Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

Autonomous Driving9 MIN

How XPENG Robotaxis Work: Booking, Routing and the Ride Experience (2026 Status)

XPENG YOYO has entered invitation-based validation in China. Learn how its announced booking workflow, routing technology, cabin features and RMB 1 internal test fit together, and which public-service details are still missing.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

XPENG’s robotaxi is now called XPENG YOYO. As of the company’s October 8, 2026 announcement, people in China could register online with an invitation code, but XPENG had not published an open, citywide ride service, a public booking path, operating map or general launch date. The announcement marks a move from employee testing toward external-user validation; it does not mean that anyone can request a YOYO at any time.

XPENG has described an end-to-end system that links online ride ordering, automated dispatch and pickup, passenger transport and trip completion. The company also claims a premium cabin and an autonomous-driving stack built around four in-house Turing AI chips, a pure-vision approach and VLA 2.0. Those descriptions are manufacturer claims. The practical details a passenger needs—where to wait, which destinations are accepted, how routes can be changed, what a ride costs and how support works—remain unpublished.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What XPENG YOYO is—and what it is not yet

XPENG YOYO is XPENG’s name for its robotaxi service and vehicle program. The latest announcement describes invitation-code registration in China and an upcoming phase of external-user experience and market validation. That is different from a generally available ride-hailing service with a published service area and an app that accepts any customer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For now, the most accurate description is announced access plus limited validation. XPENG has demonstrated a complete internal trip and has opened a registration channel, but it has not documented a public operating map, open booking hours, standard fares or a confirmed date when ordinary users can book rides without an invitation.

XPENG’s robotaxi timeline

Date What XPENG announced How to interpret it
November 5, 2025 At AI Day, XPENG outlined a Robotaxi program with three models planned for 2026 and trial operations. It described four Turing AI chips, a pure-vision system without LiDAR or high-definition maps, and VLA 2.0. These were company plans and technology claims at that date. Later announcements provide the more current status.
May 18, 2026 The first mass-produced Robotaxi unit rolled off the production line in Guangzhou on the GX platform. XPENG said pilot operations were planned for the second half of 2026 and targeted fully autonomous operation without an on-site safety officer for early 2027. The production milestone and dates were announced targets, not proof that those operating conditions had been achieved.
July 10, 2026 XPENG reported an internal full-chain ride test covering order placement, pickup and arrival at the destination. CEO He Xiaopeng was described as the first internal passenger. This is XPENG’s account of its own test, not an independently observed public service.
October 8, 2026 XPENG named the service XPENG YOYO and said online registration in China had opened through invitation codes. It positioned external-user experience and market validation as the next stage. This is the freshest status. It does not establish open booking, a city service map or a consumer fare.

How booking works in the announced system

Registration is not the same as a ride request

An invitation code is the only concrete access mechanism XPENG has described publicly in the October announcement. A person in China may be able to register online when they have a valid code, but registration only establishes eligibility for the validation program. It does not guarantee that a vehicle is available, that a requested destination is inside the operating zone or that a ride can be summoned immediately.

XPENG has not identified the exact app, mini-program or web page used for registration in the material available here. It also has not stated the identity or eligibility requirements for invitation holders, how invitations are distributed, whether access is tied to a particular city, or how long a registrant waits before receiving a ride opportunity.

What the internal workflow demonstrates

In its July account and October description, XPENG says the system connects four stages:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Online ride ordering: a passenger submits a request through an online interface.
  2. Automated dispatch and pickup: the system assigns a vehicle and brings it to the pickup point.
  3. Passenger transport: the Robotaxi drives the passenger toward the selected destination.
  4. Trip completion: the journey is closed in the service workflow after arrival.

This confirms that XPENG has tested a connected service chain. It does not reveal the screens, confirmation messages, identity checks, pickup instructions or passenger controls that a public rider would see.

A cautious process for an invitation holder

Until XPENG publishes a consumer guide, an invitation holder should treat each stage as conditional rather than assume a conventional ride-hailing experience:

  1. Use only the registration channel supplied with the invitation and confirm that it is intended for the relevant Chinese market.
  2. Check whether registration produces an actual ride-request function or merely records interest for validation.
  3. Before confirming a request, look for the displayed pickup point, destination eligibility, estimated wait, fare and cancellation terms. XPENG has not published these fields, so their presence cannot be assumed.
  4. Follow the service’s stated pickup instructions. The company has not said whether the vehicle uses fixed virtual stops, curbside pickup, geofenced meeting points or another method.
  5. If the interface offers no route, support or payment information, do not infer that those policies are standardized; ask the official service channel when one is provided.

How routing and autonomous driving are described

XPENG’s stated hardware and software

XPENG says the mass-produced Robotaxi uses four in-house Turing AI chips delivering a combined 3,000 TOPS of in-vehicle compute. It also describes a pure-vision solution that operates without LiDAR and without high-definition maps, with decision-making powered by VLA 2.0. These are XPENG’s specifications and product framing; the announcements do not provide an independent performance test or a comparable third-party measurement.

A pure-vision design means the vehicle’s perception system is described as relying on cameras and associated software rather than LiDAR sensors. “Without high-definition maps” describes XPENG’s stated mapping approach, not an assurance that the vehicle has no map data or that every road is supported. The announcements do not explain the sensor complement, redundancy design, remote-assistance process, fallback behavior or how the system handles a road it cannot confidently navigate.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is known about route selection

XPENG has not published its dispatch rules or route-planning interface. There is no confirmed information about whether passengers can select among route options, add stops, change a destination after departure, request a detour, or see a live route on a screen. Operating zones, pickup locations, road restrictions, service hours and rerouting behavior are also undisclosed.

Consequently, it would be inaccurate to promise a particular route or to assume that YOYO behaves like another robotaxi service. A ride may be limited to approved roads and geofenced areas, but XPENG has not stated the boundaries in the announcements reviewed.

What the ride cabin is supposed to feel like

XPENG presents YOYO as a premium passenger space rather than a conventional front-seat driving experience. The company describes privacy glass, comfort or “zero-gravity” seating, massage functions, a rear entertainment display and voice-assistant control.

The October announcement adds that passengers can set the cabin temperature and activate a fragrance system before boarding. These controls are described by XPENG; the company has not published the exact interface, supported languages, temperature range, fragrance options or whether every vehicle in the fleet will include every feature.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Likely passenger interaction

The stated design suggests that a rider may spend the trip in a rear passenger seat with fewer driving-related controls than in a normal taxi. Voice control and the rear display could be used for cabin functions or entertainment, but XPENG has not listed commands, content services or accessibility controls. Privacy glass may change the cabin’s visual environment, yet no specifications for tint level, passenger visibility or emergency operation have been released.

Because the feature list comes from product announcements, it should be read as the intended equipment and experience, not as an independent assessment of comfort, noise, ride quality or reliability.

Pricing, payment and what the RMB 1 test means

XPENG says an internal paid test charged RMB 1 per ride. The company explained that the purpose was primarily to validate payment and the service workflow. This was an internal test price, not a published fare for public XPENG YOYO rides.

XPENG has not announced a regular fare formula, base charge, per-kilometre rate, time charge, surge policy, taxes, cancellation fee, refund process or accepted payment methods for external users. A future validation ride could therefore have terms that differ from the RMB 1 internal exercise.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Availability, supervision and safety claims

The May production announcement targeted pilot operations in the second half of 2026 and fully autonomous operation without an on-site safety officer in early 2027. Those statements describe intended milestones. As of October 8, XPENG had not confirmed that fully autonomous public operation had begun.

The published material also provides no independent statistics for completed trips, disengagements, collisions, travel times, fleet size, uptime or passenger satisfaction. It does not state whether a remote operator can assist a vehicle, whether a safety attendant is present during invitation-based rides, or what happens when the vehicle encounters construction, emergency vehicles, blocked lanes or a passenger who needs help. Those are operational questions a rider should have answered before relying on the service.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Information XPENG has not yet published

Passenger question Current status
Where can a ride be requested? No public city list, service map or operating-zone boundary is stated.
Which interface handles a request? XPENG describes online ordering but does not name the app, mini-program or exact screens.
Where does pickup occur? Pickup-point rules and whether stops are fixed or curbside are not stated.
Which destinations are accepted? No destination list, geofence or road eligibility rule is published.
Can a passenger alter the route? Route display, destination edits, added stops and detours are not described.
When does the service operate? No public hours or availability schedule is provided.
What does a public ride cost? Only the RMB 1 internal validation price is disclosed; it is not a public fare.
How are cancellations and support handled? No policy, refund rule, hotline or in-ride support procedure is published.
Is a human attendant present? The announcements state a future target for operation without an on-site safety officer but do not specify the staffing model for invitation rides.

What to check before treating YOYO as everyday transport

When XPENG releases fuller consumer information, prospective riders should verify these items on the official booking interface rather than rely on descriptions of the vehicle:

  • The exact city or geofenced area and the days and hours when requests are accepted.
  • Whether pickup is at a designated virtual stop, a normal curb or another meeting location.
  • How the passenger identifies the assigned vehicle and what to do if it cannot reach the pickup point.
  • Destination restrictions, route visibility and the procedure for requesting a change.
  • The complete fare, payment, cancellation and refund terms before pressing confirm.
  • Whether a safety operator, remote assistance team or other human support is available.
  • Emergency, accessibility, child-passenger, luggage and lost-property procedures.
  • How personal data, cabin cameras, voice commands and payment information are handled.

These checks are practical safeguards, not evidence that XPENG YOYO lacks any particular feature. They identify the information needed to make a responsible booking decision once public service details exist.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

XPENG’s partnership and business model

At its 2025 AI Day, XPENG named Amap as its first global ecosystem partner for Robotaxi and described a future joint service direction. The October 2026 announcement says XPENG expects revenue from hardware sales, services and commission sharing, with offline operations entrusted to global partners.

Neither announcement proves that Amap is currently integrated into a live YOYO booking flow, identifies a commission rate or establishes a consumer referral program. The partnership should therefore be understood as announced strategy unless XPENG later documents an operating integration.

Bottom line for a potential rider

XPENG has moved YOYO beyond a purely internal concept: it reports a connected order-to-arrival test, a mass-produced vehicle and invitation-code registration in China. The company also advertises a high-compute, camera-led autonomy stack and a premium rear cabin.

But the evidence available on October 8, 2026 still describes a validation stage, not an unrestricted robotaxi service. There is no confirmed public booking map, standard fare, route-control policy or general launch date. Until XPENG publishes those details, the useful expectation is that an invitation may provide access to a controlled trial—not a guaranteed ride on demand.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Autonomous Drivingrobotaxi bookingrobotaxisSelf-Driving Carsvehicle technologyXPENGXPENG YOYO

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.