Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The Ferrari 296 GTB combines a rear-mounted 120-degree twin-turbo V6 with an electric motor positioned between the engine and its eight-speed dual-clutch transmission. A clutch and Ferrari’s Transition Manager Actuator (TMA) manage the connection between the power units: the engine can be decoupled for electric-only eDrive, or the V6 and motor can work together. Ferrari lists a 7.45 kWh high-voltage battery and up to 610 kW (830 cv) of combined output in Qualify mode; its stated eDrive range is up to 25 km, not a guaranteed real-world distance.
That layout makes the 296 GTB different from a hybrid that uses one motor on each axle. Here, the engine and motor share a compact rear-wheel-drive power path. Understanding where the clutch sits and what the TMA controls explains how the Ferrari can switch between silent electric running and full hybrid performance.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the 296 GTB’s hybrid system consists of
The 296 GTB is a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) with a rear-wheel-drive powertrain. Its main components are a 120-degree twin-turbo V6, an electric motor Ferrari calls the MGU-K, a clutch controlled through the Transition Manager Actuator (TMA), an eight-speed F1 dual-clutch transmission, and a high-voltage battery. The V6 and electric motor are arranged along the same rear drivetrain rather than driving separate axles.
The motor’s position is central to how the system works: it sits between the engine and the gearbox. The clutch arrangement allows the V6 to be disconnected while the electric motor remains able to propel the car. When the engine is connected, the electric motor can contribute to the combined powertrain. Ferrari also says the motor can start the V6 and recharge the high-voltage battery.
#1 Best Overall
- Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
- Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
- Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
- Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
- Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.
This is a series of mechanical and electrical functions rather than a simple “engine plus battery” arrangement. The battery supplies electrical energy to the motor, the motor sends torque through the rear transmission, and the clutch determines whether the V6 is mechanically part of that torque path. Because both power units feed the rear wheels, the car remains rear-wheel drive in either operating state.
Why the motor is called the MGU-K
Ferrari’s name for the motor is MGU-K, or Motor Generator Unit, Kinetic. That name reflects its two-way role in the system: it can provide propulsion, and Ferrari identifies it as a means of recharging the battery. YASA, the motor supplier, describes the unit as an axial-flux motor. That is the supplier’s description; Ferrari’s launch material is the source for the system’s operating functions.
Calling it a motor-generator is important. It is not only an auxiliary boost device that operates when the V6 is running. It can be the sole source of drive in eDrive, help bring the combustion engine to life, and operate in its generator role to restore energy to the high-voltage battery. The available specifications do not state how much of the battery’s nominal capacity is usable in each situation.
Recommended Free Tools
How the car moves in eDrive
In eDrive, the TMA-controlled clutch arrangement decouples the V6, so the electric motor can drive the car on its own. The car is still using its rear drivetrain and gearbox, but the V6 is not supplying propulsion while it is disconnected. This is the defining difference between electric-only operation and hybrid operation: in the former, the motor moves the car without the engine; in the latter, the engine and motor can contribute together.
In practical terms, the engine does not have to be dragged through the drivetrain while the car is using electric power. The actuator manages the transition between the disconnected and connected states, while the motor provides the torque needed to move the car. Ferrari’s published material does not provide a step-by-step driver procedure or a speed threshold for eDrive, so those details should not be inferred from the architecture alone.
Ferrari’s launch release, dated 24 June 2021, gives an eDrive range of up to 25 km. Treat that as a Ferrari-stated maximum, not as a range test result. The cited release does not specify a test cycle or conditions that would let a reader translate that figure into a dependable distance for a particular journey. Actual electric-only distance is therefore not established by that published maximum alone.
Rank #2
- High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
- Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
- Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
- Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
- 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.
The launch release also says the PHEV system “delivers a 25km range in all-electric eDrive mode.” Ferrari’s wording presents the figure as part of the car’s usability claim. It should not be read as a promise that every driver, route, or set of conditions will produce that distance. Battery state, ambient conditions, driving style and other variables could affect an individual result, but the cited Ferrari material does not quantify their effects.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How hybrid operation combines the V6 and electric motor
When the system operates with the V6 connected, the engine and electric motor can work together through the rear drivetrain. The motor’s assistance supplements the combustion engine rather than replacing it. Ferrari says the electric unit can contribute torque and power, and the system’s clutch and actuator arrangement enables the engine and motor to be used together or the motor to propel the car alone.
The electric unit’s functions also explain why the transition can be quick. Ferrari says the motor can start the V6, so the engine does not need a separate starter motor for that task in the description of this system. Once connected, the motor can add its own drive contribution. Ferrari’s launch release characterizes the result as cutting pedal response times to zero; that is a manufacturer description, not an independently measured response-time test.
Ferrari’s 2021 launch material lists 122 kW (167 cv) for the electric motor. The current Ferrari specification sheet lists 663 cv as the V6’s maximum output and 610 kW (830 cv) as the maximum hybrid-system output when the eManettino is in Qualify mode. These figures describe different things: a motor’s listed output, the engine’s listed maximum, and the system’s stated combined maximum under a specified mode. Do not add the engine and motor figures and assume their individual peaks occur at the same time. Ferrari’s combined-system figure is the relevant published maximum for the complete powertrain.
The Qualify qualification matters because 830 cv is not presented as an unconditional output in every setting. Ferrari ties that maximum to the eManettino’s Qualify mode. The specification sheet does not, in the material cited here, provide a separate combined-output number for every other mode, so it would be misleading to apply 830 cv universally.
Battery capacity, output and range: what the figures mean
| Figure | What it describes | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| 7.45 kWh | High-voltage battery capacity | Listed on Ferrari’s specification sheet accessed in 2026. This is a published nominal capacity; usable capacity is not stated. |
| Up to 25 km | eDrive electric range | Ferrari’s maximum stated in its 2021 launch release. The cited source does not identify a test cycle or conditions. |
| 122 kW (167 cv) | Electric-motor output | Listed in Ferrari’s 2021 launch material. |
| 663 cv | Maximum V6 output | Listed on Ferrari’s specification sheet accessed in 2026. |
| 610 kW (830 cv) | Maximum hybrid-system output | Ferrari’s specification sheet accessed in 2026 specifies this figure with eManettino in Qualify mode. |
The battery’s 7.45 kWh rating describes capacity, not a complete charging specification. It does not establish how much energy is usable, how long charging takes, or what connector and equipment apply in a particular market. The cited material does not provide those details, so neither charging time nor a region-specific charging procedure can be derived from the capacity figure.
Rank #3
- ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
- ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
- ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
- ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
- ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient
A capacity number and a power number answer different questions. Kilowatt-hours describe stored energy; kilowatts describe the rate at which the motor or system can deliver power. The 7.45 kWh figure therefore cannot be converted directly into a charging time or a guaranteed distance without additional information about usable energy, charging rate and operating conditions.
Likewise, a manufacturer-stated electric range is not interchangeable with an independently measured result. The 25 km figure is useful for understanding Ferrari’s description of eDrive capability, but the source does not state conditions that would support a precise real-world prediction. No independent test statistic or named study is included in the cited material.
What the TMA and clutch arrangement actually explain
The TMA is the control element Ferrari identifies for managing the connection between the combustion engine and electric motor. Its practical significance is that the 296 GTB can change between two basic powertrain states: engine disconnected for electric-only propulsion, and the power units working together. The clutch makes that separation possible; the actuator controls the transition.
This is a more useful way to understand the system than viewing it as simply a V6 with an electric boost. The electric motor is integrated into the drivetrain and has distinct operating functions: it can move the car alone, support the V6, start the engine, and recharge the high-voltage battery. The system’s published combined maximum reflects the complete hybrid powertrain, not a simple arithmetic sum of separate peak ratings.
The arrangement also explains the most important comparison: eDrive versus hybrid drive. In eDrive, the V6 is mechanically isolated and the motor supplies propulsion. In hybrid drive, the clutch reconnects the engine so both units can deliver power through the same rear-wheel-drive transmission. Neither description implies an electric motor driving the front wheels; the cited architecture is rear drive.
A typical power-flow sequence
- Electric launch: With the V6 decoupled, energy from the high-voltage battery reaches the MGU-K, which sends torque through the rear drivetrain.
- Engine connection: The TMA controls the clutch transition when the V6 is brought into the power path.
- Combined acceleration: Once connected, the V6 and motor can contribute together. Ferrari’s published 830 cv maximum applies with eManettino in Qualify mode.
- Engine start: Ferrari says the motor can start the V6, giving the MGU-K a role beyond propulsion assistance.
- Energy recovery or charging function: Ferrari also identifies the motor as able to recharge the high-voltage battery, although the cited sources do not specify charging rates or a detailed control strategy.
This sequence describes the functions Ferrari publishes, not a promise that every transition occurs in exactly this order during every drive. The company’s public specifications do not disclose all software decisions, operating thresholds or driver-selectable procedures.
Rank #4
- Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
- Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
- Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
- Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
- Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices
What the published information does not establish
Ferrari’s cited material confirms that the 296 GTB is a plug-in hybrid and provides the battery capacity, output figures, and a maximum eDrive range claim. It does not, in the material cited here, establish the charging connector standard, a precise charging procedure, charge time, or equipment compatibility for a particular region. Those details should be checked against the applicable owner’s manual or market-specific Ferrari information rather than inferred from the battery capacity.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- Not a guaranteed electric distance: Ferrari’s up-to-25-km eDrive claim is not accompanied in the cited launch release by a stated test cycle or operating conditions.
- Not a charging-time estimate: The nominal 7.45 kWh capacity alone does not disclose usable capacity or charging rate.
- Not a component-output sum: The engine and motor maximums should not be added together as though both peaks necessarily occur simultaneously.
- Not a separate-axle hybrid layout: Ferrari and YASA describe a rear-drive arrangement in which the engine and motor share the rear drivetrain.
- Not a complete service specification: The cited material does not state connector standards, regional equipment requirements or maintenance procedures.
How to read the system as a whole
The 296 GTB’s PHEV system has two central operating possibilities. With the V6 decoupled, the electric motor drives the car in eDrive; with the V6 connected, electric assistance supplements the engine. The TMA and clutch enable that change, while the motor’s generator function also gives it a role in starting the engine and recharging the battery. Ferrari’s specifications quantify the system, but the conditions attached to each number matter: 830 cv is the stated maximum hybrid output in Qualify mode, while up to 25 km is Ferrari’s 2021 eDrive claim rather than a universal real-world range.
For readers who want a physical representation of the car, Ferrari’s store lists a hand-assembled 1:43-scale 296 GTB replica with a display case and base. It is a collectible model, not a working hybrid demonstration or technical cutaway, and its listing does not establish availability through other retailers.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the Ferrari 296 GTB drive using electric power alone?
Yes. Ferrari says the TMA-controlled clutch can decouple the V6, allowing the electric motor to propel the rear-wheel-drive car in eDrive. Ferrari states an electric range of up to 25 km, but the release does not give a test cycle or conditions, so that is not a guaranteed real-world distance.
Where is the 296 GTB’s electric motor located?
The MGU-K sits between the 120-degree V6 and the eight-speed F1 dual-clutch transmission. Both power units therefore feed the shared rear drivetrain rather than separate front and rear axles.
What does the Transition Manager Actuator do?
The TMA controls the clutch connection between the engine and motor. It enables the V6 to be disconnected for eDrive or connected so the V6 and electric motor can work together.
Best Value
- 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
- 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
- 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
- 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
- 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.
How large is the Ferrari 296 GTB hybrid battery?
Ferrari’s current specification sheet lists a 7.45 kWh high-voltage battery. That is a published nominal capacity; it does not reveal usable capacity, charge time or the connector and equipment required in a specific market.
Is the 296 GTB’s 830 cv figure the engine’s output?
No. Ferrari lists 663 cv for the V6 and 610 kW (830 cv) for maximum hybrid-system output with eManettino in Qualify mode. The engine and motor figures should not be added as if their separate peaks necessarily occur simultaneously.
Does the electric motor only provide acceleration assistance?
No. Ferrari says the MGU-K can propel the car alone, supplement the V6, start the engine and recharge the high-voltage battery. The cited material does not provide detailed charging rates or software thresholds for those functions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →How long does it take to charge the 296 GTB?
The cited Ferrari material does not state a charging time, connector standard or region-specific procedure. The 7.45 kWh capacity alone is insufficient to calculate one, so an applicable owner’s manual or market-specific Ferrari information is required.
The Bottom Line
Ferrari’s 296 GTB uses a rear-mounted MGU-K between its twin-turbo V6 and eight-speed dual-clutch transmission. The TMA and clutch can isolate the engine for electric-only eDrive or connect both power units for hybrid propulsion. Ferrari lists a 7.45 kWh battery, 122 kW (167 cv) motor output, 663 cv from the V6 and up to 610 kW (830 cv) in Qualify mode; its up-to-25-km eDrive figure remains a manufacturer claim rather than an independent real-world test.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




