Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Get listed

car buying11 MIN

How to Compare Electric Sedans by Range, Charging Speed, and Efficiency

A practical framework for comparing electric sedans by exact-configuration range, electricity efficiency and real charging capability, with 2025 DOE examples and cost calculations.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare electric sedans on three separate questions: How far can it go on a charge? (EPA-rated range), How much electricity does it use? (MPGe or miles per kilowatt-hour), and How quickly can it add energy? (Level 2 and DC-fast charging). Use the same model year, drivetrain, battery and wheel configuration for every candidate. A sedan can have a large range because it carries a large battery while using more energy per mile, so range alone does not identify the most efficient car.

The U.S. Department of Energy’s model-year 2025 listings illustrate the method with the Hyundai Ioniq 6 and BMW i7. These figures are standardized ratings, not a complete ranking or a promise of real-world results. Prices, availability, electricity rates and charging access must be checked for your location and purchase date.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What each metric tells you

Range answers the distance question

EPA-rated range is the standardized number of miles a vehicle can travel on a full battery under the EPA test procedure. It is the best starting point for estimating whether a sedan can cover your normal commute and planned trips without charging, but it is not a guaranteed distance. Temperature, speed, wind, hills, payload, tire pressure, climate control and battery condition all affect actual travel.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use the rating to compare vehicles tested under the same rules and model year. Do not treat the longest-range configuration as representative of every trim: wheels, tires and drivetrain can change the published result.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Efficiency answers the electricity question

Efficiency describes energy used per mile. EPA window stickers commonly show MPGe, while technical specifications and charging apps may show miles per kilowatt-hour (mi/kWh). Higher mi/kWh or higher MPGe means less electricity is needed to travel a given distance. The DOE explains that MPGe uses an energy conversion of 33.7 kWh for one gallon of gasoline; its official definition is available in FOTW #1373, December 16, 2024.

Battery size and efficiency are different variables. A 105.6-kWh battery can produce a long range in a heavy luxury sedan, while a smaller battery in a lighter, more aerodynamic sedan can travel more miles per kilowatt-hour.

Charging speed answers the waiting-time question

Level 2 charging is normally used at home, workplaces and destination locations. Its power rating, expressed in kilowatts (kW), indicates the maximum rate the vehicle can accept from compatible equipment. DC fast charging can add substantial range during a trip, but the vehicle usually accepts its peak power only over part of the session.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A peak DC figure is not a complete trip-time measure. Charging curves, battery temperature, state of charge, charger sharing and the specific charge window determine how long a stop takes. Compare a stated time for the same window, such as 10–80 percent, whenever the manufacturer or an independent test supplies one. The model-year data used here provides peak power but not consistent charge-window times across these sedans.

Start with an apples-to-apples configuration

Before comparing numbers, write down the exact model year, trim, drivetrain, battery and wheel size. An all-wheel-drive version can weigh more and use more energy than rear-wheel drive. Larger wheels and different tires can also reduce the certified range. If one listing gives a range rather than one number, that range generally covers multiple configurations.

  • Model year: Keep the year consistent; battery software, equipment and test results can change.
  • Drivetrain: Separate rear-wheel drive (RWD), front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive (AWD) versions.
  • Wheels and tires: Record diameter and tire specification when the listing identifies them.
  • Battery: Note usable or listed capacity and whether the figure is clearly defined.
  • Charging hardware: Record both onboard Level 2 capability and DC-fast peak capability.
  • Price and availability: Verify a current regional transaction price separately; a model-year base MSRP is not a current quote.

The DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center’s model-year 2025 vehicle listings show why this discipline matters.

Worked comparison: 2025 electric sedans

The following values are the ranges and ratings shown in the cited AFDC model-year 2025 listings. A range with two endpoints covers configurations in that listing; it is not one trim’s guaranteed result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Vehicle and configuration EPA range Combined efficiency Battery capacity Level 2 maximum DC-fast peak Wheel information Model-year base MSRP
Hyundai Ioniq 6 RWD 291–342 miles 111–132 MPGe (approximately 3.29–3.92 mi/kWh) 77.4 kWh 11 kW 221 kW 18-inch and 20-inch wheel models are included in the listing Not stated in the cited listing
Hyundai Ioniq 6 AWD 270–316 miles 103–121 MPGe (approximately 3.06–3.59 mi/kWh) 77.4 kWh 11 kW 221 kW 18-inch and 20-inch wheel models are included in the listing Not stated in the cited listing
BMW i7 xDrive60 296–311 miles 83–88 MPGe (approximately 2.46–2.61 mi/kWh) 105.6 kWh 11 kW 195 kW Not stated in the cited listing $105,700 base MSRP for the model-year listing; verify current pricing

The Ioniq 6 RWD entry reaches the highest efficiency range in this small example, while the i7 xDrive60 carries a much larger battery and still offers a similar published range. That is the central distinction: range reflects the combination of battery energy and consumption, whereas efficiency isolates how much energy the vehicle uses to move each mile.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

How to compare range without being misled

Use the exact configuration’s range

For the Ioniq 6, the RWD listing spans 291 to 342 miles and the AWD listing spans 270 to 316 miles. The same 77.4-kWh battery and the same listed 11-kW Level 2 and 221-kW DC capability appear for both drivetrains, but the AWD range and efficiency bands are lower. If your shortlist includes a particular wheel size, use the value attached to that wheel configuration rather than the top of the model’s overall range band.

Translate range into your driving pattern

Estimate your longest routine between reliable charging opportunities, then add a reserve for weather, detours and charger outages. For example, a 70-mile daily round trip consumes roughly 20–25 percent of a 280–340-mile rated range before conditions are considered. A driver who routinely travels 250 miles between charging sites needs a different margin from a driver who charges every night at home.

Do not subtract an invented universal percentage from EPA range. The available evidence establishes that real-world results vary, but it does not establish one model-specific adjustment for these sedans. Instead, look for route-specific experience in the climate and speeds where you drive, and plan a charging stop when the forecast, terrain or payload makes the rating less representative.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Put the number in context

DOE reported that the median range of all-electric vehicles for model year 2024 reached 283 miles per charge in FOTW #1375, December 30, 2024. That statistic covers all-electric vehicles, not only sedans, and is useful as broad context rather than a buying cutoff. DOE also reported that the Lucid Air held a 520-mile EPA-certified maximum range in model year 2022; that is historical context, not a current model-year ranking.

How to compare efficiency and estimate running cost

Convert MPGe to miles per kilowatt-hour

Because 1 gallon equivalent equals 33.7 kWh, divide MPGe by 33.7 to obtain an approximate mi/kWh value:

  • Ioniq 6 RWD: 111–132 MPGe ÷ 33.7 = approximately 3.29–3.92 mi/kWh.
  • Ioniq 6 AWD: 103–121 MPGe ÷ 33.7 = approximately 3.06–3.59 mi/kWh.
  • BMW i7 xDrive60: 83–88 MPGe ÷ 33.7 = approximately 2.46–2.61 mi/kWh.

These are derived conversions of the listed combined ratings, rounded for readability. Use the same unit when comparing cars; a larger MPGe number and a larger mi/kWh number both indicate better efficiency, but they are not miles of range.

Calculate electricity cost

Use this formula for a planning estimate:

Energy cost = miles driven ÷ mi/kWh × electricity price per kWh.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At an illustrative 15,000 miles per year, 3.5 mi/kWh and $0.16 per kWh, the calculation is 15,000 ÷ 3.5 = about 4,286 kWh, then 4,286 × $0.16 = about $686. This example is not a quote for any specific sedan. Replace the efficiency value with the configuration’s rating and your utility’s rate, and remember that charging losses mean electricity drawn from the wall can exceed the energy delivered to the battery.

Rank #3
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

Understand the efficiency spread

DOE reported that combined city/highway EPA consumption for model-year 2024 EVs ranged from 1.49 to 4.17 mi/kWh. The spread shows why an efficient sedan can reduce energy use and cost even when two cars have similar range. It also explains why comparing a luxury sedan with a smaller, highly aerodynamic sedan solely by miles per charge can hide a meaningful operating-cost difference.

How to compare charging speed

Level 2 for home and destination charging

An 11-kW onboard charger, as listed for both Ioniq 6 drivetrains and the i7 xDrive60, can accept up to 11 kW from a compatible Level 2 supply. The actual rate may be lower because of the electrical circuit, charger setting, temperature, state of charge or the vehicle’s limits. Overnight charging is usually evaluated by how many miles are added during the hours available, not by the peak number alone.

Before installing equipment, confirm the connector used by the vehicle, available electrical capacity, circuit and breaker requirements, parking access, permits and local inspection rules. An electrician or qualified installer should assess the site. The AFDC listing establishes vehicle charging capability; it does not establish installation suitability, certification, live equipment prices or local incentives.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

DC fast charging on road trips

The Ioniq 6 entries list a 221-kW DC-fast peak, while the i7 xDrive60 lists 195 kW. Those figures indicate the highest reported acceptance rate under specified conditions, not the average rate from a low battery to a high battery. The car may taper power as the battery fills, and a cold or overheated pack may initially charge more slowly.

For trip planning, prioritize a published charge-window time or a charging curve over peak kW. If no comparable time is available, compare the peak figures only as a preliminary indicator and leave extra schedule margin. Also check whether the route has compatible, functioning high-power stations and whether your vehicle can use their connector and payment system.

Separate vehicle capability from station capability

A 350-kW station cannot force a car with a 195-kW limit to charge at 350 kW. Conversely, a vehicle’s 221-kW capability is useful only where the station, cable, temperature and battery state can support it. Station power may be shared between stalls, and some sites impose short-term limits. Treat the lower of the vehicle and available station capabilities as the ceiling, then account for the charging curve.

A step-by-step comparison method

  1. Define the use case. Record daily miles, longest regular trip, climate, typical highway speed, passenger and cargo load, and whether home charging is available.
  2. Choose comparable entries. Filter to the same model year and body style, then separate RWD and AWD and note wheel sizes.
  3. Capture the rated range. Write the exact configuration’s EPA range and retain both endpoints when the source provides a band.
  4. Capture efficiency. Record combined MPGe and convert it to mi/kWh using MPGe ÷ 33.7 if you want an electricity-cost calculation.
  5. Record battery context. A larger battery can explain a higher range without implying higher efficiency. Do not compare battery capacity as though it were usable energy unless the source defines it.
  6. Record charging limits. List Level 2 power, DC peak power and any manufacturer-published charge-window times separately.
  7. Check the route. Map dependable DC stations, connector compatibility, opening hours, payment requirements and alternatives for weather or outages.
  8. Estimate operating cost. Apply your annual miles and local electricity rate to the efficiency figure, then allow for charging losses and rate changes.
  9. Verify purchase information. Confirm current regional pricing, incentives, inventory, warranty terms and software or equipment changes; do not carry a model-year MSRP forward as today’s price.
  10. Set a personal decision rule. Select the least expensive or most efficient sedan that meets your range reserve and charging-access requirements, rather than the car with the largest isolated headline number.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How much range do you need?

Home charging every night

If you can charge at home and most days are short, efficiency and a convenient Level 2 installation may matter more than maximum range. A car that uses fewer kilowatt-hours per mile costs less to replenish and may recover a day’s driving during a shorter overnight session.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequent highway travel

For regular long-distance driving, evaluate the complete charging stop: station spacing, reliable alternatives, charge-window time, winter performance in your region and the number of passengers. A sedan with a lower peak kW figure can still be easier to travel with if its route has better station coverage and its charging curve stays strong through your planned window.

Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station | up to 50 mph, 25ft Cable, Enhanced WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Apartment or workplace charging

When home charging is unavailable, confirm where routine charging will occur before choosing a range target. Workplace, public Level 2 and DC-fast access can change the practical value of an extra 40 or 50 rated miles. Include parking rules, access hours and per-session or idle fees in your planning, but verify local terms because they change by provider and site.

Conditions that change real-world results

  • Cold weather: Heating the cabin and battery can increase energy use, while a cold battery can limit regenerative braking and fast-charging power.
  • High speed: Aerodynamic drag rises rapidly with speed, so sustained highway driving generally uses more energy than the combined test cycle.
  • Terrain and wind: Climbing, headwinds and wet roads require more energy; downhill recovery does not fully erase the uphill cost.
  • Load and accessories: Passengers, luggage, roof equipment and trailer loads add mass or drag.
  • Tires and pressure: Tire type, wheel size, tread and inflation affect rolling resistance and the certified configuration.
  • Battery temperature and state of charge: These influence both available range and DC-fast charging power.

Use EPA figures as a consistent baseline, then plan conservatively for your own conditions. The published data does not support applying one universal real-world correction to every sedan.

Common comparison mistakes

Picking the biggest range number

The top of a model’s range band may belong to a specific drivetrain and wheel combination you are not buying. Identify the exact trim first.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Calling MPGe a distance rating

MPGe measures energy efficiency. It cannot tell you how many miles the battery will provide without battery capacity and configuration-specific range data.

Using peak kW as a guaranteed stop time

Peak power is a ceiling reached under favorable conditions. Without a comparable charge-window time or curve, do not promise that one sedan will finish a stop in a particular number of minutes.

Comparing different years or test standards

Battery software, equipment and EPA results can change. Keep model years aligned and record the source date.

Treating a listed MSRP as today’s transaction price

The i7 xDrive60’s $105,700 figure is a base MSRP shown for the model-year listing. It is not a current regional quote. Verify present pricing, incentives, destination charges and dealer availability before making a budget decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ignoring charging access

A high-range sedan is inconvenient if dependable charging is absent where you park or travel. Confirm electrical capacity, connector compatibility and route coverage before purchase.

What a sound decision looks like

First, choose a minimum usable range margin for your longest routine trip. Next, favor higher mi/kWh when two candidates meet that range requirement, because efficiency reduces electricity use and can reduce charging time for the same miles. Then verify Level 2 access for ordinary days and DC-fast coverage for exceptional trips. Finally, compare current local prices and ownership costs using the exact configuration.

The 2025 examples make the trade-off visible: the Ioniq 6 RWD’s 291–342-mile rating and 111–132 MPGe band emphasize efficiency, while the BMW i7 xDrive60’s 296–311-mile range comes with 83–88 MPGe and a 105.6-kWh battery. Neither is automatically the better choice; the right answer depends on the distance you need, the electricity you can access and the time you are willing to spend charging.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

car buyingDC fast chargingelectric sedansEV efficiencyEV rangeLevel 2 chargingmiles per kWhMPGe

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.