Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Donut Lab Claims Its Solid-State EV Battery Nearly Doubles Tesla’s Energy Density—What the Evidence Shows

Donut Lab says its solid-state battery nearly doubles the energy density of some Tesla cells, but the claim remains unverified and applies first to a Verge electric motorcycle.
Entry865 Date Time6 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Donut Lab says it has developed a production-ready all-solid-state battery rated at 400 Wh/kg, capable of a five-minute full charge and designed for up to 100,000 cycles. The battery is intended for Verge electric motorcycles, not Tesla cars. Those figures remain company claims, and public technical information is not sufficient to independently verify them.

The “almost double the charge” headline is also misleading. It refers to claimed gravimetric energy density—watt-hours stored per kilogram—not the total capacity of a Tesla or any complete vehicle battery pack.

What Donut Lab announced

On January 5, 2026, ahead of CES 2026, Donut Lab presented what it called the world’s first all-solid-state battery for production vehicles. The company said the battery was ready for OEM production and would first enter vehicles built by Verge Motorcycles. Donut Lab’s announcement is available at its CES battery announcement.

According to Donut Lab, the design claims:

  • 400 Wh/kg energy density.
  • A full charge in five minutes.
  • Up to 100,000 cycles.
  • Full-discharge capability.
  • More than 99% capacity retention at temperatures from −30°C to above 100°C.
  • No flammable liquid electrolyte.
  • Lower cost than lithium-ion batteries.

These are specifications published by Donut Lab, not independently established industry measurements. The company has not publicly provided enough detail about its chemistry, materials, manufacturing process or test protocols to reproduce each result.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

What “almost double the charge” really means

Energy density and battery capacity are different measurements. A 400-Wh/kg battery could store more energy for a given mass, or deliver the same energy with less mass. It does not automatically mean a vehicle has twice the usable range or that its pack holds twice as many kilowatt-hours.

Range depends on the complete vehicle, including battery size, mass, aerodynamics, motor efficiency, tires, software, thermal management and driving conditions. A motorcycle can also achieve a given range with far less energy than a passenger car because it is smaller and lighter.

The original comparison cited approximately 125 Wh/kg for certain Model 3 batteries and 272–296 Wh/kg for Tesla 4680-type cells. Those figures were not established on a demonstrably identical cell, module or pack basis, so “almost double” is valid only as a comparison with the lower cited number—not as a universal statement about Tesla vehicles. See the original comparison at BGR.

The vehicle slated to use it

The initial application is the Verge TS Pro electric motorcycle, with the TS Ultra also identified in Donut Lab’s rollout. Verge’s current product page lists two TS Pro battery options and claimed charging and range figures:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
ELEGRP Level 1/2 EV Charger, 16 Amp, Portable J1772 Charger, 25FT Cable, NEMA 6-20 & 5-15 Adapter, Electric Car Charger 110V-240V for BEVs PHEVs, PBE & LRC Technology
  • 【Reliable Safety with PBE & LRC Tech】Powered by ELEGRP's exclusive PBE technology, this level 2 EV charger provides reliable protection against surges, leakage, and overloads—trusted by over 300 million households since 2000. The J1772 charger features advanced LRC tech for better conductivity, cooler operation, and stable charging speed
  • 【Dual Charging Model】Charging speed depends on your outlet type. Use the NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 240V fast charging at up to 3.84kWh (11-14 miles/hr). For slower Level 1 charging 120V, use the included 5-15 adapter, offering 1.44kWh (4-5 miles/hr)
  • 【Max 25FT Reach &and IP67 Weatherproof Reliability】 Our 25FT portable cable offers the maximum length allowed by NEC safety standards for garage, wall, or outdoor use. This electric car charger is IP67 waterproof and built for cold weather, from -21°F to 121°F, including heavy rain, or snow
  • 【U.S.-Based Expert Support & and 2-Year Warranty】Get real help from our U.S.-based support team, available Mon–Sat (5 AM–3 PM PT) for fast, professional assistance. Every ELEGRP charger is backed by a 2-year replacement warranty, so you can charge your vehicle with confidence
  • 【Universal J1772 Compatibility】Compatible with all SAE J1772 certified EVs, BEVs, and PHEVs. For Tesla owners: a J1772-to-NACS adapter (sold separately) may be required. Please verify your car compatibility before purchase and contact our support team with any questions
TS Pro listing Published figure
Standard battery 20.2 kWh
Long-range battery 33.3 kWh
Standard claimed range Up to 217 miles
Long-range claimed range Up to 370 miles
Charging Up to 200 kW; Verge says 80% in less than 10 minutes
Warranty Two years full coverage and five years on the power battery

Those are Verge product claims, not proof that a 400-Wh/kg pack is installed in every listed configuration. The official product and ordering information is at Verge Motorcycles. The page reviewed did not display a current public price.

What the later pack test demonstrated

On March 16, 2026, Donut Lab published a charging test involving an 18-kWh Verge battery pack. The company reported more than 100 kW of peak power—about 5C—and these results:

  • 10% to 50% in five minutes.
  • 10% to 70% in slightly more than nine minutes.
  • 10% to 80% in 12 minutes.

The battery began at approximately 20°C and was charged at a public fast charger. Donut Lab said the test used an earlier-generation motorcycle fitted with a newer-model battery pack. The full account is at Donut Lab’s battery-pack announcement.

This is useful pack-level evidence of a fast charge under stated conditions, but it does not independently verify 400 Wh/kg, 100,000-cycle life, the temperature-retention claim or the battery’s chemistry. It also differs materially from the earlier “empty to full in five minutes” statement: the published test covered 10–80% in 12 minutes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Why solid-state batteries matter

Solid-state designs replace a conventional flammable liquid electrolyte with a solid electrolyte. In principle, that can reduce some fire risks, enable lithium-metal or other high-capacity anodes, improve thermal stability and increase energy density. Higher density could mean a lighter pack or more range.

None of those benefits is automatic. Charging speed depends on electrode design, chemistry, temperature, charger output, pack architecture and degradation limits. A battery described as solid-state should not be assumed to be fireproof or incapable of failure.

Why the claims remain contested

Key specifications are not fully defined

Donut Lab has not publicly specified enough of the cell chemistry, separator, anode, cathode, manufacturing method or test protocol to establish whether the 400-Wh/kg figure applies to a cell, module or complete pack. A cell-level number cannot be compared directly with a pack-level Tesla number.

“100,000 cycles” lacks an end point

The cycle claim does not state the capacity remaining at the end of those cycles, the depth of discharge, charging rate, temperature, rest periods or whether the figure is modeled, projected or demonstrated. Cycle life is meaningful only when those conditions and an end-of-life capacity threshold are disclosed. Calendar aging also matters for a motorcycle that may be used intermittently.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Five-minute charging has infrastructure consequences

Charging a 20.2-kWh pack from empty to full in five minutes would require very high input power, along with suitable DC equipment, cables, connectors, cooling and grid capacity. Home charging equipment would not deliver that result. The later test’s narrower 10–80% window and 12-minute duration is the more concrete public pack result.

Motorcycle production is not car-scale validation

A low-volume motorcycle program can demonstrate that a battery fits and operates in a vehicle. It does not establish the reliability, cost, crash performance, serviceability or manufacturing consistency required for millions of passenger cars.

IEEE Spectrum highlighted the limited public technical information and the difference between producing a small number of motorcycle batteries and validating automotive-scale manufacturing.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What later reporting says

Tom’s Hardware reported allegations that third-party analysis found evidence consistent with lithium-ion chemistry rather than an all-solid-state design, along with additional questions about Donut Lab’s development and partnership claims.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
Car Battery Charger 12V 10A Smart Trickle Charger Fully Automatic
  • 3 in 1 Battery Charger: Our 10A car battery charger comes with a compact size and 10A 12V super fast charging, compatible with all 12V lead-acid batteries (including AGM, GEL, SLA, VRLA, etc.) and LiFePO4 lithium batteries, functions as a charger, maintainer, and trickle charger for cars, motorcycles, trucks, boats, and more. Please note: This is a car battery charger and please connect it to a power source before use. (Please do not let the charger operating unattended for more than 12 hours.)
  • Plug & Play Operation: Simply connect the clamps to your car battery. The LCD screen will light up and automatically display the battery voltage and ambient temperature. Once you plug the AC power cord into a 110-240V (50-60Hz) wall socket, the battery charger will automatically detect and begin charging. You can also manually select from 5 charging modes by pressing the "MODE" button (Modes include: CAR, AGM/GEL/LiFePO4, WET, MOTO, PULSE REPAIR). Note: Please check your battery type before use.
  • Battery Charger with LCD Display: Battery Charger comes with a LCD screen shows charging data including voltage, current, battery level, ambient temperature, and seasonal modes (summer/winter), making it easy to stay updated on charging progress.
  • Safety Protections: Equipped with 8 layers of protection, including reverse polarity, short circuit, overheating, and overcurrent safeguards, this charger ensures safe operation. With automatic temperature compensation, the charger delivers optimal voltage whether it’s summer or winter.
  • Battery Maintenance & Recovery: The integrated pulse repair function detects and reverses battery sulfation and acid stratification in lead-acid batteries, extending battery life. This feature helps recover aging or partially drained batteries, extending their life and functionality.

TechRadar reported that industry figures questioned whether the published performance parameters were mutually compatible and that later charging results still left open questions.

Those reports are significant challenges, but they are not a peer-reviewed final adjudication. The underlying laboratory data, sample chain of custody and complete methods would need to be public before they could conclusively settle the chemistry dispute.

What this means for Tesla and EV buyers

There is no evidence that Tesla vehicles are receiving this battery, that a retrofit exists or that ordinary passenger EVs are about to gain 400-Wh/kg packs. Donut Lab’s initial deployment is a premium, niche electric motorcycle from a closely connected partner company, not an independent mass-market customer validation.

Consumers shopping today should evaluate available electric motorcycles or cars on verified range, charging access, warranty terms, service support and independently documented battery performance. An aftermarket solid-state replacement is not a realistic or safe DIY category: voltage, cooling, battery-management software, crash certification, charging standards and physical integration all have to match.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What would prove the breakthrough

The claim would become substantially stronger with:

  • A complete cell specification and an explicit cell, module and pack energy-density breakdown.
  • Independent chemical analysis or a documented teardown.
  • Pack-level gravimetric measurements by a recognized laboratory.
  • Repeatable charging tests reporting starting state of charge, temperature, charger output, taper behavior and energy delivered.
  • Long-duration cycle testing with depth of discharge, C-rate and end-of-life capacity defined.
  • Evidence from customer deliveries, warranty data and sustained production at meaningful volume.

Bottom line

Donut Lab has made an important commercial-deployment claim: an all-solid-state battery in a Verge electric motorcycle, with headline specifications of 400 Wh/kg, five-minute charging and up to 100,000 cycles. Its published 18-kWh pack test provides more tangible charging evidence, reporting 10–80% in 12 minutes.

But the public record does not independently establish the headline energy density, cycle life or chemistry. The Tesla comparison concerns energy density rather than total charge, and the technology is not currently evidence of a Tesla breakthrough or a mass-market car battery.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.