Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Choose by the load and configuration you need, not by the biggest number on a brochure. For 2026, Ford publishes higher maximum gas towing and payload figures than Ram, but those are configuration-specific manufacturer claims—not ratings for every truck. The right choice depends on your trailer, passengers, cargo, cab, bed, drivetrain and trim. Before buying, check the exact truck’s ratings and its door-jamb payload label.
Start with what the truck must carry and tow
Write down the trailer’s loaded weight, the people and cargo that will ride in the truck, and the bed length you need. If you tow, include the trailer’s tongue weight in the truck’s payload calculation. Options and accessories also add weight and can reduce the capacity available for occupants and cargo.
Then compare the exact truck you are considering—not just its model name—to the job. Ford cautions that F-150 towing capacity varies significantly with configuration, including cab size, accessories and passenger count. Ram’s guide likewise shows ratings varying by powertrain, cab, bed, axle ratio and drive configuration.
- Check the manufacturer’s rating for the exact cab, bed, engine, axle and drivetrain.
- Read the payload label on the specific truck’s door jamb. Do not assume a model’s maximum payload applies to the vehicle on the lot.
- For towing, make sure both the trailer rating and the truck’s available payload can accommodate your loaded trailer, occupants, cargo and hitch load.
- Confirm that the trim and tow equipment you want can be paired with the cab, bed and engine you need.
How the published capability figures compare
Ford’s 2026 specifications list maximum available gas ratings of 13,500 pounds of towing and 2,440 pounds of payload. Ram’s 2026 overview lists up to 11,610 pounds of towing and 2,360 pounds of payload. These are manufacturer-published maximums, not apples-to-apples ratings for every configuration; do not combine a maximum from one configuration with the payload, trim or equipment of another.
#1 Best Overall
- Box Real rubber tires. Folding side mirrors. Has opening front doors. Detailed interior, exterior. Made of diecast with some plastic parts. Dimensions approximately L-8.5, W-3.75, H-2.75 inches.
- Brand new in box Genuine rubber tyres. Folding side mirrors. It has front doors that open. Detailed interior and exterior. Made of cast iron with some plastic parts. Approximate dimensions: 8.5 x 3.7 x 2.8 inches
- Item Package Dimensions: 10.2L x 11.3W x 25.3H cm
| 2026 truck or engine | Published maximum towing | Published maximum payload | What the figure means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ford F-150, gas models | 13,500 lb | 2,440 lb | Ford’s maximum available gas ratings; exact capacity depends on configuration and equipment. Ford specifications and FAQ |
| Ford F-150, 2.7L EcoBoost | 8,400 lb | Not stated for this engine in Ford’s cited FAQ | Ford’s published maximum tow rating for this engine; check the specific truck’s payload label and tow rating. Ford specifications and FAQ |
| Ford F-150, 3.5L PowerBoost full hybrid | 11,600 lb | Not stated for this engine in Ford’s cited FAQ | Ford’s published maximum tow rating for PowerBoost; configuration matters. Ford specifications and FAQ |
| Ford F-150, 3.5L EcoBoost | 13,500 lb | Not stated for this engine in Ford’s cited FAQ | Ford’s published maximum tow rating for this engine; it is not a rating for every F-150. Ford specifications and FAQ |
| Ford F-150, 5.0L V8 | 12,800 lb | Not stated for this engine in Ford’s cited FAQ | Ford’s published maximum tow rating for this engine; check the exact truck’s rating. Ford specifications and FAQ |
| Ram 1500, lineup maximum | 11,610 lb | 2,360 lb | Ram’s published maxima; the detailed guide gives configuration-specific ratings. Ram 1500 overview and Ram payload and towing guide |
Ford’s highest towing configuration is specifically an XLT SuperCrew 4×4 with a 6.5-foot box, Tow/Haul package and max tow axle upgrade. That example illustrates why a maximum figure cannot stand in for a rating on a differently equipped truck. For Ram, use the guide’s table to identify ratings for the engine, cab, bed, axle ratio and drive configuration you are considering.
Choose a powertrain that fits your priorities
The engines differ in layout and published output, but availability depends on trim and configuration. These figures describe the listed engines; they do not establish that every engine is offered on every trim.
Rank #2
- Offical Licensed 2022 FORD F-150 Raptor
- Die Cast Metal Body w/ Plastic Parts
- 1:46 Scale, 46 Times Smaller The the Real F-150
- 5" 4 Set - Black, White, Red, Blue
- Front Doors Open - Pullback Action
| Truck | Engine | Published output |
|---|---|---|
| Ford F-150 | 2.7L EcoBoost V6 | 325 hp, 400 lb-ft |
| Ford F-150 | 5.0L V8 | 400 hp, 410 lb-ft |
| Ford F-150 | 3.5L EcoBoost V6 | 400 hp, 500 lb-ft |
| Ford F-150 | 3.5L PowerBoost full hybrid | 430 hp, 578 lb-ft |
| Ram 1500 | 3.6L Pentastar V6 with eTorque | 305 hp, 269 lb-ft |
| Ram 1500 | 3.0L Hurricane standard-output inline-six | 420 hp, 469 lb-ft |
| Ram 1500 | 3.0L Hurricane high-output inline-six | 540 hp, 521 lb-ft |
| Ram 1500 | 5.7L HEMI V8 with eTorque | 395 hp, 410 lb-ft |
Ford’s lineup includes gas V6 and V8 choices as well as the PowerBoost full hybrid in applicable configurations. Its specifications also name a high-output 3.5L EcoBoost and a 5.2L supercharged V8 within the broader lineup, including performance-oriented variants; do not assume those are available on ordinary trims or suited to the same work configuration.
Ram’s 2026 lineup includes the Pentastar V6, standard- and high-output Hurricane engines, and the newly available HEMI V8. Compare the engine, tow package and axle in the exact truck rather than choosing by horsepower or torque alone.
Rank #3
- Offical Licensed 2022 FORD F-150 Raptor
- Die Cast Metal Body w/ Plastic Parts
- 1:46 Scale, 46 Times Smaller The the Real F-150
- 5" 4 Set - Black, White, Red, Blue
- Front Doors Open - Pullback Action
Balance passenger space, bed length and available features
Ford F-150
Ford lists Regular Cab, SuperCab and SuperCrew configurations, with bed availability depending on cab. The lineup includes 5.5-, 6.5- and 8-foot beds. Decide whether passenger room or bed length is the priority, then confirm the combination is offered on your chosen trim and powertrain.
Ram 1500
Ram’s guide distinguishes Quad Cab and Crew Cab models and includes 5-foot-7-inch and 6-foot-4-inch beds on applicable configurations. Ram also lists available RamBox cargo management, reclining Crew Cab rear seats, in-floor storage and four-corner active-level air suspension. These are available features, not equipment to assume is standard on every Ram.
Rank #4
- Official Licensed Product: This Ford F-150 model is an officially licensed product.
- Die-cast Metal Construction: The cabin and exterior are made of die-cast metal for durability.
- Detailed Interior: The cabin features an opening door and detailed interior for realism.
- Pre-assembled Model: This Ford F-150 model arrives pre-assembled and ready to display.
- Adult Collectible: This Ford F-150 model is designed for adult collectors and enthusiasts.
For either truck, verify the exact cab-bed-engine combination with the manufacturer or dealer. A feature or bed listed somewhere in a lineup may not be available with the particular trim and powertrain you want.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Make the decision against your real use
- Regular heavy towing: Begin with the loaded trailer weight and tongue weight, then find a configuration whose tow rating and remaining payload cover the complete load. Ford’s higher published gas maximum may matter if the required capacity is available in the configuration you can buy; Ram’s published maximum is lower, but the exact Ram rating still depends on its setup.
- Passengers and cargo alongside a trailer: Give payload special attention. The door-jamb label on the actual truck is more useful than a lineup maximum because the truck’s equipment affects capacity.
- Hybrid preference: The F-150 offers PowerBoost in applicable configurations, with Ford publishing an 11,600-pound maximum tow rating for that powertrain. Confirm the rating and payload for the individual truck.
- V8 preference: Both lineups include a V8 option in the 2026 materials: Ford’s 5.0L and Ram’s newly available 5.7L HEMI with eTorque. Compare the specific truck’s capability and availability rather than treating the engine name as a complete specification.
- Cargo organization or cabin utility: Ram lists available RamBox, in-floor storage and reclining Crew Cab rear seats. Check whether the chosen configuration includes the feature and whether it serves your actual cargo or passenger needs.
- Long or bulky bed cargo: Compare the available bed lengths against what you carry. A longer bed may affect the cab choice and the specific tow configuration available.
What these specifications cannot settle
The cited material establishes manufacturer specifications and feature claims, not a matched independent test of fuel economy, ride, safety, ownership costs or reliability. It also does not establish a localized price comparison. Those factors may decide between two trucks that both meet your workload, so compare current local quotes and seek independent evidence for the models and configurations you are considering.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Best Value
- Brand new box. Real rubber tires. Folding side mirrors. Has opening front doors. Detailed interior, exterior. Made of diecast with some plastic parts. Dimensions approximately L-8.5, W-3.75, H-2.75 inches.
For a direct model-to-model framing, Ford also publishes a competitive comparison of the 2026 F-150 and 2026 Ram 1500. Treat manufacturer comparisons as claims from the respective automaker, and verify ratings and equipment against the exact vehicle before purchase.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




