DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Get listed

cabin space10 MIN

How to Compare Electric Sedans by Real-World Range, Charging Speed and Cabin Space

Compare electric sedans correctly: match model year and trim, separate EPA range from road-test results, judge charging by average power and miles recovered, and measure cabin space by seat dimensions and luggage capacity.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The most useful electric-sedan comparison uses three separate measurements: an EPA range estimate for a consistent baseline, an independently tested result with route and weather disclosed, and a charging figure that shows how much usable range the car recovers over a defined session. Cabin comfort requires its own measurements—front and rear headroom, legroom, shoulder room, passenger volume and luggage capacity—because a sedan can have generous passenger space but a small trunk.

Keep the model year, trim, drivetrain, wheels, market and test conditions attached to every number. The examples below are U.S.-market figures; charging standards, equipment and specifications can differ elsewhere.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Start with the question your comparison must answer

“Best range,” “fastest charging” and “most spacious” are not interchangeable goals. A long-distance commuter may value efficient highway range, while a household that charges at home may care more about rear-seat fit and trunk access. A driver who makes frequent road trips needs a repeatable fast-charge result rather than a brochure peak-power claim.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Routine driving: compare the EPA estimate with a realistic buffer for weather, speed and passengers.
  • Road trips: compare energy added during the same state-of-charge window, average charging power and miles recovered per charging hour.
  • Family or passenger use: compare rear legroom, rear headroom, shoulder room, child-seat fit and usable cargo access separately from total passenger volume.

Do not combine unlike figures into a single score before checking how each was measured. A laboratory estimate, a Southern California road test and a manufacturer’s 10%-to-80% claim answer different questions.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
LISEN Retractable Car Charger, 84W Car Charger USB C Fast Charge, 4 in 1 | Cigarette Lighter Adapter, Car Accessories, for Christmas Day Gifts for Men Women Dad Mom, for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15 14
  • Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
  • Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
  • Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
  • Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
  • Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.

Lock the vehicle configuration before comparing numbers

Range and interior measurements can change within one model line. Record the following for every candidate:

  • Model year and market (the figures cited here are U.S. examples).
  • Trim and battery version.
  • Rear-wheel drive or all-wheel drive.
  • Wheel and tire size.
  • Roof equipment, such as a sunroof, when headroom is being compared.
  • The source, test date, route, ambient temperature and state-of-charge window.

Comparing a rear-wheel-drive long-range trim with an all-wheel-drive performance trim can make one car appear to have a range or charging advantage that belongs to the configuration, not the body design. Wheels can affect range, and roof hardware can affect headroom.

Compare range with two layers of evidence

Use EPA range as the common baseline

The EPA estimate is a standardized U.S. comparison point for the exact trim and drivetrain. It is not a promise that every driver will travel that distance. Temperature, speed, driving style, passenger count, cargo and climate-control use can all change the result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Check the vehicle’s window label and official specification for the exact configuration rather than copying the highest number shown for the model family. The U.S. Department of Energy Alternative Fuels Data Center’s 2025 vehicle guide, downloaded May 5, 2026, lists the Hyundai IONIQ 6 Standard Range at 240 miles of all-electric range. That guide is useful model-year data, but the vehicle label and equipment on the car you are considering remain the controlling details.

Add an independent road test only when its method is visible

Edmunds’ range leaderboard tests on public roads in Southern California. The route aims for approximately 60% city and 40% highway driving. Testers use the most efficient practical drive mode, keep the windows up, set automatic climate control to 72°F, and follow posted limits within five miles per hour when traffic allows. Testing ends with about 10 indicated miles remaining; Edmunds adds that remaining indication to the distance driven for the reported result. The leaderboard also reports test-day temperature.

Those conditions make the result useful for comparing cars tested the same way, but they do not turn it into a universal forecast. A 70-mph highway run, a winter trip or an owner’s route with a full load measures something else and should be labeled as such.

Worked range examples

Vehicle and configuration EPA estimate Edmunds tested result Test temperature How to interpret it
2024 Hyundai IONIQ 6 Limited, rear-wheel drive 361 miles 343 miles 69°F Trim- and model-year-specific mixed-route result; not a statement about every IONIQ 6.
2026 Tesla Model 3 Standard 321 miles 339 miles 79°F Another configuration-specific result; it cannot establish a universal EPA-to-real-world adjustment.

The two examples point in opposite directions relative to their EPA estimates. That is why applying a fixed “real-world percentage” to every electric sedan is misleading. Use the exact test conditions and your own driving pattern to decide how much reserve you need.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
SINGARO Car Cup Holder Coaster, Silicone Cup Holder Insert, Universal Non-Slip Cup Holders, Car Accessories Interior for Women and Man Interior Sets 4 Pack Black
  • High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
  • Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
  • Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
  • Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
  • 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.

Turn range into a trip-planning decision

  1. Estimate your normal day: include the round-trip distance, expected temperature and whether the car will sit outside.
  2. Set a reserve: leave additional energy for traffic, detours, faster driving, heating or air conditioning and a charger that is occupied or unavailable.
  3. Separate daily and travel needs: a sedan that easily covers your commute may still require a charging stop on a long highway journey.
  4. Use the tested result as context: compare cars tested on the same route, then adjust expectations for your climate and speed.

Measure fast charging by time and energy recovered, not peak kW alone

Why peak power can mislead

A car may briefly reach a high kilowatt figure and then taper as the battery fills. As Edmunds’ charging-test explanation states, “Peak power values say nothing about how long vehicles sustain those levels.” A 250-kW spike that lasts seconds can be less useful on a trip than a lower average that remains steady through most of the session.

Edmunds also notes, “There is currently no universal charge time standard to which all manufacturers adhere.” Manufacturer claims may use different starting charge levels, battery temperatures, preconditioning procedures, chargers and definitions of “10% to 80%.” Put the method beside the number.

Use a defined charge window

Edmunds works with EV testing specialist P3. The test records electricity delivered and the power the vehicle requests from the station, then combines charging observations with Edmunds’ measured consumption. Its leaderboard reports peak and average power across a 10%-to-80% state-of-charge window and calculates miles per charging hour. That derived figure accounts for both charging rate and vehicle efficiency.

Many vehicles slow substantially above 80%, so a 10%-to-80% comparison is generally more repeatable for a road-trip decision than timing a session to 100%. Always confirm that the vehicle can accept the station’s power and connector, and remember that battery temperature, preconditioning and the starting state of charge affect the session.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Example charging result

Vehicle and configuration Edmunds tested peak Edmunds tested average Range added rate Time to add 100 miles Tested consumption
2024 Hyundai IONIQ 6 Limited, all-wheel drive 242 kW 224 kW 815 miles per charging hour 7 minutes 22 seconds 27.5 kWh/100 miles

The 815 miles-per-charging-hour figure is a derived rate from Edmunds’ standardized test, not a continuous charging speed or a guarantee for every station. The all-wheel-drive configuration in this test is also different from the rear-wheel-drive range example above; do not merge the two rows into one specification.

A practical charging worksheet

  1. Write down the start and end charge: for example, 10% to 80%, rather than an unspecified “fast charge.”
  2. Record peak and average kW: average power usually says more about the whole stop.
  3. Record time and miles added: a road-trip driver can compare minutes per 100 miles or miles recovered per hour.
  4. Include efficiency: two cars receiving the same energy can add different distances if one uses fewer kWh per mile.
  5. Check hardware assumptions: station output, connector compatibility, battery preconditioning and temperature all matter.

If a source reports only a peak number, treat it as an incomplete charging comparison. Seek a common-window average or a time-to-add-range figure before declaring a winner.

Compare cabin space as several measurements

Exterior length or a single “interior space” score cannot establish comfort. Passenger volume, headroom, legroom, shoulder room and trunk volume describe different constraints. Rear-seat passengers may have ample legroom but limited headroom, while a large passenger compartment can coexist with a modest trunk.

Rank #3
Kaistyle for Magsafe Car Mount【Strong Magnet】 Magnetic Phone Holder for Car Phone Holder Mount Dash Mounted Holders Phone Holders for Your Car Accessories for Women Men for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15
  • ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
  • ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
  • ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
  • ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
  • ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient

Measurements to collect

  • Front and rear headroom: note whether the figure includes a sunroof or other roof equipment.
  • Front and rear legroom: especially important when a tall driver sits ahead of a child seat or adult passenger.
  • Front and rear shoulder room: a better indicator of side-by-side seating than passenger volume alone.
  • Passenger volume: an aggregate figure that should not replace individual seat measurements.
  • Trunk capacity: record whether the seats are up or folded and consider opening width and loading height.
  • Front-trunk capacity: useful for cables or small bags, but not a substitute for main-luggage access.

Official 2025 Hyundai IONIQ 6 example

Specification Value Qualification
Passenger interior volume 103.0 cubic feet Official 2025 specification.
Front / rear legroom 45.4 / 34.7 inches Official 2025 specification.
Front / rear shoulder room 58.0 / 57.3 inches Official 2025 specification.
Trunk capacity, rear seats up 11.2 cubic feet Official 2025 specification.
Front-trunk capacity 0.5 cubic feet Official 2025 specification.
Headroom with sunroof, SE Standard Range, SE and SEL 40.2 / 36.9 inches front / rear Trim-specific official figure.
Headroom with sunroof, Limited 38.3 / 36.9 inches front / rear Trim-specific official figure; lower front figure than the other listed trims.

Do not turn these figures into a cross-model winner unless the competing sedan’s measurements use the same model year, trim and definitions. A sit-in check remains valuable: place the front seat where the primary driver needs it, sit behind it, test a child seat if relevant and load the bags you actually carry. No standardized cabin-comfort test has been established for this comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Build a comparison table that preserves the evidence

A useful worksheet keeps unlike metrics in separate columns instead of hiding them in one score.

Axis Required entry Why it matters
Range baseline EPA miles for exact model year, trim, drivetrain and wheels Standardized U.S. comparison point.
Independent range Tested miles, route mix, speed practice, temperature and end-of-test rule Shows how the car performed under stated road conditions.
Charging Start/end state of charge, average kW, peak kW, time or miles added and station capability Reveals sustained performance instead of a short spike.
Efficiency Tested or official energy consumption with its source and conditions Explains why equal charging energy can produce different travel distances.
Cabin Front/rear headroom, legroom, shoulder room, passenger volume and trunk volume Separates occupant comfort from luggage capacity.
Practical fit Home charging access, public-charging compatibility and typical trip pattern Determines whether the specifications work for your routine.

If a source does not state a comparable value, mark it “not stated” with the source rather than estimating it. Missing data is safer than a false ranking.

Apply the numbers to common buying situations

Mostly local commuting

Prioritize a configuration whose EPA range comfortably exceeds your daily distance, then check winter or hot-weather exposure and home-charging access. A modest fast-charge advantage may matter less than easy overnight charging and rear-seat usability.

Frequent highway travel

Give more weight to independently tested range on a route resembling yours and to miles added per charging hour. Check how much the car tapers near the end of the session; stopping at 80% and continuing may be faster than waiting for 100%.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Family duty

Start with rear legroom, rear headroom and shoulder room, then test the child seat and trunk opening. Passenger volume does not tell you whether a rear-facing seat will leave enough space for the front passenger, and trunk cubic feet do not describe the opening’s shape.

Mixed use with occasional road trips

Use a two-part decision: ensure the daily configuration meets normal needs, then verify that its 10%-to-80% charging behavior and compatible stations fit the occasional long trip. This avoids paying for a range or performance configuration whose advantages you rarely use while overlooking charging time when you do travel.

Rank #4
YGDMD 2PCS Car Seat Gap Filler Organizer,2 in 1 Car Gap Filler (Black) | Multifunctional Design,Fill and Storage Function for Storing Phones Keys Cards,No Drop Seat Guard for Cars Suvs Trucks
  • Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
  • Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
  • Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
  • Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
  • Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common comparison mistakes and how to correct them

Ranking by EPA miles alone

Problem: the estimate is treated as an exact trip promise.

Correction: keep the EPA figure as the baseline and pair it with a route-tested result whose temperature, speed and end rule are disclosed.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ranking by peak charging power

Problem: a brief peak is mistaken for sustained performance.

Correction: compare average power, a defined time-to-range result or miles per charging hour over the same state-of-charge window.

Mixing trims and drivetrains

Problem: a rear-wheel-drive range figure is compared with an all-wheel-drive charging result as though they describe one car.

Correction: label each row with its exact configuration and never transfer a result across variants without evidence.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Using passenger volume as a comfort verdict

Problem: aggregate volume hides a low roof, short rear legroom or a narrow seat.

Best Value
Stacool Upgraded Car Center Console Cover,Microfiber Leather Car Armrest Cover Cushion with 2 Storage Bags,Universal Car Armrest Storage Box (Black)
  • 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
  • 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
  • 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
  • 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
  • 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.

Correction: list front and rear dimensions separately and perform a physical fit check.

Treating a manufacturer’s charging claim as universal

Problem: the claim may assume a particular charger, battery temperature, preconditioning routine and starting charge.

Correction: record those assumptions or use an independent test with a stated method.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A repeatable decision process

  1. Define your use case: daily distance, longest regular trip, passengers and luggage.
  2. Choose the exact variants: same model year where possible, with drivetrain, wheels and roof equipment recorded.
  3. Enter EPA range: use the exact U.S. trim value from the label or official listing.
  4. Enter an independent range result: include route, temperature and test rule; leave the cell “not stated” if the method is missing.
  5. Compare charging consistently: use a shared state-of-charge window, average power and range added.
  6. Audit cabin dimensions: separate headroom, legroom, shoulder room, passenger volume and trunk capacity.
  7. Validate the physical fit: sit in the car, install any child seat and load representative luggage.
  8. Weight the result for your routine: home charging, public charging compatibility and trip frequency can change the practical winner.

This process produces a defensible comparison without pretending that one sedan wins every category. It also makes updates easier when a new model year, wheel option or independent test changes one row.

What the available evidence can—and cannot—establish

The cited range and charging figures are U.S.-market examples, and the independent range tests took place on public roads in Southern California. Official specifications vary by model year and trim. The available cabin data does not provide a consistent official table for several current electric sedans, so it cannot support a numerical cabin-space ranking between the 2025 Hyundai IONIQ 6 and 2026 Tesla Model 3. Edmunds identifies both as sedan configurations on its comparison page, but the opened material does not supply the detailed, like-for-like cabin measurements needed for that verdict.

Public-charging network coverage also varies by region and was not established by these measurements. Before buying, verify local connector availability, station power and the vehicle’s ability to use the networks on your regular routes.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

cabin spaceelectric car comparisonelectric sedansEPA rangeEV rangefast charging

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.