DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

How Automakers Are Reacting to the End of the $7,500 EV Tax Credit

Federal clean-vehicle credits ended for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025. Reported automaker responses include targeted discounts and business reassessments, but not one uniform industry pullback.
Entry523 Date Time4 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The federal clean-vehicle credits ended for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025. Automakers have responded in different ways: General Motors has used discounts on some vehicles and reported large charges as it reassessed parts of its EV business, while earlier executive comments from Toyota emphasized long-term product development alongside gasoline and hybrid models. Those examples do not establish what every automaker is doing today—or that every discount or business charge was caused by the credit’s end.

When did the EV tax credit end?

The cutoff for the federal new clean vehicle credit, previously owned clean vehicle credit, and qualified commercial clean vehicle credit is based on when a vehicle was acquired: the credits are not available for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025. The IRS says a vehicle acquired on or before that date may still qualify if it is placed in service, but the cutoff alone does not establish eligibility. Buyers should check the applicable program rules and their own transaction details.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The former headline maximum for a qualifying new clean vehicle was up to $7,500. The former used-vehicle credit was described by the Associated Press as up to $4,000. Neither amount is available for a post-cutoff acquisition. The IRS termination notice is the practical reference for the cutoff; historic eligibility lists should not be treated as proof that a later purchase qualifies.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Former federal credit Former maximum cited Cutoff
New clean vehicle Up to $7,500 for a qualifying vehicle Unavailable for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025; see the IRS.
Previously owned clean vehicle Up to $4,000, as reported by the Associated Press Unavailable for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025; see the IRS.
Qualified commercial clean vehicle Not stated here Unavailable for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025; see the IRS.

Are automakers replacing the credit with discounts?

Some GM vehicles received a reported discount

The Associated Press reported that GM took $7,500 off models that lost eligibility during earlier changes to which vehicles qualified. The report described incentives as one way automakers could balance inventory. That is a historical, specific example—not evidence of a current nationwide GM offer, a discount on every GM electric vehicle, or a continuing dollar-for-dollar replacement for the federal credit. AP’s report on the discounts also quoted J.D. Power’s EV practice vice president Elizabeth Krear describing offers as a way to balance inventory and calling the eligibility change “a near-term hiccup.”

#1 Best Overall
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))
  • Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
  • Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
  • Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
  • Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.

A manufacturer or dealer offer is not a federal credit

A discount may reduce a vehicle’s negotiated price, but it is separate from a tax credit and depends on the specific seller, vehicle, and terms. The reporting cited here does not establish live offers or a complete post-credit price list. Ask the dealer for the written, itemized price and verify which manufacturer incentives or dealer discounts apply to the exact model and trim.

What do GM’s charges say about its EV plans?

GM announced two large charges after the credit ended, but they should not be read as a direct measure of the tax credit’s cost to the company. Each reflects a broader business adjustment, and the later figure had several reported components.

Rank #2
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Reported charge What the report said What not to infer
$1.6 billion, reported October 14, 2025 AP tied the charge to reduced incentives and eased emissions rules. October 2025 report. It was not reported as a charge caused solely by the end of the consumer credit.
Approximately $6 billion, reported January 9, 2026 AP connected the company’s reassessment with the end of incentives and weaker EV demand, and said the amount included impairments, supplier settlements, contract cancellation fees, and other charges. January 2026 report. The full amount cannot be attributed exclusively to the tax-credit cutoff or to a single EV program.

Together, the reports show financial exposure and reassessment at GM, not a complete account of its current model-by-model production plans. The available reporting does not establish an automaker-wide total of post-credit cuts, discounts, or production changes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Are automakers pulling back from EVs?

The examples point to adjustments, not one shared industry response. Some earlier executive statements described continued EV development alongside gasoline and hybrid vehicles. In an Associated Press report, Toyota North America vice president David Christ said: “We plan for the long term, so political considerations aren’t a factor in how we approach product development or capital investments.” That is Christ’s stated position at the time of the report; it does not verify subsequent execution or represent every automaker. Read AP’s report on automakers’ longer-term plans.

Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Without a complete, current set of company announcements, it would be misleading to conclude that all automakers have either abandoned EV investment or continued unchanged. The evidence here supports a narrower reading: companies are balancing demand, inventory, incentives, regulation, and product plans differently, and an individual company’s reported charge or discount does not settle the direction of the whole market.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How should EV shoppers compare prices now?

With the federal consumer credits unavailable for post-cutoff acquisitions, compare the actual transaction and ownership costs rather than assuming a prior credit is still part of the deal. Ask the seller to show the price and conditions in writing, then check:

Rank #4
YLITES Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger for J1772 EVs, NEMA 5-15/6-20
  • [LEVEL 1 & 2 CHARGING FOR HOME, BACKUP & TRAVEL] One charger for everyday home charging, road trips, and backup use. This Level 1/2 EV charger supports both 110/120V and 240V power: use the included NEMA 5-15 adapter as a 120V electric car charger, or connect the NEMA 6-20 plug to 240V power for Level 2 charging up to 16A / 3.68kW. Whether kept in your garage or carried in the vehicle, this portable EV charger gives you more charging options when a dedicated charging station is not available.
  • [8-16A ADJUSTABLE CURRENT & 1-12H DELAY CHARGING] Unlike fixed-current chargers, YLITES lets you choose 8A, 10A, 12A, or 16A to better match different outlets and charging environments. When connected to a NEMA 5-15 household outlet, current is automatically limited to 12A for appropriate circuit use. The 1–12 hour delay timer lets you schedule charging to start later, making overnight and off-peak charging more convenient. Flexible current control makes it especially practical for garages, older homes, apartments, and travel charging.
  • [SAE J1772 COMPATIBILITY, SMOOTH CONNECTION & 25FT TOTAL LENGTH] Compatible with electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids equipped with an SAE J1772 charging inlet, including vehicles from GM, Nissan, Audi, Kia, Honda, BMW, Hyundai, and more. The J1772 connector is designed for smooth insertion and easy release, making everyday charging simple and convenient. With a 25FT total length, this portable EV charger offers flexible reach for garages, driveways, parking spaces, travel, and emergency backup charging. Tesla/NACS vehicles require a J1772-to-NACS adapter, sold separately.
  • [SMART TFT DISPLAY & ACTIVE TEMPERATURE PROTECTION] The enhanced TFT color display provides clear real-time charging information, including voltage, current, power, charging status, and temperature. The YLITES temperature management system continuously monitors the plug-outlet connection point and can intelligently reduce current when necessary to help reduce overheating risk. Over-voltage, over-current, leakage, grounding, and insulation protection provide additional safeguards for more reliable daily charging, whether charging on 110/120V Level 1 power or 240V Level 2 power.
  • [BUILT FOR SAFE & RELIABLE EVERYDAY CHARGING] Designed for repeated home and on-the-road use, the charger features an IP66 water-resistant enclosure, fire-resistant materials, and multi-layer electrical protection. It is designed to operate in temperatures from −22°F to 122°F, supporting charging in garages, driveways, and changing outdoor conditions. Combining dual-voltage flexibility, a long cable, portable construction, and multiple safety protections, this EV portable charger works as a dependable everyday charger or a convenient backup charging solution.
  • Price after offers: Separate sticker price from any current manufacturer incentive or dealer discount, and confirm eligibility for the exact vehicle and buyer.
  • Model and trim: Compare like-for-like configurations; availability and pricing can differ across trims and locations.
  • Purchase versus lease: Review the full payment, fees, due-at-signing amount, mileage limits, and end-of-term obligations in the actual contract rather than assuming the same terms apply to both.
  • Delivery and timing: Confirm the vehicle’s availability and expected delivery, particularly if a quoted offer has an expiration date.
  • Charging and ownership costs: Consider where you can charge and the costs that matter for your use, not just the advertised monthly payment.

Current incentives change and are seller- and vehicle-specific. The cited reporting documents examples of discounts and inventory balancing, but not a live nationwide offer table; verify any deal directly with the dealer or manufacturer.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.