For maximum towing, the 2026 Ford F-150 leads on paper: qualifying 3.5L EcoBoost configurations are rated to tow up to 13,500 lb, versus up to 11,610 lb for a Ram 1500 with the standard-output 3.0L Hurricane. Payload is a closer comparison: Ford lists up to 2,440 lb for a qualifying 3.5L EcoBoost configuration, while Ram’s highest listed maximum is 2,360 lb for a qualifying 3.6L V6 Quad Cab 4×2. Those headline figures apply to different builds—and neither tells you what a particular truck can tow or carry. Fuel-economy figures also depend on engine and drivetrain, and the available EPA entries here are not a matched comparison.
2026 towing and payload: the maximums are not the same build
The manufacturers’ guides show Ford with the higher published maximum tow rating and a modestly higher maximum payload figure. But each maximum is tied to a qualifying configuration, and the tow and payload peaks do not necessarily belong to the same truck. Use these as a first-pass comparison, not as ratings for every F-150 or Ram 1500.
| 2026 model and engine | Maximum towing | Maximum payload | Qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ford F-150, 3.5L EcoBoost V6 | 13,500 lb | 2,440 lb | Ford’s maximum figures for qualifying configurations and packages; see the 2026 Ford F-150 towing guide. |
| Ram 1500, standard-output 3.0L Hurricane | 11,610 lb | 1,930 lb | Ram’s figures for this engine; configuration and equipment affect ratings. See the 2026 Ram 1500 towing and payload guide. |
| Ram 1500, 3.6L V6 | Not stated here | 2,360 lb | Ram’s maximum listed payload is for a qualifying Quad Cab 4×2 configuration; it is not the configuration that sets the Ram’s maximum tow rating. |
The payload difference between the listed maximums is 80 lb, but that is not a promise that a given F-150 can carry more than a given Ram. Cab, bed, drivetrain, axle, packages, and installed equipment affect the actual rating. The Ford guide and Ram guide list the combinations and caveats behind their figures; consult the specific build rather than selecting a truck from the model-wide headline.
How engine choice changes the towing and payload trade-off
Within each lineup, the engine associated with the highest tow rating is not automatically the one with the highest payload. The following figures are manufacturer-published maximums for qualifying 2026 configurations, not guaranteed ratings for every truck with that engine.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall#1 Best Overall
- Box Real rubber tires. Folding side mirrors. Has opening front doors. Detailed interior, exterior. Made of diecast with some plastic parts. Dimensions approximately L-8.5, W-3.75, H-2.75 inches.
- Brand new in box Genuine rubber tyres. Folding side mirrors. It has front doors that open. Detailed interior and exterior. Made of cast iron with some plastic parts. Approximate dimensions: 8.5 x 3.7 x 2.8 inches
- Item Package Dimensions: 10.2L x 11.3W x 25.3H cm
| Model and engine | Maximum towing | Maximum payload |
|---|---|---|
| Ford F-150 3.5L EcoBoost V6 | 13,500 lb | 2,440 lb |
| Ford F-150 5.0L V8 | 12,800 lb | Not stated here |
| Ford F-150 3.5L PowerBoost hybrid | 11,600 lb | 1,740 lb |
| Ram 1500 standard-output 3.0L Hurricane | 11,610 lb | 1,930 lb |
| Ram 1500 5.7L HEMI V8 | 11,320 lb | 1,650 lb |
| Ram 1500 high-output 3.0L Hurricane | 10,000 lb | 1,490 lb |
Ford figures are from its 2026 towing guide; Ram figures are from its 2026 towing and payload guide. A cell marked “not stated here” means the cited figures do not establish that engine’s maximum payload; it should not be read as zero or as an estimate.
Why payload can limit a tow setup
Payload is the weight the truck can carry, including occupants, cargo, and the downward load from the trailer at the hitch. That tongue load counts against payload even when the trailer’s total weight is below the truck’s maximum tow rating. Ram’s guide explicitly notes that trailer and payload ratings are mutually exclusive: a truck cannot use both published maximums at once.
Rank #2
- Offical Licensed 2022 FORD F-150 Raptor
- Die Cast Metal Body w/ Plastic Parts
- 1:46 Scale, 46 Times Smaller The the Real F-150
- 5" 4 Set - Black, White, Red, Blue
- Front Doors Open - Pullback Action
Before towing, check the payload information on the specific truck’s certification or door-jamb label and the ratings for its exact build. Add the people and items that will be in the truck, then account for the trailer’s tongue load. The applicable vehicle and manufacturer ratings govern; a model-wide maximum cannot substitute for those checks.
Fuel economy: compare exact trucks, not unmatched headline figures
Ram’s guide gives manufacturer fuel-economy estimates for selected 2026 configurations. The figures below are in city/highway/combined mpg and are estimates—not real-world results.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Offical Licensed 2022 FORD F-150 Raptor
- Die Cast Metal Body w/ Plastic Parts
- 1:46 Scale, 46 Times Smaller The the Real F-150
- 5" 4 Set - Black, White, Red, Blue
- Front Doors Open - Pullback Action
| 2026 Ram 1500 configuration | City / highway / combined mpg |
|---|---|
| 3.6L V6, 4×2 | 20 / 25 / 22 |
| 3.6L V6, 4×4 | 19 / 24 / 21 |
| Standard-output 3.0L Hurricane, 4×2 | 18 / 25 / 21 |
| Standard-output 3.0L Hurricane, 4×4 | 17 / 24 / 19 |
| High-output 3.0L Hurricane, 4×4 | 15 / 21 / 17 |
These estimates are attributed to EPA estimates in the Ram guide. A selected 2026 EPA guide entry for a 2WD Ford F-150 with the 2.7L engine is 19 city/25 highway/21 combined mpg; a selected 2WD Ram 1500 3.6L entry is 20/25/22. These are different engines, not a matched test, so the one-mpg combined difference does not establish that one truck is categorically more efficient. See the 2026 Fuel Economy Guide.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency says it provides the fuel-economy data used on new-car and light-truck window stickers in its fuel-economy labeling explanation. For a buyer comparing actual trucks, use the window sticker or exact-vehicle record for each engine, drivetrain, and configuration under consideration. No same-route, same-load test is established by the figures above, and towing or carrying a load can change fuel use from the label estimate.
Rank #4
- Official Licensed Product: This Ford F-150 model is an officially licensed product.
- Die-cast Metal Construction: The cabin and exterior are made of die-cast metal for durability.
- Detailed Interior: The cabin features an opening door and detailed interior for realism.
- Pre-assembled Model: This Ford F-150 model arrives pre-assembled and ready to display.
- Adult Collectible: This Ford F-150 model is designed for adult collectors and enthusiasts.
How to choose the right configuration
- Start with the trailer. Identify its expected loaded weight and tongue load, not just its empty or advertised weight.
- Choose the truck build. Narrow down engine, drivetrain, cab, bed, axle, packages, and installed equipment; these details affect towing, payload, and fuel economy.
- Verify both ratings for that build. Use the manufacturer’s towing guide and the exact truck’s certification or door-jamb information. Confirm that the planned occupants, cargo, and tongue load fit within payload while the trailer remains within the applicable tow rating.
- Compare fuel labels for the actual candidates. Check each vehicle’s EPA window sticker or exact record rather than treating unmatched engine entries as an apples-to-apples result.
For the published 2026 figures and configuration conditions, consult the Ford F-150 towing guide and Ram 1500 towing and payload guide.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Brand new box. Real rubber tires. Folding side mirrors. Has opening front doors. Detailed interior, exterior. Made of diecast with some plastic parts. Dimensions approximately L-8.5, W-3.75, H-2.75 inches.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




