Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Get listed

BMW iX311 MIN

BMW iX3 vs Tesla Model Y: Range, Charging, Space and Driving (US)

The BMW iX3 50 xDrive publishes more estimated US range and higher peak DC power than the Tesla Model Y, while Tesla offers clearer trim-by-trim cargo and acceleration data. Here is what the specifications do—and do not—prove.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: On the manufacturers’ current US figures, the BMW iX3 50 xDrive has the higher estimated range, while its advertised 400 kW DC capability is well above the Tesla Model Y’s 225–250 kW maximum. Tesla offers three distinct performance and range choices, and its published cargo figures are more complete. The numbers are not a substitute for a matched road test: BMW’s range and acceleration figures are preliminary, Tesla’s charging-distance figures use a different method, and neither manufacturer’s page establishes a real-world driving winner.

At a glance: what the US specifications say

This comparison is for the US-market Neue Klasse 2027 BMW iX3 50 xDrive and the trims currently listed on Tesla’s US Model Y page in the 2026 model-year context. BMW says US reservations begin in early May 2026, with deliveries starting in fall 2026; confirm local ordering and delivery status because availability can change. Tesla’s live page can also change trim labels and figures.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Question BMW iX3 50 xDrive (US) Tesla Model Y (US listings) How to interpret it
Published range 383–434 miles estimated on the model page; 398 miles in BMW’s technical-data table 321 miles Standard RWD; 327 miles Premium AWD; 306 miles Performance BMW’s values are preliminary estimates using EPA-procedure standards; Tesla presents EPA estimates. They are not a controlled, same-day road test.
Peak DC charging Up to 400 kW; 10–80% in 21 minutes Up to 225 kW Standard RWD; 250 kW Premium AWD and Performance Peak power is a maximum, not the average power over a charging stop. The figures use different reporting methods.
Length 188.3 inches 188.7 inches Standard RWD; 188.6 inches Premium AWD The overall footprints are nearly identical in length.
Published cargo volume BMW’s cited US technical page lists a 2.05-liter front storage compartment, but no matching rear-cargo figure 74 cubic feet Standard RWD; 76 cubic feet Premium on the product page There is no like-for-like rear-cargo measurement for these exact vehicles in the cited material.
0–60 mph 4.7 seconds preliminary 6.8 seconds Standard RWD; 4.3 seconds Premium AWD; 3.3 seconds Performance Acceleration is comparable as a specification, not as a complete judgment of ride, handling or refinement.

BMW’s detailed figures are on its US iX3 technical-data page and its US model page. Tesla’s trim, range, charging and cargo figures are on the US Model Y page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which has more range?

Using the published US numbers, the BMW iX3 50 xDrive is ahead. BMW’s model page gives a preliminary estimated range of 383–434 miles, while its technical table shows 398 miles. Tesla lists 321 miles for Model Y Standard RWD, 327 miles for Premium AWD and 306 miles for Performance. On the headline figures, even the BMW’s lower estimate exceeds each listed Model Y value.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
LISEN Retractable Car Charger, 84W Car Charger USB C Fast Charge, 4 in 1 | Cigarette Lighter Adapter, Car Accessories, for Christmas Day Gifts for Men Women Dad Mom, for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15 14
  • Never Let a Dead Battery Ruin Your Drive. The LISEN 4 in 1 Retractable Car Charger delivers reliable power for your entire journey. Compatible with standard 12V cigarette lighter sockets, it keeps phones, tablets, and devices charged during daily commutes, road trips, and long drives — the perfect practical gift for dads, truck drivers, and anyone who lives on the road.
  • Daily Driver Essential: Always Ready When You Need It. Featuring two retractable cables ( USB C & Old iPhone Charging Cable ) that extend up to 31.5 inches and dual USB ports, this charger solves cable clutter while charging up to 4 devices simultaneously. Ideal for busy fathers, commuters, and families who want a tidy car and never worry about low battery again.
  • Deliver full-speed PD fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPhone 18 Pro right inside your car. The built-in 45W PD USB-C port hits the peak charging speed for these latest iPhone models, juicing up your phone to 50% power in just 15 minutes while you drive.(Note: Maximum 45W PD output is available under 24V vehicle power supply. When used with standard 12V car sockets, the peak output is limited to 36W.)
  • Standard 12V Power Solution: Designed as a dedicated USB power supply for charging devices. Note: Does NOT support CarPlay, Bluetooth, or data transfer. Compatible with most phones, tablets, and small electronics. This retractable charger is a core car organization tool, keeping your vehicle tidy. Not compatible with Micro-USB devices.
  • Clutter-Free Tech Organization: Featuring dual USB ports and retractable cables, the LISEN 4 in 1 charger provides a clean car storage solution. Perfect for truck enthusiasts or as a thoughtful gift for drivers, it supports fast USB-C charging for devices like the iPhone 18Pro & iPhone 18 ProMax. Keep your vehicle organized while ensuring efficient power delivery for all your tech on the road.

That is a specification comparison, not proof that an iX3 will travel farther on every trip. BMW says the new-model estimates use EPA testing-procedure standards and may differ from the EPA’s eventual blended rating; the company also warns that configuration and conditions affect results. Tesla likewise notes that temperature, speed, route, wheel and tire selection and other conditions influence range. The only defensible conclusion from these pages is that BMW publishes the higher estimated US range for this iX3 trim.

Why the BMW range appears as a band

A 383–434-mile span signals that BMW is communicating an estimate before final certification and that equipment or configuration can change the result. The 398-mile technical-data number is another preliminary figure from BMW’s table, not an independently measured value. Do not combine the low end, high end and technical-table number as though they were separate test runs.

Do not substitute the UK WLTP number

BMW’s UK technical page lists 456–500 miles WLTP for the 50 xDrive. WLTP is a different test cycle and market specification from the US EPA procedure. It must not be presented as the iX3’s US EPA range or placed in the same ranking without a prominent cycle label. The UK figure is useful only as a reminder that test-cycle and market differences can produce materially different numbers; it does not change the US comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
SINGARO Car Cup Holder Coaster, Silicone Cup Holder Insert, Universal Non-Slip Cup Holders, Car Accessories Interior for Women and Man Interior Sets 4 Pack Black
  • High Quality Material: The coaster is made of environmentally friendly silicone, safe, non-toxic and odorless. Soft with toughness, easily embedded in the cup holder. Very durable, wear-resistant, long service life. High temperature resistance, can withstand 100 ℃ high temperature water cups.
  • Wide Compatibility: The coaster has a diameter of 3.15 inches and a height of 1.18 inches, which is widely used in most vehicles, such as SUV, sedan, MPV, etc., as long as the size fits your car cup holder.
  • Protection Function: Our car cup holder coaster has a carry handle design and a stand-up ring edge on its edge to effectively prevent food crumbs, drinks and water from leaking out and preventing the car cup holder from getting dirty.Meanwhile,Thickened design effectively prevents the cup holder from being scratched by the cup when driving on bumpy roads and eliminates the annoying thumping sound, making your journey more enjoyable.
  • Easy to Use and Clean: With embedded installation, you just need to put it flat on the car cupholder. It is also very quick to remove, there is a small bump on the coaster, pinch it and you can easily remove the coaster. It is very easy to clean, rinse with water or wipe with a wet towel (be careful not to clean with sharp tools).
  • 100% Satisfaction: Our products have quality assurance, if you have questions or are not satisfied after receiving the product, don't worry, please contact us as soon as possible, we provide after-sales service.

What a buyer should do with the range difference

  • Use the Tesla trim’s own number when planning a trip; Standard RWD, Premium AWD and Performance are not interchangeable.
  • For the BMW, treat 383–434 miles as a preliminary planning envelope until final EPA certification and your chosen wheel-and-tire configuration are known.
  • Leave a weather, speed and detour reserve rather than planning a route to the last published mile.
  • Ask the dealer for the final window sticker and EPA label for the exact vehicle before making a purchase decision.

Which charges faster?

BMW claims the higher peak DC input: up to 400 kW and a 10–80% time of 21 minutes for the iX3 50 xDrive. Tesla lists 225 kW maximum Supercharging for Standard RWD and 250 kW for Premium AWD and Performance. Those headline maxima make the BMW look faster on paper, but they are not the same metric. BMW states a percentage-to-percentage session time; Tesla emphasizes maximum power and miles added in 15 minutes, with the latter explicitly based on constant-speed data.

Charging item BMW iX3 50 xDrive (US) Tesla Model Y (US) What is and is not comparable
Maximum DC power Up to 400 kW 225 kW Standard RWD; 250 kW Premium AWD and Performance A maximum does not describe the average power held through a stop or the time spent tapering near a high state of charge.
Advertised DC session 10–80% in 21 minutes Product page gives miles added in 15 minutes, based on constant-speed data A percentage interval and a distance estimate cannot be converted directly without battery, consumption and charging-curve data.
Connector and network statement US iX3 uses an NACS port for Tesla Supercharger access; BMW says a standard CCS adapter preserves access to other providers Native Tesla connector and Supercharger routing through the vehicle Station availability, vehicle eligibility, live status, payment and conditions still determine the actual stop.

What peak power means in practice

Charging power changes continuously. A vehicle may briefly reach its advertised maximum only when the battery, charger and temperature are in the right state; power generally tapers as the battery fills. A 10–80% result also depends on the starting state of charge and the specific charging curve. Tesla’s “miles added in 15 minutes” presentation incorporates vehicle energy consumption and a constant-speed assumption, so it is not an observed distance covered on a mixed real-world route.

For that reason, no honest specification-only answer can promise that one car will always finish a road-trip stop first. The BMW has the stronger published peak and a stated 21-minute 10–80% target. Tesla supplies a mature trip-planning workflow and trim-specific Supercharging figures. A matched test at the same battery percentage, ambient temperature and charger would be needed to declare a real-world winner.

Rank #3
Kaistyle for Magsafe Car Mount【Strong Magnet】 Magnetic Phone Holder for Car Phone Holder Mount Dash Mounted Holders Phone Holders for Your Car Accessories for Women Men for iPhone 18 Pro Max 17 16 15
  • ✅【Designed for Magsafe】 - The most fashionable iphone car mount in 2026 Magsafe is designed for iPhone 18 Pro Max/17/16/15/14/13/12 Pro Max Mini and official Magsafe cases and other magnetic phone cases and can be fixed directly to these phones without the need to affix metal plates. All Android Phones Will Work: Metal rings are provided; they fit cases and other phones without magsafe. Based on Unique Grandmaster Design (Protected by US Design Patent No. US D1,112,194 S)
  • ✅【STRONG MAGNETIC MagSafe Car Mount】 - This powerful magnetic phone holder can create a powerful attraction that firmly supports your device while allowing you to drive without distraction. it easily and securely holds your phone through bumps, sharp turns or even sudden stops, no worrying of dropping your phone.
  • ✅【SUPER STICK FORCE】 - VHB Dash Mounted Holders adhesive provides strong stick force between the dashboard and the car phone holder, which can firmly stick to any plane in the car, fix your device, adapt to a variety of road conditions such as sudden braking, speed bump, and rugged mountain road.
  • ✅【SAFE DRIVING VIEW】 - Mini-size, not taking up space, it is placed in the dashboard without blocking the view at all, and does not need to look down at the device to ensure your safe driving. Cell Phone Car Mount is suitable for most cars, pickups, SUV, taxi; It is the best assistant for Uber and Lyft drivers
  • ✅【360° FREE ROTATION】 - With an adjustable swivel ball joint, you can rotate your smartphone or device at your own will, providing the best viewing angle. Quickly pick and place with one hand, free your hands and make calls and GPS navigation more convenient

Charging access for the BMW

BMW says the US iX3’s NACS port enables access to Tesla Superchargers. BMW also says a standard CCS adapter allows use of other charging providers. This is an access claim, not a guarantee that every station will accept every vehicle at every rate. Check the station’s live status, connector, vehicle eligibility and payment requirements before relying on it for a time-critical trip.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Tesla’s route-planning approach

Tesla states on its Model Y product page: “Navigate on longer trips with Trip Planner and your Tesla will add Supercharging stops along the way.” That describes a built-in planning feature, not an independent assessment of network coverage or charging speed. Weather, traffic, elevation, battery temperature and charger availability can all alter the plan.

Home charging: the everyday question

Most charging happens at home, so the useful comparison is not only a highway peak. BMW’s technical table lists 15.4 hours for Level 2 and 10 hours 15 minutes for AC 0–100% under BMW’s stated test conditions. Tesla’s product page encourages overnight home charging but does not provide one directly equivalent AC recharge time in the cited material. Actual time depends on the home supply, installed equipment, onboard AC capability, starting state of charge, temperature and vehicle configuration.

Rank #4
YGDMD 2PCS Car Seat Gap Filler Organizer,2 in 1 Car Gap Filler (Black) | Multifunctional Design,Fill and Storage Function for Storing Phones Keys Cards,No Drop Seat Guard for Cars Suvs Trucks
  • Buyer's Guide: The seat guard for car seat between seat & console measures 15.75*2.7*1.53", suitable for gaps of 1.43-1.53" in width, please double-check carefully the distance between your seat and the center console before placing an order
  • Storage and Filling in One: Differ from traditional single-function gap fillers, gap filler for car incorporates storage function, offers you the convenience of storing phones and various other items, so that you can access them at any time while driving
  • Avoid Items Slipping: With the bumps and vibrations of the car, phones, keys may fall into the seat crevices, which is difficult to pick up, and distracts the driver's attention. Car gap seat filler fills gaps seamlessly to create an effective barrier
  • Easy to Install: Car side seat gap filler is easy to install, simply insert it into the gap between the seat and the center console, gap seat filler for car can fit tightly without affecting the normal adjustment of the seat and the use of the seat belt
  • Premium Material: Crafted from premium EVA material, our car seat side gap filler boasts a combination of wear-resistant, softness&durability. Maintenance is effortless, simply rinse and wipe to quickly clean the dust and debris in corners and crevices

Plan a Level 2 installation before delivery

  1. Confirm the electrical service. Have a qualified electrician check panel capacity, circuit length, outdoor exposure and whether a load-management device is required.
  2. Choose the connector and equipment. Verify whether the charger’s plug or hardwired installation matches the vehicle, your region and the charging equipment you intend to use.
  3. Size the circuit for your routine. A higher-power installation is not automatically better if your daily mileage is modest or the home cannot support it safely.
  4. Set a charging schedule. Overnight charging can replenish normal daily driving without waiting for a high-power public stop.
  5. Confirm final vehicle specifications. Onboard AC limits and connector details can vary by model year and market, so use the delivered vehicle’s manual and window sticker.

A home charger is an installation project, not a universal accessory recommendation. The vehicle year, market, electrical code, parking location and utility rate all matter.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which has more space?

The vehicles are almost the same length, but the available cargo data are not measured in a directly comparable way. BMW lists the iX3 at 188.3 inches long and cites a 2.05-liter front storage compartment in its US technical data. That page does not provide a matching rear-cargo volume. Tesla lists 74 cubic feet for Model Y Standard RWD and 76 cubic feet for Premium on its product page. Tesla’s owner manual gives further volumes by trim and seat arrangement, but those figures still use Tesla’s own measurement method.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Dimension or storage figure BMW iX3 50 xDrive Model Y Standard RWD Model Y Premium AWD
Overall length 188.3 in 188.7 in 188.6 in
Width, mirrors folded 74.6 in without mirrors; 82.4 in including mirrors 78 in mirrors folded; 83.8 in extended 78 in mirrors folded; 83.8 in extended
Height 64.8 in 63.8 in 63.9 in
Wheelbase 114.1 in Not stated on the cited Tesla product page Not stated on the cited Tesla product page
Published cargo volume Rear volume not stated on the cited US technical page; 2.05-liter front storage compartment listed 74 cu ft 76 cu ft

Mirror conventions explain some of the apparent width difference: BMW gives a body width without mirrors and a separate overall figure including mirrors, while Tesla labels folded and extended mirror widths. Compare the same convention when checking a garage, narrow gate or car wash.

Best Value
Stacool Upgraded Car Center Console Cover,Microfiber Leather Car Armrest Cover Cushion with 2 Storage Bags,Universal Car Armrest Storage Box (Black)
  • 🔰 UPGRADED SIDE STORAGE DESIGN - Our console cover is thinner than the old one, universal for all seasons. There is an 8.66*5.12 inch storage pocket design on each left and right side, expanding the storage space, convenient and practical. Meet the storage needs of the main passenger seat, you can store your cell phone, keys, tissues, ID and some other small daily items.
  • 🔰 PREMIUM MICROFIBER LEATHER MATERIAL - This car center console cover is made of quality microfiber leather material, soft and skin-friendly touch. Exquisite and fashionable diamond shaped stitching, every detail is in place. Inside the car center console cover is made of thickened memory foam, even after squeezing, it can slowly recover to its original shape.
  • 🔰 RELIEVE DRIVING FATIGUE - The arm rest cover for car adopts ergonomic design, giving just the right amount of arm support, effectively dispersing elbow pressure and relieving driving fatigue. Protect your car's center console from getting dirty or scratched. Especially suitable for long time driving or long distance traveling, bringing you a new experience of relaxation and comfort!
  • 🔰 NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSTALLATION - This car console cover is designed with an elastic band for a firm fit and not easy to shake. And the back side is full of protruding dots, which can effectively avoid the armrest cover from slipping and shifting. All you need to do is to open the center console cover, put the elastic band directly into the cover and then close it.
  • 🔰 BUYER'S GUIDE - You will receive a car armrest storage box with the size of 12.13*7.80 inch, please measure the size of your car's armrest storage box before you buy. We have prepared five simple and beautiful colors for you, you can choose according to your own preferences. Suitable for most of the vehicles on the market, such as car, truck, SUV, RV, van, etc.

How to get a meaningful cargo answer

Do not declare Tesla the space winner solely because BMW’s cited page omits a rear figure, and do not infer that similar length means similar usable volume. For a purchase decision, take the same stroller, suitcase or bicycle to both vehicles and test the lift-over height, opening width, floor length, seat-fold operation and under-floor storage. If you need a numeric comparison, use an independent test that measures both vehicles with the same seat positions and volume method. Tesla’s Model Y owner manual is useful for its detailed trim and seat-arrangement definitions, but it does not supply a matching BMW measurement.

Which is better to drive?

The published acceleration figures show a wide Tesla range and a quick BMW, but they do not establish which vehicle is more enjoyable or refined. BMW gives the iX3 50 xDrive a preliminary 4.7-second 0–60 mph time, with 463 horsepower and 476 lb-ft of torque. Tesla lists 6.8 seconds for Standard RWD, 4.3 seconds for Premium AWD and 3.3 seconds for Performance.

Trim Published 0–60 mph Other published performance data Status
BMW iX3 50 xDrive 4.7 sec 463 hp; 476 lb-ft Preliminary BMW figure
Tesla Model Y Standard RWD 6.8 sec Not stated in the cited page Current US listing
Tesla Model Y Premium AWD 4.3 sec Not stated in the cited page Current US listing
Tesla Model Y Performance 3.3 sec Not stated in the cited page Current US listing

On the narrow question of acceleration, the Premium AWD Model Y is listed 0.4 second quicker than the preliminary iX3 figure, while Performance is substantially quicker. Standard RWD is slower. That does not answer questions about steering weighting, suspension control, brake-pedal calibration, seat comfort, cabin noise, visibility or ride quality; none of those are established by the manufacturer specifications cited here.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the driving character you actually need

  • Prioritize straight-line speed: Model Y Performance has the quickest published sprint, followed by Premium AWD.
  • Want a strong but less extreme specification: The iX3’s 4.7-second preliminary estimate and Premium AWD’s 4.3-second estimate are close enough that tires, road surface and launch conditions may matter more to everyday impressions than the decimal difference.
  • Prioritize efficiency and range: Compare the exact wheel-and-tire configuration and final EPA label; acceleration trim and range trim are not always the same choice.
  • Care about ride and refinement: Arrange back-to-back drives on the roads you use. No first-hand or matched road-test evidence supports a winner here.

US-market timing, pricing and configuration cautions

This is not a purchase-price comparison. BMW’s iX3 delivery timing is described as fall 2026, and Tesla’s live page can change prices, incentives, equipment and trim availability. Local taxes, destination charges, options, financing and state incentives can move the out-the-door result. Obtain written quotes for the exact vehicles rather than treating a web-page configuration as a guaranteed transaction price.

Wheel size, tires, temperature, speed, route elevation, payload and software can affect range and charging. The BMW numbers are especially provisional because BMW warns that a newly released model may not yet be fully EPA-certified. Recheck the final EPA label, charging documentation and connector information when the vehicle is orderable in your area.

A practical test-drive and ownership checklist

  1. Verify the trim. Record whether the Tesla is Standard RWD, Premium AWD or Performance, and confirm that the BMW is the US iX3 50 xDrive.
  2. Record the final range label. Do not rely on an early estimate if a certified EPA figure is available by delivery time.
  3. Inspect your charging route. Check home wiring, public station locations, connector type, payment method and live availability.
  4. Test the cargo you carry. Bring your normal luggage, child seats, sports equipment or mobility aids and use the seats exactly as you would at home.
  5. Drive the same roads. Include rough pavement, a highway merge, a tight parking maneuver and a descending or emergency stop if conditions permit.
  6. Compare the details acceleration numbers omit. Note steering response, braking feel, seat support, outward visibility, wind noise, suspension movement and one-pedal behavior.
  7. Get the delivered-vehicle documents. Confirm warranty, charging equipment, adapter inclusion, final dimensions and the applicable owner’s manual for your market.

Bottom line for US shoppers

If your first question is range, the BMW iX3 50 xDrive has the higher published US estimate: 383–434 miles on BMW’s model page, with 398 miles in its technical table, versus 321, 327 or 306 miles for the listed Model Y trims. If your first question is charging power, BMW advertises up to 400 kW and a 21-minute 10–80% session, while Tesla lists 225–250 kW maxima and a different 15-minute distance metric. If your first question is space, Tesla publishes rear-cargo totals but BMW’s cited US page does not provide a matching figure, so a fair winner cannot be named from these specifications. If your first question is driving, Tesla offers the quickest published acceleration in Performance, BMW’s preliminary figure is close to Premium AWD, and neither page proves a ride or handling advantage. The sensible choice depends on your final certified range, charging access, cargo test and back-to-back drive in the exact trims you can actually buy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

BMW iX3car comparisonelectric vehiclesEV chargingEV rangeTesla Model Y

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.