What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The ninth-generation Toyota Hilux adds a battery-electric pickup alongside a 2.8-litre diesel with 48V hybrid assistance. The Toyota Hilux BEV is a genuine all-electric, permanent-all-wheel-drive model; the Hybrid 48V still uses a diesel engine. Toyota’s initial electric range, payload and towing figures are provisional, and prices and launch schedules differ by market.
What is new in the Toyota Hilux range?
Unveiled on 10 November 2025, the ninth-generation Hilux takes a multi-powertrain approach rather than replacing diesel with one global electric model. Toyota announced a battery-electric Hilux for zero-tailpipe-emission driving, a 2.8-litre diesel Hybrid 48V positioned as the volume model in Western Europe, and combustion versions for some Eastern European markets. A hydrogen fuel-cell Hilux is targeted for 2028.
The two principal European choices answer different needs: the BEV runs on battery power, while the Hybrid 48V combines diesel with electrical assistance. The latter is not a plug-in hybrid or a fully electric Hilux.
How do the Hilux BEV and Hybrid 48V compare?
| Item | Toyota Hilux BEV | Hilux Hybrid 48V |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Battery-electric pickup with a 59.2 kWh lithium-ion battery, front and rear eAxles, and permanent all-wheel drive. Toyota UK technical launch material gives 205 Nm front torque and 268.6 Nm rear torque. | 2.8-litre diesel with a 48V lithium-ion battery, electric motor-generator and DC-DC converter. The battery sits below the rear seats to preserve cabin space. |
| UK starting price | £57,845, as published by Toyota UK in 2026. | £42,845 for the diesel 48V model, as published by Toyota UK in 2026. |
| Tailpipe emissions | Zero while driving in battery-electric mode. | Not zero: the vehicle retains a diesel engine. |
| Range | Approximately 240 km WLTP, a tentative Toyota Europe pre-homologation estimate. | Not stated in the supplied Toyota launch figures. |
| Payload | Approximately 715 kg, a tentative Toyota Europe pre-homologation figure. | Not stated in the supplied Toyota launch figures. |
| Towing capacity | Approximately 1,600 kg, a tentative Toyota Europe pre-homologation figure. | Not stated in the supplied Toyota launch figures. |
| Charging or refuelling time | Charging time and charging hardware specifications are not stated in the cited launch material. | Refuelling time is not stated; it uses diesel rather than plug-in charging as its propulsion source. |
The price figures are UK starting prices, not a promise of the same price or specification in other countries. The BEV’s range, payload and towing figures should also be treated as estimates, not final certified ratings. Toyota says it has targeted best-in-class charging capability, but the cited announcement does not provide a charging time or hardware specification with which to assess that target.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Size: 19.5m *7.8cm * 6.5cm (7.7inch * 3.1inch * 2.6inch)
- Material: body alloy, rubber tire,others are ABS environmentally friendly plastic, The wheels can rotate, The left and right car doors can be opened, and the interior of the car is highly simulated, and some parts materials are die-cast materials
- About packaging: Fine gift box packaging,We use sturdy Thickened cartons and bubble pads are used to ensure product safety
- Meaningful Collectibles: We wish you much enjoyment in the pursuit of your collecting dreams
- Please note: This model is a static model car, not a toy car and is not suitable for children under 15 years old
What can the electric Hilux tow, carry and do off-road?
Toyota describes the Hilux BEV as a body-on-frame Double Cab pickup with permanent AWD. Its front and rear eAxles provide electric drive to both axles; the launch specifications report the torque figures in the comparison table. That establishes the drivetrain layout, but does not by itself establish how the truck will perform on a particular trail or work site.
The provisional payload and towing estimates are lower than many buyers may expect from a diesel work pickup. Because Toyota labels them pre-homologation, do not use them to choose a vehicle for a load or trailer that is close to the limit. Final legal payload and towing limits can depend on the homologated vehicle and market. Before purchase, check the final local specification and the individual vehicle’s rated limits; also confirm any equipment, trailer and load requirements that apply to your use.
Rank #2
- Size: 19.5m *7.8cm * 6.5cm (7.7inch * 3.1inch * 2.6inch)
- Material: body alloy, rubber tire,others are ABS environmentally friendly plastic, The wheels can rotate, The left and right car doors can be opened, and the interior of the car is highly simulated, and some parts materials are die-cast materials
- About packaging: Fine gift box packaging,We use sturdy Thickened cartons and bubble pads are used to ensure product safety
- Meaningful Collectibles: We wish you much enjoyment in the pursuit of your collecting dreams
- Please note: This model is a static model car, not a toy car and is not suitable for children under 15 years old
The available launch information does not establish the BEV’s ground clearance, wading depth, off-road modes, charging behaviour while towing, or performance in specific terrain. Permanent AWD is relevant to traction, but it is not a substitute for those details. Buyers planning regular towing or remote off-road work should wait for market-specific final specifications and assess charging access along the route.
When was the new Hilux scheduled to arrive?
Toyota announced different rollout dates by region. The dates below are the company’s announced schedule, not confirmation that every market or dealer subsequently received vehicles on time.
Rank #3
- Dimensions approximately L-2.5 inches long.
- Brand new in a blister pack and includes plastic display showcase
- Real rubber tires.
- Die-cast metal body.
- Detailed exterior, interior.
| Market or region | Toyota’s announced timing |
|---|---|
| Europe | BEV introduction from April 2026; Hybrid 48V from July 2026. |
| United Kingdom | Ordering published from 1 June 2026. Toyota UK scheduled BEV deliveries from mid-June 2026 and diesel 48V deliveries from July 2026. |
| Asia | Launches planned sequentially from 2026; Toyota also planned a Japan-bound diesel model for mid-2026. |
As of October 2026, those dates are in the past. They describe the published launch plan; they do not establish present stock, actual delivery status, or availability in a particular country. Check Toyota’s local model and dealer information for the current position.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which version makes more sense for work?
- Consider the BEV if zero tailpipe emissions are important and your daily routes, payload and towing needs fit the final local specification. Its suitability also depends on practical access to charging.
- Consider the Hybrid 48V if you want a diesel-powered Hilux with 48V electrical assistance and do not require full battery-electric operation. Toyota positions it as the Western European volume model.
- Compare certified figures before committing. The BEV’s early payload, towing and range estimates are provisional, and comparable Hybrid 48V figures are not stated in the launch material summarized here. Confirm the local trim, legal ratings, price and delivery availability with Toyota in your market.
The choice is therefore not simply electric versus hybrid: it is a battery-electric pickup with a limited published provisional range and work ratings, versus a diesel pickup with 48V assistance. Toyota has not yet established a complete like-for-like operating-cost comparison in the launch figures cited here, so fuel, electricity, charging access, load and route will determine real-world running economics.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




