Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Choose the Ather 450 Apex if acceleration, a 100 km/h top speed and performance-focused riding matter most. Choose the River Indie if you need unusually large built-in storage, 14-inch wheels and a lower reported entry price. Neither is automatically better: your daily distance, passenger or cargo needs, charging setup, budget and local service access should decide the purchase.
The decision in one minute
The Ather 450 Apex is the enthusiast-oriented choice. Its published output and acceleration figures lead the Indie, and its higher top-speed ceiling is useful on open suburban roads and faster arterials. That performance comes with a substantially higher reported ex-showroom price, and Ather’s current online specifications do not match its April 2025 Apex specification sheet on battery capacity, certified range, charging time or battery-warranty duration. Get the exact terms for the scooter being delivered in writing.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The River Indie is the utility-oriented choice. Its official specification page gives you a large under-seat compartment, a separate glovebox and accessory mounting points, while its 14-inch wheels may appeal to riders who prefer a larger-wheel format. The published performance is lower, but the stated entry price is also lower. River offers two charger options and a standard manufacturing warranty, with longer optional coverage available.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsBoth manufacturers publish IDC or certified-cycle range figures rather than an independently controlled, like-for-like road test. Treat those figures as useful laboratory references, not a promise of the kilometres you will achieve in traffic.
#1 Best Overall
- 【500W Motor】 This electric scooter powered by a 500W rated motor, reaches up to 20 MPH, perfect for city commuting, outdoor travel & campus cycling
- 【21 Miles Max Range】 This electric scooter for adults and teens rides up to 18–21 miles per charge with the high-capacity 36V 7.8AH battery. Fully recharges in 4 hours, giving you long rides with less waiting time
- 【8.5" Honeycomb Solid Tires & 20° Hill Climb】 8.5-inch honeycomb tires provide maintenance-free riding, solid grip, and smooth shock absorption, while easily conquering slopes up to 20°
- 【Dual Braking System + Bright Lights + IPX4】 This escooter features both electronic and rear drum brakes for reliable stopping power. Equipped with a bright headlight, rear taillight, and IPX4 waterproof rating for safe riding day or night in light rain
- 【Portable, Foldable & Lightweight】 This foldable electric scooter weighs only 35.1 lbs and supports riders up to 264 lbs. When folded, it measures 44.1"×16.7"×16.1", making it easy to carry or store in offices, subways, or car trunks
Ather 450 Apex vs River Indie: specifications at a glance
| Decision axis | Ather 450 Apex | River Indie | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peak power and top speed | 7.0 kW; 100 km/h, according to Ather’s current 450 specifications | 6.7 kW; 90 km/h, according to River’s Indie specifications | The Apex has the higher published performance ceiling. |
| 0–40 km/h acceleration | 2.9 seconds | 3.7 seconds | The Apex is quicker on the manufacturers’ figures. |
| Battery and range claims | Current page: 3.5 kWh and 165 km IDC. Ather’s April 2025 sheet: 3.7 kWh and 157 km certified. | 4 kWh and 160 km IDC; mode estimates of 110 km Eco, 90 km Ride and 70 km Rush. | The figures use different sources and cycles; they are not a direct real-world range comparison. |
| Charging information | Current page: 0–80% in 3 hours 12 minutes. April 2025 sheet: 0–80% in 4 hours 30 minutes and 0–100% in 5 hours 45 minutes. | About 8–9 hours for a full charge with the 480 W charger, or 6–7 hours with the 750 W charger, according to River’s ownership FAQ. | Confirm the supplied charger and the applicable Ather specification before comparing charging stops. |
| Storage | No directly comparable storage volume is stated in the cited Ather specifications. | 43 litres under the seat, a 12-litre glovebox and accessory mounts. | The Indie has the clearly documented carrying-capacity advantage. |
| Wheel size | Not stated in the cited material. | 14-inch front and rear wheels. | Wheel size is a format difference, not proof of superior comfort; ride both on your roads. |
| Warranty | Current page: vehicle and battery coverage for 3 years/30,000 km. April 2025 sheet: default battery warranty of 5 years/60,000 km. | 3 years/30,000 km manufacturing warranty; optional plans are listed up to 8 years. | Ask for the warranty document tied to the VIN, variant and purchase package. |
| Reported starting price | ₹1.95 lakh ex-showroom for Apex Standard in Autocar India’s comparison. | ₹1.52 lakh ex-showroom for Indie Standard in the same comparison. | These are indicative secondary-source listings, not your final on-road quote. |
Performance: the Apex is the faster, sharper option
Acceleration and overtaking
The Apex’s advantage is most relevant below urban speeds, where a quicker launch can make a gap at a junction or an overtake feel easier. The published 0–40 km/h result is materially quicker than the Indie figure. That does not guarantee identical results for every rider: battery state, temperature, rider mass, tyre pressure, road gradient and riding mode all affect acceleration.
The Indie is not a slow scooter for normal city use. Its output is sufficient for commuting and stop-start traffic, but a rider who regularly carries a passenger, climbs steep roads or joins faster traffic should test its response with the intended load. Do not infer performance from peak kilowatts alone; throttle mapping and traction control calibration also shape how usable the power feels.
Top speed and the type of road you ride
The Apex’s 100 km/h claim gives it more headroom on open roads than the Indie’s 90 km/h claim. In dense city traffic, that difference may never matter. On bypasses or broad ring roads, it can reduce the need to run continuously near the scooter’s limit. Local speed limits and road conditions still govern where either scooter should be ridden.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Performance verdict
Select the Apex when brisk launches and higher-speed reserve are central to your enjoyment. Select the Indie when outright pace is secondary to carrying ability and purchase cost. A test ride should include a standing start, a moderate-speed roll-on and a hill with your normal passenger or luggage.
Battery and range: read the claims by source and riding mode
Why the Ather figures differ
Ather’s live specifications page and its April 2025 Apex PDF present different battery-capacity, range and charging entries. The table preserves both instead of silently choosing one. Model-year changes, software updates, market configuration or a revised test method could explain a difference, but the cited documents do not establish the reason. Before paying a deposit, ask the retailer to identify the exact battery capacity, certified-range figure and charging time for your invoice’s variant.
The warranty discrepancy is equally important. The live page describes one coverage period for both vehicle and battery, while the April 2025 sheet describes a longer default battery term. Have the seller email the applicable warranty schedule, including kilometre limits, exclusions, transfer conditions and what happens if the battery falls below any stated health threshold.
How to interpret the Indie’s numbers
River’s 160 km IDC figure is accompanied by mode estimates: Eco, Ride and Rush. Those values show how selecting a more restrained or more aggressive calibration changes the manufacturer’s estimate. They are not three independent road-test results, and they should not be compared directly with the Apex’s IDC or certified number as if all conditions were identical.
Rank #2
- POWERFUL MOTOR & 20 MPH TOP SPEED: Electric scooters is equipped with a powerful 500W peak motor, reaches speeds of up to 20 MPH for a smooth and efficient ride. making it perfect for daily commutes and city travel.
- LONG BATTERY LIFE: Foldable Scooter rides up to 21 miles on a single 5-hour charge, uses a 36V 7.8AH powerful battery built for short trips to school, work, or around the neighborhood without the worry of running out of battery
- SMART APP CONTROL: Connect your electric scooter to the mobile app for convenient operation and real-time monitoring. Use the app to activate the electronic lock, view real-time speed, switch speed units, adjust riding modes, control the headlight, and enable cruise control for a smarter and more customizable riding experience.
- 8.5" PNEUMATIC TIRES & IPX4 WATER RESISTANCE: This fast electric scooter has 8.5-inch air-filled tires that provide shock absorption and grip, which easily climb 20° slopes. With an IPX4waterproof rating, it can withstand splashes and light rain, making it a reliable choice for commuters and adventure seekers alike.
- PORTABLE & FOLDABLE: ONE-STEP FOLDING: To collapse the scooter in just 3 seconds and hold up to 264lb, which is easy to carry and store, ideal for commutes, subways, offices, or car trunks, making it ideal for adults and teens alike.
Estimating your own usable range
Use your current daily route as the baseline. Add the distance for detours, school runs and finding a charger, then leave a reserve for rain, cold weather, traffic and battery ageing. A rider travelling 35 km each way has a very different requirement from someone covering 15 km total. Frequent high-speed riding, a heavy passenger, steep gradients and repeated full-throttle launches will reduce distance per charge on either scooter.
No independent controlled range test is supplied for this comparison. The responsible way to compare is to ride both scooters over the same loop, with similar rider weight, tyre pressures, starting state of charge, weather and speeds, and record the percentage consumed.
Charging: check the hardware you will actually receive
Ather charging information
Ather publishes one 0–80% time on its current page and different 0–80% and 0–100% times on the April 2025 sheet. That makes the charger, software version and document date essential parts of the comparison. Ask whether the quoted time assumes a particular home supply, charger output, ambient temperature or battery condition. An 80% figure is not equivalent to a full-charge figure.
River charger choices
River’s FAQ describes approximately 8–9 hours for a full charge with the 480 W charger and approximately 6–7 hours with the 750 W charger. Confirm which charger is included in the price, whether the faster unit costs extra, its cable length and the electrical requirements at your parking space. If you can charge only overnight, either option may fit; if you need a quick top-up between shifts, the difference is more consequential.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallHome-installation checklist
- Verify that your parking location has a safe, weather-protected socket and enough cable reach.
- Ask for the charger’s rated input, protection requirements and whether an extension lead is permitted.
- Confirm the displayed state of charge after a charging session rather than relying only on an estimated time.
- Plan a backup for days when the scooter cannot be moved close to the socket.
Utility and everyday practicality
Storage and carrying
The Indie has a stated 43-litre under-seat compartment and a 12-litre glovebox, plus accessory mounts. River’s ownership information says the storage can accommodate a full-face and a half-face helmet. That makes the Indie easier to use for grocery runs, work equipment or two riders’ helmets without adding a top box. Check your own helmet shell sizes before assuming both will fit; helmet shapes vary.
Ather’s cited Apex specifications do not provide a directly comparable storage volume. If you carry a laptop, rain gear, delivery bag or charging cable, take those items to the showroom and place them in the actual scooter. Do not substitute a marketing accessory’s capacity for the base scooter’s standard space.
Wheels, manoeuvring and comfort
River lists 14-inch wheels at both ends. Larger-diameter wheels can influence how a scooter approaches potholes and edges, but wheel size alone cannot establish ride comfort, steering weight or stability. Suspension settings, tyre construction, seat shape and chassis tuning matter just as much. The Apex’s cited material does not state a directly comparable wheel size, so a back-to-back ride is the only sound way to judge this dimension.
Rank #3
- POWERFUL MOTOR AND LONG BATTERY LIFE - The 350W electric brushless hub motor allows for speeds up to 18mph. High capacity battery with a Max. travel range of up to 17 miles under specific conditions. And our product has passed stringent UL 2272 testing. (Testing lab name: SGS)
- STABLE AND DURABLE FOR COMMUTING - Extremely smooth when accelerating and turning, Hiboy electric scooters have been made solid and durable quality with solid tires and whole frame.
- BEING SAFER WITH TECHNOLOGY - Hiboy E-Scooter S2 are made with front, middle and rear 3 lights. And double braking system features a disc braking and eABS regenerative anti-lock braking.
- HIBOY APP - Simply pair Hiboy Electric Scooter via Bluetooth and use the app to lock your scooter, to view riding statistics such as battery life. It works with both iPhones and Android smartphones.
- PORTABLE DESIGN - Hiboy e-scooter collapses for easy storage in car trunks and closets, beneath subway seats, and inside other compact spaces. Extra detachable scooter’s seat is available for more comfortable option. (Seat NOT included)
Passenger and cargo test
Bring the person who will regularly ride pillion, or load an equivalent mass, for the test ride. Check reach to the grab rail, footboard room, stand-up balance, braking feel and whether cargo interferes with your knees. Repeat the same route solo and loaded; a scooter that feels lively alone may respond differently with a passenger.
Price and value: calculate the on-road gap, not just the headline
Autocar India’s comparison lists the Apex Standard at ₹1.95 lakh ex-showroom and the Indie Standard at ₹1.52 lakh ex-showroom. The difference is a useful starting point, but it is not the amount you will necessarily pay. Registration, insurance, local taxes, accessories, charger choice, delivery fees and city-specific offers can change the final invoice. A comparison listing updated elsewhere may show different figures, so request a dated quotation from each local seller.
Ather states in its Apex FAQ that the model does not qualify for the PM E-DRIVE subsidy because of its ex-factory price. Do not subtract a subsidy from your budget unless your dealer provides written confirmation that a current scheme applies to your exact variant and registration location.
Ask for two written quotes
- Request an itemised on-road price for the exact standard or upgraded variant, including registration and insurance.
- List the charger supplied, any installation work, accessories, extended warranty and roadside assistance as separate lines.
- Ask whether the quoted price is a promotion with an expiry date or a recurring list price.
- Compare the final payable amount and financing cost, not only the monthly instalment.
Warranty, service and ownership risk
The stated warranty terms differ by source and product. River’s standard manufacturing coverage is presented as 3 years/30,000 km, with optional plans up to 8 years. Ather’s current page and April 2025 sheet present different battery terms. These are material differences, not footnotes. The signed warranty document should identify the vehicle, battery, duration, kilometre cap, exclusions, service intervals and claim process.
Questions for the service centre
- Where is the nearest authorised workshop, and can it handle high-voltage battery diagnosis?
- What is the normal booking lead time during peak periods?
- Which parts are covered for wear, and which are customer-pay items?
- How are software updates delivered, and is a workshop visit required?
- What assistance is available if the scooter stops away from home?
Service availability is local. A scooter with better specifications can be the worse ownership choice if the nearest capable workshop is inconvenient or parts support is weak in your area. Visit the proposed service location before purchase and ask existing customers about appointment availability without treating anecdotes as a statistical guarantee.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Which scooter suits which buyer?
Choose the Ather 450 Apex when:
- You value the quickest published acceleration and the higher top-speed ceiling.
- Your regular routes include open roads where extra performance headroom is useful.
- You are comfortable paying the reported premium for a performance-led scooter.
- You can obtain clear, current written warranty and charging terms for the delivered unit.
Choose the River Indie when:
- You carry helmets, groceries, work gear or other bulky items frequently.
- The lower reported entry price leaves more room in your purchase budget.
- You prefer the practicality of a glovebox, accessory mounts and larger wheels.
- Your riding is primarily urban and the published performance is sufficient for your roads.
Pause the purchase when:
- The seller cannot reconcile the specification or warranty document with the advertised variant.
- You have no reliable overnight charging location.
- The nearest authorised service point is too far for routine maintenance or a breakdown.
- Your daily route depends on a range that leaves no reserve for weather, traffic or detours.
A practical buying procedure
- Map your real use. Record a normal week’s kilometres, passenger frequency, cargo, road types and available charging hours.
- Book both test rides. Use the same rider, route and approximate battery state. Include a hill, rough surface, junction launch and a faster road where legal.
- Repeat the ride loaded. Carry your normal helmet and luggage, then add your regular passenger if applicable.
- Measure the fit. Sit in your usual position, check stand-over and footboard space, reach to controls and ease of moving the scooter into your parking spot.
- Verify the paperwork. Match the VIN, variant, battery capacity, charger, warranty schedule and included accessories to the written quote.
- Check local support. Confirm the service address, booking process, roadside assistance and expected parts route.
- Compare total cost. Include insurance, registration, charger upgrades, accessories, financing and any optional coverage before choosing.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Comparing IDC with a mode estimate. The cycles and conditions differ, so the numbers cannot establish a real-world winner.
- Assuming the latest web page covers every delivered scooter. Ather’s live page and April 2025 sheet demonstrate why the model year and document date matter.
- Buying on ex-showroom price alone. Your city, registration, insurance and charger selection determine the payable amount.
- Treating storage volume as comfort proof. The Indie’s carrying advantage is documented; comfort still requires a ride with your load.
- Ignoring service distance. A convenient workshop can matter more than a small specification advantage over several years.
- Leaving no range reserve. Plan for detours, weather, traffic, load and gradual battery ageing instead of budgeting to the final displayed kilometre.
Final recommendation
The Ather 450 Apex is the better match for a rider who actively wants sharper acceleration and higher-speed capability and is prepared to pay for it. The River Indie is the better match for a practical commuter who will use its documented storage, glovebox and accessory mounts and would rather keep the initial outlay lower. Because the Ather documents currently disagree on important specifications and warranty details, and because neither brand’s cycle figures are an independent road-range test, make the final decision only after a same-route test ride and a written, variant-specific on-road quote.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




