Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

electric grand tourers11 MIN

Jaguar Electric GT vs. Porsche Taycan: Which Luxury EV Suits You?

The Porsche Taycan is the actionable luxury EV today; Jaguar's Type 01 is a striking future GT with announced 400-mile range and 2027 delivery timing. Here is how to compare them without confusing projections, EPA estimates and WLTP figures.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Buy a Porsche Taycan now if you need a luxury electric car on a known timetable. Wait for the Jaguar Type 01 if its design, grand-touring format and announced 400-mile range matter more than immediate availability. Jaguar unveiled the production Type 01 on October 6, 2026, but says orders should open in early 2027 and first deliveries are expected in the second half of 2027. Porsche already publishes a model-year 2027 Taycan range with multiple body styles and trims, although local inventory and delivery dates still require dealer confirmation.

This is a specification-and-buying-timing comparison, not a road test. Jaguar’s power, range and charging figures are manufacturer announcements or projections, while Porsche’s figures below are US EPA estimates by trim. No independent Type 01 evaluation establishes ride comfort, handling, reliability, real-world range or ownership quality yet.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is the Jaguar Type 01, and how does it differ from a Porsche Taycan?

The Type 01 is Jaguar’s announced production four-door electric grand tourer on the company’s dedicated Jaguar Electric Architecture (JEA). It follows the Type 00 design concept but is the production car’s name. Jaguar positions it as a high-power luxury GT rather than a conventional sedan. The US Jaguar newsroom announcement lists a starting MSRP of $130,500 and says the car will use three motors.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Taycan is an established, multi-variant electric performance family. Porsche’s US range page lists sedans and Cross Turismo wagons, from the rear-wheel-drive Taycan through high-performance Turbo GT derivatives. That gives a buyer choices in body style, power, wheel and tire configuration, and range before placing an order.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Those products answer different buying questions. Type 01 is a future, highly specified GT for someone willing to wait for final production details. Taycan is the practical choice for someone who wants to select a published trim and begin checking dealer stock now.

“From its dramatic design to its captivating drive, Type 01 distils the essence of Jaguar into a luxury grand tourer for a new era.”

Rawdon Glover, Jaguar Managing Director, in the October 6, 2026 Jaguar press release. This is Jaguar’s positioning, not an independent driving assessment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Should you wait for the Jaguar Type 01 or buy a Porsche Taycan now?

Choose the Taycan now when timing is the priority

  • You need an electric luxury car before the Type 01’s expected second-half-2027 deliveries.
  • You want to compare several published Taycan trims, including a wagon-like Cross Turismo.
  • You prefer an EPA-rated US range figure for the exact configuration you are considering.
  • You need to evaluate an actual vehicle, dealer allocation, financing and trade-in rather than reserve an announced model.

“Available now” still means checking your market. Porsche publishes the model-year information, but a particular trim, color and options combination may require a factory order. Ask dealers for VIN-specific inventory and a written estimated delivery date.

Wait for Type 01 when the product itself is the priority

  • You want Jaguar’s low-volume, four-door GT design and are comfortable waiting through ordering and production confirmation.
  • The announced 400-mile range target and three-motor output are more important to you than having a certified, independently observed result today.
  • You want to see final US equipment, connector specifications, option pricing, warranty terms and EPA certification before committing.

Jaguar’s timeline is an expectation, not a guaranteed delivery contract. Reconfirm the opening date, allocation process and final specifications when orders are actually announced.

Jaguar Type 01 vs. Porsche Taycan: key specifications

Decision factor Jaguar Type 01 Porsche Taycan How to interpret it
Status and timing Production model unveiled October 6, 2026. Jaguar expects orders in early 2027 and first deliveries in the second half of 2027. Porsche publishes model-year 2027 US range data and a 2026 model-year update. Taycan is the actionable purchase; Type 01 is a wait-and-see order.
Body and positioning Four-door luxury electric GT on JEA. Multi-variant family including sedans and Cross Turismo models. Match the actual body style to passenger, luggage and loading needs; comparative cabin measurements are not established here.
Power Up to 1,015 hp and 1,007 lb-ft from three motors, according to Jaguar. The cited Porsche material does not provide a matched US trim-by-trim power table. Do not call this a complete performance comparison without equivalent Taycan trims and test conditions.
Acceleration Jaguar claims 0–60 mph in 3.1 seconds. No matched US Taycan acceleration table appears in the cited material. Jaguar’s number is an announced specification, not an independent test.
Range Anticipated up to 400 miles in the US announcement; the UK release also states up to 450 miles WLTP. MY2027 US EPA estimates range from 240 to 318 miles, depending on trim and setup. EPA and WLTP are different test cycles. Do not compare 450 WLTP miles directly with a US EPA figure.
DC charging Jaguar UK states a 118-kWh battery, 850-volt architecture and up to 200 miles added in as little as 13 minutes using a 350-kW rapid DC charger. The cited Porsche pages describe Charging Planner improvements but do not provide a matched charging curve here. Peak power or “miles added” is not an average trip-charging result.
Starting price $130,500 starting MSRP in Jaguar’s US newsroom announcement. Not stated in the cited Porsche range page; trim and options must be priced locally. Do not declare a price winner by comparing Jaguar’s base MSRP with an unspecified Taycan.
Interface and cabin technology Announced 24-inch OLED driver display, seven-inch control touchscreen and immersive audio. 2026 update includes optional E-Shift simulated shifts and sound, refreshed infotainment, AI-supported voice control and navigation/charging-planner improvements. Equipment can vary by market and trim. Inspect the exact configuration.

How far does each car go on a charge?

Jaguar Type 01 range claim

Jaguar’s US-facing announcement describes an anticipated range of up to 400 miles. “Anticipated” matters: it is a manufacturer projection for a future production vehicle, not a final EPA label or a result from an independent road test. The UK Jaguar release states up to 400 miles EPA and up to 450 miles WLTP. The 450-mile figure is for the European WLTP cycle and should not be used as a US EPA estimate.

Before ordering, ask Jaguar for the final certification, usable battery capacity, standard wheel and tire sizes, and whether the quoted range changes with optional equipment. Those details determine how meaningful the headline number is for your route.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

MY2027 Porsche Taycan US EPA estimates

Porsche’s US range page lists these model-year 2027 estimates:

Taycan trim or configuration US EPA estimate Configuration qualification
Taycan 318 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.
Taycan 4 294 miles 315 miles with the 19-inch all-season setup.
Taycan 4S 295 miles 315 miles with the 19-inch all-season Range Setup.
Taycan 4S Cross Turismo 272 miles Cross Turismo body style.
Taycan GTS 293 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.
Taycan Turbo 292 miles 317 miles with the 21-inch Aero-Design wheel.
Taycan Turbo S 266 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.
Taycan Turbo GT 276 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.
Taycan Turbo GT Weissach 269 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.
Taycan Turbo GT Manthey Kit 240 miles Setup shown on Porsche’s range page.

Wheel and tire choices can change the Taycan’s estimate materially: the Taycan 4, Taycan 4S and Turbo entries each have a higher listed figure with a specified setup. Treat the estimate as trim-and-equipment-specific rather than as a single “Taycan range.” Porsche also cautions that actual range varies with driving style, traffic, weather, temperature, terrain, payload, climate use and accessories.

Why the numbers are not a direct range contest

  • Type 01’s US figure is anticipated, while the Taycan figures are published EPA estimates.
  • The Jaguar UK release’s 450-mile figure uses WLTP, a different test cycle from US EPA.
  • Taycan values vary by body style, wheel and tire package, and performance hardware.
  • No independent Type 01 road-test range exists in the available evidence.

For a purchase decision, compare the final Type 01 certification for your market with the exact Taycan configuration you would actually buy, then model your longest regular trip with a charging stop rather than relying on the maximum headline number.

How fast will the Jaguar Type 01 charge?

Jaguar’s UK announcement specifies a 118-kWh battery and 850-volt electrical architecture. It claims that a 350-kW rapid DC charger can add up to 200 miles in as little as 13 minutes. The statement is a manufacturer claim and does not guarantee that result at every charger or battery state of charge.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That figure is not a home-charging specification. Home charging is limited by the installed equipment, the home’s electrical service, the vehicle’s onboard charger and local electrical rules. Jaguar has not established the production connector, installation requirements or a complete charge curve in the cited material. Confirm those details before installing equipment.

A useful charging comparison requires more than peak kilowatts:

  • Ask what battery state-of-charge window produced the advertised time.
  • Confirm whether the charger can sustain 350 kW and whether the vehicle accepts that power throughout the stop.
  • Check the connector and public-network compatibility for your region.
  • Compare the time to add the energy you need for your route, not only the maximum possible rate.
  • Verify home-charging hardware and panel capacity with a qualified electrician after production specifications are final.

What charging information is available for the Porsche Taycan?

The cited Porsche material does not provide a directly comparable Taycan charging curve or a single time-to-add-range number. Porsche’s 2026 model-year update describes an improved Charging Planner and navigation-related charging improvements. The planner is relevant to road-trip usability because it can help select charging stops, but a software feature is not evidence of a particular average charging speed.

Rank #3
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

The European Porsche update also mentions up to 700 km WLTP for specified rear-wheel-drive entry models equipped with Performance Battery Plus and low-rolling-resistance summer tires. That is a Europe-specific WLTP statement and cannot replace the US EPA table above.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Performance: what is known and what remains unproven?

Jaguar’s announced output

Jaguar says the tri-motor Type 01 can produce up to 1,015 hp and 1,007 lb-ft and accelerate from 0 to 60 mph in 3.1 seconds. These are the figures in its US newsroom release. They describe the manufacturer’s target or specification, not a timed independent test.

Taycan comparison limits

The Porsche model-year update emphasizes performance features and track-oriented options, but the cited sources do not provide a matched US Taycan trim performance table. A fair acceleration or power comparison would require selecting a specific Taycan variant, battery, tires, launch procedure and test source. Without those matched inputs, it is misleading to present Type 01’s headline output as a complete victory over the entire Taycan range.

“By introducing comprehensive innovations for the model year change, we are strengthening the Taycan in all relevant areas.”

Kevin Giek, Head of the Taycan model line, in the June 2026 Porsche Newsroom update. This is Porsche’s description of its own update.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is currently no defensible evidence-based verdict here on steering feel, ride isolation, braking, cornering, thermal performance, cabin quietness or long-distance comfort. Those are reasons to schedule a Taycan drive and wait for independent Type 01 testing rather than infer a result from horsepower.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Body style, space and everyday use

Type 01: one luxury GT format

Type 01 is described as a four-door luxury grand tourer. That format may appeal to buyers who want a dramatic, long-distance-oriented car rather than an SUV or wagon. Final rear-seat dimensions, cargo volume, seating configurations and loading measurements are not established in the cited announcements, so inspect a production vehicle before assuming it will meet a family’s luggage or child-seat needs.

Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station | up to 50 mph, 25ft Cable, Enhanced WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Taycan: sedan or Cross Turismo choice

The Taycan range includes sedans and the 4S Cross Turismo listed above. Cross Turismo buyers should evaluate its roofline, cargo opening and rear-seat practicality against their own equipment. A sedan and a wagon-like body can serve different needs even when their powertrains share a family name.

Neither the available Jaguar nor Porsche material supports a comparative claim about cabin room or comfort. Use a showroom visit to check entry height, rear legroom, sight lines, luggage fit and seating position.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Interior technology and operating experience

Jaguar’s announced interface

Jaguar announces a 24-inch OLED driver display, a seven-inch control touchscreen and immersive audio. Confirm which displays and audio equipment are standard, optional or market-specific when the order guide is published. A large driver display does not by itself establish usability, glare performance or software quality.

Porsche’s model-year updates

Porsche’s 2026 update describes optional E-Shift simulated shifts and sound, refreshed infotainment, AI-supported voice control, and navigation and Charging Planner improvements. “Optional” is important: do not assume every Taycan includes these features. Build the exact car in the current configurator and obtain the equipment list attached to the dealer’s quote.

Price and purchase planning

Jaguar’s announced US starting MSRP is $130,500. It is a starting figure for a vehicle whose US ordering process is expected to open in early 2027; destination, taxes, options and market-specific charges are not established by that number.

The cited Porsche range page does not provide a matched current Taycan price. A fair comparison therefore requires a configured quote for the body style, battery, wheels, driver-assistance equipment and interior options you would select. Compare transaction prices, financing, incentives, delivery fees and trade-in values rather than placing Jaguar’s starting MSRP beside an unspecified Taycan.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Price question What is established What you must verify
Type 01 base price $130,500 US starting MSRP announced by Jaguar. Final options, destination, taxes, order deposit, warranty and local availability.
Taycan price Not stated in the cited Porsche range page. Current configurator total, dealer quote, inventory status, incentives and delivery timing.

A practical decision framework

  1. Set your deadline. If you need a car before the second half of 2027, begin with Taycan inventory and factory-order lead times. If you can wait, monitor Jaguar’s early-2027 order announcement.
  2. Choose the body format. Decide whether a four-door GT, Taycan sedan or Taycan Cross Turismo best fits passengers, luggage and parking constraints.
  3. Define your range requirement. List your longest routine trip, winter conditions and acceptable charging stop. Compare the final Type 01 certification with the specific Taycan trim and wheel/tire setup.
  4. Audit charging access. Confirm home parking, electrical capacity, public-route coverage and connector compatibility. Treat the Type 01’s 200-mile-in-13-minutes statement as a peak rapid-DC claim, not a home-charging promise.
  5. Build like-for-like quotes. Include battery choice, wheels, tires, paint, interior, driver aids, destination and taxes. Do not compare a base MSRP with a highly optioned Taycan.
  6. Test the actual interface. Sit in a Taycan and use its displays, voice controls and route planner. For Type 01, wait for a production demonstration and confirm which announced screens and audio features reach your market.
  7. Check the evidence date. Before placing a deposit, reconfirm Jaguar’s order and delivery schedule, final EPA figures, connector, warranty and charging details, plus Porsche’s current model-year and inventory information.

What neither manufacturer announcement can answer yet

  • Type 01’s independently measured acceleration, braking, handling and ride quality.
  • Type 01 real-world highway and winter range.
  • Long-term reliability, service experience, residual value and insurance cost.
  • A directly comparable Taycan-versus-Type-01 charging curve under the same conditions.
  • Final Type 01 production equipment, option pricing, connector and warranty terms in every market.

Those unknowns do not make Type 01 irrelevant; they define the risk of being an early buyer. A Taycan purchase offers more established configuration information, while waiting for Type 01 preserves the chance to evaluate its final production details and independent reviews before committing.

Bottom line for different buyers

Buy the Porsche Taycan

Choose Taycan if your priority is an electric luxury car you can configure and pursue now, with published US EPA estimates from 240 to 318 miles and a choice of sedan and Cross Turismo variants. Confirm the exact trim, wheels, options, dealer stock and transaction price.

Wait for the Jaguar Type 01

Wait if you want Jaguar’s announced four-door electric GT, can accept expected early-2027 ordering and second-half-2027 deliveries, and are willing to make a decision after final certification and production details. Its announced 1,015 hp, 1,007 lb-ft, 3.1-second 0–60 mph time, anticipated 400-mile US range and 350-kW rapid-charging claim are promising specifications, not substitutes for independent testing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

electric grand tourersEV chargingEV rangeJaguar Type 01luxury electric carsPorsche Taycan

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.