Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallVerdict: The BYD Sealion 5 is a plug-in-hybrid family SUV whose value depends on your market and your ability to charge regularly. In the UK, the £29,995 Comfort and £32,995 Design pair a 1.5-litre PHEV system with 38-plus or 53.4 miles of WLTP electric range. Australia uses Essential and Premium trims with NEDC range claims of 1,001 km and 1,030 km, while South Africa lists Comfort and Dynamic versions with 52 km WLTP electric range. Those figures, equipment lists, warranty terms and even trim names are not interchangeable between countries.
This review separates the regional specifications, explains what the 3.3 kW AC charger means in daily use, sets the ANCAP safety result in context, and gives you a practical way to decide whether the Sealion 5 suits your commute, charging access and local support.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the BYD Sealion 5 is
The Sealion 5 is a mid-size SUV with a plug-in-hybrid drivetrain. It can drive on electric power, use its petrol engine to generate electricity, and use the engine to drive the wheels when required. Top Gear describes the electric motor as doing much of the driving, with the engine joining in when the battery state, speed or load demands it. It is therefore not a battery-electric SUV and not a conventional non-plug-in hybrid: you get the best efficiency only when you actually charge it.
BYD sells different versions in each market. The UK announcement uses Comfort and Design; Australia lists Essential and Premium; South Africa lists Comfort and Dynamic. The following table keeps the published figures in their original market and test-cycle context.
#1 Best Overall
- Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
- Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
- Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
- Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
- Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.
| Market and source | Trim names | Battery and electric range | Power and drive | Published price/range note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom, BYD announcement dated 14 January 2026 | Comfort, Design | Comfort: 12.96 kWh, over 38 miles WLTP Design: 18.3 kWh, 53.4 miles WLTP |
212 PS system output; 3.3 kW AC charger; front-wheel drive configuration is not stated in the UK announcement | £29,995 to £32,995 on the road |
| Australia, BYD product page accessed 2026 | Essential, Premium | Battery capacity and electric-only range: not stated on the page | 1.5-litre PHEV, FWD, 156 kW maximum power | 1,001 km Essential and 1,030 km Premium NEDC combined range; manufacturer-declared |
| South Africa, specification sheet updated November 2025 | Comfort, Dynamic | 12.96 kWh, 52 km WLTP | Plug-in hybrid, FWD; 3.3 kW single-phase AC | Local price: not stated in the sheet |
BYD warns that regional specifications can change. Confirm the exact vehicle offered by your dealer before paying a deposit.
UK price, trims and equipment
BYD UK’s 2026 launch announcement lists on-the-road prices of £29,995 for Comfort and £32,995 for Design. These are launch prices from that announcement, not a guarantee of today’s transaction price, finance rate or delivery charge.
| UK version | Battery and WLTP electric range | Shared published hardware | Design-only additions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Comfort — £29,995 on the road | 12.96 kWh; over 38 miles | 212 PS system output, 3.3 kW AC charger, 463-litre boot | Not applicable |
| Design — £32,995 on the road | 18.3 kWh; 53.4 miles | 212 PS system output, 3.3 kW AC charger, 463-litre boot | 360-degree camera, electric tailgate, wireless phone charging and heated front seats |
The £3,000 launch difference buys the larger battery and the listed convenience equipment. Whether it pays back depends on how often your daily trips fit inside the Design’s additional electric range and how much you value the camera, tailgate, charging pad and heated seats. UK equipment not listed in the announcement should be confirmed on the vehicle order sheet rather than assumed from another country’s brochure.
Electric range and charging in daily use
What the official range numbers mean
The UK figures are WLTP results: over 38 miles for Comfort and 53.4 miles for Design. South Africa’s sheet gives 52 km WLTP for its 12.96 kWh configuration. WLTP is a standardized laboratory cycle, so temperature, speed, heating, payload, hills and battery age can reduce the distance you see. Australia publishes NEDC combined ranges of 1,001 km and 1,030 km for the two trims, but does not state a battery size or electric-only distance on the cited product page. NEDC is an older, more optimistic test cycle than WLTP, and BYD explicitly says real range can vary.
Rank #2
- High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
- Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
- Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
- Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
- 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.
A useful ownership calculation is not simply “miles per charge.” Compare your regular round trip with the local electric-range claim, then leave a buffer for winter, motorway speeds and cabin heating. A 30-mile daily commute may fit the UK Comfort on paper but leave little margin in cold or fast-driving conditions; the Design’s 53.4-mile claim gives more headroom. In South Africa, the 52 km WLTP figure is roughly a short urban routine rather than a promise of all-day electric driving.
3.3 kW AC charging is the key limitation
Both UK versions have a 3.3 kW onboard AC charger, and the South African specification sheet lists 3.3 kW single-phase AC. Top Gear also reports a 3.3 kW maximum for the two UK battery versions. No DC fast-charging capability is established in these specifications, so do not choose the Sealion 5 expecting rapid motorway charging.
Top Gear estimates about four and a half hours on a home wallbox for the smaller battery and about six hours for the larger one. Those are reviewer estimates, not a manufacturer charging guarantee; cable limits, temperature, state of charge and installation settings affect the result. A normal overnight charge is realistic, while a short lunchtime stop will add only a modest amount of energy. Before purchase, check whether the supplied cable, domestic socket use and wallbox installation requirements match your parking arrangement.
How to judge your own charging fit
- Home or workplace charging available most days: the PHEV format can cover many routine trips electrically and reserve petrol for longer journeys.
- Public charging only: the low AC rate makes waiting less productive, and the absence of a supported DC claim removes the fastest recovery option.
- Frequent motorway travel: treat the vehicle as a petrol-assisted hybrid once the battery is depleted; do not budget on the official weighted PHEV consumption every day.
- Seasonal or irregular use: keep a charging buffer and verify that the car can remain plugged in safely for the time needed to refill at 3.3 kW.
Powertrain, performance and fuel efficiency
In the UK announcement, both trims produce 212 PS of system output. Australia lists a 1.5-litre PHEV with 156 kW maximum power and front-wheel drive. The different units and market descriptions should not be treated as contradictory global specifications; they are the figures published for those markets.
Rank #3
- ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
- ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
- ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
- ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
- ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient
BYD says the 1.5-litre engine has 43% thermal efficiency. That is a manufacturer claim, not an independent test result. The company also publishes weighted combined figures of 104.6 mpg and 62 g/km CO2 for UK Comfort, and 134.5 mpg and 48 g/km for Design. These are official PHEV test results calculated with a charged battery. They can look dramatically better than fuel use after the battery is empty, so use them for tax and homologation comparisons rather than as a guaranteed tank-to-tank result.
No independent depleted-battery fuel-consumption test or measured acceleration time is provided in the cited material. For a realistic ownership budget, record fuel used over several weeks in two conditions: with the battery charged at the start of each trip, and with charging unavailable. That separates the benefit of your electricity routine from the engine’s petrol-only efficiency. Also include the electricity tariff, public-charging fees and any home-wallbox installation cost.
Road manners and family practicality
Top Gear’s review places the Sealion 5 among family PHEV SUVs and says the electric motor supplies much of the driving, with the engine able to generate power or drive the wheels. That layout should feel smooth in low-speed urban use, provided the battery has charge. When the engine starts under load, the transition and noise will matter more than the laboratory output figure, so arrange a local test drive that includes a cold start, a steep road and a motorway merge.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The UK announcement gives a 463-litre boot for both trims. It does not provide rear-seat dimensions, a seven-seat option or a luggage-volume figure with the seats folded. Check child-seat fit, rear legroom, roof-line clearance and the shape of the load floor with your own equipment. A plug-in-hybrid battery can also affect under-floor storage, so inspect where the charging cable and tyre-repair kit are kept.
Rank #4
- Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
- Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
- Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
- Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
- Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices
FWD is explicitly listed for Australia and South Africa. The UK announcement does not state the drive layout. If you need towing, repeated operation on loose surfaces or a specific trailer rating, obtain the local homologation sheet; none of those limits is established by the cited material.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Safety: read the ANCAP result by category
ANCAP’s 2026 Australia/New Zealand assessment applies to all variants with on-sale dates from January 2026. It uses the 2026–2028 criteria and lists an expiry of December 2034. It is not a universal score for every market or future software revision.
| ANCAP category | Score | What to understand |
|---|---|---|
| Safe Driving | 48% | Assessment category score; not an overall star or percentage rating |
| Crash Avoidance | 51% | Shows the tested performance of avoidance and assistance systems under ANCAP protocols |
| Crash Protection | 79% | Occupant-protection result within the 2026 assessment |
| Post Crash | 74% | Performance after a crash, including rescue-related criteria |
ANCAP identifies two notable omissions: child-presence detection and eCall are not available. Its report also says battery-voltage isolation reached the required level in three of four destructive crash tests, with a penalty after the full-width frontal test. Those details matter if you regularly carry children or want automatic emergency calling, and they are reasons to read the full report rather than quote a single headline number.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →There are positive findings too. The centre airbag worked effectively to limit occupant movement across the vehicle, and every child restraint selected for ANCAP’s installation assessment could be correctly installed. Confirm that the Australian/New Zealand assessment applies to the exact vehicle sold in your country before using it as your only buying criterion.
Best Value
- 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
- 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
- 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
- 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
- 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.
Warranty and ownership support by market
Australia
BYD Australia lists six years or 150,000 km for the vehicle and eight years or 160,000 km for the traction battery, whichever limit arrives first. Terms, maintenance requirements and exclusions apply. The page also says specifications are subject to regional needs and regulations and can change without notice.
United Kingdom and South Africa
The cited UK announcement and South African specification sheet do not establish equivalent warranty terms. Do not import the Australian periods into another market. Ask the local retailer for the written vehicle, battery, paint, corrosion, roadside-assistance and service intervals, and check whether warranty work must be performed by an approved network.
Service-network questions to ask
- How many authorized service sites are within a practical distance of your home and workplace?
- Which workshop can diagnose the high-voltage system, and what is the expected booking lead time?
- What maintenance items remain due when most trips are electric?
- Is a loan car or roadside assistance included, and for how long?
- What happens to coverage if software updates, charging equipment or tyres are supplied by a third party?
Tyres and replacement considerations
The South African specification sheet lists 225/60 R18 tyres for its Comfort and Dynamic configurations. That is a market-specific fitment, not proof that every Sealion 5 uses the same size. Before ordering replacements, read the size and load/speed rating on your car’s sidewall and confirm the approved specification in the local owner’s manual or door-jamb label. The wrong load rating or rolling circumference can affect safety systems, handling and warranty coverage.
Recommended Free Tools
What to verify before placing an order
- Get a written drive-away quote. Confirm taxes, registration, delivery, finance fees and any launch promotion separately from the advertised price.
- Match the trim to your routine. In the UK, compare the Comfort’s over-38-mile WLTP claim with the Design’s 53.4 miles and list the value of the Design-only camera, tailgate, wireless charging and heated seats.
- Check charging at your parking space. Confirm socket or wallbox installation, cable type, electrical approval and the overnight time required at 3.3 kW.
- Ask for depleted-battery consumption guidance. Request a demonstration with a low state of charge and record the trip computer conditions; do not rely only on weighted PHEV mpg.
- Test family fit. Install your child seats, load your normal luggage into the 463-litre UK boot and check rear-seat comfort.
- Read the local safety and assistance specification. Confirm which driver-assistance features are standard on your trim and whether the ANCAP result applies to your market.
- Obtain warranty and service documents. Verify battery coverage, service intervals, roadside assistance and the nearest qualified high-voltage repairer.
- Confirm tyres and insurance. Use the exact approved size and rating, and obtain an insurance quote that reflects the PHEV battery and repair process.
Who should buy the Sealion 5?
It makes sense if
- You can charge at home or work most days and your routine fits the local electric-range claim.
- You need an SUV body and family boot space but still make occasional long trips that a petrol engine simplifies.
- You prefer a higher equipment trim and can justify its price difference for features you will use.
- You have a local service network that can support high-voltage repairs.
Look elsewhere if
- You cannot charge reliably and expect the official weighted mpg to represent normal petrol consumption.
- You need rapid DC charging, because no supported DC capability is stated here and AC is limited to 3.3 kW.
- You require a documented towing rating, all-wheel drive or a seven-seat layout that your local specification does not provide.
- You need child-presence detection or eCall and the ANCAP-tested vehicle is representative of your market.
Alternatives worth cross-shopping
Top Gear places the Sealion 5 in a UK set that includes the Ford Kuga, Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson, MG HS, Nissan Qashqai, Chery Tiggo 7 and Geely Starray EM-i. That is a list of market rivals, not an apples-to-apples independent test. Compare each local version on transaction price, electric-only range using the same test cycle, AC and DC charging, depleted-battery consumption, boot usability, safety assessment, warranty and service coverage. Equipment and drivetrain availability vary by country, so a model name alone is not enough.
Bottom line
The Sealion 5 can be a sensible bridge between electric commuting and unrestricted longer trips, but only when the numbers match your market and routine. UK buyers must choose between the smaller-battery Comfort and longer-range, better-equipped Design; Australian buyers should treat the 1,001 km and 1,030 km NEDC claims as manufacturer figures; South African buyers get a 52 km WLTP configuration with 3.3 kW AC charging. The decisive questions are whether you can plug in overnight, whether slow AC charging is acceptable, how the car behaves with a depleted battery, and whether local warranty, safety and service support meet your requirements.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




