Recommended Free Tools
For U.S. buyers shopping new 2026-model-year hatchbacks, three verified choices offer a manual transmission: the Honda Civic Type R, Toyota GR Corolla, and Mazda3 2.5 S Premium Hatchback. The Type R and GR Corolla are performance-focused; the Mazda is the more conventional compact hatch. Which is best depends on whether you prioritize front-wheel-drive performance, all-wheel-drive traction, or a less powerful daily-use hatch. This shortlist covers new U.S.-market models, not used cars or every global-market hatchback.
Which new hatchbacks still come with a manual transmission?
These are the three confirmed choices for the 2026 model year. Transmission availability is trim-specific, so check the exact configuration when comparing dealer inventory.
| Model and manual configuration | Drivetrain | Power | Official price anchor | Fuel economy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honda Civic Type R, six-speed manual | Front-wheel drive | 315 hp; 310 lb-ft | 2026 model: $47,395 starting MSRP (American Honda Motor Co.; model page, publication year not shown) | 2026 model: EPA-estimated 22 mpg city / 28 highway (American Honda Motor Co.; model page, publication year not shown) |
| Toyota GR Corolla, six-speed Intelligent Manual Transmission | All-wheel drive | 300 hp; 295 lb-ft | $39,920 starting MSRP, excluding a $1,195 dealer processing and handling fee (Toyota USA; 2026 model announcement) | Not stated in the cited Toyota 2026 model announcement |
| Mazda3 2.5 S Premium Hatchback, six-speed SKYACTIV-MT | Not stated on the cited Mazda 2026 page | Up to 186 hp; 186 lb-ft for the 2.5 S engine | Not stated for the manual trim on Mazda USA’s 2026 page; request a current local quote | Not stated on the cited Mazda 2026 page |
Specifications and prices above come from manufacturer information, not independent comparative road or track testing. The Honda power, price and fuel-economy figures refer to the 2026 Type R; Honda separately announced the refreshed 2027 model, so its figures should not be substituted for the 2026 price. Toyota’s price is a starting MSRP, excludes the stated fee and does not establish local dealer pricing or stock.
How to choose the right manual hatchback
Choose the Civic Type R for front-wheel-drive performance
The 2026 Type R pairs its 315-hp turbocharged 2.0-liter engine with a six-speed manual and rev-match control. Honda also lists a helical limited-slip differential, adaptive dampers and four drive modes. It is the shortlist’s high-performance front-wheel-drive option, best suited to shoppers who want that focus and are comfortable with its higher listed starting MSRP.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
- Package Dimensions: 6.858 L x 22.352 H x 10.922 W (centimeters)
- New and improved formula that meets quality standards
- Improved shift quality
- Lower fluid friction
Choose the GR Corolla for an all-wheel-drive performance hatch
Toyota offers the 2026 GR Corolla with either a six-speed Intelligent Manual Transmission or an eight-speed GAZOO Racing Direct Automatic Transmission. The manual version is the shortlist’s all-wheel-drive performance choice. Toyota lists front and rear Torsen limited-slip differentials as standard, alongside its 300-hp turbocharged 1.6-liter three-cylinder engine. Confirm the manual trim, local availability and out-the-door price with a dealer.
Choose the manual Mazda3 for a more conventional compact hatch
Mazda lists the six-speed SKYACTIV-MT only on the 2026 Mazda3 2.5 S Premium Hatchback; other Mazda3 Hatchback models use a six-speed automatic. Its 2.5 S engine is rated at up to 186 hp and 186 lb-ft. That makes it the lower-output compact-hatch option here, rather than a direct substitute for the Type R or GR Corolla’s performance mission. Mazda’s cited page does not establish a comparable price for the manual trim.
Rank #2
- [Replaces Part Number:] SG226022 4B-3347XU C6501 PN# 74820S5SE01 74870S5SE01 74870-S5S-E01 Please Check the OEM Part Number and Make Sure Your Part Number Matches this Part Number Before Buying!
- Buyers Guide (Reference Year/Make/Model search for proper fitment): Compatible with 2002 2003 2004 2005 02 03 04 05 Gas Struts Shock Spring Prop Rod Damper Rear Back LIFTGATE LIFT SUPPORT Liftgate Lift Support Civic 22.32 In 13.6
- Ext Length (IN) 22.32 ---Comp Length (IN) 13.6 ---Force Lbs 81 .replaced with these in just a couple of minutes,your vehicle fully opens by itself like it used to do when new.Gently reduces the opening and closing speed as the lift support reaches the end of the cycle, reducing wear on joints and hinges.Restores the original opening and closing speeds of your hood, hatch or trunk. No special tools required.
- [About This Product:] The Back Door Stay Assembly , a core component of the Back Door Lock & Handle system, plays a pivotal role in the smooth operation of the back door of your vehicle. It functions as the mechanism that allows the door to remain open in a stationary position without manual support, hence providing utility and safety. An old or broken Back Door Stay Assembly might fail to keep the door open, leading to potential mishaps.
- Hence, periodic replacement with a OEM Dcmr part is recommended. OEM Dcmr parts are not only perfectly compatible with your vehicle but also come with Dcmr's parts 12 Month warranty. Opting for a Dcmr Back Door Stay Assembly contributes to the efficiency and safety of your vehicle's Back Door Lock & Handle system.
What changes for the 2027 Civic Type R?
Honda announced the refreshed 2027 Civic Type R on October 1, 2026, with arrival at Honda dealers that month. The announcement lists a $48,695 MSRP and a $49,990 total suggested retail price, along with 315 hp and EPA estimates of 22 mpg city, 28 highway and 24 combined. The refresh includes revised cooling and front styling, optimized suspension damping in +R mode, improved rev-match and heated front seats. These are 2027 figures and features; they do not change the separate 2026-model price listed above.
Luis Guerra, assistant vice president of Honda National Auto Sales at American Honda Motor Co., said the refreshed model enhances comfort, technology and style “without compromising the exhilarating driving experience that has defined the Civic Type R for six generations.”
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesRank #3
- Fits various makes and models
- Carefully check vehicle fitment before purchase
- Designed to meet or exceed original part specifications
- MANUAL TRANS FL
Which nearby hatchbacks do not qualify?
The 2026 Volkswagen Golf GTI is a relevant hot-hatch comparison, but Volkswagen’s current specification page lists a seven-speed DSG and no manual configuration, so it is not a current manual choice. The Civic Si is a manual sedan, not a hatchback. And a regular Civic hatchback’s availability does not mean every trim comes with a manual; check the transmission on the exact version.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Complete Vehicle Coverage: Covers Honda Civic Sedan, Coupe, and Hatchback gasoline models from 2016–2022, including FC/FK platform vehicles equipped with 1.5L and 2.0L gasoline engines.
- Step-by-Step Repairs: Detailed instructions for routine maintenance, troubleshooting, and major component repairs.
- Online Wiring Diagrams Included: Access vehicle-specific wiring diagrams and additional online repair information.
- Hands-On Workshop Procedures: Developed from complete vehicle teardown with clear photos, illustrations, torque specs, and service data.
- Trusted DIY Repair Guide: Haynes manuals are relied on worldwide by DIYers and technicians for accurate repair and maintenance information.
What to verify before buying
- Model year and trim: Compare like with like, especially for the 2026 and 2027 Civic Type R and the manual-only Mazda3 2.5 S Premium Hatchback.
- Price and fees: Treat manufacturer MSRP as a starting point. Toyota explicitly excludes its $1,195 processing and handling fee; dealer charges, local pricing and inventory require a current quote.
- Fit for your use: Decide whether you want front-wheel-drive performance, all-wheel-drive performance or a lower-output compact hatch. Check rear-seat and cargo needs in person; the manufacturer specifications cited here do not provide a consistent cargo comparison.
- Running costs: The verified information does not establish comparable ownership-cost figures for these three models. Do not infer them from horsepower or sticker price alone.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




