Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

Australia9 MIN

GAC Aion V vs BYD Atto 3: range, space, charging and value compared

The Aion V has a larger battery and faster stated charging, but different range cycles and market specifications make a universal winner impossible.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: In the Australian specifications published for 2025, the GAC Aion V is the larger vehicle with a 75.26 kWh battery, 510 km WLTP claim, more published peak DC power and a longer wheelbase. The BYD Atto 3 Premium is shorter, has a 60.48 kWh battery and a 480 km NEDC claim. Those range figures use different test cycles, so they are not a like-for-like result. The Aion V also does not automatically win on cargo volume: GAC quotes a variable 427–978 litres, while BYD quotes 420 litres under its own measurement convention.

There is no defensible universal value winner. Prices, equipment, warranty coverage, incentives and availability depend on the country and exact trim. Use the Australian figures below as a structured comparison, then check drive-away pricing and specifications for the versions sold in your market.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is actually being compared?

The clearest like-market data available are the Australian-market Aion V specification identified as a 2025 model and BYD Australia’s 2025 Atto 3 sheet, specifically the Atto 3 Premium figures. A separate Japanese update announced on 29 September 2026 introduces Atto 3 EX versions with a different battery, range test cycle and prices. Russian Aion V prices and charging figures are useful only as a regional example, not as an Australian benchmark.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Version Market and date Battery and range claim Price information in the cited material
GAC Aion V Australia, 2025 specification 75.26 kWh LFP; 510 km WLTP Not stated
BYD Atto 3 Premium Australia, 2025 specification 60.48 kWh; 480 km NEDC Not stated
BYD Atto 3 EX RWD Japan, announced 29 September 2026 74.88 kWh; 620 km WLTC ¥4,378,000
BYD Atto 3 EX AWD Japan, announced 29 September 2026 74.88 kWh; 550 km WLTC ¥4,873,000

GAC’s export product page gives an important warning: “Figures are indicative China and export specification and vary by market trim.” Treat every number in this comparison as a claim for the named market and version, not a specification that automatically applies worldwide.

#1 Best Overall
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable 6M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • Adjustable Current & Fast Charging: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is CEE Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW
  • Two Operating Modes: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger
  • Delay Charging 15 Hours: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs
  • 2.8 Inches LED Large Screen : The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night
  • Safety Protection: Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc

Range: the headline numbers are not cycle-matched

Aion V in the Australian specification

GAC lists a 75.26 kWh lithium-iron-phosphate battery, 510 km of combined WLTP range and combined consumption of 16.7 kWh/100 km on its Australian page. WLTP is the more demanding of the two Australian figures used here, but that does not make 510 km directly comparable with the Atto 3’s NEDC result.

Atto 3 Premium in the Australian specification

BYD lists a 60.48 kWh battery and 480 km NEDC range for the Atto 3 Premium. NEDC generally produces a more optimistic result than WLTP because its test conditions are less representative of contemporary mixed driving. It would therefore be misleading to subtract 480 from 510 and call the 30 km difference a measured advantage.

What the numbers can and cannot tell you

The Aion V has the larger stated battery, and its 16.7 kWh/100 km WLTP consumption figure gives a useful efficiency reference. The cited Atto 3 sheet does not provide a directly comparable consumption value. Neither figure guarantees a particular trip distance: speed, temperature, wind, terrain, payload, tyres, heating and air conditioning all change energy use. GAC also notes that actual range varies with conditions on its Russian-market material.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a purchase decision, compare the exact trims on one test cycle where possible. If a local Atto 3 listing uses WLTP, compare it with the local Aion V WLTP figure rather than importing the Australian NEDC number. If only different cycles are published, use the results as broad marketing references and plan a margin for motorway and cold-weather driving.

Rank #2
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A Adjustable Current, Charging Cable Type 2, Charging Cable Electric car Type 2, Charging Cable Type 2, EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • ✅【Adjustable Current & Fast Charging】: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is NEMA 14-50 Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW.
  • ✅【Two Operating Modes】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi🛜). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger.
  • ✅【Delay Charging 15 Hours】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs.
  • ✅【2.8 Inches LED Large Screen】: The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night.
  • ✅【Safety Protection】: 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. 👍The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

The 2026 Japanese Atto 3 EX is a separate proposition

BYD Auto Japan’s 29 September 2026 announcement covers the Atto 3 EX, not the Australian 2025 Premium. The EX RWD is rated at 620 km WLTC and the EX AWD at 550 km WLTC, both with a stated 74.88 kWh battery. The AWD result is lower despite the same battery because the drivetrain and specification differ. These WLTC figures must not be presented as an Australian Atto 3 result or blended into the 2025 comparison.

Space, dimensions and cargo

Published Australian dimensions

Measure GAC Aion V BYD Atto 3 Premium
Length 4,605 mm 4,455 mm
Width 1,854 mm 1,875 mm
Height 1,686 mm 1,615 mm
Wheelbase 2,775 mm 2,720 mm
Seats Five Not stated in the cited sheet; the model is configured as a five-seat SUV
Published rear cargo capacity 427–978 L 420 L

On these figures, the Aion V is 150 mm longer and has a 55 mm longer wheelbase, while the Atto 3 is 21 mm wider. A longer body and wheelbase can create more packaging freedom for passengers and luggage, but the published data do not establish a measured legroom advantage. Width matters in garages and narrow parking spaces, so the Atto 3’s slightly greater width does not automatically make it the easier urban vehicle.

Why the cargo figures need caution

GAC publishes a range of 427 to 978 litres for the Aion V, indicating that the result changes with the rear-seat position or loading configuration. BYD lists 420 litres for the Atto 3 Premium. The sources do not state identical seat positions, floor arrangements or measurement standards, so these values cannot prove that one vehicle carries more in every practical situation. Inspect the floor height, hatch opening and seat-folding layout with the luggage you actually use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Japanese Atto 3 EX packaging

The Japanese Atto 3 EX keeps the 4,455 × 1,875 × 1,615 mm exterior dimensions but is listed with a 490-litre trunk and a 95-litre front trunk. The AWD version adds a 4.5-litre in-cabin warmer/cooler. Those capacities belong to the 2026 Japanese EX and should not replace the 420-litre Australian Premium figure.

Rank #3
AFYEEV 7.2kW Charging Cable Type 2 5M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 【Type 2 Electric Vehicle Charger】The maximum current of this Type 2 electric vehicle charger can reach 32A, and the voltage is 200-240V. This Charging Cable Type 2 is designed with adjustable current 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A function, which can be adjusted according to your needs
  • 【2 in 1 Charging Mode】This Type 2 Charging Cable can not only be set by long pressing the button in the control box. You can adjust the current and set the delayed charging time (1-15 hours delayed charging) to stagger the charging peak period and reduce charging costs
  • 【Portable and extra-long cable】This ev charger type 2 cable is up to 5M, allowing you to flexibly shuttle between charging stations. You can charge even if you are far away from the charging station without worrying about charging location restrictions. The electric vehicle charger is very convenient to carry when traveling, and this charger comes with a portable handbag with a large internal capacity, which is a must-have for long-distance travel
  • 【Safety Guarantee】This Type 2 charger provides multiple layers of protection, overheating protection, leakage, overcurrent, undervoltage/overvoltage, etc. This electric car charger can withstand high and low temperatures. And with IP66 waterproof function, it can also ensure safe charging in rainy, snowy and hot weather
  • Ground Fault : If you find the type 2 ev charger is a Ground Fault error at 220V. and ground is good, there is a work around. You can try going into the settings and turning off ground fault detection, and the unit works fine.

Charging hardware and stop times

Aion V charging specification

The Australian Aion V specification lists an 11 kW maximum AC rate, an advertised AC 0–100% time of 8.5 hours, and up to 180 kW DC charging. GAC states 24 minutes for a 10–80% DC session. The car uses a Type 2 AC connector and CCS2 for DC.

Atto 3 charging specification

BYD’s 2025 Australian sheet lists a Type 2 AC connector and CCS2 DC charging. It gives up to 70 kW for the standard-range version and 88 kW for the extended-range version, and lists vehicle-to-load (V2L) functionality. The sheet does not provide a directly comparable DC charging time over a defined battery window.

Charging item GAC Aion V (Australia) BYD Atto 3 (Australia, 2025 sheet)
AC connector Type 2 Type 2
Maximum AC power 11 kW Not stated in the cited sheet
Published AC time 0–100% in 8.5 hours Not stated
DC connector CCS2 CCS2
Maximum DC power 180 kW 70 kW standard range; 88 kW extended range
Published DC time 10–80% in 24 minutes Not stated
V2L Not stated Listed as available

Why peak kilowatts do not settle road-trip speed

A 180 kW peak gives the Aion V a higher headline rate than the cited Atto 3 versions, but peak power is only one point on a charging curve. Battery state of charge, temperature, charger sharing, software limits and the taper near 80% determine how long a stop lasts. Because the Atto 3 source does not publish a matching 10–80% time or curve, the available figures cannot establish that the Aion V will always complete a trip stop faster.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Japanese Atto 3 EX is listed separately with up to 100 kW DC charging. That is a specification for the 2026 Japanese car, not evidence that the Australian 2025 version charges at 100 kW.

Rank #4
JecoEV Type 2 Male to Type 2 Female EV Charging Cable, Mode 3 Portable EV Charger, Single Phase 32A 7kW, 5m
  • √ Charging Standard: Type 2 IEC 62196-2
  • √ Charging Power: 7kW, Single phase
  • √ Input/Output Voltage: 230~250V AC
  • √ Rated Current: 32A
  • √ Cable Length: 5m

Home charging implications

An 11 kW AC limit can refill the Aion V overnight when the home electrical installation and supply support three-phase charging. The advertised 8.5-hour figure is a manufacturer estimate for 0–100%, not a guarantee for every household. Confirm the available supply, charger output, cable rating and local installation rules before ordering equipment.

Both Australian specifications identify Type 2 AC charging. Check whether the vehicle includes a Type 2 cable, which current rating is supplied and whether the connector suits your wallbox or public AC posts. The specifications do not prove that an additional cable must be purchased.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Value: why a single winner cannot be named

A value verdict requires a shared country, model year and trim. You need the local drive-away price, standard equipment, warranty duration and exclusions, servicing schedule, insurance, charging costs, incentives and expected resale value. None of the cited Australian material establishes a like-for-like price pair or complete ownership-cost comparison.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Regional prices illustrate the problem

Vehicle and market Published price Qualification
Aion V EX, Russia ₽4,299,000 GAC Russia launch release dated 2 April 2026; before special offers
Aion V EX Premium, Russia ₽4,599,000 Same release and qualification
Atto 3 EX RWD, Japan ¥4,378,000 BYD Auto Japan announcement dated 29 September 2026
Atto 3 EX AWD, Japan ¥4,873,000 Same announcement

Ruble and yen prices cannot be converted into a meaningful winner without taxes, shipping, exchange rates, local equipment, registration costs and incentives. The Russian Aion V page also cites up to 580 km NEDC and about 16 minutes for a 30–80% DC session, but those are Russian-market claims and use a different range cycle from the Australian Aion V figure.

Best Value
AFYEEV 7.2kW 5M Type 2 Charging Cable with CEE Plug, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 8 Current Adjustable Secondary Chargers: This AFYEEV level 2 ev charger has multiple current options, 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A, and the maximum current can reach 32A. Choose the appropriate current according to your own environment. Compared with the Charging Cable Type 2, this type 2 ev charger will charge faster and have greater power, up to 7.2kW, which can meet your needs to a certain extent.
  • Delayed Charging For 1-15 Hours: This AFYEEV Type 2 Charging Cable can not only select the current, but also the delayed charging time. You can choose to charge the type 2 charger after 1 hour, or after 15 hours, with 1-15 hours for you to choose. Choosing delayed charging allows you to charge at a convenient time or avoid peak hours, which can reduce charging Cable Electric Car Type 2 charging costs and reduce unnecessary consumption.
  • Two Operation Modes : The ev charger type 2 can enter the function interface by long pressing the button, and short pressing can select the charger function. The ev charger level 2 can also be remotely operated by connecting to the smart life APP (Bluetooth & WIFI) of the mobile phone. The APP of electric vehicle charger can be downloaded from the APP Store or Google Chrome. You can remotely set the current and charging time through the APP and monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere.
  • Wall-mounted portable ev charger: The electric vehicle charger with CEE plug can be wall-mounted, just as convenient as a wall-mounted charger. You can mount the gun bracket on the wall to hang the cable and gun head on the wall to free up space. The cable length of the ev car charger level 2 can reach 5M, which allows flexible charging in garages and parking lots. The portable ev charger can be used as a wallbox ev charger level 2 for 110V voltage environment.
  • Safety Protection : 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home level 2. 👍The portable ev charger level 2 has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

What to compare on a local quote

  • Match battery size, drivetrain and trim before comparing sticker prices.
  • Use the same range test cycle and note whether the figure is WLTP, NEDC or WLTC.
  • List standard safety, driver-assistance, heat-pump, seat, infotainment and V2L equipment rather than assuming similarly named trims are equivalent.
  • Confirm battery, vehicle and roadside-assistance warranty terms in writing.
  • Calculate registration, insurance, servicing, home-charger installation and public-charging costs.
  • Check delivery timing and whether the quoted price is promotional, before offers or a recurring list price.

Which one fits which buyer?

Choose the Aion V when its local specification matches your priorities

The Aion V is the logical candidate if you need the larger published battery, a longer body and wheelbase, an advertised 11 kW AC system, or the higher 180 kW DC peak. Its 427–978-litre published cargo range may suit changing rear-seat or luggage needs, but verify the exact loading configuration. Treat the 510 km figure as a WLTP claim and compare it only with local WLTP results.

Choose the Atto 3 when compact packaging or V2L matters

The Atto 3 is shorter and lower, which may be useful in tight parking spaces or garages. The Australian sheet lists V2L, a feature not stated for the Aion V in the cited material. Its 70 kW or 88 kW DC figures are lower than the Aion V’s listed peak, yet the missing charging curve means you should use an actual route simulation or local test data before assuming a particular stop-time penalty.

Japanese buyers comparing the EX versions

In Japan, the 2026 Atto 3 EX RWD and EX AWD are a different comparison from the Australian Premium. The RWD’s 620 km WLTC claim and lower ¥4,378,000 price may appeal to drivers prioritising range and purchase cost; the AWD costs ¥4,873,000, claims 550 km WLTC and adds all-wheel drive plus the 4.5-litre warmer/cooler. Those trade-offs apply only to the announced Japanese versions.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical buying process

  1. Identify the exact car. Write down country, model year, battery, drivetrain and trim. Do not compare an Australian 2025 Atto 3 with a Japanese 2026 EX as though they were one model.
  2. Normalize range data. Put the test cycle beside every number. Prefer same-cycle figures; otherwise treat the results as directional and plan a conservative real-world buffer.
  3. Measure your space needs. Check rear-seat legroom with your occupants, hatch opening, floor height and the volume of your regular bags, stroller or equipment.
  4. Plan charging. Confirm home supply, AC power, connector, cable inclusion and public CCS2 availability on your routes. For long trips, look for a published charging curve or verified time over the same state-of-charge window.
  5. Request a written drive-away quote. Include taxes, registration, delivery, accessories and any incentive. Record whether a discount is one-time or ongoing.
  6. Audit ownership coverage. Compare warranty, service intervals, battery coverage, roadside assistance and parts support for the exact local importer.
  7. Test the final configuration. Drive the actual trim, check visibility and ride comfort, test the hatch and seats, and verify that the charging connector is accessible for your home and public chargers.

Common comparison mistakes

  • Mixing test cycles: 510 km WLTP and 480 km NEDC are not a controlled contest. Keep the cycle in every table and note.
  • Equating peak DC power with trip time: Without the Atto 3’s comparable charging window, a guaranteed time ranking is unsupported.
  • Treating litres as universal: Aion V’s 427–978 L range and Atto 3’s 420 L may use different seat and loading conventions.
  • Importing prices across borders: Russian rubles and Japanese yen include different taxes, equipment and market conditions; they are not a currency-adjusted value test.
  • Assuming every trim shares one specification: Battery size, drivetrain, charging rate and range can change between standard, extended, Premium, EX, RWD and AWD versions.
  • Assuming a cable or charger is included: Type 2 compatibility is stated, but inclusion, current rating and installation requirements must be confirmed with the local seller.

Bottom line

On the published Australian figures, the Aion V offers the larger battery, longer wheelbase and stronger stated charging hardware, while the Atto 3 is the smaller vehicle and adds V2L. The range gap cannot be ranked because the Aion V uses WLTP and the Atto 3 uses NEDC. For value, compare the exact local trims, drive-away prices, equipment, warranty and charging costs; the available evidence does not support naming one overall winner.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

AustraliaBYD Atto 3electric SUVsEV chargingEV rangeGAC AION VJapan

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.