DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Get listed

DC fast charging7 MIN

How Fast Do Luxury Electric SUVs Charge at Home and on the Road?

Luxury electric SUVs generally charge overnight at home. Official U.S. examples list 10–80% DC fast-charge times from 21 to 35 minutes, while BMW iX 0–100% AC estimates run 9 hours 30 minutes to 10 hours 45 minutes.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Luxury electric SUVs typically need an overnight connection at home and about 21 to 35 minutes for a 10–80% public fast-charge stop in the manufacturer examples reviewed here. Home figures use AC charging from 0–100%; road figures use DC charging from 10–80%, so they are not interchangeable. Actual time depends on the SUV’s trim, battery temperature, starting charge, charger output, electrical installation and vehicle settings.

Home charging and road charging answer different questions

There are two charging systems to understand before comparing SUVs:

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  • AC charging at home: An onboard charger in the vehicle converts household AC power to DC for the battery. Manufacturers usually publish a 0–100% estimate, and owners commonly leave the vehicle connected for several hours overnight.
  • DC fast charging on the road: A public charger sends DC directly to the battery, bypassing the vehicle’s onboard AC converter. Road-trip planning normally uses a 10–80% session because charging slows as the battery fills and the last 20% can take disproportionately longer.

A charger’s advertised peak kilowatt rating is not the same as the power the SUV will sustain. The vehicle limits intake according to its battery design, software, temperature and state of charge. A 350 kW station therefore will not make every luxury SUV charge at 350 kW.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Official charging figures for selected luxury electric SUVs

The following figures come from U.S. manufacturer pages accessed October 11, 2026. They are specifications or estimates for the stated model year and configuration, not independent tests.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station | up to 50 mph, 25ft Cable, Enhanced WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
SUV and configuration Maximum AC power Published home-charge time Maximum DC power or requirement Published 10–80% DC time Conditions and qualifications
BMW iX xDrive60 (2025) 11 kW 10 hours 45 minutes, 0–100% 195 kW 35 minutes BMW estimate; exact time varies with temperature, starting charge and equipment.
BMW iX xDrive45 (2025) 11 kW 9 hours 30 minutes, 0–100% 175 kW 34 minutes BMW estimate for the listed configuration.
BMW iX M70 (2025) Not stated Not stated 195 kW 35 minutes BMW’s page lists the 10–80% figure; home AC time was not stated for this entry.
Porsche Macan 4S Electric (U.S. page displayed model year 2027) Not stated on the cited page Not stated CCS fast charger above 270 kW and 850 V 21 minutes Manufacturer estimate under optimal conditions, including a battery temperature of 77°F.
Mercedes-Benz EQS 450+ SUV (2025) Not stated on the cited page Not stated Not stated 31 minutes Mercedes-Benz U.S. model-year-specific figure.
Lucid Gravity Up to 19.2 kW Not stated Not stated Not stated Lucid describes the vehicle’s maximum AC capability; a complete 0–100% and 10–80% time was not stated.

The Porsche number is the shortest in this group, but it is also the most tightly qualified: the station must exceed 270 kW, provide 850 V, and the battery must be at the specified temperature, among other conditions. Treat it as an ideal-condition target rather than a promise at every public charger.

What to expect when charging at home

Overnight charging is the normal use case

An 11 kW vehicle connected to a suitable Level 2 EVSE can replenish a large amount of energy while parked overnight. The BMW examples illustrate why a full 0–100% charge is usually planned as an evening-to-morning activity rather than a quick break. Owners rarely need to refill from empty every day; connecting after normal driving can restore the next day’s travel during the same overnight window.

The vehicle, EVSE and electrical circuit must match

Home charging speed is limited by the weakest part of the system. Check all three ratings:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
  • Vehicle onboard AC limit: An SUV that accepts 11 kW cannot usefully draw more than that from a higher-rated wall unit.
  • EVSE output: The station must be configured for the amperage and voltage your vehicle supports.
  • Household service: A 240-volt circuit, breaker capacity, wiring and available panel capacity determine whether the EVSE can operate at its advertised output.

Installing a higher-power unit does not automatically shorten charging. It helps only when the SUV’s onboard charger and the home electrical supply can accept the additional power.

Lucid Gravity’s high-power AC option

Lucid says Gravity can charge at up to 19.2 kW from an AC source. Its home-charging guidance describes a station capable of 240 volts and 80 amps. That is a maximum capability, not a guaranteed household rate: the installation, circuit settings, vehicle state and local electrical rules still apply. Lucid’s separate estimate of up to 80 miles of range per hour is specifically for Lucid Air Pure using an 80-amp, 19.2 kW station, so it should not be applied to Gravity.

Connector compatibility matters

Gravity has a native NACS port. Lucid identifies an approved J1772-to-NACS adapter for AC charging and a separate CCS1-to-NACS adapter for DC fast charging. These adapters serve different purposes; an AC adapter does not turn a CCS1 public fast charger into an AC connection. Verify the approved adapter and the exact model-year compatibility before plugging in.

Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

How to set up a reliable home-charging routine

  1. Confirm the SUV’s specifications. Record the maximum AC kilowatts, connector type, usable charging limits and any model-year differences. Use the exact trim rather than a generic model name.
  2. Have the electrical service evaluated. An electrician should check the main panel, 240-volt circuit, breaker size, wire gauge, grounding and the distance to the parking location. Do not use an extension cord or an undersized circuit for a permanent installation.
  3. Choose an EVSE that matches the car and circuit. Compare connector, amperage, hardwired or plug-in installation, cable reach, weather rating and load-management features. Match the EVSE output to the vehicle’s onboard limit instead of buying on peak wattage alone.
  4. Install and commission the unit. Follow local permitting requirements and the EVSE manufacturer’s instructions. After installation, verify that the breaker, ground-fault protection and charging current are configured correctly.
  5. Set a charging schedule. Use the vehicle or EVSE app to charge during the hours that suit your utility rate and departure time. A schedule can also avoid leaving the battery at a high state of charge for long periods.
  6. Check the first few sessions. Confirm that the vehicle reaches the expected power, that the plug and cable remain within their normal temperature range, and that the scheduled departure target is met. If power is consistently lower, investigate the circuit and settings before replacing equipment.

Lucid says it has partnered with Qmerit for home-charger installation support. That identifies an installation-support relationship; availability, pricing and service coverage must be verified for your location.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How public DC fast charging works on a trip

Use a defined battery window

Plan stops around a target such as 10–80%, not a vague “full charge.” Starting at a higher state of charge generally reduces the average power, and charging beyond 80% can add substantial time. If your destination or the next reliable station is far away, the extra energy may justify a longer stop; otherwise, leaving at 80% is often the quicker trip strategy.

Check the station’s real capability

Before stopping, confirm the connector, voltage and power available at the specific stall. The Macan 4S Electric estimate requires a CCS fast charger above 270 kW and 850 V. A lower-powered or shared station can produce a longer session even when the SUV itself is unchanged. Station power can also be reduced when several vehicles share a cabinet or when the site is operating below its advertised maximum.

Rank #4
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

Precondition the battery

Battery temperature strongly affects DC acceptance. Lucid describes Smart Preconditioning, which prepares the battery when the navigation system is directed to a fast charger. The system may reduce power in some situations to manage battery conditions. Arriving with a battery at an appropriate temperature can make the charging curve more consistent than arriving cold or overheated.

Allow for the taper

Fast charging is not a flat line. The SUV may accept high power in the middle of the session, then taper as the battery approaches its upper limit. That is why a published 10–80% time is more useful for trip planning than a peak-kW headline. Add time for parking, authentication, cable handling and any queue at the station.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A practical method for comparing luxury electric SUVs

Use the same questions for every model and configuration:

Best Value
Sale
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Level 2 EV Charger
  • WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
  1. What is the maximum AC input? This determines the fastest possible home replenishment when the electrical installation is capable of delivering it.
  2. What is the manufacturer’s 0–100% AC estimate? Record the starting and ending percentages, because a partial overnight session cannot be compared directly with a full charge.
  3. What is the 10–80% DC time? Treat this as the primary road-trip metric, while checking whether it is an ideal-condition estimate.
  4. What charger does the estimate require? Note the station’s kilowatts, voltage, connector and battery-temperature assumptions.
  5. Does the SUV need an adapter? Separate AC adapter compatibility from DC fast-charging adapter compatibility.
  6. What is not stated? Mark missing AC or DC figures as unknown rather than inferring them from another trim, battery size or charger rating.

This method prevents two common errors: ranking a vehicle by a charger’s peak rating instead of its sustained intake, and comparing a full home-charge estimate with a partial road stop.

Why your actual session may be slower

  • Cold or hot battery: Wait for conditioning to complete, or navigate to the charger so the vehicle can prepare the battery when supported.
  • High starting state of charge: Begin the stop earlier on the battery gauge when practical; a 10–80% session is generally more representative of the published road figure.
  • Stall or cabinet sharing: Move to another available stall if the site reports reduced power and another connector is open.
  • Vehicle settings: Check charge-current limits, scheduled charging, battery-protection modes and any temporary power-reduction message.
  • Home circuit limitation: If AC power is below the EVSE setting, have an electrician verify the breaker, wiring and load-management configuration.
  • Connector or adapter issue: Confirm that the plug is fully latched and that the adapter is approved for the intended AC or DC use.

Stop charging and seek service if the vehicle reports an electrical fault, the connector is damaged, or abnormal heat, odor or repeated shutdowns occur. Do not bypass protective devices to gain speed.

How much confidence should you place in the published times?

These figures are useful planning benchmarks, not guarantees. The BMW, Porsche and Mercedes-Benz numbers apply to named model years or configurations, while Lucid’s published material emphasizes maximum AC capability rather than a complete charging-time test. Manufacturer pages can change, and equipment, weather, battery age, traffic at the station and software updates all affect the result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The available figures also do not establish a complete luxury-SUV market ranking or a representative real-world average. For a purchase decision, compare the exact trim’s AC limit, battery and connector, then verify the charging network and electrical service available where you live and travel.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

DC fast chargingelectric SUVsEV charginghome chargingluxury cars

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.