Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Get listed

CUPRA Raval10 MIN

Cupra Raval vs Renault 5 E-Tech: Which Electric Supermini Suits You?

The Cupra Raval delivers quicker acceleration and a 441-litre boot, while the Renault 5 E-Tech offers a 40 kWh urban-range version and distinctive retro design. Here is how to compare their real local trims, prices and charging needs.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the Cupra Raval if you want the quicker, sportier electric supermini, a 441-litre boot and the stronger headline range and charging figures. Choose the Renault 5 E-Tech if a lower-entry-price urban EV, compact dimensions and retro-inspired design matter more, and the 40 kWh Urban Range version’s 317 km WLTP range covers your routine. Because the published figures refer to different trims and countries, compare equivalent local versions before signing an order.

At a glance: Raval or Renault 5?

These cars overlap in purpose but not in emphasis. The Raval is positioned as the more performance-oriented option, while the Renault 5 E-Tech makes a stronger case for accessible urban driving and distinctive design. The table uses the specific manufacturer configurations documented for each car; it is not a like-for-like laboratory test.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Measure Cupra Raval Renault 5 E-Tech 120 Urban Range
Published battery/range example Maximum published range of 440 km; CUPRA notes that range varies with version and tyres 40 kWh battery; 317 km WLTP in Renault Deutschland’s MY26 technical data
Maximum output 226 HP 90 kW/122 PS
Torque Not stated in the cited CUPRA specification 225 Nm
0–100 km/h 6.8 seconds 9.0 seconds for the 120 Urban Range
Top speed Not stated in the cited CUPRA specification 150 km/h
Drive and transmission Version-dependent details should be checked in the local specification Front-wheel drive and single-speed automatic transmission
DC charging 105 kW; CUPRA quotes a 24-minute charging time 2026 Five trim is reported with an 80 kW DC charger
AC charging Check the local trim’s onboard charger 2026 Five trim uses a 6.6 kW AC onboard charger
Boot 441 litres Exact capacity depends on local version; confirm it in the local specification
Seats Five Confirm the local-market seating specification
Published price example From £26,995 in a CUPRA UK 2026 price-list example; up to 275 miles quoted there €26,290 recommended list price in Germany for the 120 Urban Range, before delivery

The figures show the broad decision clearly: the Raval has the published advantage in acceleration, boot volume and maximum range, while the Renault 5’s cited Urban Range version is aimed at keeping the entry specification and purchase price manageable. Neither price nor range figure can be treated as a universal winner because the markets, currencies and trims differ.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the two cars are trying to do

Cupra Raval: the sporty small EV

The Raval measures 4,046 mm long, 1,784 mm wide and 1,514 mm high. CUPRA lists five seats and a 441-litre boot, giving it a practical advantage on paper over the Renault 5. Its maximum published output is 226 HP, and the quickest cited 0–100 km/h time is 6.8 seconds. Those numbers put the Raval’s appeal in a familiar hot-hatch direction: strong acceleration for joining faster roads, overtaking and merging, plus a design and driving position intended to feel more assertive than a basic city car.

#1 Best Overall
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable 6M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • Adjustable Current & Fast Charging: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is CEE Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW
  • Two Operating Modes: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger
  • Delay Charging 15 Hours: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs
  • 2.8 Inches LED Large Screen : The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night
  • Safety Protection: Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc

Do not assume every Raval sold locally has the maximum output or 440 km range. CUPRA’s own product information describes those as maximum published values and notes that range depends on version and tyres. A lower-output or differently equipped car can therefore be a better comparison with a particular Renault 5 than the headline Raval.

Renault 5 E-Tech: urban value with retro character

Renault’s cited German MY26 120 Urban Range specification uses a 40 kWh battery, a 90 kW/122 PS motor, 225 Nm, front-wheel drive and a single-speed automatic transmission. It is listed at 9.0 seconds from 0 to 100 km/h and 150 km/h maximum speed. Renault Deutschland lists 317 km WLTP range and a recommended price of €26,290 before delivery for that configuration.

Renault also announced on 25 August 2026 that the 2026 range had opened for orders in available European markets. In that announcement, the Five trim was described as having a 6.6 kW AC onboard charger and an 80 kW DC charger. Availability, equipment and battery choices can vary by country, so the German 120 Urban Range specification should be treated as a reference configuration rather than a promise about every Renault 5.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
AFYEEV 7.2kW Type 2 Charging Cable, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A Adjustable Current, Charging Cable Type 2, Charging Cable Electric car Type 2, Charging Cable Type 2, EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • ✅【Adjustable Current & Fast Charging】: This level 2 ev charger charges quickly and can adjust the current (6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A). The plug of the ev charger type 2 is NEMA 14-50 Plug, charging level 2 vehicles, up to 32Amp 240V, maximum 7.2KW.
  • ✅【Two Operating Modes】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can be operated remotely by connecting to the mobile phone’s Smart Life APP (Bluetooth and Wifi🛜). The APP can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Chrome.The current and charging time be set remotely through the APP to monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere. According to your needs, you can also be done via touch screen buttons of the portable Type 2 EV charger.
  • ✅【Delay Charging 15 Hours】: The portable Type 2 EV charger can set the charging time, and you can set your portable Type 2 EV charger to delay charging for 1-15 hours. You can choose to charge at night or at a time that is convenient for you. Missing charging during peak periods can not only save electricity but also save money and reduce charging costs.
  • ✅【2.8 Inches LED Large Screen】: The ev charger type 2 has a large 2.8-inch LED display screen, you can clearly see the charging mode, charging voltage and current, temperature, time, completed battery capacity and charging time, and monitor the charging status of the ev charger type 2 with Smart Led Screen at any time.You can still see the screen data even when there is no light at night.
  • ✅【Safety Protection】: 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home ev charger. 👍The Type 2 ev charger has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

Price: compare local cars, not currencies

The available price examples are deliberately not a direct contest. CUPRA UK’s 2026 price-list example starts at £26,995, while Renault Deutschland lists the 120 Urban Range at €26,290 before delivery. They are different currencies, tax and registration systems, markets, and potentially different standard equipment. Exchange-rate conversion does not correct those differences.

For a meaningful shopping comparison, build an on-the-road price for both cars in your country. Include the same items in each quote:

  • Purchase price for the exact battery and motor output.
  • Delivery, registration and mandatory fees.
  • Metallic paint, technology packs and driver-assistance options.
  • Home-charging cable or wallbox equipment if it is not standard.
  • Finance interest, deposit and final payment rather than only the advertised monthly figure.
  • Any government incentive, company-car tax treatment or local registration charge.

The Raval is worth paying more for when its extra performance, boot space or larger-battery version will replace a more expensive trim or make your regular journeys easier. If most of your driving is short urban trips and the Renault 5’s 317 km WLTP rating is comfortably above your weekly requirement, paying for the Raval’s maximum specification may add little practical value.

Rank #3
AFYEEV 7.2kW Charging Cable Type 2 5M, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 【Type 2 Electric Vehicle Charger】The maximum current of this Type 2 electric vehicle charger can reach 32A, and the voltage is 200-240V. This Charging Cable Type 2 is designed with adjustable current 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A function, which can be adjusted according to your needs
  • 【2 in 1 Charging Mode】This Type 2 Charging Cable can not only be set by long pressing the button in the control box. You can adjust the current and set the delayed charging time (1-15 hours delayed charging) to stagger the charging peak period and reduce charging costs
  • 【Portable and extra-long cable】This ev charger type 2 cable is up to 5M, allowing you to flexibly shuttle between charging stations. You can charge even if you are far away from the charging station without worrying about charging location restrictions. The electric vehicle charger is very convenient to carry when traveling, and this charger comes with a portable handbag with a large internal capacity, which is a must-have for long-distance travel
  • 【Safety Guarantee】This Type 2 charger provides multiple layers of protection, overheating protection, leakage, overcurrent, undervoltage/overvoltage, etc. This electric car charger can withstand high and low temperatures. And with IP66 waterproof function, it can also ensure safe charging in rainy, snowy and hot weather
  • Ground Fault : If you find the type 2 ev charger is a Ground Fault error at 220V. and ground is good, there is a work around. You can try going into the settings and turning off ground fault detection, and the unit works fine.

Range and battery: headline numbers need context

CUPRA publishes up to 440 km of range, while Renault’s cited 120 Urban Range is rated at 317 km WLTP. Those are not equivalent trims: the Raval figure is a maximum across its range, and the Renault figure belongs specifically to a 40 kWh configuration. Presenting them as a controlled head-to-head would overstate the evidence.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

WLTP is a standardised approval figure, not a guaranteed distance on a motorway in winter. Temperature, speed, heating or air-conditioning use, tyre choice, passengers, payload and battery condition all affect consumption. Use the rating to compare versions within the same market, then plan a margin around your own routine. A driver covering 35 km a day with home charging has a different requirement from one making weekly 250 km motorway trips.

How to choose the battery size

  • Choose the smaller Renault battery when: your driving is mainly urban or suburban, you can charge at home, and 317 km WLTP leaves a comfortable buffer between charging sessions.
  • Prioritise a longer-range Raval version when: you regularly travel between cities, cannot charge at home, or want fewer public-charging stops on long journeys.
  • Check the exact trim: ask the dealer for usable battery capacity, WLTP range, wheel and tyre size, and whether a quoted range is a maximum for another version.

Charging speed and the time you actually spend stopped

CUPRA quotes 105 kW DC charging and a 24-minute charging time for the Raval specification cited here. The published material does not state the battery percentage window for that 24-minute figure, so do not assume it is a particular 10–80 percent result. Renault’s 2026 Five trim is reported with an 80 kW DC charger and a 6.6 kW AC onboard charger. Peak power is only one part of a charging stop: the battery’s state of charge, temperature, charger sharing and the vehicle’s charging curve determine how long you remain connected.

Rank #4
JecoEV Type 2 Male to Type 2 Female EV Charging Cable, Mode 3 Portable EV Charger, Single Phase 32A 7kW, 5m
  • √ Charging Standard: Type 2 IEC 62196-2
  • √ Charging Power: 7kW, Single phase
  • √ Input/Output Voltage: 230~250V AC
  • √ Rated Current: 32A
  • √ Cable Length: 5m
Charging question What to verify
Public DC stop Peak kW, the stated percentage window for the time claim, and whether the car maintains useful power above 50–60 percent.
Home AC charging Onboard charger rating, domestic supply limits, wallbox installation requirements and the cable supplied.
Cable Renault Ireland lists a 6.5 m Mode 3 Type 2 three-phase cable; confirm whether your local Renault 5 includes the same cable and specification.
Trip planning Connector availability, payment method, reliability of the charging network and a backup site on unfamiliar routes.

At home, AC charging is usually the least disruptive option because the car can be connected overnight. The value of a faster DC system is greatest for drivers who make long trips or lack dependable overnight parking. If you mostly use public rapid chargers, compare the charging curve and network access in your area rather than choosing solely on the 105 kW versus 80 kW headline.

Performance, ride and steering: what the numbers do and do not tell you

The Raval’s cited 6.8-second 0–100 km/h time is materially quicker than the Renault 5 120 Urban Range’s 9.0 seconds. That difference is noticeable when joining a motorway or accelerating through a gap. It does not automatically make the Raval the better daily car: a firm ride, heavy steering or aggressive accelerator response can be tiring on broken city streets.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Arrange a local test drive and evaluate the two cars on the same route. Check whether the suspension settles after speed humps, how much tyre noise reaches the cabin, whether one-pedal driving can be adjusted, and how smoothly each car meters power at parking speeds. The supplied specifications do not establish comparative ride comfort, steering feel or software quality, so these are test-drive questions rather than proven winners.

Best Value
AFYEEV 7.2kW 5M Type 2 Charging Cable with CEE Plug, 6/8/10/13/16/20/24/32A
  • 8 Current Adjustable Secondary Chargers: This AFYEEV level 2 ev charger has multiple current options, 6A/8A/10A/13A/16A/20A/24A/32A, and the maximum current can reach 32A. Choose the appropriate current according to your own environment. Compared with the Charging Cable Type 2, this type 2 ev charger will charge faster and have greater power, up to 7.2kW, which can meet your needs to a certain extent.
  • Delayed Charging For 1-15 Hours: This AFYEEV Type 2 Charging Cable can not only select the current, but also the delayed charging time. You can choose to charge the type 2 charger after 1 hour, or after 15 hours, with 1-15 hours for you to choose. Choosing delayed charging allows you to charge at a convenient time or avoid peak hours, which can reduce charging Cable Electric Car Type 2 charging costs and reduce unnecessary consumption.
  • Two Operation Modes : The ev charger type 2 can enter the function interface by long pressing the button, and short pressing can select the charger function. The ev charger level 2 can also be remotely operated by connecting to the smart life APP (Bluetooth & WIFI) of the mobile phone. The APP of electric vehicle charger can be downloaded from the APP Store or Google Chrome. You can remotely set the current and charging time through the APP and monitor your charging status anytime and anywhere.
  • Wall-mounted portable ev charger: The electric vehicle charger with CEE plug can be wall-mounted, just as convenient as a wall-mounted charger. You can mount the gun bracket on the wall to hang the cable and gun head on the wall to free up space. The cable length of the ev car charger level 2 can reach 5M, which allows flexible charging in garages and parking lots. The portable ev charger can be used as a wallbox ev charger level 2 for 110V voltage environment.
  • Safety Protection : 👍Safety is our top priority when designing the ev chargers for home level 2. 👍The portable ev charger level 2 has all-round protection, including leakage protection, short circuit protection, overheating protection, grounding protection, overcurrent protection, low voltage protection, overvoltage protection, waterproof protection, etc.

Questions to ask during the drive

  • Can you see the front corners and judge the car’s width easily in a narrow car park?
  • Does the accelerator respond smoothly when manoeuvring or reversing?
  • Are assistance systems easy to mute or adjust without searching through menus?
  • Do road joints produce a sharp impact, or does the suspension absorb them cleanly?
  • Is wind and tyre noise acceptable at the speeds you normally drive?
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Space, boot and family practicality

The Raval’s 441-litre boot is a confirmed manufacturer figure and is one of its clearest practical advantages. It should make weekly shopping, a pushchair or several soft bags easier than in a smaller cargo area. The Renault 5’s exact boot capacity is not established in the cited local data, so obtain the figure for the trim you can actually order rather than relying on a generic internet comparison.

Five seats are listed for the Raval. A specification sheet alone cannot tell you whether two adults fit comfortably in the rear or whether a child seat leaves usable space for a front passenger. Take your own child seat, booster, luggage and charging cable to the dealership. Check door opening angles, ISOFIX access, rear-seat headroom, the loading lip and whether the rear bench folds in the configuration you want.

Compact exterior dimensions matter in older streets and multi-storey car parks. The Raval’s published 4,046 mm length and 1,784 mm width provide a baseline; confirm the Renault 5’s local dimensions and turning circle before assuming it will be easier to park. A reversing camera, parking sensors and a clear 360-degree view can matter more day to day than a few millimetres of body length.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Equipment, controls and ownership details to verify

Neither the cited Raval nor Renault 5 information establishes a complete, market-specific equipment list, warranty comparison or software assessment. Trim names can hide major differences in screen size, navigation, heat-pump availability, adaptive cruise control, lane assistance, heated seats and audio systems. Compare the written standard-equipment list for the exact cars on the quotation.

Ask for these details in writing

  • Battery and motor output, including whether the quoted range is a maximum for another version.
  • AC and DC charging limits and the charging cable included.
  • Battery, vehicle and paint warranties, including mileage and time limits.
  • Service intervals, roadside assistance and the cost of scheduled maintenance.
  • Which driver-assistance features are standard, optional or unavailable.
  • Infotainment update method and whether smartphone mirroring is wired or wireless.
  • Delivery date, order-change rules and the treatment of government incentives.

Do not infer reliability or long-term software quality from acceleration and range figures. No independent long-term reliability dataset or instrumented comparison is established here; those risks should be addressed through the warranty terms, dealer support and an inspection of the specific car.

Which car suits which driver?

Choose the Cupra Raval when…

  • You value a 6.8-second 0–100 km/h claim and a more overtly sporty character.
  • The confirmed 441-litre boot is useful for your household.
  • You want the option of CUPRA’s higher headline output and up-to-440-km published range, subject to the version available locally.
  • You make enough longer journeys for faster DC capability to reduce the inconvenience of charging stops.
  • You have checked the local price and are comfortable paying for the equipment and battery version you need.

Choose the Renault 5 E-Tech when…

  • Your priority is the lower-entry-price configuration in your market.
  • Most journeys are urban or suburban and the 317 km WLTP rating of the 40 kWh 120 Urban Range is sufficient.
  • You prefer the Renault 5’s retro-inspired design and compact-city focus.
  • You can charge at home and do not regularly depend on high-power public charging.
  • You have verified that the local trim includes the rear-seat, boot and driver-assistance equipment your household needs.

Either car can be right when…

  • Your daily mileage is modest and reliable overnight charging is available.
  • You are comparing equivalent battery and equipment levels rather than a maximum Raval against an entry Renault 5.
  • You are willing to test both cars on the same roads and check insurance, finance and incentives locally.

A five-step way to make the local comparison

  1. Define your use: record a typical week’s distance, the longest regular journey, passenger and luggage needs, and where the car can charge.
  2. Select matching versions: choose the Raval and Renault 5 battery, motor and equipment levels that are actually orderable in your country.
  3. Build total prices: include delivery, options, wallbox work, finance interest, insurance and incentives.
  4. Check charging practicality: confirm home electrical capacity, cable length, public-network coverage and the real charging window behind each time claim.
  5. Test and verify: drive both cars with your child seats or luggage, then obtain written warranty, boot and equipment details before paying a deposit.

Common comparison mistakes

  • Mixing markets: a UK pound price and a German euro price are not a direct price ranking.
  • Mixing trims: the Raval’s 440 km maximum and Renault’s 317 km 40 kWh rating describe different configurations.
  • Treating WLTP as a promise: real range changes with weather, speed, tyres, payload and heating.
  • Reading peak kW as a stop time: charging curves and battery temperature determine the minutes spent at a charger.
  • Assuming brochure practicality: take your own luggage and child seats to test rear access and boot usability.
  • Ignoring home charging: installation cost, parking rights and cable compatibility can change the ownership equation more than a small list-price difference.

The decision in one sentence

Buy the Cupra Raval for measurable performance and confirmed boot capacity, or buy the Renault 5 E-Tech for an urban-focused 40 kWh version and distinctive design at the lower local entry price; the correct choice is the one whose exact trim, charging setup and total cost fit your driving rather than the one with the biggest headline number.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CUPRA RavalElectric Carselectric superminiEV chargingEV comparisonRenault 5 E-Tech

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.