Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

BYD Atto 310 MIN

Hyundai Kona Electric vs BYD Atto 3: Which Small Electric SUV Suits You?

The long-range Kona Electric has the higher published WLTP range, while the BYD Atto 3 counters with a strong equipment package and similar home-charging times. Exact trim, market and price decide the better fit.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: Choose the long-range Hyundai Kona Electric if covering distance between charges is your priority: its European 65.4 kWh version is rated up to 514 km WLTP, compared with 420 km for the 2025 BYD Atto 3 Comfort/Design. The Atto 3 can make more sense if its standard equipment, cabin presentation, heat pump or local price is stronger. Neither is a universal winner. The figures below combine European-market specifications from different model years and markets, so confirm the exact trim, battery, warranty and quote available where you live.

What is being compared?

This is a specification-led comparison of the European Hyundai Kona Electric and BYD Atto 3 variants documented by their manufacturers. Hyundai’s figures cover the second-generation Kona Electric, including 48.4 kWh and 65.4 kWh batteries. BYD’s detailed figures come from its 2025 European specification sheet: a 49.9 kWh Atto 3 Business and a 60.4 kWh Atto 3 Comfort/Design. Equipment, homologation and pricing can differ by country and model year.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

That matters because a Kona N Line, for example, does not have the same stated range as every other 65.4 kWh Kona, and an Atto 3 Business is not equivalent to a Comfort or Design. Use the comparison as a framework, then obtain the current local trim sheets and a written dealer quote.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Hyundai Kona Electric vs BYD Atto 3: which should you buy?

Pick the Kona Electric when range and a compact footprint lead your decision

  • The 65.4 kWh front-wheel-drive Kona has a maximum official combined WLTP range of 514 km in Hyundai Motor Europe’s specification. That is 94 km more than the 420 km combined WLTP figure for the 2025 Atto 3 Comfort/Design.
  • The French Kona specification is 4,355 mm long and 1,825 mm wide, making it easier to fit into some garages and parking spaces than the older European Atto 3 dimensions cited below.
  • Hyundai lists battery preconditioning and two 12.3-inch displays on specified trims, plus a five-year, unlimited-mileage vehicle warranty and an eight-year battery warranty. Local exclusions and conditions apply.

Pick the Atto 3 when equipment and its particular cabin package fit better

  • The 2025 Comfort/Design specification uses a 60.4 kWh battery, offers up to 110 kW DC charging and lists 10–80% in 35 minutes under the stated test conditions.
  • The European product page describes a 15.6-inch rotating screen on Design, a standard heat pump on the described Atto 3, and extensive driver-assistance equipment.
  • Its quoted 11 kW AC charge from 0–100% is 6 hours 20 minutes for the 60.4 kWh version, close to the Kona’s stated home-charging time.

Price, incentives, finance rates, dealer coverage and resale could reverse either recommendation. No current, same-market transaction-price comparison or matched independent real-world test for these exact versions is established here.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Kona Electric vs Atto 3 range

Vehicle and version Battery Combined WLTP range City-cycle range Source qualification
Kona Electric, 48.4 kWh 48.4 kWh Up to 377 km Not stated Hyundai Motor Europe; maximum varies by version and conditions
Kona Electric, 65.4 kWh standard version 65.4 kWh Up to 514 km Not stated Hyundai Motor Europe and Hyundai France; front-wheel-drive specification
Kona Electric, 65.4 kWh N Line (France table) 65.4 kWh 444 km Not stated Hyundai France; trim-specific figure
Atto 3 Business (2025 EU) 49.9 kWh LFP Blade Battery 345 km 443 km BYD Europe 2025 specification sheet; city figure is not combined range
Atto 3 Comfort/Design (2025 EU) 60.4 kWh 420 km 565 km BYD Europe 2025 specification sheet; city figure is not combined range

On the published combined-cycle numbers, the 514 km Kona is rated 94 km ahead of the 420 km Atto 3 Comfort/Design. That is a subtraction of two manufacturers’ WLTP figures, not a real-world test. WLTP is a standardized laboratory cycle; traffic, speed, temperature, heating, payload and wheel choice affect what you actually achieve. Hyundai says range may vary with road conditions, driving style and temperature. BYD similarly says actual range and consumption depend on user behavior, speed, environmental conditions, route profile, outside temperature, load and other factors.

How to translate the range gap into ownership

For a driver who normally uses 250–300 km between charging opportunities, both long-range versions may cover a typical week. The Kona’s higher rating gives more margin for cold weather, motorway speed or an unplanned detour. The Atto 3 Business is a separate proposition: its 345 km combined rating is 69 km below the Comfort/Design figure, so do not assume every Atto 3 has the same range.

Check the exact wheel and trim combination on the order form. Hyundai France’s 444 km N Line figure demonstrates that a badge and equipment package can materially change the homologated result even with the same nominal battery.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Atto 3 vs Kona charging time

Vehicle/version DC capability and test window AC capability Published AC time
Kona Electric 48.4 kWh 74 kW; 10–80% in 41 minutes 10.5 kW onboard charger Not stated for the cited 11 kW three-phase setup
Kona Electric 65.4 kWh 101 kW; 10–80% in 41 minutes 10.5 kW onboard charger About 6 hours 25 minutes on an 11 kW European three-phase wallbox
Atto 3 Business (2025 EU) Not separately stated in the cited sheet 11 kW listed for the range Not stated for this battery in the cited sheet
Atto 3 Comfort/Design (2025 EU) Up to 110 kW; 10–80% in 35 minutes 11 kW 6 hours 20 minutes from 0–100% on an 11 kW three-phase supply

The charging windows are not identical. Hyundai quotes 10–80%; BYD quotes both 10–80% in its 2025 sheet and, on a product page for a described configuration, 30–80% in 29 minutes at up to 88 kW. A 30–80% result cannot be compared directly with 10–80%, and the product-page configuration may not be the same trim as the specification-sheet entry.

What the numbers mean on a road trip

Using the cited windows, the Atto 3 Comfort/Design has the shorter stated 10–80% stop by six minutes. The Kona’s larger battery and higher range rating may still mean fewer stops over a route. Peak power is not a constant: the car’s battery temperature, state of charge and the individual charger determine the curve. A 150 kW public post does not make a vehicle charge at 150 kW if its battery can accept less.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Home charging checklist

  1. Confirm whether your home supply is single-phase or three-phase and what continuous current the installation can provide.
  2. Match the wallbox output to the vehicle’s onboard AC limit: the cited Kona specification lists 10.5 kW, while the cited Atto 3 Comfort/Design lists 11 kW.
  3. Verify the connector, cable arrangement, local electrical regulations and whether load balancing is required.
  4. Ask the installer to calculate cable size, protective devices, earth arrangements and the distance from the distribution board.
  5. Obtain a vehicle-specific quote; installation cost and permitted power vary by property and country.

Both manufacturers document AC wallbox charging, but neither set of figures establishes a particular charger brand or installation package. Choose the hardware only after checking the local connector, phase, circuit capacity and the car’s onboard charger.

Which is bigger, Kona Electric or Atto 3?

Measurement Hyundai Kona Electric (France standard specification) BYD Atto 3 (earlier European leaflet)
Length 4,355 mm 4,455 mm
Width 1,825 mm 1,875 mm
Height 1,580 mm 1,615 mm
Wheelbase 2,660 mm 2,720 mm
Ground clearance 151 mm Not stated in the cited leaflet
Boot, seats up 466 L 440 L
Maximum boot volume 1,300 L 1,338 L
Front storage 27 L Not stated

In the cited figures, the Atto 3 is about 100 mm longer and 50 mm wider than the French Kona specification, while the Kona has 26 L more stated luggage space with the rear seats raised. The Atto 3’s leaflet is an earlier European document and luggage-measurement methods may differ, so treat the comparison as directional rather than a laboratory-matched test.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Check the dimensions that numbers cannot settle

  • Measure the narrowest point of your garage, including mirrors and door clearance.
  • Test the boot opening with your largest suitcase, stroller or dog crate rather than relying only on litres.
  • Fit the child seat on the preferred side and check access to the buckle and top tether.
  • Sit in the rear seat behind your normal driving position; wheelbase does not guarantee knee or headroom.
  • Try the turning circle, bonnet visibility and charging-port position at your usual parking space.

Equipment, displays and driver assistance

What the documented Kona equipment includes

Hyundai’s European trim information calls out battery preconditioning, a 12.3-inch navigation touchscreen and a 12.3-inch driver display on specified trims. It also presents a five-year unlimited-mileage vehicle warranty and an eight-year battery warranty. Those are headline terms, not a substitute for the local warranty booklet: exclusions, battery-capacity thresholds, corrosion coverage and roadside assistance can differ by country.

What the documented Atto 3 equipment includes

BYD’s European product page describes a 15.6-inch rotating display on Design, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto availability in limited markets, a heat pump as standard on the page’s described Atto 3, a five-star Euro NCAP rating and a broad suite of advanced driver-assistance systems. Confirm that each feature is fitted to the exact model year, market and trim you are buying. Smartphone integration, for example, is not necessarily universal across all regions.

How to compare trim sheets without being misled

  1. Write down the exact battery, drivetrain, wheel size and trim name on each quote.
  2. Mark whether battery preconditioning is standard, optional or absent; it can affect winter rapid-charging performance.
  3. Check screen size and whether navigation, head-up information, wireless phone functions and physical controls are included.
  4. List driver aids individually: adaptive cruise, lane-centering behavior, blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, parking cameras and automatic emergency braking.
  5. Verify heat-pump fitment, heated seats, heated steering wheel and climate-control zones if you drive in a cold climate.
  6. Read the safety-test result for the exact version and test date instead of treating a model name as a permanent rating.

Manufacturer equipment pages alone do not establish that one car is safer or better equipped overall. A feature can be unavailable in a particular country, restricted to a higher trim or changed during a model-year update.

Rank #3
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

Ownership factors beyond the brochure

Price, incentives and finance

Purchase price and running-cost comparisons must use the same country, tax treatment, registration date, incentive rules, finance term and equipment level. The available evidence does not establish a current same-market transaction-price winner. Request itemized quotes for both cars, including delivery, metallic paint, service plans, home-charger work and finance fees.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Warranty and service support

Compare the written warranty duration, mileage cap, battery-capacity guarantee, paint and corrosion cover, roadside assistance and the process for software or battery faults. Hyundai’s cited European page presents five years with unlimited mileage for the vehicle and eight years for the battery; verify the conditions in your market. Ask an Atto 3 retailer for the equivalent local documents rather than assuming a European web-page description applies everywhere.

Resale and dealer network

Resale evidence and service reach are market-specific and are not established by the specifications above. Before ordering, identify the nearest authorized repairer, expected parts lead times, software-update process and loan-car policy. Obtain an insurance quote as well; repairability and parts availability can affect premiums even when list prices look similar.

A decision process that works

  1. Set your real range requirement. Record your longest regular journey, winter temperature and motorway share. If that points above roughly 350 km of dependable usable travel, prioritize the Kona 65.4 kWh and compare the exact Atto 3 range version.
  2. Match charging to your routine. If most energy comes from home, compare installation feasibility and AC limits. If you rely on public DC, compare a matched 10–80% window, charging curve and route network rather than peak-kW headlines.
  3. Test physical fit. Bring your child seats, luggage and parking measurements to both test drives.
  4. Audit standard equipment. Use a two-column checklist for preconditioning, heat pump, displays, camera systems, adaptive cruise and phone connectivity.
  5. Price the complete deal. Include incentives, finance APR, insurance, service, tires, charger installation and any trade-in assumption.
  6. Read the local warranty. Keep the battery-capacity threshold and claim procedure with the purchase documents.
  7. Choose based on evidence you can reproduce. If a dealer cannot confirm a feature or charging specification in writing, treat it as unconfirmed.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

  • Mixing model years: the Atto 3 numbers here are from a 2025 EU sheet, while Hyundai pages span European and French material. Label every figure before comparing it.
  • Comparing city and combined range: the Atto 3’s 443 km and 565 km city-cycle figures are not its 345 km and 420 km combined ratings.
  • Using mismatched charging windows: 0–100%, 10–80% and 30–80% answer different questions.
  • Assuming battery size equals range: efficiency, wheels, software, temperature and speed all matter.
  • Treating a trim headline as universal: the Kona’s 514 km and 444 km figures show how much a trim can change the official result.
  • Reading boot litres as passenger comfort: measure the opening and sit in the rear seats with your own equipment.
  • Declaring a value winner without a quote: incentives and dealer pricing can vary enough to change the outcome.

Is the BYD Atto 3 better than the Kona Electric?

It is better for a buyer whose priorities align with its 2025 Comfort/Design package: a 60.4 kWh battery, 420 km combined WLTP rating, 35-minute stated 10–80% charge, 11 kW AC capability and the specified cabin and heat-pump equipment. It is not automatically better for long-distance drivers, because the documented long-range Kona is rated 94 km farther on the combined cycle.

The Kona is the more convincing choice when maximum official range, a slightly smaller footprint or Hyundai’s documented warranty headline carries the most weight. The Atto 3 deserves the nod when its local standard equipment, charging stop pattern, dealer support and final price suit you better. Make the decision from matched local specifications, not from a single headline number.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the Kona Electric always have more range than the BYD Atto 3?

No. The documented comparison is trim-specific: the Kona 65.4 kWh standard version is rated up to 514 km, while the 2025 Atto 3 Comfort/Design is rated 420 km. A Kona N Line 65.4 kWh is listed at 444 km, and the Atto 3 Business at 345 km.

Which charges faster, the Kona Electric or Atto 3?

The cited figures are not perfectly matched. Hyundai lists 10–80% in 41 minutes for both battery versions, while BYD lists 10–80% in 35 minutes for the 60.4 kWh Comfort/Design. Battery temperature, state of charge and charger capability change the result.

Is the Atto 3 bigger than the Kona Electric?

The cited figures make the Atto 3 100 mm longer and 50 mm wider than the French Kona specification. Boot measurements favor the Kona with seats up, but the sources are not a matched, current measurement test.

Do both cars support 11 kW home charging?

The cited long-range Kona uses a 10.5 kW onboard charger and is listed at about 6 hours 25 minutes on an 11 kW three-phase wallbox. The 60.4 kWh Atto 3 Comfort/Design lists 11 kW AC and 6 hours 20 minutes from 0–100%. Confirm the local car and electrical installation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

BYD Atto 3car comparisonelectric SUVsEV chargingEV rangeHyundai Kona Electric

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.