Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Get listed

CUPRA Raval10 MIN

Cupra Raval vs Renault 5 E-Tech: Which Small Electric Car Should You Buy?

The CUPRA Raval offers the stronger published performance and larger boot, while Renault’s 40 kWh 120 Urban Range targets lower-cost urban use. Exact trims, countries and charging access decide the better buy.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no single winner for every buyer. On the published specifications available for the relevant markets, the CUPRA Raval is the more practical and performance-oriented choice, while the Renault 5 E-Tech 120 Urban Range is a clearly defined lower-output version aimed at buyers who can accept less range for a lower quoted price. Your country, exact trim, tax treatment and charging access matter more than the badge.

The figures below come from manufacturer pages and price lists, not an independent back-to-back road test. Treat them as a way to identify the right versions to test and price locally, rather than as proof of real-world range, ride comfort or reliability.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick verdict

Choose the CUPRA Raval if you regularly carry luggage, want the strongest available performance, or need the higher headline range offered by its Endurance version. Its published dimensions and boot specification point to a roomier small hatchback, and the top version has substantially more power than the Renault variant used in this comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the Renault 5 E-Tech if the 40 kWh 120 Urban Range specification is sufficient for your normal journeys and the locally quoted price is materially lower. It is shorter and has a smaller minimum boot, but its German technical page gives a precise battery, consumption and charging specification that makes budgeting easier.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | For Electric Cars, Adds Up to 37 Mi/Hr, WiFi App Control, 23-Ft Cable, Adjustable 16-50A, Indoor/Outdoor Rated, Energy Star
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Neither conclusion can be transferred unchanged between countries. CUPRA’s global and French pages show different range figures for different versions, and Renault’s quoted data applies specifically to one German-market model. Obtain a local, like-for-like quotation and drive both cars before ordering.

Published specifications at a glance

This table keeps each figure beside its market and version qualification. A blank or “not stated” entry means the cited manufacturer material did not establish a directly comparable value.

Specification CUPRA Raval Renault 5 E-Tech
Range Up to 440 km on CUPRA’s current global model page; CUPRA France lists 446 km WLTP for Endurance and 440 km for VZ. 317 km WLTP for the 40 kWh 120 Urban Range version on Renault Deutschland’s R5 MY26 technical page.
Battery Capacity for the cited global headline version: not stated in the reviewed page. 40 kWh for 120 Urban Range.
Maximum output Up to 226 HP on the global page. 90 kW/122 PS for 120 Urban Range.
0–100 km/h 6.8 seconds for the cited top-line specification. 9.0 seconds for 120 Urban Range.
Energy consumption Not stated in the cited global specification. 14.4 kWh/100 km for 120 Urban Range.
Charging Up to 105 kW charging power; home charging is described, but the reviewed page does not establish every AC limit or a charging curve. 11 kW AC charger and DC charging are listed for 120 Urban Range; a maximum DC rate is not stated in the cited German page.
Length 4,046 mm. 3,922 mm on Renault España’s technical page.
Boot 441 L on CUPRA’s global page. 326 L minimum and 1,106 L maximum on Renault España’s technical page.
Quoted price reference £26,995 starting price in the CUPRA UK 2026 list search result, published June 2026; market, trim and equipment must be checked. €26,290 suggested retail price before delivery for 120 Urban Range on Renault Deutschland’s page.
Headline imperial range Up to 275 miles in the CUPRA UK 2026 price list; this is a headline figure, not a universal value for every trim. Not stated in the cited material.

These numbers are manufacturer-published specifications. They are not independent measurements, and the two boot figures may have been obtained using different measurement conventions. Do not treat the table as a laboratory comparison of efficiency or charging time.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Range: match the exact battery and homologation

The most important range mistake is comparing a maximum figure for one Raval version with the 120 Urban Range figure for the Renault 5. CUPRA’s global page advertises a maximum of 440 km, while its French page gives 446 km WLTP for Endurance and 440 km for VZ. Those values demonstrate that the Raval name covers more than one specification; they do not mean every Raval reaches the Endurance result.

Renault Deutschland’s 317 km WLTP figure belongs to the 40 kWh, 120 Urban Range car. It should not be generalized to every Renault 5 E-Tech sold in other countries or to versions with a different battery or motor. WLTP is a standardized approval cycle, not a promise of the distance you will drive between charges. Speed, temperature, heating or air-conditioning use, wheel choice, traffic and payload all change consumption.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station | Plug in, up to 40 mph, 25ft Cable, WiFi (2.4GHz), Smart App, Weatherproof Indoor/Outdoor (IP66, NEMA 4), UL & ETL Certified
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

How to make a fair range comparison

  1. Write down the exact trim, battery, motor output, wheel size and model year on each quotation.
  2. Check that both figures use the same test convention, preferably the local WLTP value for the cars you can actually order.
  3. Ask whether an optional wheel or equipment package changes the approved range.
  4. Use the stated consumption only as a budgeting input; do not convert it into a guaranteed real-world distance.
  5. Plan your normal longest journey and identify charging stops rather than choosing solely on the largest brochure number.

If one car’s extra range is useful only on occasional trips, the value depends on your access to fast public charging and your willingness to stop. A buyer who mainly drives in town may reasonably prioritize purchase price, parking size and home charging instead.

Space and everyday practicality

The published dimensions favor the Raval for carrying capacity. CUPRA lists a 441-litre boot, whereas Renault Spain quotes 326 litres minimum and 1,106 litres maximum for the Renault 5. The Renault maximum reflects a different seat-folding or measurement condition from the minimum figure, so it is not a direct substitute for the CUPRA number. Manufacturers do not always measure luggage volume in exactly the same way.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to check at the dealer

  • Take the parcel shelf out only if that is how you would normally use the car, and ask for the volume with it installed as well.
  • Measure the opening width and floor length for your own stroller, cases, musical equipment or work kit.
  • Fold and restore the rear seats; note whether the resulting floor is level and whether useful space is lost behind the front seats.
  • Sit in both rear positions with the front seat set for the tallest regular occupant. Published exterior length does not establish rear legroom or headroom.
  • Check whether charging cables have a dedicated compartment or occupy boot space.

The Raval is 4,046 mm long and the Renault 5 is 3,922 mm long in the cited specifications. That difference can affect a tight parking space, but turning circle, camera coverage and visibility are separate questions that the technical pages do not answer.

Performance and driving character

The cited Raval top-line specification is rated at up to 226 HP and reaches 100 km/h in 6.8 seconds. Renault’s 120 Urban Range is listed at 90 kW (122 PS) and 9.0 seconds. This is a substantial paper advantage for the Raval, particularly for motorway merging or drivers who value brisk acceleration.

Those figures compare a headline Raval output with one specific Renault motor. A lower-output Raval, or a more powerful Renault 5 version sold in your market, could narrow or reverse the gap. Confirm the motor and battery on the order form before using performance as a purchase reason.

Rank #3
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug | Fast Smart Battery Power Charging at Home for Electric Automobile Vehicles - for Electric Car
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

What the specifications cannot tell you

No verified independent side-by-side road test was captured for this comparison. The published data therefore cannot establish which car rides more smoothly, steers more naturally, has better brake-pedal calibration, filters potholes more effectively or feels quieter at motorway speed. It also does not establish the quality of either car’s infotainment, driver-assistance tuning or parking visibility.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

On a test drive, use the same route and check low-speed ride, speed-bump behavior, steering weight, regenerative-braking adjustment, one-pedal behavior if available, motorway noise and the ease of finding essential controls without looking away from the road.

Charging and home ownership

Charging should be part of the buying decision, not an afterthought. CUPRA describes home charging and lists up to 105 kW charging power for the Raval information reviewed. Renault Germany lists an 11 kW AC charger and DC charging for the 120 Urban Range, but the cited page does not give a maximum DC rate. That means you cannot calculate a reliable public-charging stop time from these figures alone.

Questions for the dealer

  • What are the selected trim’s maximum AC and DC inputs, and are they different from the figures for another battery or motor?
  • Is the charging cable included, and which connector does the car use?
  • Does the quoted vehicle include battery pre-conditioning or scheduled charging, and under what conditions does it operate?
  • What charging power can the car actually sustain after the battery reaches a high state of charge? A peak figure is not the same as an entire charging session.
  • Will your home supply support the desired AC rate, and what installation work or approvals are required locally?

Home-charging decision

Both cars are electric, so a home charger can make daily use much easier if off-street parking and a suitable electrical connection are available. Before ordering, have an installer assess the cable route, consumer unit, meter capacity and parking arrangement. The vehicle’s onboard AC limit, the charger’s output and the house supply must all be compatible; installing a higher-rated unit does not make a car accept more power than its onboard system allows.

If you rely on public charging, map the stations on your regular routes and check whether they offer the connector, reliability and payment method you can use. The manufacturer pages reviewed here do not validate any particular charging network or installation package.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Prices: why the quoted figures are not a direct verdict

Renault Deutschland lists a suggested retail price of €26,290 before delivery for the 120 Urban Range. CUPRA’s UK 2026 price-list search result, published in June 2026, gives a £26,995 starting price and a headline range of up to 275 miles. These are different countries, currencies, tax systems and market conditions, so subtracting one from the other would be misleading.

The CUPRA France page also shows temporary finance offers. A finance illustration is not a cash price and may depend on deposit, term, mileage, fees and an expiry date. Compare the total amount payable, not only the monthly payment. Renault’s German figure is a suggested retail reference before delivery, so registration, transport, options and local incentives can change the amount you actually pay.

Get a like-for-like quote

  1. Choose the same purchase method for both cars: cash, personal contract, business lease or another arrangement.
  2. Request the exact trim, battery, motor, wheels, paint and mandatory equipment in writing.
  3. Separate list price, delivery, registration, taxes, options, finance interest, deposit and any government incentive.
  4. Ask how long the offer is valid and whether the vehicle is available to order or only an existing stock car.
  5. Compare the total cost over the period you expect to keep the car, including home-charging installation and insurance quotes.

Only after this exercise can you decide whether the Raval’s extra space or performance justifies its local premium, or whether the Renault 5’s 120 Urban Range meets your needs at a lower entry price.

Which car suits which buyer?

Choose the CUPRA Raval when practicality is a daily priority

  • You routinely carry bulky luggage and the larger published boot is useful.
  • You want the option of the strongest published power and quickest acceleration.
  • Your local Raval trim offers enough range for your longest regular journeys without depending on an extra public-charging stop.
  • You are comfortable verifying which Endurance, VZ or other local version produces the range figure in the brochure.

Choose the Renault 5 E-Tech 120 Urban Range when simplicity and price matter most

  • Your driving is predominantly urban or suburban and the specified WLTP range covers your routine.
  • The local price remains substantially below a comparable Raval after taxes, delivery and equipment.
  • You value a clearly specified 40 kWh battery, 90 kW/122 PS motor and 11 kW AC capability for your use.
  • You can live with the smaller minimum luggage volume and slower acceleration.

Consider neither until you can charge conveniently

If you have no dependable home or workplace charging and public stations are sparse on your routes, the most attractive specification may still become inconvenient. Calculate where the car will charge during a normal week, not only on holiday trips. Confirm connector compatibility, cable provision and the local electrical installation before signing a contract.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A test-drive checklist that answers the missing questions

  1. Bring your normal passengers and luggage. Put the child seats, cases or equipment you actually use into each boot.
  2. Repeat the same route. Include rough urban roads, a tight parking area, a faster road and a hill if possible.
  3. Check the seating position. Look for steering-wheel adjustment, visibility, rear-seat access and whether adults can sit behind your preferred front-seat position.
  4. Assess controls. Test climate, demisting, audio, navigation, driver-assistance settings and charging timers while stationary.
  5. Observe energy information. Note how clearly the car displays state of charge, estimated range and consumption; do not treat one short drive as a range test.
  6. Ask for a charging demonstration. Confirm the connector location, cable storage, locking behavior and the information shown when charging starts.
  7. Read the order sheet. Ensure the battery, motor, wheels and quoted range correspond to the car you drove.

Common comparison mistakes

  • Mixing countries: A German euro price and a UK pound price cannot establish which car is cheaper in your market.
  • Mixing trims: The Raval’s global maximum, French Endurance figure and French VZ figure are not interchangeable. Renault’s 120 Urban Range data does not describe every Renault 5.
  • Equating WLTP with road range: Approval-cycle numbers are useful for comparing officially tested versions, but weather, speed and load determine your result.
  • Comparing boot litres without checking method: The cited CUPRA and Renault measurements may use different conventions and seat configurations.
  • Using peak charging power as charging time: A maximum input does not reveal the full charging curve or the time spent at lower power.
  • Assuming brochure performance predicts driving feel: Acceleration data does not measure ride, steering, braking or interface quality.
  • Ignoring installation: Home-charger hardware, electrical capacity and cable routing can add cost and determine whether convenient overnight charging is possible.

Final buying decision

For the buyer who needs the most luggage space and wants the strongest available specification, the CUPRA Raval is the more compelling starting point. For the buyer whose daily travel fits the 40 kWh 120 Urban Range and who receives a meaningfully lower local quote, the Renault 5 E-Tech can be the more rational purchase.

That is a direction, not a universal ranking. Before committing, match each car’s exact trim and homologated range in your country, obtain itemized cash and finance quotes, confirm home or public-charging compatibility, and complete a same-route test drive. Those checks resolve the important differences that the manufacturer headline figures cannot.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

CUPRA RavalElectric CarsEV chargingEV comparisonRenault 5 E-Techsmall electric cars

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.