For UK buyers, the Kia EV3 is the stronger candidate if your priority is the longest published WLTP range and a shorter headline DC charging estimate. The Hyundai Kona Electric deserves closer attention if its documented UK trim prices, narrower body or longer exterior suit your needs. Neither is an objective overall winner from manufacturer specifications alone: battery and wheel configuration, your charging access, insurance quote and a test drive should decide the purchase.
What this comparison covers
This is a UK-market comparison using the current manufacturer information available for the Kia EV3 and Hyundai Kona Electric. The figures are not all from the same model year or test configuration, so check the live configurator before ordering. In particular, range varies with battery, trim and wheel choice; prices and equipment can change; and WLTP figures are laboratory estimates rather than independent real-world tests.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The Kia figures come from the Kia EV3 specification page. Hyundai range and charging data come from its Kona Electric performance page, while UK trim prices and the warranty summary are on the Kona Electric trims and prices page. Hyundai’s launch announcement supplies the published Kona body measurements, but it is a historical release and should be checked against the current model year.
At-a-glance: the figures that matter
| Item | Kia EV3 (UK) | Hyundai Kona Electric (UK) | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery options in the cited specification | 58.3 kWh standard range; 81.4 kWh long range | 65.4 kWh long-range battery cited | Do not compare a smaller EV3 battery with the Kona long-range version as if they were equivalent. |
| Maximum published WLTP range | Up to 375 miles, configuration and wheel dependent | Up to 319 miles for the 65.4 kWh long-range configuration | The EV3 has the higher UK headline figure in the cited specifications. |
| Published 10–80% DC time | 31 minutes for long-range EV3 under Kia’s specified high-power condition | 41 minutes for the long-range battery using a 102 kW DC charger | These are conditional estimates, not universal results at every rapid charger. |
| UK starting prices shown in the cited pages | Not stated in the sources used here | £35,000 Advance; £37,000 N Line; £39,400 N Line S and Ultimate | The Kona has a documented price ladder here; a same-date EV3 value comparison still requires a live quote. |
| Exterior dimensions | 4,300 mm long and 1,850 mm wide; GT-Line length listed as 4,310 mm | 4,350 mm long, 1,825 mm wide and 2,660 mm wheelbase in Hyundai’s launch specification | The Kona is longer; the EV3 is wider. Exterior dimensions do not prove which cabin or boot is more useful. |
| Warranty information verified here | Matching current Kia UK warranty terms were not verified | Five-year unlimited-mileage vehicle warranty and eight-year battery warranty, subject to the full terms | Read both manufacturers’ warranty documents before treating coverage as a deciding factor. |
Range and battery choice
EV3: two battery sizes, one standout long-range figure
Kia lists a 58.3 kWh standard-range EV3 and an 81.4 kWh long-range version. Its specification page shows up to 375 miles WLTP combined for a long-range configuration. Kia ties the maximum to the relevant variant and wheel combination, so the number should not be applied to every EV3 sold.
#1 Best Overall
- Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
- Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
- Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
- Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
- Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.
The battery decision changes the car’s purpose. The standard-range model may be sufficient for a predictable commute with home charging, while the long-range model is the one to examine if you regularly drive between cities or want more buffer in cold weather. The larger battery normally adds cost and mass, and the exact equipment and wheel choice can alter the official range; obtain the figure for the precise vehicle you are configuring.
Kona Electric: a 65.4 kWh long-range version
Hyundai UK lists a 65.4 kWh long-range Kona Electric with up to 319 miles WLTP. That is a manufacturer figure for the stated configuration, not a promise that every trim or wheel will reach 319 miles. Confirm the range shown beside the trim and wheel size in the current configurator.
On the cited UK figures, the long-range EV3 has a 56-mile higher headline WLTP range than the long-range Kona. That gap is useful for planning, but it should not be interpreted as a guaranteed real-world difference. Sustained motorway speed, ambient temperature, cabin heating, payload, rain, gradients, traffic and tyre choice all affect consumption. WLTP is a common European test cycle; it is not directly interchangeable with US EPA range.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Why UK WLTP and US EPA numbers must stay separate
Hyundai’s US site publishes EPA figures and US warranty information for the 2025 Kona Electric. Those data describe a different market and test regime and should not be combined with the UK WLTP numbers in this comparison. If you see a review quoting an EPA range, first check the country, battery, model year and wheels before comparing it with a UK brochure figure. The relevant US reference is Hyundai Motor America’s 2025 Kona Electric page.
Rank #2
- High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
- Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
- Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
- Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
- 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.
How to translate the headline into your driving
- Mostly local driving: choose the battery and trim that meet your normal weekly mileage without paying for unused capacity. Regular access to overnight charging matters more than a maximum-range statistic.
- Frequent motorway trips: start with the long-range versions, then map your usual route against reliable rapid chargers. A larger WLTP number provides planning margin, but motorway consumption is usually higher than the combined test result.
- Cold or hilly routes: leave additional reserve and compare the exact winter equipment and wheel specification. Neither cited manufacturer figure is an independent cold-weather test.
Charging and road-trip stops
Published rapid-charging estimates
| Vehicle and battery | Manufacturer’s published estimate | Condition attached to the estimate |
|---|---|---|
| EV3 long range | 31 minutes for 10–80% DC | Kia’s specified high-power charging condition; see the EV3 specification. |
| Kona Electric long range | 41 minutes for 10–80% DC | Hyundai states a 102 kW DC charger; see the Kona Electric performance page. |
On these published conditions, the EV3 estimate is 10 minutes shorter. That does not mean an EV3 will always leave a charger sooner. A rapid unit may deliver less than its advertised peak, the vehicle may limit power as the battery fills, and the battery management system can reduce charging power when the pack is very cold or hot. Arriving with a different state of charge also changes the stop length. Treat the numbers as planning references for a specified 10–80% window, not as a universal charging guarantee.
What to check before relying on rapid charging
- Identify the exact battery and trim, then save the manufacturer’s 10–80% figure for that configuration.
- Check the power rating of the chargers on your regular motorway routes. The Kona figure is explicitly tied to 102 kW; a lower-power unit will take longer.
- Allow for the fact that the final part of a charge is slower. Stopping at 80% is used in the headline comparison because it is generally more time-efficient than waiting for a full battery.
- Plan a second charger on important journeys. Occupied, faulty or incompatible public units can turn a theoretical stop into a delay.
Home charging and cables
Neither source establishes a universal home-charger package for every UK trim. Before signing, ask the dealer to confirm the vehicle’s AC charging rate, connector, portable cable supplied, wallbox requirements and whether installation is included or extra. An installer must check the property supply, earthing arrangement, cable route and local permissions. Your electricity tariff and the hours the car is parked often determine running cost more than a small difference in peak DC speed.
Price, trims and equipment
Kona Electric: a documented UK price ladder
Hyundai UK’s current trims-and-prices page lists these starting prices:
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →| Trim | Starting price shown by Hyundai UK | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Advance | £35,000 | Current page price; verify the model year, battery and included equipment before comparing. |
| N Line | £37,000 | Current page price; specification and options can change. |
| N Line S | £39,400 | Current page price; check whether the displayed vehicle uses the same battery as the car you are considering. |
| Ultimate | £39,400 | Current page price; confirm standard equipment, options and any delivery charges. |
These are UK starting prices shown by Hyundai, not a like-for-like value verdict. The supplied Kia material does not provide a directly comparable, same-date UK EV3 price. Obtain an itemised Kia quote for the battery and trim you want, then compare the on-the-road total rather than headline list prices. Include metallic paint, option packs, delivery fees, finance interest, part-exchange value, insurance and charging installation.
Rank #3
- ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
- ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
- ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
- ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
- ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient
Compare equipment by need, not by trim name
Advance, N Line, N Line S, Ultimate and Kia trim names do not describe equivalent equipment. Build a checklist for the features you will actually use: driver-assistance functions, heated seats and steering wheel, navigation, smartphone integration, parking cameras, boot convenience, lighting and the wheel size that affects range. Ask for a written specification because standard equipment can change during a model year and some features may be optional.
Dimensions, parking and usable space
| Measurement | Kia EV3 | Hyundai Kona Electric |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 4,300 mm; 4,310 mm for GT-Line in Kia’s specification | 4,350 mm in Hyundai’s launch specification |
| Width | 1,850 mm | 1,825 mm in Hyundai’s launch specification |
| Wheelbase | Not stated in the cited Kia specification | 2,660 mm in Hyundai’s launch specification |
Using the base-body figures, the Kona is 50 mm longer and the EV3 is 25 mm wider. With the EV3 GT-Line length, the difference is 40 mm. Those are useful for a garage or narrow street, but mirror-to-mirror width, turning circle, seat design and door opening matter in practice and are not established by these figures.
The supplied specifications do not give directly comparable boot volume, rear-seat legroom, rear headroom or loading-floor dimensions. Do not assume that the longer Kona has the larger usable boot or that the wider EV3 has more rear-seat space. Take a child seat, suitcase or mobility aid to the dealership and measure the actual opening, floor length and seat position. Check whether a spare wheel, charging equipment or under-floor storage changes the arrangement.
Recommended Free Tools
Which body shape suits your environment?
- Tight parking spaces: the EV3’s published width deserves attention, while the Kona’s shorter width may be easier to place. Verify the real mirror-to-mirror measurement and camera visibility.
- Long driveways or garages: compare the complete length including tow equipment or accessories, not only the body figure.
- Family loading: test rear-door access and the boot with your normal pram, bags or sports kit. Published exterior dimensions cannot replace that check.
Warranty and long-term risk
What Hyundai states for the UK Kona
Hyundai UK’s trims-and-prices page summarises a five-year, unlimited-mileage vehicle warranty and an eight-year battery warranty. Those headline terms are UK-specific. The full warranty document determines battery capacity-retention thresholds, servicing requirements, corrosion coverage, exclusions, transfer rules and the exact start date. Ask for that document with the vehicle order.
Rank #4
- Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
- Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
- Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
- Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
- Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices
What is not established for the EV3 here
A matching current Kia UK warranty source was not verified in the information used for this comparison. It would be misleading to name a warranty winner or to infer Kia’s terms from another country or an older model. Request Kia UK’s written warranty booklet and compare vehicle duration, mileage limit, battery capacity guarantee, roadside assistance, exclusions and transferability line by line.
Questions to put in writing
- What minimum battery capacity is covered, and how is it measured?
- Does the battery warranty transfer automatically to a second owner?
- Which servicing intervals and approved parts are required to keep cover valid?
- Are charging-cable faults, corrosion, infotainment components and 12-volt batteries covered separately?
- What happens if a software update changes the vehicle’s displayed range?
Driving pattern and ownership setup
Home charging availability
If you can charge overnight where you park, both cars can be evaluated mainly on battery size, price and equipment. If you rely on public charging, the convenience and reliability of the network on your routes become as important as the published 10–80% time. Check connector compatibility, payment methods, idle fees, opening hours and whether your regular destinations have dependable alternatives.
Commute versus road trips
For a short, predictable commute, the EV3 standard-range battery may be worth comparing with the Kona long-range model rather than automatically choosing the biggest pack. For frequent long-distance travel, begin with the long-range EV3 and long-range Kona, compare the chargers on your routes and calculate how many minutes you are willing to spend at each stop. A single headline range number cannot capture your actual journey pattern.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsWinter and weather
Cold temperatures, wet roads, headwinds, heating use and snow can reduce usable range and increase charging time. The cited UK WLTP and DC figures do not quantify those effects. If you regularly travel in winter, use conservative route planning, keep a reserve for diversions and ask owners or a dealer about pre-conditioning controls for the exact software version and trim.
Best Value
- 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
- 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
- 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
- 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
- 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.
Finance, insurance and depreciation
The cheapest list price is not necessarily the lowest-cost choice. Request comparable cash and finance quotes, including deposit, term, annual mileage, optional final payment and total amount payable. Obtain insurance quotes against the exact registration or specification, and compare servicing, tyres and likely resale assumptions. The sources used here do not establish residual values or running-cost tests, so treat online estimates as forecasts rather than facts.
A practical buying process
- Define your use: record weekly mileage, longest regular journey, passengers, cargo, parking width and whether overnight charging is available.
- Select comparable versions: choose the EV3 battery and trim, then match the Kona battery and equipment as closely as possible. Do not compare a 58.3 kWh EV3 with a 65.4 kWh Kona and call the price or range difference a trim advantage.
- Capture the live specifications: save the current configurator pages showing WLTP range, wheel size, charging equipment and standard features for both cars.
- Get itemised quotes: include paint, options, delivery, finance, part exchange, insurance and a home-charger installation quote where relevant.
- Test the physical fit: measure your garage and try your child seats, luggage, bicycles or mobility equipment in each vehicle.
- Test-drive the route you know: assess seating position, visibility, ride, noise, steering, regenerative-braking controls and infotainment. A short dealer loop cannot answer every comfort question.
- Plan charging: verify the AC connector and cable, home supply, tariff, public-network coverage and a backup rapid charger for your longest journeys.
- Read the warranties: compare the complete Kia and Hyundai documents, especially battery-capacity coverage, service conditions and transfer rules.
- Recheck on order day: confirm model year, battery, wheel size, software, price, delivery date and every promised item on the contract.
Common comparison mistakes
- Mixing test cycles: UK WLTP and US EPA ranges are not interchangeable. Always identify the market and test method.
- Ignoring wheel configuration: the EV3’s 375-mile maximum is configuration dependent, and the Kona’s 319-mile figure applies to a stated long-range configuration.
- Treating peak charger power as a constant: the Kona’s 41-minute estimate assumes a 102 kW DC charger; Kia’s 31-minute EV3 estimate also has a specified high-power condition.
- Calling a price gap a saving: the cited Kona prices and an EV3 quote may refer to different batteries, equipment, options or dates.
- Assuming exterior size proves interior space: inspect the boot and rear seat with your own equipment.
- Choosing a warranty from a headline: the five-year and eight-year Hyundai summaries do not replace the full terms, and Kia’s comparable UK terms must be obtained directly.
- Forgetting charging access: a car with a larger theoretical range is less convenient if your home or regular public chargers are unreliable.
Which small electric SUV should you choose?
Choose the Kia EV3 as the first car to investigate if its long-range version’s published UK WLTP figure, shorter stated 10–80% DC estimate or wider body align with your priorities. Confirm the exact battery, wheels, price and charging specification before treating those advantages as decisive.
Choose the Hyundai Kona Electric as the first car to investigate if you value its documented UK trim-price ladder, narrower published body or longer exterior, or if its available equipment suits your budget better. Verify the current model-year specification and the battery associated with the quoted price.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The sensible final decision is not based on a single winner. Compare equivalent configurations, obtain both on-the-road quotes, check the complete warranty terms, measure the cargo and rear-seat areas, map your charging stops and drive both cars in the conditions you regularly face. That process resolves the questions the official headline specifications cannot.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




