Short answer: The Cupra Raval and Volkswagen ID. Polo are closely related five-seat electric hatchbacks built in Martorell, but they target different buyers. The Raval is the sportier, more design-led choice; the ID. Polo is positioned as the familiar, practical and value-focused electric successor to Volkswagen’s small hatchback. Their advertised maximum ranges are close, so battery version, trim equipment, local pricing and availability matter more than the badges.
At a glance
The two cars share Volkswagen Group engineering and production at Martorell, yet they are not simply the same vehicle with different logos. Volkswagen describes the ID. Polo as an electric evolution of its established Polo concept, while Cupra presents the Raval around a sporty silhouette and driver-focused cabin. Those are manufacturer positioning statements, not independent conclusions about ride or handling. The production context is explained in Volkswagen’s Martorell announcement.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Question | Cupra Raval | Volkswagen ID. Polo |
|---|---|---|
| Basic format | Five-seat electric hatchback | Five-seat electric hatchback |
| Brand emphasis | Sporty, expressive and driver-focused | Familiar Polo practicality, value and everyday usability |
| Published power range | 99 kW (133 HP) Plus; 155 kW (211 HP) Endurance; 166 kW (226 HP) VZ | 85 kW (116 PS), 99 kW (135 PS) and 155 kW (211 PS) |
| Published maximum range | Up to 328 km Plus, 446 km Endurance or 440 km VZ on Cupra’s current global page; a separate Plus release says up to 300 km | Up to 455 km in the April world-premiere headline; 454 km in the detailed passage and September media-drive entry |
| Battery information | Plus is identified as LFP; other chemistry and capacities vary by version | 37 kWh net LFP with the two lower outputs; 52 kWh net NMC with 155 kW |
| Exterior dimensions | 4,046 mm long, 1,784 mm wide, 1,514 mm high | 4,053 mm long, 1,816 mm wide, 1,530 mm high |
| Boot information | 441 litres listed by Cupra | No numerical boot volume in the cited launch material |
| Published charging claims | Plus: 88 kW DC and about 23 minutes for 10–80%; global page shows up to 105 kW and a 24-minute figure for its range-topping information | About 23 minutes from 10–80% with 37 kWh and about 24 minutes with 52 kWh; the cited release does not state a directly comparable peak DC rate |
| Launch-price examples | Approximately €29,000 for Raval Plus, according to Cupra’s 2026 media announcement | €24,995 German starting price, according to Volkswagen’s April 2026 release |
These figures come from different trims, publications and markets. They are useful for understanding the range of the products, but they are not a controlled comparison test or a like-for-like quotation.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Shared foundations, different identities
Both cars are part of Volkswagen Group’s new urban electric family and are produced at the Martorell plant. The Raval uses the group’s MEB+ platform, while the ID. Polo is presented as a new electric model carrying the familiar Polo name. Shared architecture can mean common battery, motor or software concepts, but it does not guarantee identical suspension tuning, standard equipment, interior design or pricing.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Cupra’s product language puts visual drama and a more driver-oriented environment first. Volkswagen’s launch message stresses clear design, intuitive operation, quality and technologies from higher vehicle segments. Treat these descriptions as positioning: the available official material does not include independent measurements of acceleration, cornering, ride comfort, cabin noise or braking performance.
Powertrains, batteries and range
Cupra Raval versions
Cupra’s current global Raval page displays three headline configurations. The Plus is shown with 99 kW (133 HP) and up to 328 km, the Endurance with 155 kW (211 HP) and up to 446 km, and the VZ with 166 kW (226 HP) and up to 440 km. The page also warns that the displayed technical data are indicative and may vary. See the current Cupra Raval product page for the stated configuration context.
A separate Cupra media announcement identifies the Raval Plus as a 99 kW LFP model with up to 300 km of range. The difference between 300 km and the 328 km shown on the global page should not be treated as a mistake to be averaged away. It may reflect a different model year, market, equipment level or certification configuration. When comparing a car, quote the exact local trim and its official range figure rather than using the highest number found on a global page. The Plus announcement is available from the SEAT and Cupra Media Center.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteVolkswagen ID. Polo versions
Volkswagen’s April 2026 world-premiere release lists 85 kW (116 PS), 99 kW (135 PS) and 155 kW (211 PS) outputs. The two lower-output versions use 37 kWh net LFP batteries, while the 155 kW version uses a 52 kWh net NMC battery. The release gives “up to 455 km” in its headline, but its detailed range passage states 454 km. A September 2026 Volkswagen Newsroom entry also reports up to 454 km and consumption of 13.3 kWh/100 km for its specified 155 kW ID. Polo. Read the original launch material at Volkswagen’s ID. Polo release and the later ID. family Newsroom entry.
What the range figures mean
The published maxima cluster between roughly 440 and 455 km for the long-range versions, but they are not real-world head-to-head results. WLTP range changes with wheel choice, temperature, speed, traffic, payload, heating and air-conditioning use. Battery chemistry also affects how each version is positioned: the ID. Polo’s lower-output LFP cars prioritise a different balance of cost and usable energy from the 52 kWh NMC model, while the Raval line spans several outputs and configurations.
If you regularly drive beyond the city, compare the exact battery capacity, WLTP range, winter-range information if supplied locally, charging curve and standard wheel size. A lower-output car with a smaller battery may be cheaper and entirely adequate for commuting, but the top-line range of another trim cannot be applied to it.
Rank #2
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Size, cabin room and luggage
Exterior dimensions
Cupra lists the Raval at 4,046 mm long, 1,784 mm wide and 1,514 mm high. Volkswagen lists the ID. Polo at 4,053 mm long and 1,816 mm wide, with a 1,530 mm height and a 2,600 mm wheelbase. In other words, they are almost identical in length, while the ID. Polo is listed as wider and taller in the cited specifications.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →| Measurement | Cupra Raval | Volkswagen ID. Polo |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 4,046 mm | 4,053 mm |
| Width | 1,784 mm | 1,816 mm |
| Height | 1,514 mm | 1,530 mm |
| Wheelbase | Not stated on the cited global page | 2,600 mm |
| Seats | Five | Five |
Exterior dimensions do not establish which car feels roomier. Seat shape, dashboard depth, door trim, rear-seat legroom and the position of the battery floor all matter. The Volkswagen release describes five-seat room and strong luggage capacity but does not provide a boot-volume number in the cited passage.
Boot space
The Raval’s global page gives a 441-litre boot. No directly comparable numerical figure is stated in the Volkswagen launch passage used here, so there is no evidence-based boot-volume winner. If carrying prams, bikes, work equipment or a large dog is important, measure the local cars with the rear seats in their normal position and check loading height, opening width and under-floor storage rather than inferring capacity from exterior dimensions.
Charging and energy use
Raval charging claims
The Raval Plus announcement states 88 kW DC charging and approximately 23 minutes for a 10–80% charge. Cupra’s global page displays up to 105 kW charging and a 24-minute charging-time figure in its range-topping information. These figures refer to particular configurations and manufacturer test conditions, not a guaranteed result at every public charger. The car’s actual session depends on battery temperature, starting state of charge, charger power and whether the vehicle can sustain its peak.
ID. Polo charging claims
Volkswagen quotes approximately 23 minutes from 10–80% for the 37 kWh battery and approximately 24 minutes for the 52 kWh battery. The cited release does not give a directly comparable peak DC rate, so it is not possible to declare the Volkswagen faster or slower from the published times alone. Ask the local retailer for the maximum DC rate, AC onboard-charger rating and charging-curve information for the exact trim.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Home and public charging decisions
For a mostly urban driver, overnight AC charging can matter more than a small difference in advertised peak DC power. Before ordering either car, confirm the connector used in your market, the vehicle’s AC limit, cable options and whether a wallbox installation is practical at your home. For public-road trips, check the 10–80% time, the route’s charger spacing and the availability of chargers that can deliver the car’s maximum rate. A generic home charger is not automatically compatible with every vehicle or electrical installation; compatibility and installation must be checked locally.
Rank #3
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
Equipment and technology
Cupra advertises Travel Assist 3.0, Predictive Adaptive Cruise Control, Front Traffic Alert and Matrix LED lighting on its global Raval page. The Plus announcement also describes optional packs that can add vehicle-to-load (V2L) and driver-assistance features.
Volkswagen highlights Connected Travel Assist with traffic-light recognition, one-pedal driving and vehicle-to-load. These descriptions do not establish that the systems work in the same way or are fitted to every version. A feature can be standard on one trim, an option pack on another or unavailable in a particular country.
| Feature area | What the published material says | What to verify locally |
|---|---|---|
| Driver assistance | Raval page lists Travel Assist 3.0, Predictive ACC and Front Traffic Alert; ID. Polo release highlights Connected Travel Assist and traffic-light recognition | Trim level, sensor package, software functions, legal operation and whether options are bundled |
| Lighting | Matrix LED is advertised for the Raval page | Whether Matrix LED is standard, optional or absent on the selected market trim |
| One-pedal driving | Highlighted by Volkswagen for the ID. Polo | Available modes, regeneration behaviour and whether the function can bring the car to a complete stop |
| Vehicle-to-load | Described for the ID. Polo and offered through optional Raval packs in the cited material | Required adapter, output limit, battery-state restrictions and local availability |
| Connected services | Both manufacturers describe connected assistance or services | Subscription period, smartphone requirements, network coverage and service end date |
Do not compare feature names alone. Request the local specification sheet and identify what is fitted to the exact stock number or order code.
Price, launch timing and availability
Volkswagen’s April 2026 release gives a German starting price of €24,995 for the ID. Polo. Cupra’s 2026 media announcement says the Raval Plus starts at approximately €29,000 and was available from mid-September 2026. These are not like-for-like prices: they cover different countries or versions, and the Cupra figure is approximate. Taxes, incentives, delivery charges, equipment and registration costs can change the amount payable.
Do not calculate a definitive Raval premium from those two numbers. Configure equivalent battery and equipment levels in the buyer’s country, then compare the on-the-road price after any applicable incentive. A lower entry price may also correspond to the smaller battery or lower output rather than equivalent equipment.
Availability requires particular care. Cupra’s global Raval page currently carries a pending-homologation and unavailable-for-sale disclaimer, while the separate Cupra announcement reports a mid-September 2026 availability date for the Plus. That apparent conflict is likely related to market or page scope. Confirm sales status, homologation, delivery timing and the exact trim with the relevant national configurator or retailer.
Rank #4
- [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
- [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
- [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
- [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
- [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.
Which one suits which buyer?
Choose the Raval when design and performance identity lead the decision
- You prefer Cupra’s more overtly sporty styling and cabin presentation.
- You are considering the higher-output Endurance or VZ versions and accept that their range figures differ from the entry Plus.
- Matrix LED, Travel Assist 3.0 or optional V2L packs are important and are available in your market trim.
- The Raval’s quoted 441-litre boot and dimensions fit your practical needs.
Those points describe a better match for the Raval’s stated character; they do not prove a superior ride or handling balance without independent testing.
Recommended Free Tools
Choose the ID. Polo when familiar usability and entry value lead the decision
- You want an electric hatchback positioned as a straightforward successor to a familiar small Volkswagen.
- The German-style entry price or a local equivalent is more important than a sportier design theme.
- You value the availability of a 37 kWh LFP option for shorter daily journeys or the 52 kWh NMC option for longer trips.
- Connected Travel Assist, traffic-light recognition, one-pedal driving or vehicle-to-load are priorities, subject to local trim specification.
The ID. Polo is not automatically the more practical car simply because Volkswagen uses the Polo name. Check rear-seat space, boot layout and equipment in person.
How to make a fair local comparison
- Match the battery first. Compare the same capacity and chemistry where possible. Do not place a small-battery Raval Plus against a long-range ID. Polo and call the range difference a brand advantage.
- Match output and equipment. Align motor power, wheel size, driver-assistance packs, lighting and V2L. A higher list price may buy hardware that is optional on the other car.
- Record the certified figures. Write down the local WLTP range, combined consumption, AC charging limit, maximum DC rate and 10–80% time for each exact version.
- Check the real transaction price. Include tax, registration, delivery, finance charges, incentives and optional packs. Keep country and date beside every quote.
- Inspect the cabin and cargo area. Sit in the rear seats, test the driving position, open the boot and bring the child seat, luggage or equipment you actually use.
- Confirm ownership terms. Ask for the battery and vehicle warranty, service intervals, roadside assistance, software policy and delivery estimate in writing. These market-specific details are not established by the cited launch releases.
- Verify supply. Check whether the selected trim is homologated and orderable in your country, rather than relying on a global product page.
What the published specifications cannot answer
No independent head-to-head test was available in the material used for this comparison. Consequently, there is no defensible winner for real-world range, ride comfort, steering feel, acceleration measurements, cabin noise, winter efficiency or charging-curve performance. Manufacturer WLTP numbers are useful for comparing certified configurations, but they should not be presented as observed everyday range.
The same limitation applies to the brand claims of sportiness, quality and usability. They explain how each manufacturer wants the car understood; they are not substitutes for a back-to-back drive on the roads and temperatures where you will use the vehicle.
Questions to settle before ordering
- Is the exact Raval or ID. Polo trim approved and available in your country now?
- Which battery chemistry and usable capacity are fitted, and what is the local WLTP range?
- Is the quoted charging time based on the same 10–80% window and battery temperature assumptions?
- Are Travel Assist, Matrix LED, V2L, traffic-light recognition and one-pedal driving standard or optional?
- What is included in the on-the-road price, and does it include the charging cable or any V2L adapter?
- What warranty, service, software-support and delivery terms apply to the vehicle you can actually order?
Verdict
The Cupra Raval is the logical choice if you want the more expressive, sport-oriented interpretation and are willing to select carefully among its Plus, Endurance and VZ configurations. The Volkswagen ID. Polo is the logical choice if you prioritise a familiar small-car format, a clear entry-price proposition and a choice of lower-output LFP or longer-range NMC hardware. Neither has a proven range or practicality victory from the published figures alone: compare equivalent local trims, not headline numbers.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




