, home charging and route planning

DC charging claims under different charger ratings

Kia states approximately 39 minutes for a 10–80% DC session when using a 100 kW charger. Kia also notes that battery condition, charger specifications and ambient temperature affect the result. Tata’s 2024 brochure states 40 minutes for 10–80% on a 60 kW DC charger for the 45 kWh Nexon.ev. Because the charger ratings are different, the times are not a controlled comparison. A station delivering less power than the vehicle can accept, a busy site, a cold or hot battery, or a taper near 80% can all extend the stop.

Charging at home

Overnight AC charging is the ownership advantage that matters most for many EV drivers. Before paying a deposit, have an electrician or the manufacturer’s installation partner check your parking space, meter capacity, cable route, earthing and apartment-society permissions. Tata lists home-charging and AC wall-box options. Kia states that a charger is not standard fitment and is sold separately as an accessory. Confirm the connector, power rating, cable length, warranty and installation scope for the exact vehicle variant.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Public charging and navigation

Kia promotes K-Charge access through MyKia and EV route planning. Kia’s terms say it facilitates charging services but does not warrant third-party charger availability or operation. Station counts, uptime and payment requirements change, so check the app and the stations along your real routes immediately before a trip. Do not assume that a listed location has the required connector, power or an available bay.

A practical charging routine

  1. Estimate your weekly kilometres and identify where the car can remain parked for several hours.
  2. Arrange a home AC installation if your parking and electrical supply allow it; get the total installed price in writing.
  3. For intercity travel, identify at least one primary and one backup DC station at sensible intervals.
  4. Leave a reserve for detours, weather and a non-operational charger instead of planning to arrive at zero.
  5. Use the vehicle’s live state-of-charge and charger status rather than a route written weeks earlier.

Space, rear-seat comfort and everyday practicality

Exterior dimensions

Both cars are 3,995 mm long. Kia lists the Syros EV at 1,805 mm wide; Tata lists the Nexon.ev at 1,802 mm wide and 1,625 mm high. The three-millimetre width difference is insignificant in a parking decision, but the stated dimensions do not reveal seat shape, door opening, visibility or turning behaviour. A test sit and a familiar parking space remain more useful than the numbers alone.

Boot capacity

Kia’s material gives up to 465 litres of boot capacity on specified Syros EV configurations and also lists 390 litres on some configurations. Tata lists 350 litres for the Nexon.ev. These are manufacturer figures, and luggage-measurement methods can differ, so do not assume that every Syros EV trim has the 465-litre layout. Take your largest suitcase, child seat, stroller or work equipment to the dealership and test the actual configuration.

Rank #3
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

Rear seating

Kia highlights sliding and reclining rear seats on specified Syros EV trims. That can let you trade rear legroom for luggage space, or create more knee room when the boot is lightly loaded. The feature is trim-specific; verify its presence on the car you are ordering. Tata’s listed boot figure alone does not establish which vehicle will feel roomier for your family. Sit behind your normal driving position, check headroom, and try entering through both rear doors.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Equipment, safety and technology by trim

Kia highlights a panoramic sunroof on selected variants, ADAS Level 2, a 360-degree camera and vehicle-to-load (V2L) on the X-Line ER. These are not stated as standard across every Syros EV trim. Confirm the exact equipment sheet, because a feature shown in a launch or top-trim presentation may not be available on the less expensive battery or variant.

The supplied Tata specifications establish the 45 kWh battery, 106 kW motor and 215 Nm torque, but do not establish a like-for-like equipment list against each Syros EV trim. Avoid choosing on a generic “features” count. Compare the safety and convenience items you will actually use: driver-assistance hardware, camera coverage, parking sensors, child-seat access, charging controls, climate operation and the quality of the local service response.

  • Choose the Syros EV’s upper trims if ADAS Level 2, a 360-degree camera, V2L or the panoramic roof is important and the specific X-Line ER equipment is available in your city.
  • Choose on verified equipment rather than brochure language when comparing an entry Syros EV with a better-equipped Nexon.ev, or vice versa.
  • Check software and connectivity in person: pair your phone, test navigation and inspect how charging status and scheduled charging are displayed.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Battery warranty and long-term ownership

Syros EV battery coverage

Kia India’s Syros EV terms describe a first-user lifetime high-voltage battery warranty as 15 years with unlimited kilometres, subject to conditions. For a second user, the stated coverage is 8 years or 160,000 km. The terms exclude commercial use. “Lifetime” here means the stated 15-year period, not an unlimited duration, and eligibility depends on the current warranty document.

Nexon.ev battery coverage

Tata’s high-voltage battery warranty page defines lifetime as 15 years from first registration. It states unlimited distance for the first registration under fair-use and personal-use conditions, followed by 8 years or 160,000 km for the second user. The first-user conditions matter: a vehicle used commercially may not receive the same treatment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

Questions to ask before signing

  • Does the warranty transfer automatically when the vehicle is sold, and what paperwork or inspection is required?
  • What battery-capacity threshold, diagnostic test or charging-history condition applies to a claim?
  • Which uses are considered commercial, fleet, taxi or rental operation?
  • Are roadside assistance, the onboard charger, charging cable and other high-voltage components covered separately?
  • Which service centres in your area are authorised to diagnose and repair the high-voltage system?

The vehicle warranty and the high-voltage battery warranty are separate. Read the current detailed documents for exclusions, capacity coverage, transferability and service requirements instead of treating either headline “lifetime” phrase as unconditional.

Which SUV suits which buyer?

Pick the Kia Syros EV when these priorities lead

  • You want the higher published certified-range figure and understand that 526 km is an ARAI MIDC-Full test-cycle claim.
  • You need the option of a 51.4 kWh battery, or the 42 kWh version is a better match for your budget and charging routine.
  • You regularly carry luggage and the exact trim you want has the 465-litre boot configuration or sliding rear seat.
  • You specifically value available features such as ADAS Level 2, a 360-degree camera, V2L or a panoramic roof and are willing to buy the trim that includes them.
  • Your use is personal rather than commercial, allowing the stated first-user battery-warranty terms to apply subject to all conditions.

Pick the Tata Nexon.ev 45 when these priorities lead

  • You prefer a clearly identified 45 kWh configuration with Tata’s 489 km ARAI MIDC Part 1 + Part 2 claim.
  • The displayed Mumbai ex-showroom configuration and your local quote produce a better final budget after equipment and charging costs.
  • You value the published 15-year first-registration battery coverage, including unlimited distance under fair-use and personal-use conditions, and have checked the transfer rules.
  • Your expected boot load fits 350 litres and you do not need the Syros EV’s stated sliding/reclining-seat or larger-boot configurations.
  • Your local Tata service and charging support are more convenient than the Kia alternatives for the routes you actually drive.

When neither headline advantage should decide the purchase

Do not pay extra for a theoretical range buffer if you cannot charge at home and your regular public chargers are unreliable. Conversely, do not choose the lower quote if the trim lacks the camera, driver assistance, rear-seat flexibility or charging equipment your family needs. A 10-minute showroom drive also cannot establish ride comfort, highway efficiency, resale value or long-term reliability; those remain unproven by the manufacturer figures listed here.

A buyer’s inspection and test-drive checklist

  1. Verify identity: photograph the vehicle’s VIN, battery size, trim name and software version on the car you are being offered.
  2. Check the quote: separate ex-showroom, registration, insurance, accessories, charger and installation; note the city and quote date.
  3. Test the seats: have every regular passenger sit in the rear, adjust the front seats, and check child-seat anchors and door access.
  4. Test the boot: load your largest everyday items and confirm whether the quoted 390/465-litre Syros EV or 350-litre Nexon.ev layout is the one on the car.
  5. Inspect charging: locate the charge port, confirm AC and DC connector details, check cable storage and ask to see the charge-rate display.
  6. Test driver aids: try the 360-degree camera, parking sensors, adaptive or lane-assistance controls where fitted, and understand their limitations.
  7. Confirm installation: obtain a written home-charger survey and identify who pays for electrical upgrades or building permissions.
  8. Read warranty terms: get the current battery and vehicle warranty documents, including fair-use, commercial-use, transfer and capacity clauses.
  9. Map service: identify the nearest authorised workshop and the next one on your regular intercity route.
  10. Plan a real trip: use the manufacturer app or route planner to check stations, connectors, opening status and a backup stop.

Bottom line for the Syros EV versus Nexon.ev decision

The Syros EV has the stronger published specification story: a 526 km ARAI MIDC-Full claim, up to a 51.4 kWh battery, a stated maximum boot of 465 litres and a broad set of higher-trim features. The Nexon.ev 45 offers a distinct 45 kWh configuration, a 489 km ARAI MIDC Part 1 + Part 2 claim, a Tata C75 estimate of 350–375 km and clearly stated first-registration battery coverage. Those facts point to different strengths, not a universal winner.

Make the final choice only after matching the exact trim, city quote, charger installation, route charging and warranty eligibility to your circumstances. The published range and charging times are manufacturer claims under specified cycles or charger ratings; they do not establish real-world range, comfort, reliability, resale or total ownership cost for every driver.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Car Buying Guideelectric SUVsEV chargingEV rangeKia Syros EVTata Nexon EV

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.