Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Get listed

Car Buying Guide11 MIN

Cupra Raval vs Renault 5 E-Tech: Which Small Electric Car Suits You?

A specification-led Cupra Raval vs Renault 5 E-Tech comparison covering range, battery choices, charging, practicality, market pricing and buyer priorities.

By CarCody Team

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no universal winner between the Cupra Raval and Renault 5 E-Tech. The Raval has a slightly higher headline range on its current model page, while the Renault 5 offers two established battery choices plus a forthcoming smaller LFP version. Local trim, incentives, charging equipment and the space you need will matter more than a 10 km difference in advertised maximum range.

Treat this as a specification-led buying guide rather than a road-test verdict. Official figures do not establish which car is more comfortable, efficient or enjoyable in identical real-world conditions, so match the exact versions sold in your country before placing an order.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The short answer: compare the exact versions, not just the badges

The Cupra Raval and Renault 5 E-Tech occupy the same broad small-electric-car conversation, but neither name describes one fixed specification. Battery size, output, wheels, equipment and price vary by market and trim. A Raval advertised at up to 440 km is not necessarily the same configuration as an Irish dealer offer, and a Renault 5 with up to 430 km is specifically the 52 kWh Comfort Range version.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the Raval when its local trim gives you the equipment, performance and luggage capacity you want and its quoted price works after your country’s incentives. Choose the Renault 5 when its 40 kWh or 52 kWh battery fits your driving pattern, or when the Renault package and local offer make more sense. The available official information supports that conditional decision; it does not support declaring one car best for everyone.

#1 Best Overall
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable 6M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • Adjustable Current & Fast Charging: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is CEE Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW
  • Two Operating Modes: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger
  • Delay Charging 15 Hours: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs
  • 2.8 Inches LED Large Screen : The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night
  • Safety Protection: Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc
  • Maximum advertised range: Raval up to 440 km on Cupra’s current model page; Renault 5 52 kWh Comfort Range up to 430 km WLTP.
  • Battery choice: Renault lists 40 kWh and 52 kWh versions, plus a 36.5 kWh LFP Five version described as forthcoming.
  • Charging: Renault UK lists 11 kW AC and 80 kW DC for its specified configuration; Cupra publishes a 105 kW figure and a 24-minute “from” claim without a matched charging interval.
  • Practicality: Cupra quotes a 441-litre boot; Renault quotes 326 litres minimum and 1,106 litres with the rear seats folded. The measurement methods are not shown as identical.

What the two cars are

Cupra Raval

The Raval is Cupra’s small electric hatchback. Cupra’s current model page quotes up to 440 km of electric range, a maximum 226 HP output and 0–100 km/h in 6.8 seconds. Those power and acceleration figures describe the page’s highest-output claim, not every Raval trim. The same page lists a 4,046 mm overall length and 441 litres of boot capacity.

Cupra’s broader electric-car range page aggregates Raval variants at 305–446 km and 133–226 HP. That range-wide summary is useful for understanding how widely the model line varies, but it should not replace the specification for the particular car you are ordering. The apparent difference between “up to 440 km” on the model page and “up to 446 km” on the aggregate page is another reason to use the local, trim-specific document.

Renault 5 E-Tech electric

Renault’s 25 August 2026 update identifies two main battery configurations: a 40 kWh Urban Range version and a 52 kWh Comfort Range version. It quotes up to 315 km WLTP for the 40 kWh car and up to 430 km WLTP for the 52 kWh car. The release also describes a 36.5 kWh lithium-iron-phosphate (LFP) Five version with up to 305 km WLTP. Renault describes that Five configuration as forthcoming, so confirm that it can actually be ordered in your country before treating it as a current option.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A Adjustable Current, Charging Cable Type 2, Charging Cable Electric car Type 2, Charging Cable Type 2, EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • ✅【Adjustable Current & Fast Charging】: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is NEMA 14-50 Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW.
  • ✅【Two Operating Modes】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi🛜). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger.
  • ✅【Delay Charging 15 Hours】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs.
  • ✅【2.8 Inches LED Large Screen】: The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night.
  • ✅【Safety Protection】: 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. 👍The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

Renault says both the 40 kWh and 52 kWh batteries gain range through aerodynamic changes— a lower body and new rear-view mirrors—together with optimised battery electronics. That is an official Renault Group statement, not an independently measured result.

Range and battery choices

Vehicle or version Battery information Advertised maximum range How to interpret it
Cupra Raval, current model-page headline Variant not specified in the headline Up to 440 km Cupra claim for particular equipment; confirm the local trim and wheel specification.
Cupra Raval, range-wide summary Multiple variants 305–446 km Aggregate Cupra figures, not one vehicle configuration.
Renault 5 Urban Range 40 kWh Up to 315 km WLTP Renault Group figure from the 25 August 2026 update.
Renault 5 Comfort Range 52 kWh Up to 430 km WLTP Renault Group figure for the larger-battery version.
Renault 5 Five 36.5 kWh LFP Up to 305 km WLTP Described as forthcoming; local order status is not established.

On the headline numbers, the Raval’s 440 km maximum is 10 km above the Renault 5 Comfort Range’s 430 km WLTP figure. That is too small and too configuration-dependent to predict which car will travel farther between charges. The comparison is not a shared laboratory test: the figures come from different manufacturers, variants and documentation.

Why WLTP is not a trip guarantee

WLTP is a standardised comparison procedure, not a promise of the distance you will get on a winter motorway journey. Temperature, speed, wind, rain, traffic, heating or air-conditioning use, payload, tyre choice and wheel size all affect consumption. Renault’s UK configurator also warns that its displayed range is pending homologation and that real results vary.

Rank #3
AFYEEV 7.2kW Charging Cable Type 2 5M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 【Type 2 Electric Vehicle Charger】The maximum current of this Type 2 electric vehicle charger can reach 32A, and the voltage is 200-240V. This Charging Cable Type 2 is designed with adjustable current 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A function, which can be adjusted according to your needs
  • 【2 in 1 Charging Mode】This Type 2 Charging Cable can not only be set by long pressing the button in the control box. You can adjust the current and set the delayed charging time (1-15 hours delayed charging) to stagger the charging peak period and reduce charging costs
  • 【Portable and extra-long cable】This ev charger type 2 cable is up to 5M, allowing you to flexibly shuttle between charging stations. You can charge even if you are far away from the charging station without worrying about charging location restrictions. The electric vehicle charger is very convenient to carry when traveling, and this charger comes with a portable handbag with a large internal capacity, which is a must-have for long-distance travel
  • 【Safety Guarantee】This Type 2 charger provides multiple layers of protection, overheating protection, leakage, overcurrent, undervoltage/overvoltage, etc. This electric car charger can withstand high and low temperatures. And with IP66 waterproof function, it can also ensure safe charging in rainy, snowy and hot weather
  • Ground Fault : If you find the type 2 ev charger is a Ground Fault error at 220V. and ground is good, there is a work around. You can try going into the settings and turning off ground fault detection, and the unit works fine.

Use the maximum figure to narrow your shortlist, then estimate your own need. A driver covering 40 km per day may value price and charging convenience more than the largest battery. Someone regularly driving long motorway distances should compare the exact battery, charging curve and winter performance information available in the local technical sheet rather than relying on the headline range.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Charging: the numbers are not directly equivalent

Charging item Cupra Raval information Renault 5 information What remains to check
Maximum DC figure 105 kW headline figure 80 kW DC rapid charging listed by Renault UK for its specified configuration Battery version, state-of-charge window, temperature and the complete charging curve.
AC charging Not stated in the cited Cupra material 11 kW AC in the cited UK specification Whether the local trim includes the same onboard charger and what your home electrical supply can deliver.
Published time “From 24 minutes” No equivalent time quoted in the cited UK specification The start and end state of charge and test conditions behind the time claim.
Home-cable equipment Not established across markets in the cited material A home charging cable is listed for the stated UK configuration Included equipment for your country and trim; do not assume every market receives the same cable.

A higher peak kW number does not automatically mean a shorter road-trip stop. The car may hold that peak only briefly, and the battery’s state of charge and temperature determine how much energy arrives. Cupra’s 105 kW and 24-minute claims do not identify a common start/end percentage in the information available here, while Renault’s 80 kW figure is tied to a specified UK configuration. Ask the retailer for the official charging curve or a clearly defined percentage-to-percentage time for the exact battery.

What home charging changes

With an overnight wallbox, an 11 kW AC limit can be more than adequate for many drivers because the car is parked for several hours. The practical question is whether your property has the required electrical capacity, whether installation needs a load-management upgrade and whether the supplied cable reaches your parking space.

Rank #4
JecoEV Type 2 Male to Type 2 Female EV Charging Cable, Mode 3 Portable EV Charger, Single Phase 32A 7kW, 5m
  • √ Charging Standard: Type 2 IEC 62196-2
  • √ Charging Power: 7kW, Single phase
  • √ Input/Output Voltage: 230~250V AC
  • √ Rated Current: 32A
  • √ Cable Length: 5m

Renault’s France configurator lists a standard charging-station installation from €1,199. That is a France-specific figure and should not be treated as a universal installation price. Labour, cable runs, consumer-unit work and local grants can change the total substantially. Cupra’s cited material does not establish a comparable installation price.

Performance, dimensions and everyday practicality

Specification Cupra Raval Renault 5 E-Tech Buying implication
Maximum power Up to 226 HP on the current model-page claim Not stated in the cited material Do not compare the Raval’s top output with an unspecified Renault 5 trim.
0–100 km/h 6.8 seconds on the highest-output claim Not stated in the cited material Test the exact cars; acceleration figures do not describe ride comfort or handling.
Length 4,046 mm Not stated in the cited material Measure your garage and check turning space using the local technical sheet.
Boot volume, seats up 441 L 326 L minimum Figures may use different measurement conventions; verify with the objects you carry.
Boot volume, seats folded Not stated in the cited material Up to 1,106 L Renault’s maximum depends on folding the rear seats and does not describe five-seat capacity.

The quoted boot figures cannot safely establish a winner. Cupra’s 441 litres and Renault’s 326-litre minimum may be measured to different load heights or with different standards. Renault’s 1,106-litre maximum is a seats-folded figure, so it is not an apples-to-apples comparison with a five-seat boot number. If you carry a pushchair, large instrument case, work equipment or a dog crate, take its measurements to a dealer and load it into both cars.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Driving character: what is known and what is not

The Raval’s 226 HP and 6.8-second claim indicate that the highest-output version is brisk on paper. They do not prove that every Raval has that performance, nor do they establish a handling advantage over the Renault 5. The cited official information contains no controlled, same-route comparison of steering, suspension, road noise, ride comfort, efficiency or wet-weather traction.

Best Value
AFYEEV 7.2kW 5M Type 2 Charging Cable with CEE Plug, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 8 Current Adjustable Secondary Chargers: This AFYEEV level 2 ev charger has multiple current options, 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A, and the maximum current can reach 32A. Choose the appropriate current according to your own environment. Compared with the Charging Cable Type 2, this type 2 ev charger will charge faster and have greater power, up to 7.2kW, which can meet your needs to a certain extent.
  • Delayed Charging For 1-15 Hours: This AFYEEV Type 2 Charging Cable can not only select the current, but also the delayed charging time. You can choose to charge the type 2 charger after 1 hour, or after 15 hours, with 1-15 hours for you to choose. Choosing delayed charging allows you to charge at a convenient time or avoid peak hours, which can reduce charging Cable Electric Car Type 2 charging costs and reduce unnecessary consumption.
  • Two Operation Modes : The ev charger type 2 can enter the function interface by long pressing the button, and short pressing can select the charger function. The ev charger level 2 can also be remotely operated by connecting to the smart life APP (Bluetooth & WIFI) of the mobile phone. The APP of electric vehicle charger can be downloaded from the APP Store or Google Chrome. You can remotely set the current and charging time through the APP and monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere.
  • Wall-mounted portable ev charger: The electric vehicle charger with CEE plug can be wall-mounted, just as convenient as a wall-mounted charger. You can mount the gun bracket on the wall to hang the cable and gun head on the wall to free up space. The cable length of the ev car charger level 2 can reach 5M, which allows flexible charging in garages and parking lots. The portable ev charger can be used as a wallbox ev charger level 2 for 110V voltage environment.
  • Safety Protection : 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home level 2. 👍The portable ev charger level 2 has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

Styling and seating feel are personal decisions. A short test drive should include rough urban roads, a tight parking manoeuvre, a higher-speed section and a realistic passenger or cargo load if those conditions matter to you.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Price, incentives and the problem with online comparisons

There is no fair single price winner in the available figures because the pages describe different countries and offers. Cupra Ireland lists several Raval variants and local prices. Renault’s UK configurator and Renault France configurator show their own market pricing, incentives and grant treatment. Without a target country, purchase date, trim and incentive eligibility, quoting one number would mislead you.

Market information What is established What is not established
Cupra Ireland Several Raval variants and Irish-market prices are listed. A global Raval price or a like-for-like Renault 5 price.
Renault UK UK-specific configurator and technical figures, with a range caveat. The price a buyer in another country would pay, or a universal incentive.
Renault France France-specific pricing, incentive deductions and a €1,199 standard charging-station installation listing. Eligibility or equivalent installation cost outside France.

For a meaningful quote, record the country, date, exact battery, trim, wheel size, optional equipment, delivery charges, registration taxes, grant and finance assumptions. Compare cash prices with cash prices, or compare finance totals—including deposit, monthly payments, final payment, fees and mileage limits—with another finance offer. A low monthly payment alone is not a lower total cost.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which car suits which buyer?

Pick the Raval if these priorities dominate

  • You want the highest advertised range available on the Raval page and are satisfied that the local trim actually delivers it.
  • The upper-output version’s published 226 HP and 6.8-second acceleration appeal to you, and you accept that those figures are not standard across the line.
  • The quoted 441-litre boot suits your everyday load after you have checked the measurement in person.
  • Your local Cupra offer includes the safety, comfort and charging equipment you want at a competitive total price.

Pick the Renault 5 if these priorities dominate

  • You want a choice between a 40 kWh Urban Range and a 52 kWh Comfort Range rather than one battery size.
  • The 315 km WLTP Urban Range is enough for your routine and lowers the cost or weight relative to the larger battery, subject to the local price.
  • You need the 52 kWh version’s up-to-430-km WLTP claim for longer journeys.
  • You value the Renault 5’s stated 326-litre minimum boot and up-to-1,106-litre folded-seat capacity, after checking how your cargo fits.
  • You are considering the 36.5 kWh LFP Five and can confirm that the forthcoming version is orderable in your market.

When neither specification settles it

If both cars meet your range and space needs, make the decision with the details that specifications cannot capture: seat comfort, visibility, suspension response, cabin noise, interface usability and dealer support. Take the same route in each car and use the same tyre-pressure check and driving conditions as far as practical. Do not treat a brief impression as an independent efficiency test, but do use it to identify which car you would enjoy living with.

How to compare the cars correctly before ordering

  1. Set the market and date. Write down the country where the car will be registered and the date of the quote. Incentives, equipment and availability are not interchangeable between Ireland, the UK, France or other markets.
  2. Name the exact battery and trim. For the Renault 5, distinguish 40 kWh Urban Range, 52 kWh Comfort Range and the forthcoming 36.5 kWh LFP Five. For the Raval, use the local trim code rather than the model name alone.
  3. Save the homologated range and wheel specification. Record whether the figure is WLTP, pending homologation or a manufacturer headline, and note wheel and tyre sizes that can alter consumption.
  4. Check charging hardware. Confirm AC kW, DC peak kW, the charging interval behind any time claim, connector type, cable inclusion and whether a heat-pump or other efficiency equipment is standard or optional.
  5. Price identical equipment. Add paint, safety packs, winter equipment, delivery, registration, taxes, grant deductions and charger installation. Keep finance assumptions separate from the vehicle’s cash price.
  6. Measure the practical load. Bring the stroller, luggage, child seat or work case you actually use. Check rear-seat legroom with the driver in position and confirm the boot floor and opening accept your largest item.
  7. Drive both on a repeatable route. Include potholes, speed humps, a motorway or dual carriageway, a parking manoeuvre and a hill. Note seat support, visibility, noise and regenerative-braking behaviour rather than relying on acceleration alone.
  8. Confirm delivery status in writing. This is essential for the Renault 5 Five, which Renault describes as forthcoming, and for any advertised battery or equipment that may be pending homologation.

Questions to ask a dealer

  • Which battery, motor output and wheel size are on the vehicle identified by this quote?
  • Is the stated range the homologated figure for that exact configuration, and is it pending any approval?
  • What AC and DC charging limits apply, and what percentage-to-percentage time is expected under the stated conditions?
  • Which charging cable is included in this country and trim?
  • Are the quoted incentives a government grant, a manufacturer contribution, a finance-only offer or a temporary promotion?
  • What is the total on-the-road cash price, and what are the total payments and final obligation if financed?
  • Can the car accept the child seats, luggage or equipment you brought to the appointment?
  • For a forthcoming version, what is the confirmed order opening, production specification and delivery window?

Verdict

The Cupra Raval and Renault 5 E-Tech are close enough on their best advertised range figures that range alone should not decide the purchase. The Raval reaches up to 440 km on Cupra’s current model page and offers a high-output version rated at 226 HP, while the Renault 5 gives buyers a clearer spread of 40 kWh and 52 kWh battery choices, with up to 315 km and 430 km WLTP respectively. Renault’s forthcoming 36.5 kWh LFP Five adds another option but requires a local availability check.

Buy the one whose exact local trim fits your charging routine, cargo, equipment needs and total price after incentives. Until an independent, same-condition test covers range, efficiency, ride and handling, any stronger claim would be speculation rather than a useful buying recommendation.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Car Buying GuideCUPRA RavalElectric CarsEV comparisonRenault 5 E-Techsmall electric cars

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.