Several used plug-in hybrid SUVs have appeared in Edmunds listings below $35,000, making them worth checking in your local market. The six models here are shopping candidates, not a ranking or a promise that any particular vehicle is a good buy: price, mileage, trim, condition, title history and dealer fees all matter.
Edmunds reports electric-range specifications for the Ford Escape Plug-In Hybrid and Hyundai Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid. For the other four, the available evidence supports them as listing leads, but does not establish comparable range figures or a nationwide price. Compare individual vehicles and inspect their condition before deciding.
What used plug-in hybrid SUVs can I get for under $35,000?
These six models are reasonable starting points for a U.S. used-car search. Edmunds inventory snapshots showed examples below the budget, but listings change and availability varies by location. Treat advertised prices as leads; the total cost can rise after taxes, dealer fees, inspection and any home charging work.
| Model and evidence | Electric range and drivetrain | What to weigh when shopping |
|---|---|---|
| Ford Escape Plug-In Hybrid 2021 and 2022 examples appeared below $35,000 in the cited inventory results. |
For the 2021 model, Edmunds reports an EPA-estimated 37 miles of electric range. Its cited specification is front-wheel drive. | A compact, five-seat option. Check the specific trim, mileage, charging operation and service history. |
| Hyundai Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid Multiple 2023 examples appeared below $35,000 in Edmunds listings. An Edmunds used-inventory snapshot accessed in 2026 showed listed prices from $19,998 to $31,995; that range can change. |
For the 2022 model, Edmunds reports an EPA-estimated 30 miles of electric range. The cited trim is AWD. | A five-seat AWD option. Compare the exact year and trim rather than assuming every listing has the same equipment. |
| Lincoln Corsair Grand Touring An Edmunds inventory page showed a 2022 example below $30,000. |
Not stated in the cited evidence. | An upscale compact-SUV lead; confirm the vehicle’s equipment, history and condition individually. |
| Jeep Wrangler 4xe Examples appeared on the cited Edmunds under-$30,000 inventory page. |
Not stated in the cited evidence. | Check the individual vehicle’s history, warranty status, service records and open recalls. |
| Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe Examples appeared on the cited Edmunds under-$30,000 inventory page. |
Not stated in the cited evidence. | A larger-SUV candidate. Verify model year, condition, service history and recall status. |
| Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV A 2019 example appeared below $20,000 on the cited Edmunds inventory page. |
Not stated in the cited evidence. | For an older, lower-priced candidate, pay particular attention to battery condition, equipment and nearby service availability. |
Listings and specifications: Edmunds 2021 Ford Escape Plug-In Hybrid specifications; Edmunds 2022 Hyundai Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid specifications; Edmunds Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid inventory; Edmunds 2023 Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid listings; Edmunds used vehicles under $30,000; and Edmunds under-$30,000 inventory results. Listing pages are snapshots, not guarantees of current stock or transaction prices.
#1 Best Overall
Which used PHEV SUV has the longest electric range?
Among the two models with range figures in the cited specifications, the 2021 Ford Escape Plug-In Hybrid has the higher reported estimate: Edmunds lists 37 miles, compared with 30 miles for the 2022 Hyundai Santa Fe Plug-In Hybrid. These are EPA electric-range estimates reported by Edmunds, not measurements of a particular used vehicle. Edmunds also lists 40 mpg combined for the cited Escape and 33 mpg combined for the cited Santa Fe; those published figures do not establish what an individual used SUV will achieve.
Edmunds estimates charging at 240 volts takes 3.3 hours for the cited 2021 Escape and 3.4 hours for the cited 2022 Santa Fe. Actual electric range depends on driving conditions and the battery’s present condition. These specifications do not tell you the health of a used vehicle’s battery, and the available evidence does not provide comparable figures for the other four candidates.
Is a used PHEV worth it if I can charge at home?
Home charging can make a PHEV’s electric capability more useful because it gives you a practical way to recharge between drives. Whether that makes a particular used SUV worthwhile depends on your driving, the vehicle’s condition and whether charging at home is feasible. Without regular access to charging, you may make less use of the plug-in system; do not assume the listed electric range will be available on every trip.
Before buying a vehicle or charging equipment, confirm the connector fits, the vehicle’s charging system works, and your household electrical capacity can support the setup. If installation is needed, include that cost alongside the purchase price, taxes and dealer fees.
Recommended Free Tools
What should I check before buying a used plug-in hybrid?
Evaluate the exact SUV, not just its model name or advertised price. A pre-purchase inspection and a check of vehicle records can help uncover problems that a listing does not show.
- Price and total cost: Compare local listings with similar years, trims and mileage. Account for taxes, dealer fees, an independent inspection and any charging installation.
- Title, accident and maintenance records: Review the title and history, then check whether documented maintenance is consistent with the vehicle’s age and mileage.
- Battery and charging: Ask about battery condition and have charging operation checked. Confirm the charge port, connector and charging equipment work with the specific vehicle.
- Warranty and recalls: Verify remaining warranty coverage for that vehicle and check its open-recall status by VIN. Do not assume coverage or recall status from the model name alone.
- Fit and equipment: Match seating, cargo needs, trim and drivetrain to how you will use the SUV. The cited 2021 Escape specification is front-wheel drive; the cited Santa Fe trim is AWD.
- Local service: For an older Outlander PHEV or any less-common configuration in your area, find out whether qualified service is accessible before committing.
The Edmunds pages cited here provide inventory examples and selected model specifications, not independent reliability comparisons, current battery tests, recall results or inspections of the listed vehicles. Confirm those details for the particular SUV you are considering.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




