For most US shoppers who need the longest advertised range and a vehicle suited to broader daily use, the 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5 is the stronger starting point. The 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric can be the better choice when its smaller footprint, preferred trim, or local out-the-door price fits your life better. The available range figures come from different model years and are manufacturer EPA estimates, not a controlled same-year comparison. Match the exact trim, charging routine, space requirement, incentives, and local quote before you decide.
What is actually being compared?
This comparison uses Hyundai USA information for a 2026 IONIQ 5 and a 2025 KONA Electric. That distinction matters. A model-year change can alter battery software, equipment, trim availability, pricing, and range ratings, so the figures below should not be treated as a same-year laboratory test. US specifications also may not match vehicles sold in Canada, Europe, or other markets.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The practical question is not simply which name has the higher number. It is whether the vehicle you can buy, in the trim you want, can cover your regular driving with a charging routine that is convenient and affordable. A buyer who rarely travels far and values easier parking may reasonably choose the KONA Electric even though the IONIQ 5 has the higher listed maximum range.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Range: the IONIQ 5 leads, but trim changes the answer
Hyundai’s published figures are trim-specific. The highest number for one vehicle does not apply to every version of that vehicle, and the figures below come from different model years.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
| Vehicle and model year | Trim | Drivetrain noted by Hyundai | EPA-estimated range |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5 | SE | RWD | Up to 318 miles |
| 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5 | SEL | RWD | Up to 318 miles |
| 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5 | Limited | RWD | Up to 318 miles |
| 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric | SEL | Not stated in the cited range information | Up to 261 miles |
| 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric | Limited | Not stated in the cited range information | Up to 261 miles |
| 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric | N Line | Not stated in the cited range information | Up to 230 miles |
| 2025 Hyundai KONA Electric | SE | Not stated in the cited range information | Up to 200 miles |
On the listed figures, the 2026 IONIQ 5 RWD maximum is 57 miles higher than the 2025 KONA Electric SEL or Limited maximum. The gap is 88 miles versus the KONA N Line and 118 miles versus the KONA SE. Those are arithmetic differences between Hyundai’s published estimates; they are not independent road-test results and do not prove that one car will deliver the same advantage in your climate, traffic, speed, or tire configuration.
How to translate the rating into your own need
Start with your longest normal day rather than an ideal vacation. Add the miles for commuting, school or care duties, errands, and an unplanned detour. Then consider whether you normally begin with a full battery at home. If your routine uses 120 to 160 miles between dependable charging opportunities, either vehicle may work on paper, but the higher-rated IONIQ 5 gives more margin when conditions reduce efficiency.
If your selected KONA Electric is the SE, its 200-mile EPA estimate leaves substantially less buffer than the SEL or Limited figure. A shopper who assumes every KONA Electric has the maximum range could discover that the chosen trim does not meet the intended trip pattern. Confirm the exact window sticker and local specification sheet before placing a deposit.
Why EPA estimates are not a promise
EPA-estimated range is a standardized comparison tool, not a guarantee of a particular trip distance. Speed, temperature, hills, wind, payload, tire pressure, heating or cooling, and battery condition all affect consumption. Use the estimate to compare trims and plan a reserve; do not schedule a trip that requires arriving at zero percent.
Charging: compare your routine, not isolated minutes
Both vehicles can be evaluated through two separate charging jobs: routine home charging and occasional public DC fast charging. Hyundai provides charging information for both models, but the available material does not establish a matched, independent test under identical battery state, charger output, temperature, or settings. Any time quoted on a vehicle page should therefore be read as condition-specific.
Rank #2
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Home Level 2 charging
For owners with a private parking space, home Level 2 charging is usually the most important ownership question. It lets the car replenish during the hours it is parked instead of making every energy stop a public-charger visit. The useful comparison is not which model has a more impressive headline time; it is whether overnight charging restores the miles you normally drive.
Before buying a Level 2 EV charger, confirm the vehicle connector and accepted charging rate for the exact model year and trim. Have an electrician check panel capacity, circuit length, breaker requirements, outdoor exposure, and local permit rules. Charger output that exceeds what the vehicle can accept will not make the car charge faster, while an undersized circuit may lengthen recovery time or require costly changes later. Neither vehicle-specific compatibility nor installation cost is established by the information used here, so treat a charger as a category to investigate, not a guaranteed plug-and-play purchase.
Public DC fast charging
DC fast charging is most valuable on road trips or unusually long days. Your result depends on the station’s actual power, whether the stall shares power with another vehicle, the battery’s starting state, ambient temperature, and the car’s charging settings. Charging usually slows as the battery fills, so a short stop from a low state of charge is not directly comparable with a near-full recharge.
When comparing Hyundai’s charging claims, record the conditions next to each number: charger rating, starting and ending battery percentages, temperature, and whether the figure is a maximum or an expected session. Do not combine a maximum-power statement for one vehicle with an average session time for the other and call it a head-to-head result.
A simple charging-fit test
- Write down your typical weekday miles and your longest monthly trip.
- Identify where the vehicle sits overnight and whether a dedicated electrical circuit is available.
- List reliable public chargers along your regular routes and on the two destinations you visit most often.
- Decide how much reserve you want on arrival; a plan that depends on using the final few miles is fragile.
- Ask the dealer for the exact charging specifications of the model year and trim, then compare those with the charger you can install or access.
Space, comfort, and parking footprint
Range is easy to put in a table; usability is not. Hyundai’s official 2025 comparison walkaround treats dimensions, comfort, technology, and safety as separate decision topics, but the available extract does not provide a complete set of side-by-side cargo, passenger, or exterior measurements. Verify the full specification sheets for the exact market, model year, and trim before relying on a numeric capacity claim.
Rank #3
- ⚡ Fast, Flexible Charging You Control- Equipped with a NEMA 14-50 plug and adjustable current (10A to 40A), the EVDANCE EV Charger gives you total control over your charging speed. Whether you're topping off at work or doing an overnight charge at home, simply tap the control button to select your ideal amperage. It’s precision charging, made easy NOTE: It is necessary to use a J1772 to Tesla adapter(not including) when charging your Tesla vehicles
- 8X Faster Charging: The EVDANCE ev charger level 2 comes with a NEMA 14-50 plug, charging at 240V and the maximum current can reach 40A, which can provide maximum 9.6kWh charging power. Experience unparalleled speed at approximately 8x faster than level 1 ev chargers
- Adjustable Charging Current: EVDANCE Level 2 charger supports adjustable currents settings ranging from 10A to 40A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A/40A). Just touch the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs
- Delayed Charging Function: With the delay start feature, you can set your charging time(delay 1-12 hrs), staggering the peak usage period and reducing your energy costs
- Intelligent 2.4"" TFT Display & & LED Indicators: Our 40A electric car charger equipped with a large 2.4"" TFT screen, it provides clear and real-time charging information, including charging current/voltage/power kWh, charging time and work status, etc.The LED indicator on the control box provides real-time charging status
Questions for passenger and cargo needs
- Can the rear-facing child seats you use fit without forcing the front seats into an uncomfortable position?
- Do passengers need easy rear access, a wide opening, or a low step-in height?
- Will your normal load be groceries and backpacks, or tall, bulky, or irregular equipment?
- Do you need a flat loading surface, under-floor storage, or room for a pet carrier?
- Can you lift your heaviest item into the cargo area without hitting the roof or hatch?
Use the actual items during a test drive. Bring a car seat, stroller, folding wheelchair, work case, or sports gear if those objects determine your purchase. A brochure’s maximum volume cannot tell you whether the opening shape or floor height works for your routine.
Parking and maneuvering
If your apartment garage, street space, or workplace has tight turns, measure the available bay and approach rather than assuming the two vehicles will feel interchangeable. Ask to drive both through the same narrow route and park in the same space. Check visibility over the shoulder, the turning path, camera coverage, door clearance, and hatch clearance. These observations often matter more than a small difference in a specification sheet.
Comfort on short and long trips
Adjust the driver’s seat for your real position, then sit behind it. Check knee room, headroom, access to the charging and climate controls, screen glare, and whether the seat supports you after an hour. If several people share the car, repeat the exercise with the tallest regular passenger in the rear. Hyundai’s comparison material identifies comfort and technology as areas to examine, but the final judgment belongs to the people who will sit in the car.
Equipment, technology, and safety: compare matching trims
Do not compare an entry trim of one model with a near-top trim of the other and attribute every equipment difference to the vehicle design. Safety hardware, driver-assistance behavior, screen configuration, audio equipment, seating materials, and convenience features can vary by trim and model year.
Build a trim-to-trim checklist
- Confirm the exact model year and trim name on the buyer’s order.
- Mark which active-safety features are standard, optional, or unavailable on that trim.
- Check whether the driver-assistance functions you care about operate the same way in traffic, on highways, and while parking.
- Verify phone integration, navigation, software-update method, and the number and location of USB or power ports.
- Inspect seat adjustment, heated features, climate controls, cargo-area lighting, and rear-seat conveniences.
- Ask which wheels and tires are fitted; they can affect comfort, efficiency, replacement cost, and the final range rating.
The official walkaround covers technology and safety as comparison categories, but it does not establish a comprehensive, trim-by-trim equipment table here. Obtain the current window sticker and safety-equipment list for the vehicle in front of you.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #4
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Price, incentives, and the number that actually matters
No reliable, comparable current transaction prices or incentives are established for these two model-year vehicles. Prices can change with location, inventory, dealer fees, taxes, registration, financing, and eligibility rules. A national starting price is not an out-the-door quote.
Request equivalent quotes
Ask each dealer for a written out-the-door worksheet using the same assumptions. It should show selling price, destination charge, documentation fee, accessories, taxes, registration, financing conditions, trade-in treatment, and every incentive with its eligibility requirement. If one quote includes a rebate that depends on financing or residency and the other does not, the totals are not comparable.
| Quote item | What to verify |
|---|---|
| Vehicle | Model year, trim, drivetrain, exterior and interior configuration |
| Dealer price | Whether discounts are conditional on financing, trade-in, or loyalty status |
| Fees | Destination, documentation, accessories, protection products, and delivery charges |
| Taxes and registration | Your jurisdiction’s actual rates and registration costs |
| Incentives | Program name, eligibility, expiration date, and whether applied at purchase or later |
| Financing | Annual percentage rate, term, required down payment, and total interest |
Compare the total you can legally and realistically pay, not the monthly payment alone. A longer loan can hide a higher total cost, while a discount that requires a trade-in may not be available to a cash buyer.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which driver should choose which vehicle?
Choose the 2026 IONIQ 5 first when range margin is your priority
Start with the IONIQ 5 if your regular life includes long highway drives, infrequent charging opportunities, or multiple daily stops where arriving with reserve matters. Its highest listed RWD range is the strongest figure in this comparison. The additional margin may reduce the number of public charging decisions you make, but it does not remove the need to check the chosen trim and your local charging network.
Recommended Free Tools
Choose the 2025 KONA Electric first when compact usability wins
Start with the KONA Electric if a smaller vehicle footprint, your preferred equipment mix, or a materially better local quote solves a problem the IONIQ 5 does not. The SEL and Limited carry the highest listed KONA range, while the N Line and SE have lower published estimates. Select the trim based on your actual driving requirement rather than assuming the maximum applies to the entire lineup.
Best Value
- ✅【Fast & Adjustable Charging Power – Up to 7.68kWh, 16A–32A Output】This Level 2 portable EV charger delivers up to 32A and 7.68kWh for fast, efficient charging. Easily adjust current based on your home circuit: 32A for 40A, 24A for 30A, or 16A for 20A breakers. Simply long-press the “A” button to change amperage when pluged in,You can easily adjust the current (16A/24A/32A) to match your home circuit — no electrician required.
- ✅【Wide Compatibility – J1772 Connector for All Non-Tesla EVs】Equipped with a standard SAE J1772 plug, this EV charger works with most North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including models from Ford, GM, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, and more. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter (not included).
- ✅【Smart LED Screen】You Can View real-time charging data on the LED screen: amperage, voltage, speed, and delay settings. Stay fully informed with the built-in LED display that shows real-time charging data, including amperage, voltage, charging speed, and delay settings,Easily schedule your charging sessions during off-peak hours to save on electricity bills, set custom delays, It’s all about charging smarter, not just faster
- ✅ 【Smart Charging for Long-Term EV Care】: EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger offers flexible amperage settings ranging from 10A to 32A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A). With a simple touch of the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs. Lower amperage charging can reduce heat and extend battery health over time. Choose the current that suits your car and charging scenario — fast when you need it, gentle when you don’t.
- ✅【Built for Safety & Durability 】The EV charger is designed to handle tough environments with NEMA Type 4/IP66-grade protection against dust and water. While it’s not recommended for installation in direct sunlight or heavy rain, it performs reliably in garages, carports, and covered outdoor areas. The 25-foot military-grade charging cable features a drop-resistant plug tested to withstand over 10,000 insertions — built to last, wherever you charge.
When neither headline answer is enough
If you regularly carry several adults and bulky cargo, test both with your real passengers and equipment. If you cannot charge at home, map public stations before signing and assess whether their reliability and opening hours fit your schedule. If your budget depends on an incentive, verify the program in your jurisdiction on the purchase date. These checks can reverse a decision based only on range.
A purchase process that avoids expensive surprises
- Define the job. Record weekly miles, longest routine trip, passenger count, cargo items, parking constraints, and access to overnight charging.
- Select candidate trims. Use the model year you can actually buy, not a generic model name. Note the published range for each candidate trim.
- Verify charging. Confirm connector, vehicle charging specifications, public-station availability, and the electrical work required for home Level 2 service.
- Measure the fit. Park both vehicles in your normal space, load your equipment, install child seats if relevant, and sit in every seat you will use.
- Drive the same route. Include slow streets, a highway segment, a tight parking maneuver, and a hill if one is part of your daily travel.
- Collect written quotes. Request equivalent out-the-door worksheets and separate every incentive from the dealer discount.
- Recheck the paperwork. Make sure the VIN, model year, trim, drivetrain, wheel and tire package, included charging equipment, and promised accessories match what you agreed to buy.
Common mistakes and how to correct them
Mistake: treating different model years as a controlled comparison
Correction: Keep the 2026 IONIQ 5 and 2025 KONA Electric labels beside every range and equipment claim. If you are shopping a different year, replace the figures with that year’s official specification sheet.
Mistake: applying the maximum range to every trim
Correction: Check the exact trim. The 2025 KONA Electric range varies from the SE estimate to the higher SEL and Limited estimate, with the N Line in between.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Mistake: comparing charging times without conditions
Correction: Record charger power, starting battery state, ending state, temperature, and whether the number is a maximum or an observed session. Treat unlike measurements as separate facts.
Mistake: choosing by a national price headline
Correction: Get local written quotes that include fees, taxes, financing conditions, trade-in assumptions, and incentive eligibility.
Mistake: relying on brochure space numbers
Correction: Bring your actual passengers and cargo to the test drive. Verify dimensions and capacities for the local vehicle you will purchase.
Mistake: buying a charger before checking the electrical installation
Correction: Confirm connector and vehicle acceptance, then have a qualified electrician evaluate panel capacity, circuit requirements, placement, weather exposure, and permits.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Final decision rule
Use the 2026 IONIQ 5 as the default starting point if your top priority is the highest listed manufacturer range and a vehicle intended for broader everyday use. Use the 2025 KONA Electric when its compact fit, selected trim, or verified local total cost better matches your circumstances. The correct choice is the exact vehicle that satisfies your range reserve, charging access, passenger and cargo needs, parking constraints, and out-the-door budget—not simply the model with the larger headline number.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




