Compare an electric car’s range, AC charging capability, DC fast-charging capability, and battery capacity as separate but related measures. Range helps you judge whether a car suits your driving; AC charging matters for home and destination charging; DC charging matters most on longer trips; and battery size makes sense only alongside efficiency. The right choice depends on your driving and charging access, not a single winning number.
Start with the question that matters most: how will you use the car?
Before comparing specifications, write down the driving and charging situations the car needs to handle. A daily commute with reliable home charging poses a different comparison problem from frequent long-distance travel or a household without a place to charge overnight. A high maximum DC charging rate may be useful on road trips but is less relevant to a routine that can be served by overnight AC charging. Conversely, a large battery does not solve a problem if a car’s charging access or configuration does not suit your needs.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Make a short list of your regular driving, occasional longer journeys, and where you expect to charge. Then compare vehicles using the same model year and, as closely as possible, the same trim, drivetrain, and wheel configuration. These details can affect the figures, and a specification that covers multiple configurations may not describe the exact vehicle you plan to buy.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems- For everyday use: focus first on range in the exact configuration, then on whether your available charging routine can replenish the energy you use.
- For frequent road trips: consider range together with the vehicle’s maximum accepted DC rate, session-based charging information when available, connector compatibility, and station access.
- For any buyer: compare battery capacity alongside range and efficiency rather than treating the biggest kWh figure as the best result.
How do I compare electric cars by range?
Begin with the range figure for the exact model year and configuration, and note who published it. A range estimate is a comparison aid, not a promise that the car will cover that distance in every situation. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency says its estimates, including EV range, are intended as a general guideline for consumers comparing vehicles. The agency also warns that cold weather, accessory use such as air conditioning, and high-speed driving can significantly lower range.
#1 Best Overall
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Ask whether the published figure gives you enough room for your own regular driving under the conditions you expect. Consider your usual trip pattern and whether you can charge between trips; do not assume that a rating will be achieved regardless of weather, speed, or accessory use. There is no single range number that is right for every driver, and a larger rated figure alone does not establish that a vehicle is the better choice for you.
When comparing two cars, put their figures side by side only after checking that the entries refer to equivalent model years and configurations. If one figure covers more than one wheel size or variant, retain that caveat instead of presenting it as an exact trim-specific result. Label the rating source and model year in the comparison so readers can distinguish a published estimate from a result measured in a particular real-world test.
A useful range comparison checklist
- Record model year, trim, drivetrain, and wheel configuration.
- Record the source and its exact range figure or range interval.
- Check whether the listing combines configurations or includes a variant note.
- Relate the estimate to your regular driving and expected weather and speed conditions.
- Do not mix official estimates and independent test results without labeling their different methods and conditions.
Does a bigger EV battery mean more range?
Not necessarily. Battery capacity, usually reported in kilowatt-hours (kWh), describes how much energy a battery can store. Range also depends on how efficiently the vehicle uses that energy. A larger-capacity pack can hold more energy, but the kWh figure by itself does not say how far a specific car will travel.
Recommended Free Tools
The EPA explains the relationship with a simple example: if usable battery capacity is 100 kWh and the vehicle gets 2 miles per kWh, the calculated range is 200 miles. That is an illustration of the arithmetic, not a specification for a particular vehicle. In general, the calculation is:
Rank #2
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Energy capacity (kWh) × distance per unit of energy (miles per kWh) = estimated distance (miles)
Use that relationship to understand why capacity and efficiency belong together in a comparison. If a source identifies battery capacity as usable, preserve that wording. Do not silently treat a gross capacity figure as usable energy, or compare capacity values on an assumed common basis when the source does not establish one. The Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) model listings report battery capacity, but the entries cited here do not establish a universal usable-capacity convention across manufacturers.
What kWh and kW mean
kWh is a measure of energy capacity. kW is a measure of power: the rate at which energy is transferred or used. They are related by time; as the EPA puts it, kWh = kW × hours. A battery’s capacity and a charger’s power therefore describe different things. A large kWh number is not a charging-speed figure, and a high kW figure is not a statement of how much energy the battery stores.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How to compare home and destination charging
For routine charging at home or at a destination, compare the vehicle’s supported Level 2 AC charging rate with the equipment and electrical setup available to you. AFDC lists a Level 2 rate for its model entries, which makes that field useful when comparing cars. The vehicle’s capability and the charging equipment both matter: the specification for the car is only one part of the charging arrangement.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
If you are considering home charging equipment, first establish the vehicle’s AC charging limit and whether the household electrical setup can support the equipment under consideration. A charging unit rated more highly than the car’s supported rate does not by itself make the vehicle charge at that higher rate. Check the exact vehicle and equipment specifications rather than assuming compatibility or a particular charge time from one number alone.
Level 1 charging appears in AFDC’s estimated miles-added-per-hour data as well, but Level 2 is the more useful comparison for many home and destination routines. Compare rates on the same basis, and do not equate a rate in kW with miles added per hour: the latter is an estimate of distance replenished over time, while the former reports power.
Does a 350 kW charger charge every EV faster?
No. A public charger’s advertised maximum and the car’s maximum accepted DC charging rate are separate limits. The EPA explains that a vehicle’s maximum DC fast-charging speed is set by the automaker; a car capable of accepting up to 50 kW will charge at that vehicle limit whether the charger is rated at 150 kW or 350 kW. EPA guidance says public DC fast chargers generally advertise rates from 50 to 350 kW, but that range describes charger ratings, not a charging result guaranteed for every car.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →For a road-trip comparison, note the car’s maximum accepted DC rate, but do not treat that peak as the rate maintained throughout a session. A peak figure alone does not tell you how long a particular charge will take or how much time the vehicle will need to reach a chosen charge level. If comparable session-time information is available for both cars, compare the same state-of-charge interval. Otherwise, distinguish a peak-power specification from a session-time measure instead of treating them as equivalent.
Rank #4
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
Compare road-trip charging in context
Charging speed is one part of a trip stop. Also check that the stations on the routes you use have a connector compatible with the exact vehicle and confirm how the network handles payment. The EPA recommends checking connector availability using the DOE AFDC station locator. Station access and payment approaches can differ, so verify them for the places and trips that matter to you.
For road trips, the EPA says it generally saves time to fast charge to around 80% of battery capacity before continuing to the next station. Treat that as agency guidance for trip planning, not a promise of a fixed stop duration or a rule for every route and circumstance.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.2025 model-year examples: compare the fields, not just the headline number
The following AFDC figures are for the specified 2025 model-year entries. They show why range, capacity, and charging measures belong together; they are not a model-year 2026 comparison or a universal ranking. AFDC reports the figures as estimates, not as independent tests conducted for this article.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match| AFDC model-year 2025 entry | Electric-only range | Battery capacity | Level 2 rate | DC fast rate | Estimated miles added per hour: Level 1 / Level 2 / DC fast | Configuration note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hyundai Ioniq 6 RWD | 291–342 miles | 77.4 kWh | 11 kW | 221 kW | 4 / 34 / 554 | Entry notes 18-inch and 20-inch wheels. |
| Kia EV9 Long Range RWD | 304 miles | 99.9 kWh | 11 kW | 200 kW | 3 / 27 / 399 | Long Range RWD entry. |
| Hyundai Kona Electric Standard Range | 200 miles | 48.5 kWh | 11 kW | 100 kW | 4 / 25 / 208 | Standard Range entry. |
The Ioniq 6 entry illustrates why variant notes matter: AFDC reports a range interval and notes two wheel sizes, so the 291–342-mile span should not be presented as one exact configuration’s guaranteed result. The EV9 entry pairs a higher reported battery capacity with a 304-mile range, while the Kona entry reports a smaller capacity and a 200-mile range. Those figures do not establish a simple ranking of efficiency or suitability; a proper comparison would also need consistently sourced efficiency data and the buyer’s requirements.
Best Value
- WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
The miles-added-per-hour estimates provide another lens, but they are not interchangeable with the kW rate. In these AFDC entries, the Ioniq 6’s estimated DC fast figure is 554 miles added per hour and the Kona’s is 208, while their listed peak DC rates are 221 kW and 100 kW, respectively. These source-reported estimates are comparison fields, not a guarantee of real-world replenishment or a substitute for like-for-like session times.
Build a fair comparison table for the cars you are considering
Use one row per exact vehicle configuration, not merely per model name. A good table makes assumptions visible and prevents an attractive headline number from hiding a mismatch in year, drivetrain, or measurement.
| Field | What to record | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle identity | Model year, trim, drivetrain, wheel configuration | Specifications may differ among variants or a listing may cover multiple configurations. |
| Range | Exact figure or interval, source, and rating type | Separates published estimates from real-world test results and their conditions. |
| Battery capacity | kWh value and whether the source calls it usable or gross | Capacity is energy stored, not a direct range or charge-speed figure. |
| Efficiency | Source and units, where available | Range depends on energy use as well as capacity. |
| AC charging | Level 2 rate and the charging equipment you can access | Relevant to home and destination routines. |
| DC fast charging | Maximum accepted rate; comparable session time or miles-added estimate if available | Peak kW and full-session charging time are different measures. |
| Trip logistics | Connector compatibility, station availability, and payment method | Charging capability only helps on a route if compatible stations are accessible. |
| Other buying criteria | Include price, seating, body style, or other needs only when the comparison supports them | Range and charging specifications do not establish which car fits every buyer. |
If a value is not reported for one car, mark it as not stated and identify the source checked. Do not fill a gap by assuming that another trim, model year, or manufacturer uses the same specification. For real-world tests, record the conditions and method so that a test result is not presented as equivalent to an official estimate.
Common comparison mistakes and how to avoid them
- Choosing by range alone: Bring charging access, battery capacity, efficiency, and your driving pattern into the same decision rather than looking for a universal range winner.
- Equating battery size with distance: Compare capacity with efficiency; the same stored energy does not establish the same distance across vehicles.
- Reading charger power as vehicle power: The car’s accepted DC maximum caps its rate even when the public charger has a higher advertised rating.
- Assuming peak DC kW predicts a whole stop: Use comparable session-time information when available, or keep the peak figure explicitly labeled as a maximum.
- Mixing configurations or years: Match the model year, trim, drivetrain, and wheel details as closely as possible, and retain variant notes.
- Treating a rating as a real-world guarantee: Keep EPA’s stated caveats about cold weather, accessories, and high-speed driving attached to the range estimate.
- Assuming station access: Check connector availability and payment arrangements for the vehicle and routes you expect to use.
Is 2025 data current for a 2026 purchase?
The AFDC examples above are specifically model-year 2025 figures. They should not be relabeled as 2026 specifications. A comprehensive model-year 2026 comparison is not established here; for a 2026 purchase, verify the exact year, trim, drivetrain, wheels, market, and official range and charging specifications with the automaker and the relevant EPA rating information before comparing figures.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




